Fort Sam Houston RV Park

Featured New Hot
 
4.4 (135)
107551   1   9   2   60

User reviews

40 reviews with 4 stars

135 reviews

 
(84)
 
(37)
 
(14)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
 
4.5  (135)
 
4.5  (135)
 
4.2  (135)
 
4.6  (135)
 
4.4  (135)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
40 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

24 Jan - 1 Feb 17

Stayed 8 nights in a 35' motorhome & had a very nice experience! We had much difficulty upon arrival (as others have already stated, DON'T USE THE "STANLEY ROAD" ADDRESS ABOVE IN YOUR GPS: it's not anywhere near the campground!! We ended up using the intersection of "Williams" & "Nursery Rd" & that'll get you close enough. The only suggestion I'd offer would be to add a few direction signs to the campground: The only signage I ever saw was the one at the entrance lane into the campground! Overall, a very nice campground!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2 - 8, 2016

It had been several years since we last visited the RV park at Fort Sam Houston, but it is still a very good place to stay. On this visit, we had a level, concrete pull-thru site with great hookups. The access roads in the RV park are asphalt. The staff are friendly, WiFi is available (only in the office), there are recycling bins on site, and there is a great commissary and exchange not far from the RV park. The only recommendations that I would make is that they improve the WiFi (make it available across the park) and add more recycling bins. Midway through the week, the bins were overflowing. They also need to make it clear what can and cannot be recycled. The woman I spoke to, in the office, did not know. We would definitely stay here, again, if we were in the San Antonio area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10-16 May 16

Very clean spacious sites. Play area for the little ones. Laundry and bath house clean and well maintained. Laundry is kind of costly but, needed. Staff, very friendly and professional. Security checks by base law enforcement. Have not found any RV parks better for the cost. If we make it this way again, we will stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2015

Didn't stay here but wish we did. Nice famcamp. Long sites, even some long enough to fit my 73' coach and trailer. Level sites and large sites. Spoke to former camp host that was there... Although he said things have changed a bit, but that's how it goes with new managers. As far as I could see it would be the place to stay if visiting San Antonio! My next time through this way I will call well in advance to stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 2-12, 2015

As noted in the Fort Sam Houston fact sheet, this no General Delivery or personal mail service for the RV Park. UPS and FEDEX service is available. The address on the fact sheet is incorrect. the correct address is: Recreational Vehicle Park, Your Name, Your Site Number, Bldg. 3514, Petroleum Drive, Fort Sam Houston, Texas 78234. As usual, Baker will do all to assist you and make your stay enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb.11 - 26 2015

The office staff is very helpful with any questions you may have. Nice large open sites with grills. Laundry room is small and could be cleaner. The big issue is the train noise at night. Some nights five or more trains come through. The engineers like to blow their horns as they come through!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 28 - June 12, 2014

We enjoyed our 2 week visit here. It's a very nice and clean RV park. Like a previous reviewer, I hate to criticize the park. But there are some things to point out. They need to join the real world and put in cable and WiFi. They have dial up internet at the clubhouse but if you are using that you're out of luck after 1600 when the clubhouse is locked up for the night. Also, be aware that the roads between the campground and the gate near the National Cemetery are closed for runners between 1730 and 1830. I thought that kind of strange. Several days before we left, an old (about 15 feet long) travel trailer showed in one of the sites. A 12 foot by 12 foot canopy was erected behind it and filled with whatever they could get under it. There was everything including several ice chests, clothes baskets, duffel bags, etc. It was filled to the top and looked very junky. At least they weren't next door. Regardless, we enjoyed our visit and would come back again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 1, 2013

Our first time here. If you "need" a soda, buy it before you get here. No vending machines. Nice neat camp. Laundry is $1.50 per load. Some machines out of order. 50 and 30 amp hookups water and dump at all sites. Good selection of local tv stations. Don't need cable!

