Fort Sam Houston at Canyon Lake

Featured Hot
 
4.4 (29)
158088   0   2   0   29

User reviews

8 reviews with 4 stars

29 reviews

 
(17)
 
(9)
 
(2)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
 
4.8  (29)
 
4.4  (29)
 
4.6  (29)
 
4.4  (29)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 23, 2016

This is a beautiful campground with well developed sites, some with lake views.  Be aware that this is the former Fort Sam Houston Rec area and the former Randolph AFB rec area is right across the road.  Both are now under Air Force management as part of the JBSA organization and the names can be confusing.  We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay here and hope to return.  The area is exceptionally clean and well maintained.  Lots of wildlife to watch.  Bath houses are rather run down, but clean.  Several restaurants and a grocery story nearby (not walking distance, though). While the area is exceptional, the management is a little harried.  Just a few, of several examples - no one answered when I called to make a reservation.  After repeated calls, I finally got through at 3:45 pm and was told that they close at 4 pm, and had already closed up so couldn't make a reservation, but I probably wouldn't need a reservation on a Thursday night.  When we arrived at the gate the next day, the entrance was unmanned and it took several calls to get the gate opened.  The one person at the office was trying to answer multiple radio and telephone calls while checking me in.  To few people, poorly organized, trying to do to many things and doing none of them well.  The only thing lacking at this FAMCAMP is customer service and good management.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

7-14 Apr 2014

Like so many before this is an excellent FAMCAMP. Only issue I have is with the check-in process. They were very friendly and ready for me when I arrived. Looking back it appeared they assumed I had been here before and just told me to go almost back to the gate and I would find my site. My recommendation would be to provide me with a map and circle my campsite and give directions. It wasn't until the next day that I found out there was a map of the campground and what was available. I was lucky enough to be camped next to a camp host and he helped with what the office should have done. I will come back the next time I'm in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2013

While the facility itself ranks with the best, we were quiet disappointed with personnel at the registration point, in that, behavior was completely unacceptable. And let’s be clear, some employees did demonstrate good manners and were courteous. For instance; when we called in to make reservation, were told to ask about the “lottery,” since we were not able to reserve through the weekend. So at check in, we did inquire about the lottery. I don’t wish to mention names but the person who was taking care of us, besides being totally rude with their responses, also told us the “lottery” was not longer available. Incidentally, I came in the registration office Friday morning and luckily, a different person was at the front desk. Curiously I asked “again” about the lottery and to make a long story short and consequent to the “lottery,” we did get a site until Sunday, as originally desired. On another issue, when we are home, wake up normally arrives around 5:00 AM. Doesn’t necessarily mean a similar pattern is to be followed when we are on vacation. During our stay at Canyon Lake, we experienced a much unwelcome hammering noise from someone collocated next to our RV site. Moreover, they also elected to clean their POV air filter with a pretty loud air compressor. Later we learned that they happened to be “camp hosts.” To the powers to be, someone needs to visit the above cited matter and act accordingly. Customer service, for one, is a subject which should be equally exercised by everyone “behind the desk.” We look forward to return and hopefully the mentioned areas are taken care of.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 07, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 5th thru 10th, 2013

Arrived on January 5th for 4 nights. The check-in process is very good. There is a gate to enter and after hours each camper has an individual code to enter. (Works great, if your code has been setup. On our last visit about 2 months ago that was not the case. All was corrected quickly). We selected site #4 which is very level in all directions. The men's restroom was clean and in good shape except the door will not close, so need for a code on the door. According to the wife, the ladies not so clean and the heaters not working on day one. Next day much cleaner and two space heaters are now in place. A little too cold to check out the other amenities in the area. The check-in office was well organized and the folks that work there were very helpful. Supplies to purchase was ok. Due to the weather forecast for rain on our checkout date, we extended for one extra day. Ladies in the office did this with a smile. There is deer everywhere. Some of the other campers were feeding them. This is a common practice. We stay here a few times a year and always enjoy the stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 16-20, 2012

This was my first visit to this facility. My initial phone call was friendly and courteous. I made a follow up phone call, Robert was very friendly and helpful. The female that checked me in at the gate was very friendly. The bombshell came when I got there late and was very tired and was actually at my site relaxing and setting up our site when a very grouchy bearded rude old guy came yelling about our boat being somewhat on the grass. Scared my family to death, ruined our night. Yes, my bad. I failed to notice my son had parked it on the grass. The guy had no tact I thought I left the army and went back to basic training. To notice the next day the guy 2 RV's down had his trailer on the grass for the duration of my time there(4 days). Perhaps that man was racist or had the good old buddy system going. Past that experience, the park was great, the shower facilities were great and everyone else seemed friendly and courteous.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 22, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

21-28 March 2010

1st review for 2010. Not much has chg'ed from past excellent 2009 reviews. Very nice pads/sites, facilities all in good working order & new. However, checking in is strange. We got to the gate, got a pass & directions to the office. Perhaps I misunderstood but drove around until a camper showed me the office. Office staff told me to go back to the RV park & pick out a place, set up & come back to register afterwards. We got to an empty site, drove in & found the hookups are reversed every other spot. So in number 2 you have hookups on the left, number 3-on the right, etc. And don't forget there's $5 added to the daily $15 site (Park entrance fee). No way out of that except a $40 annual parking pass.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov. 24 -29, 2009

Great place to get away from it all. Loved the deer out side of our rig each morning. Only negative was a lack of hot water in the mens showers. Will come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 15, 2008

We stopped by for a visit. This is a real nice recreation area with plenty of water sports. The "cottages" and RV Park aren't very fancy, but they do the job and the rates are reasonable. The office gate and office workers were very friendly. This recreation area is great for tent campers, picnicing, and group picnics. There's plenty of tent sites and picnic tables/BBQs along the lake. The RV Park bath house is in pretty bad shape, but they already have plans to build a new one. Without sewer connections (there is a dump), staying here for a week (or so) in an RV is a good option.

Was this review helpful to you? 
8 results - showing 1 - 8