Joint Base San Antonio Canyon Lake Recreation Park

Hot
 
4.0 (26)
250849 0 12 2 45
Joint Base San Antonio Canyon Lake Recreation Park

Location

Installation
Joint Base San Antonio, Canyon Lake, TX
GPS Coordinates
29.8826, -98.2158
Location Information
Canyon Lake, TX

Directions

Directions
Off base. From I-35 north from San Antonio to Canyon Lake exit (Exit 191). Turn left on Farm Road 306, follow for 16 miles through Canyon City. Turn left onto Jacobs Creek Park Road (sign for Recreation Area). Go straight for approximately 1/2 mile to the Randolph Recreation Area on the left.

Map

Google Map (Click on the map to enlarge)
Map of Joint Base San Antonio Canyon Lake Recreation Park

Contact Information

Phone Number
Res: (800) 280-3466 Info: (830) 964-3576
Fax Number
(830) 964-4405
Mailing Address
781 Jacobs Creek Road, Canyon Lake, TX 78133-5000

Campground Information

Authorized Users
Active, National Guard, Reservists, Retired, 100% DAV. DoD Civilians at Randolph, Guests.
Season
Year round.
Reservations
Reservations can be made for many facilities out at JBSA Recreation Park at Canyon Lake. Lodging units, RV spaces and pavilions are all available for reservations. Reservations can be made 6 months in advance by active duty personnel, all other DOD cardholders may reserve 3 months in advance.
Internet Access
None available.
Mail Forwarding
No personal mail or packages accepted.
Pet Information
Allowed with usual leash and clean-up rules. Pets NOT allowed in lodging facilities or the swimming areas.
Campground Information
$7 daily fee to enter recreation area. Day use is from 0800hrs - 2200hrs. 30 day stay limit, then must leave for 2 days before returning. Cabin rates vary based on day of the week. Cabins are 2 bedrooms: 1 double bed w/chest of drawers, 2-twin beds w/chest of drawers. Full kitchen w/basic cooking utensils, fully furnished living room, satellite V, VCR/DVD, full bathroom (bath/shower). Roll-away beds are available. Linen for bedrooms provided. All other linens, towels, roll-away linens not provided. Shelters include 1 twin bunk bed and 1 double bed, fridge, sink, heating and A/C, bathroom with toilet. No linens provided.
Big Rig Friendly?
Yes
Facilities
Recreation Equipment Rental.
Amenities
  • Electric
  • Tent Area
  • Laundry
  • Showers
  • Playground
  • Picinic Area
  • Beach
  • Fishing
  • Boating, Boat Rentals
  • Boat Ramp
  • Hiking
  • Shoppete
  • Swimming
  • Snack Bar
  • Marina

Site Information

Type of site
Spaces
Hook-ups
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
RV Sites
25
W/15,30,50A/S
$20
$120
$440
Small RV Sites
12
W/20,30A
$18
$110
$420
Tent
200
None
$15
N/A
N/A
Cottages
33
Full
$110
N/A
N/A
Cabins
6
Full
$95
N/A
N/A
Lofts
18
Full
$70
N/A
N/A
Bungalows
15
Full
$45
N/A
N/A
Bunk Houses
10
Full
$25
N/A
N/A

Other Information

DoD Interactive Comment Evaluation

The Department of Defense (DoD) Interactive Customer Evaluation (ICE) system is a web-based tool that collects feedback on services provided by various organizations throughout the Department of Defense (DoD). Click the ICE logo to submit your evaluation on this campground directly to the responsible department.

Weather Information

The JBSA Recreation Park at Canyon Lake provides a wide variety of recreational activities that allow for outdoor fun on a year-round basis. The recreation park consists of 250 acres of the most beautiful lakefront property in the area. The park provides many different lodging, camping, equipment and activity options to ensure everyone has a great adventure in the outdoors. The park is open 365 days out of the year.

