Fort Sam Houston at Canyon Lake

Featured Hot
 
4.4 (29)
158160   0   2   0   29

User reviews

17 reviews with 5 stars

29 reviews

 
(17)
 
(9)
 
(2)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
 
4.8  (29)
 
4.4  (29)
 
4.6  (29)
 
4.4  (29)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

24-26 May 2014

Spent memorial day weekend at Canyon Lake, great view, camp host were extra friendly and professional. Safety people were very professional.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 26-31, 2014

My wife and I were impressed! The camp hosts and all the staff we talked to were very friendly and helpful. It is wonderful to see these great facilities for the service members and their families. We camped in the RV park in a 5th wheel in a full-hookup pull-through site, and we drove all through the recreation area several times. The grounds were always clean and the wildlife was amazing. We saw lots and lots of deer, a few jackrabbits and even a fox. If we are ever in the San Antonio area again we will be sure to stay here. We loved it! Hopefully, Texas will get more rain this year, because Canyon Lake and all the other Texas lakes we saw were way down.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

24-27 July 2013

We absolutely loved our stay in the Bunkhouse on the Fort Sam Houston side. The area was clean and everything functioned just as it should. We made extensive use of the fire pit and grill as well as the convenient country store and bathroom/shower facilities. The kids enjoyed the playground and NEOS games. We rented a pontoon boat for the day for the extremely reasonable price of $105.00. We had an absolute blast. The guys at the marina were friendly, motivated, and professional and made the boating experience fun and low stress. The staff at the store and check in desk were courteous, friendly and efficient. The guy who let us in the gate initially (after hours) made us feel very welcome and was very helpful. Everything about our visit was positive. We will come back and do the exact vacation every time we get the chance!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 08, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 3, 2013

Great place for family and fun! We always have a wonderful time here and the fishing is always great!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2012

I love this place we live in San Antonio and before the joint base change we use to go at lease 1 week a month and stayed in the east RV park. Since the change we can't ever get a reservation phone rings 1000 times before answered and they they just tell you they have no reservations. They say they have first come first serve really who is going to load up your rv in hopes of getting a site. Why are there no reservations on line in this day and age it would be so easy then you could see when there are reservations available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 13, 2012 to at least January 23, 2012

This by far is way better than the camp in Mississippi where we stayed last. At least the combination on the bath house works!The bath house looks new. Has nice individual shower stalls with two curtains, one on the outside area where the bench is and one on the shower stall itself. The bath house looks to be only a couple of years old, everything is very modern and up to date. There is a liquid soap dispenser that always has soap on the sink. The drive through pads with covered picnic tables are all 2 years old too and very level if your rig isn't too long. There is a ramp up to a very flat place and a slight ramp down. Before we every got our travel trailer plugged in, 3 deer came wandering through the campground. The next morning we saw about 17 deer. We are parked in space 8 so we are in the older campsite. The bath house is very close and it's an easy walk for me even though I don't walk real well. Behind the office there is a washer dryer area. There are 5 washers and 4 dryers. It costs 75 cents to wash and 50 cents to dry. Attached is a work out room what has several machines, tables and a tv so you can sit or work out while your laundry is working. There is also a bathroom and shower area, but the shower area is awfully old and there is no soap by the sinks there. There are no locks on the doors either, so don't use that shower! They really need to tear that shower area out and redo it completely. You have to leave the camp area to eat. They lock the gate at 10pm so you need to be back by then. You can always leave, but they don't unlock the entry gate until 7 am we are told. We love it so much here, we intend to stay longer, maybe another week. There is a nice walking trail with a gazebo to rest. The people and camp host are all so nice. And at night, weather permitting they invite everyone in the RV park to come gather around the campfire at 5 pm. There is a small area off the office to buy some supplies and ice cream. It is really peaceful here and in the mid 70's this week so the weather could not be more perfect! We will definitely come back here next winter! And the price is right, $15 a night for full hookups. And we have free wi-fi.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

28 Dec 10 - 5 Jan 11

Great place to stay. It's 16 miles off I-35. The staff is very helpful. I marked Amenities/Facilities down a little because there was never soap by the sinks in the bathrooms and the water backed up some when showering. Other than that it was great. Awesome trails. Super nice people wherever you go. Went fishing and we caught 9 w/i 2 hours. It was a really nice time. They have boats and paddle boats to rent at very reasonable rates. Not sure where the poster below got that there is a $5 fee on top of the $15/day. There is no additional fees. Maybe they changed that since he was here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 06, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 3-18, 2010

We arrived Friday only to find out Fort Sam and Randolph Rec Areas are now Joint Force operated by Randolph. Sites 11-24 are currently electric only. They now take reservation for sites 1-10 and sites 25-30 are space available. Air Force side has 10 full hookup sites available. Some of the regular, annual winter RVers don't like the change, however, from my conversations with the Air Force staff on the East side, there are plans to make all sites full hookups after the Christmas season and reservations will be accepted 3 months in advanced. No one likes change and that's what going on currently. Both RV parks are in great locations with plenty of place to hike.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 26, 2010

