Little Creek MWR RV Park

 
4.1 (48)
116853 1 30 0 56

User reviews

21 reviews with 4 stars

48 reviews

 
(18)
 
(21)
 
(7)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.5  (48)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (48)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (48)
Value 
 
4.0  (48)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
21 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Nov 7, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is a very small, very tight older campground. We were in a 40' coach and had a tough time negotiating the RVs and their associated vehicles. Nice area to relax in the laundry building, along with free washers and dryers. Wifi was available, though slow and spotty in coverage. Camp host was supposed to bring us some sort of paperwork but we never saw them. Frankly, this park seems to be filled with about 80% permanent party personnel. Multiple planters, porch swings, storage of personal belongings and children's toys make it seem much more like a trailer park than a campground. Base-associated noises were expected, and not overly intrusive. The location is prime, and the $27 a night is a great price, so we were thrilled to find an open spot there for the evening. Just sad that it wasn't available for longer or more spaces available for transient guests.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 16 to May 30, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We recommend this campground and the area. Most of the sites are pretty close together. Personal do a good job and are very helpful. Surrounding area is also clean and well maintained. Nice campgrounds but could use a little restoration. Noise is tolerable, mostly road noise (passing vehicles outside gate). The area has everything to offer (but seclusion/isolation) and at reasonable prices. Off base traffic can be a problem so chose the right times to get to where you are going. Highly recommend the military beaches on both JEB Little Creek & Ft. Story, quiet and not crowded. Nice laundry and free but washers and dryers were “full” of black dog hair; perhaps a temporary problem. Recommend both Bubba’s Seafood & Dockside Seafood Restaurants, they are beside each other located between JEB Little Creek & Ft. Story on the south side of route 60 (Shore Drive) beside the John A Lesner Bridge address: 3311 & 3323 Shore Dr. Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (from 60 turn south on Vista Circle and you will see them). We sent Larry (U.S. Military Campgrounds and RV Parks) an update also including pictures and a video that is now posted; we hope you all find them helpful. We are very thankful for what Larry is doing here and will continue to support his efforts in every way we can. We wish all of you safe travels!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Dec 27, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stopped for an overnight on our way south this year. We found a spot large enough to not unhook the trailer from the truck and just dropped the stabilizers and made utility hook ups. The sites are OK and the facility is clean, but it still could use a little dressing up. No issues or problems though. Nice size BX and Commissary, Mini-BX had competitively priced gas, it was over all good place to stop on our way out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
Oct 2014/ Sept-Oct 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I've stayed at this campground a couple of different times. Like the others have stated, Destiny in the office is great. The showers were good, didn't use the laundry facilities as I used to live in this area and was here to visit friends. The roads need repaving as there are some big holes. They also need signs at the entrances to indicate which are incoming and which are outgoing. They did put some big logs in each site for a fire ring, which was nice. Lots of rain, so most of the wood (free) was wet, but managed to find some in the woods that wasn't too bad. Destiny got me in for this fall even tho the Navy reservation system said they were full. We shall see when I get there 1 Sept. For me, location and price are the biggest plus. I camp here in a 27' motorhome with toad.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
16 Apr 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Needs a good spring clean up. Office staff was friendly and helpful. We were staying one night and it wasn't crowded, so we asked to move to a bigger site so we didn't have to unhitch. No problem, no worries. Nice place. Water, sewer, electric, cable, wifi, have it all -
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.G. left this review using the Directory software: - Full timers bragging that they have been in the campground for over a year. Wonderful camphosts. Destiny was wonderful, very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
July 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
This campground is pretty Cool, super dog friendly with multiple access to trails. It's just a few minutes to the the beach, base pool, base theater, bowling alley, commissary/Nex and medical. The campground manager Destiny is wonderful. The camp hosts were great, old host leaving new host taking over. Lots of help and great info. Being shared by a everyone, doesn't get better than that! Oh wait!! Yes it does during the day it is wonderful!! Kids playing running from camp to camp, early evening campfires. Everyone mingling from camp to camp. Then the sun goes down and the drunks come out. A few young people getting kinda rowdy then the name calling. Turns out its sisters. Very obnoxious behavior, one young woman calling her mother horrifying names. To our shock it was one of the camp hosts daughters. We stayed for about a week. Very close to the couple of gathering areas in the evening. We had to listen to the drama and that followed the fighting. It really made it hard to enjoy the great campground. I felt so bad for the host. She is such a nice lady and so willing to help. To be treated like that in front of other campers. To much drama and BS!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
July 29, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Highly recommend using the Commercial entrance at Gate 3 with large RV's. We met with the current camp host Destiny Newman/757-462-7282. It is now Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story. The campground still needs improvement and we'd like to see wi-fi free. Base amenities though are extensive. Nearly new commissary and Navy Exchange. Beautiful golf course and beach with shelters and tables right on base. Great watermark/pool also.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 10, 2012