Photos

Attachments

  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • 2019 Brochure
    Brochure with all rates and descriptions.
    585 KB
    533
  • Canyon Lake Map
    1 MB
    135

Map

Swap Start/End

User reviews

26 reviews

 
(12)
 
(5)
 
(6)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.4  (26)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (26)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (26)
Value 
 
4.1  (26)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (26)
To write a review please register or
View all reviews View most helpful
April 28 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Was blown away today I have been to joint base canyon lake multiple times I’m a service connected disabled retired veteran I had my card Va id as well as drivers license with vet endorsement and dd214 which I had utilized previously to attend the lake area and have pictures from each trip non the less to be rejected like nothing todays the first day I felt like my service was meaningless tried uploading I’d picture to see but can’t made no sense Had been before with that exact Id i was using because my retired Id had been misplaced and no manager was on duty to speak to however went to the civilian side it was so dirty but none the less my kids enjoyed the water thanks for nothing have a blessed one
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 8
Feb 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here for a couple days recently. Rain the first day, next day beautiful sunshine, next day rain. Just the way we like our trips! It was very nice, close to home for us. There were deer everywhere. I fed them apples. The came right up to our door. One day one of them stomped at Gerry, but then it might been the dogs he was walking. Very pleasant place. Will go again if we can get it. It stays pretty busy duty the summer months by the military people from Ft. Sam, Lackland and Randolph.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Jan 8-10, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This park is the consolidation of the Army Rec area (still called Hancock Cove) and the AF Rec area (still called Sunnyside) on either side of the road. Both parks have about the same facilities - RV sites, cabins, marina, etc. and common management. The Hancock Cove side has a small store. Both are gated and require a code to enter after hours. We get good 4G coverage on Verizon or Tmobile and we don't have any trouble streaming at any time of the day or evening. The location is about halfway between San Antonio and Austin so OTA TV coverage is a little spotty. There's a small town five minutes down the road - great grocery store with good bakery and deli and there's a good Italian restaurant across the road. New Braunfels is fifteen miles the other way and has everything. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 1
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Great place to camp at Canyon Lake. We stayed at the "Sunny Side" RV Park; only nine FHU sites. Shady sites on a dusty gravel road. Sites are level concrete pads. Small laundry room, but washers were broken. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. All sites except Site #1 can fit big rigs. Hiking trails. Busy on weekends. Close to New Braunfels and San Marcos. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
29-30 April 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
When making reservation, young lady said I got the last spot, after we arrived and even a day later, we found twelve spots still open. A few spots seem to be reserved for employees or other type homesteaders because they were set up along time. Gates close early, need code to get in or call host (who we never saw) thinking someone needs to provide better oversight of this area, dogs running loose with no leash and dog poop not being picked up. Otherwise, good alternative for commercial sites. Go Air Force, aim high!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 3
March 5-9 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The location on Canyon Lake is great, the recreation area is nice. The hiking trails were excellent and went for miles. There are two sides; the old Randolph AFB side and the Fort Sam side. To say the least the old USAF side is much nicer all around. We were in a RV spot on the Fort Sam side, the large concrete pad was very level with nice awnings and two fire pits. All utilities were within reach and worked fine. I know not many use the shower house anymore, but it was terrible. Mold in the showers, non-working sink and hand dryer. The washer/dryers were priced right, and seemed to be in fine working order. There is a small store with a few items, closes at 1600, a little early for most. We had to ask about WiFi, it worked very well, but did drop out often. I am sure this place is crazy in the summer but in the off season it was empty and very nice. Despite the dirt roads in the RV park, I would stay on Sunny Side if I came back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