Taking the time to write this because I think that everyone should know that this is an awesome facility. Hate camping because the military makes us do it enough. However, this was a great safe family experience. We arrived early Saturday morning, unpacked, set up our tents, ate lunch, played in the river and sand, took a walk, bar-bq hamburgers for dinner, played some more, set up a fire for smores and lights out because the kids were too tired. Hubby and I stayed up drinking beer and listening to the sound of crickets. Woke the next morning to coffee and bacon on the grill. It was a great time. There is an office to buy somethings that you forgot. Showers and indoor plumbing at the office for those who do not like sleeping with sand in their shorts. Washers and dryers available. Downfall is that if you forgot something like ketchup and the office is closed you have to travel 30min. to buy some affordable ketchup, understand that there is no electricity in the tent area and no sinks but you can take a big bucket and fill it up with water at a well to wash your hands before you eat. Oh, and absolutely under no condition can you skinny dip....other than that it was a great time, great place and best of all great people!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 4-7, 2010

Awesome experience. Our family, including kids and grandchildren, stayed in a cottage this past weekend. Cottages are clean and air conditioning is nice and cold (we can control). Full kitchen! Bring a mattress pad if you want to sleep comfortably. Each of the three bedrooms had a queen bed. Staff was very friendly. Beach area was great for the grand kids and the lake is beautiful. Already made reservations to come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 24, 2009

We love staying here when we come to see my brother and sister-in-law. Since our last visit a year ago, we noticed a lot of the RV sites have been upgraded. We now have complete hook ups with 30/50amp, sewer, and water. The new concrete pads are now wide, and long. Each site has a nice patio, grill, and a big picnic table. Since the upgrade, the number of sites have been reduced from 33 to 30. I think that because of the improvements, the nightly rate increased from $10 to $15 a night which is still not too bad. There are still some improvements that need to be made, but overall, we are very impressed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 09

Stayed here recently on a whim. The hill country area is very beautiful and Uncle Sam picked a very nice location on the lake for Ft Sam and Randolph just across the road. The cottages (trailers really) were immaculate and, for the most part, comfortable. They are relatively new and well equipped. The folks who worked there (except for one grumpy old coot) were warm and friendly. We stayed in the trailers (cottages) and here are some things I wish I knew beforehand: - The beds are horribly stiff. Bring your own mattress topper unless you prefer sleeping on floor-like stiffness. Also bring your own pillows (we did). - The park is locked up at 10 PM every night. So if you return to the park after this time you have to park your vehicle outside and walk to your cottage. It's not far, but some other parks have a key pad operated gate which allows entry after the staff have gone home. Kind of inconvenient if you were in town and had a load to carry. - This is just a heads up - there is a 2 page check-in checklist in which you have to count the spoons, pans, collanders, etc (along with a price for each item) and return to the office within 1 hour of check-in (or else). There is also a 2 - 3 page check-out checklist to run to include scrubbing the toilets and floors and leaving the mop and sheets (specifically tucked inside the pillowcases) near the front door (or else). Lots of bold print items enumerating that if this/that/the other thing isn't done, they can charge a penalty on your credit card. Just be ready for a moving out of base housing, white glove inspection experience. Other than that, we'd do it again and probably will.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mother's Day May 2009

Stayed Mother's Day 2009 and left following Tuesday. Gave amenities/facilities a lesser score because the beach area was closed; however, this was not their fault--serious drought. Bathhouse (female) was very clean--only change I would make would be to make shower head adjustable. If you want to hook-up to WiFi, there is no guest password, can either hit enter or type in guest--staff did not know this info. Very quiet, which is what I needed and the price was right since I had National Park Pass.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April, 2007

This is an excellent and very friendly facility. Excellent staff. Very nice marina and fishing dock. RV facilities are quite adequate, convenient dump station. Some sites offer 50 amp some 30 amp. Nice central area where conversations come easily. I have stayed here several times and will continue to do so. Many improvements made lately and more scheduled. Convenient to San Antonio 30 - 40 minutes, rustic and overall a great place to stop for awhile.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 29, 2008

Let me start off by saying, the staff is EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. I had a sick child and had to cancel my reservation; the staff, Charlie and the other staff were great at understanding our situation. We rescheduled our visit. Nice and clean rooms!!! A great and safe environment for my family. We will be coming back to visit very soon!!!! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK AND THE FRIENDLY STAFF!!!!!! IT MAKES A DIFFERENCE!!! THANKS AGAIN!!! Mr. & Mrs. Greenstone, San Antonio, Texas

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct. 12 - Oct 21, 2007

The "3" rating for Amenities/Facilities was given for the bath/toilet facilities and no on site sewer connections. Some sites aren't well defined and don't have both 30 and 50 amp service. Some have 50 and some have 30. There is a $5.00 daily entrance fee. Waived for Golden Age/Golden Passport holders. The entrance gate is locked at 2200 hrs (10:00PM). The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. When using their WiFi system and you're using Outlook or Outlook Express, your outgoing email server must be configured as "smtp.gvtc.com" (leave off the quotes). The laundry room is behind the office. Not free though. Pay washers and dryers. Overall, it was a most delightful experience. I will definately return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

---

We have been coming to this Park for several years and always enjoy the experience. There have been a number of improvements that make the stay enjoyable, new WiFi, new Office decor, new staff members, trees trimmed for easy access, very clean facilities, and many more. The people are very helpful and friendly. It is very reasonable at $10 / day or $250 a month. Gets crowded in the spring and fall and weekend/holidays, but wide open most of the time.

The water system could be improved (a little hard water) and sometimes too many cats, bu the views and area is very, very nice. Nice fishing marina and boats to rent. We will always come back here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
17 results - showing 1 - 17