(Updated: October 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Diesel now available at renovated gas station. Package store now at new gas station. Large & well stocked. Many sites used as active duty housing. During our 5 day stay some units never showed any activity at all. One sailor took out her own gas powered leaf blower & cleaned up her site. Made a BIG difference in appearance. Entire campground should be beautiful. Instead it looks dingy & dirty. A Billy Goat vacuum would make a world of difference. Different staff person (still part time) seems much nicer, but command needs to change attitude. Golf course is the magnet for us. Very nice & friendly staff.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2012
(Updated: June 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Access instructions right on target. Older location and not really bigger rig friendly due to tight maneuvering into the back-in spaces. Power advertises 50amp with 50 amp outlets and breakers but only 30 amp delivered. Water is shared between sites...make sure you have a long hose or get the site closest to the water. Lawn mowing during our stay was not happening. Seemed like a lot of long term active duty occupants. Okay place...nicer also not far away.
RM
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 29th - Sept 13th, 2011
(Updated: September 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The location of this park is perfect to enjoy the sites in and around Virginia Beach. The prior park managers, Dick & Peggy were the perfect campground hosts. Their experience with military RV campers and their willingness to go out of their way to make the park an enjoyable experience will be sorely missed. Little Creek MWR has missed the mark by not offering a "monthly rate", increasing the monthly rate to over $600 a month and not providing needed campground upgrades (upgrade electric service in laundry to accommodate all washers/dryers, install a change machine, repair 50amp service to several of the larger RV sites). More importantly, if MWR believes they need to hire another person to run the office, please hire one that has some experience with RV'rs. The current person lacks the personality and communication skills required of that position.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Peggy and Dick are great. They will go out of their way to help you with whatever you need. BUT, I am not very happy about it only being a daily rate park. MWR should really re-think bringing back the monthly rate, especially for active duty members.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 11, 2011
(Updated: April 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We only visited...did not stay....Yes, the price per day has gone up to $22/day/over $600/month. Sites are all back ins and close together, which looked to us as a tight turn during backing in. Peggy & Dick do a good job running the place. For $22 a day, thou, we would look at other places to stay in the area....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jul 30- Aug 5, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
All in all a good value, but there are a few things that could be better. First let me say the directions were excellent and everyone was helpful. 1. Access to the Base is not well managed. There was no consistency in rules. Between the various installations in the area, and depending upon which guard is at the gates the rules changed. The Navy/Marine bases around Norfolk still want to see a "base sticker" on the car. My son, who is active duty stationed in Canada, does not have one. After getting a lot of run around, being issued several temporary passes, and having the vehicle "strip searched" twice, we were finally told by another visitor how to solve the problem. If you do not have a vehicle sticker, go to the vehicle registration office by gate 3 and get up to a week pass that will work at other locations as well. It would have saved a lot of problems if someone had told us to do that day one, or make that a part of the on line instructions. 2. The camp is very small entry, exit, and parking can be very difficult. The person next door had a large Ford 450 dully with a front end "rack" which really stuck out into the road. He was not present until two days after we arrived, so I had to back up between several trees and his truck. It took a lot of maneuvering and the neighbor across the road had to move his vehicle. Before I departed the neighbor came back, moved the truck, and all went well. It was unnecessarily difficult because he was allowed to leave his truck unattended blocking another site access. 3. I read several talking about the WiFi. We could not get it to work. 4. If it rains a lot there are several water issues. Again, all in all a good value and a great location. NEX and other facilities are great. If you need the Post Office, like I did, it has moved over by the Chapel. The CG is small and I recommend a recon, if possible, to pre-plan your site access. Once you enter the CG you can't turn around.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
March 15-21, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
When we arrived, was told they were not expecting anyone in that day. I showed Jerry an e-mail from Peggy confirming a site, things changed and I was welcomed with open arms. Found everything to be very clean and well maintained. There seemed to be several (about half the sites) occupied by long term visitors. The exchange and commissary were well stocked and an easy drive. My only criticism, MWR nor the camp hosts have any control over, is that the clinic at Little Creek does not accept walk-ins or emergency. An area, MWR does have authority over though is the speed bumps in the campground. With narrow close quarters inside the campground, why are so many speed bumps needed? Would stay at Little Creek MWR RV Campground again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
---
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
(No comments)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Nov 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This camp ground is great, its clean and real nice. The park host are great people to work with. The only problem I have found is that you have to back into the sites, instead of pulling through, I would come back here again. I would also recommend that you call ahead for a site, due to it seems to be always filled for the most part.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice this tiime of the year. Leaves are turning yellow and falling with the breezes. Highs of about 85 and lows of about 72. Lots to do in the area for all ages for sure. It is a little tight here, but very private. Quiet and trees everywhere. There is a very nice playground, I'd say appropriate for toddler through 5th grade.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We drove through this campground, but did not stay here. The setting was beautiful, but seemed a little cramped. Roads were narrow and crowded with other cars/trucks, etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Apr 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
(No comments)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
21 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2