July 22, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the former Randolph AFB recreation area at Canyon Lake, TX (sometimes called Sunny Side). On the other side of Jacobs Creek Road is the former Fort Sam Houston recreation area. Both areas are now run by Joint Base San Antonio and there is often some confusion between the two areas, which seem to each have different management. We stayed at the Ft Sam area a few weeks ago and were interested in how the Randolph side compares. Both have very similar facilities – boat ramp, marina, boat rentals, large picnic and swimming areas. The RV sites are very similar – level concrete pads with full W/E/S hook-ups, picnic tables and fire rings except the Randolph area does not have the shade covers found at most of the Ft Sam RV sites. Also, the Randolph sites are on an unpaved roadway, which can get a little dusty and they have no restroom facilities within easy walking distance of the RV sites. There were no homesteaders while we were there and, in fact, the place almost totally emptied out on Monday. There was no park Wi-Fi, but fairly good T-mobile and Sprint coverage. Be aware that there are some electric only sites which are really just the edge of a parking lot and are pretty small (pop-up sized). They are adequate and close to the lake, but be aware that they are not like the other RV sites. Both rec areas are excellent facilities with shady sites and lots of wildlife to admire and feed. (Don’t forget to bring a bag of deer corn.) The biggest difference we found was in the management. It was difficult to make a reservation at the Ft Sam side because they weren’t answering their phone (over two days of trying) and when they did answer they wouldn’t make a reservation because it was only fifteen minutes until closing time. We found them a little brusque when we got there. By comparison, the Randolph side answered the phone on the first try and were very cordial making the reservation and during check in.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 28 2
April 9-16, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
GREAT place and the reception crew at the front gate were GREAT to work with....very friendly and helpful.  We were here for a week and found the facilities to be excellent and enjoyed our stay.  Highly recommended. Plus watching the deer walk all around our campsite was a real treat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
April 9 - 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
My wife and I stayed here for several days while visiting relatives in Austin, Cedar Creek and Houston. This is a great location to see several sights in the area. We stayed on the Randolph AFB side - could not get long term stay on the Fort Sam Houston side of the Joint Base Recreation area. The shower/restroom facility is quite a distance to walk especially if disability hinders you. The closest restroom was a "one holer" with one urinal. The urinal was not in working order. There is no office on this side. Reservations must be made on the Fort Sam Houston side. There is no wi-fi available on the Randolph side, but it is available on the other side. One day, workers were clearing/cutting brush and dragged their cuttings between my 5th-wheel and my pickup, scraping the truck with branches and leaves. I hope if I am in the area again, I get on the Fort Sam Houston side!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
20 May 13
(Updated: May 20, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Here for a week. It is busy place on the weekend but very nice and peaceful during the week. We did hear that they are having some issues with stabilizing the rules, due to the Joint Base I suppose, but it was not a problem for us. There was an obvious presence of park staff during our stay. There were lots of deer in and around the RV camp site on the Randolph side. The facilities were neat and clean. Only real drawback is the lack of Wi-Fi on the Air Force side. Cost was very reasonable and a good value. Major shopping is in New Braunfels about 17 miles away on what has become a very busy road. Local small stores in Canyon Lake nearby.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 1
24 April 2013
(Updated: April 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
While the rules seem to change from week to week, and while it is painfully clear one should never ever go there on a holiday, the only reason we have for not going back there is the drunken parties that seem to materialize out of no where and the total lack of anyone to report this to. Last time we were there, a drunken crowd chopped down a tree near our tent at 0200. I wish I could say this was a one time occurance, but it is rather typical. During the week, the place is great. On weekends, there will be a huge drunken party, and on holidays the staff is just about as rude as they can get.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 2
June 2011 and July2011
(Updated: September 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We love it. Everyone was so nice and helpful. We stayed in June and July and are headed there again in October. Our family and friends also like it there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 8
June 25,2011
(Updated: June 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Just returned from Randolph Canyon Lake Recreation Park, not very happy at all. The park is in need of many repairs. I parked at a picnic area and went swimming with the family, when we returned to the table to eat somebody decided that they wanted the area also and cooked up their food forcing us to cut our stay short. A planned out day turned into 2 hours. With all the repairs that I noticed I feel they should just shut the park down. Not a very pleasant outing for the long drive. Don't waste the time!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 6
October 9, 2010
(Updated: October 12, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice facilities and a friendly staff. Deer were everywhere and the kids had a great time feeding them.
WM
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 3
Sept. 19. 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
K.C. left this review using the Directory software: Stayed one night September 19th. The directions were very good and the staff was very friendly. Each site is on a concrete pad with full hook ups and 30/50 amp service. The restrooms are clean and modern. Deer roam through the area and the area is very quiet. We will stay here again when we pass through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
June 24-27, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The most enjoyable Famcamp we have ever stayed in. Had no problems getting my 34 foot Montana fifth wheel to the site. We stayed in a full hookup site among the trees by the laundry shack which was closed for repairs. The lake was refreshing and we cooled off in the swim area every day. The park is a great area to bike around. The pads are cement, large and level. The staff is very helpful As we sat down under the awning the deer began to come out of the woods and visit with us. Deer food is available at the store in the Sam Houston Park which just across the road from this park. We treated our deer friends with peanuts, grapes and dry cat food which they seem to really enjoy. It started with 4 deer the first day and by the time we got ready to leave we had 14 deer showing up for goodies. I can't wait to get back and see how big the fawns have grown.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 3
April 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My family and I camped at one of the tent sites next to the water a few months ago. The facilities were clean and marina was great. Looking forward to going back this weekend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
26 March 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We're staying across the street at Ft. Sam's RV park rec area. Went over to talk to these folks, inspect the facilities & talk w/ some campers. 1st off-directions are good & correct to this RV park & Ft. Sam's. Same turn off of FM 306, however. That turn is very dangerous. As you get to the 15.5 mile pt. from I-35 you'll see a flashing light at the top of a hill. You'll be thinking that this is your turn but it isn't. As soon as you brake & realize that it is not Jacob's Creek/park rd & begin to accelerate you see another flashing light about 50 yds farther. The brown Military RV park info sign is here on the right, but it is located at your turning place. No advance notice. Problem- it is at the top of a hill. Traffic coming up the same hil on the opposite side can't see you turning til they're almost on top of you. So look for the 1st flashing light,get ready to turn AFTER it at the 2nd flashing light. If it's clear-really go for it. Don't delay that turn to the military RV park rd (Jacob's Creek Park rd). Laundry is still closed. Campers say that they are NOT charged the $5 per day entrance fee (Ft. Sam's does hit ya' for this). Park employees say 01 Oct. `10 is the date for the new combo management (Air Force will be in charge) for this RV park & Ft. Sam's across the street. The RV park had half the sites open while Ft. Sam has been full for a week. Bath-house was clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 2
Feb 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a very nice place to stay. Downside -- laundry is not available at the Randolph area for the foreseeable future. Apparently, the county has closed them down for some environmental issue. However, laundry is available at the Ft. Sam area across the road. It costs $5 to get into the Ft. Sam area unless you have disability access card. Laundry at Ft. Sam is very nice. The weekly rate of $100 is no longer available -- still, at $15/day, it's a bargain. Very quite, very peaceful. We had 21 deer visit our campsite tonight looking for free hand-outs which we were more than happy to give them. We are in site 8 -- not a good site because, for some reason, the sewer dump is on the opposite side of the water and electric. Go figure..... We made do and not a huge imposition. Even at that, we will be back again. Word is that Randolph will take over the Ft. Sam RV area within a year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
Nov 18 - Dec 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a nice little campground. If you like watching deer, this is the place to be. At any time of day, you will see them in the campground. The campground itself is very nice. Level concrete pads for your RV, full hookups. The areas between the sites are somewhat grassy. It did rain while I was there, and this all turns to mud. Each site has a large security light. If I did not have foam in my skylight, it would have been very bright in my bedroom. There is also a big fire ring and a picnic table at each site. The staff was very nice. Laundry facility was old, could use a little cleaning, but not that bad overall. There are two washers and two dryers. $1 each. One of the washers was out of order all the time I was there. Talking to staff, it has been reported but problems getting service under warranty. The rates listed are not truly accurate. It is $15 per night and $300 per month, but there is no weekly rate. Also, they fail to tell you that you can only stay 30 days then you must leave for 2 days before coming back in. Staff said most just go across the road to the Fort Sam Houston Campground. Overall, a nice place and if you don't mind the move every 30 days, a nice place to stay for an extended time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
View all user reviews