Campground Entrance
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2013

This was our first experience at a Fam Camp. It was a good choice. I arrived late and found the site that was reserved for us. Clean, quiet, and well groomed. We are scheduled at several other camps this summer, hope they measure up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2013

We have stayed here a number of times and have always had a great experience. The golf course is very close and the BX and Commissary are top notch. The slots are wide and paved. A very good place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 15, 2012

Nice campground, could upgrade with WIFI.....the trip into the base was a pain in the rear because of all the construction, and yes you get used to the trains at night time blowing there horns. But overall was a nice visit, very close to downtown....Alamo, and the Riverwalk. All the military facilities were close by and not hard to find.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 -30 March 2012

Getting to the park is an exercise in pothole and maintenance cone avoidance, but once on the post the roads, while bumpy, are fairly well maintained. The park itself is extremely well maintained; level concrete pull-through sites and large patio with table and grill, convenient hookups, and lots of room. Propane is available M-F and there are a few RV items in the store. There is no park WiFi or cable, but you're in the middle of a metropolitan area so there is plenty of broadcast TV, and our Verizon data card was on 4G during our stay. If you have mail forwarded, be prepared to navigate a maze of warehouses and loading docks to find the mail room - we opted for the main post office instead. It's one of the best parks in the military, but what makes it less desirable for us is the the train noise. Be prepared for all day, all night trains loudly sounding their horns as they pass within 1/2 mile of the park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 18, 2012

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - A real FamCamp. Facilities are very good plus plenty of space between rigs. We'll come again if we're out this way.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 1 - 31, 2011

Stayed for the month. Convenient location to downtown. Great rv park. No wifi. Lots of room between sites. Laundry is .75 to wash and dry. Nice restrooms and showers. Office is organized and also sells a few rv necessities. Roads on base are awful. Lots of construction, but not on the roads. Nice exchange and commissary. Will return if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-12 June 2011

Our experience was good. Its a quiet place. Lots of retirees, doesn't leave much space for active military to utilize when PCSing. The park needs Wifi. Place was clean, pet friendly and host was nice. The staff from MWR was outstanding. Would stay there again if we go back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

8-22 March 2011

Good ole' Ft. Sam. Everyone's said it all. If they had wi-fi my ratings would be higher.The AAFES PX wi-fi worked flawlessly for us this yr. My wife & I seem to report on showers/bath alot -since we use them more than most; I guess. Ft. Sam's are great. Always spotless and plenty of VERY hot water. Washers are only 75cents too. Even though the AF is officially in charge now of Joint Base San Antonio, I can't see where they've screwed it up here at Ft Sam-yet. Come on down-great folks & diesel on base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 30, 2010 - January 2, 2011

Our only complaint was the lack of a wifi connection which should be easy to install in such a compact camping area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 20, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 17-20 2010

This is a nice park with extra nice staff… Baker and Joe. I doubt that the park will win any awards, but it’s nicely located right next to San Antonio. Website directions are excellent. Sites are plenty wide with concrete pad and picnic table. Bathhouses could be cleaner. Fort Sam is totally under construction. Reservations are accepted far in advance. Monthly rate, is $340. You can also have a guest camper rig at the same rate. One super nice thing, there are no droves of “volunteers” taking up sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 14, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec. 7 to 14, 2010

It has been several years since we have been here and the new bridge was a much needed improvement. No problems with tree branches anywhere on the roads either but the ID checkpoint had barriers and cones on both sides and we did tap one of the barriers and got a smudge on the side but no damage. We do not use showers and bathrooms either so no comment can be given. The Air Force has taken over administrative duties of the RV park but doubt anyone will notice any difference. Still lots of construction going on all around the post so some roads are closed, many have holes and heaves so need to be careful when driving around.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 13, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 13-Dec. 13, 2010

The directions were right on -- don't try to use your GPS to find the campground because it can bring you in the wrong gate. If you attempt to use any other gate then you will experience lots of construction, lots of traffic and narrow roads. We did not experience any external damage to our coach from trees on Winans Rd. but I did go slow and moved to the center of the road. Winans Rd. has some holes that you need to avoid. Check in was easy. The sites are all pull through, easy to get into and large. There is some Interstate traffic noise to the east and lots of trains. However, we got use to it. The monthly fee is very reasonable. There was a Thanksgiving potluck, the campground provided the turkey, but we didn't attend due to the poor notice provided. A notice was put in the office sometime after our arrival and we had no need to visit the office so we didn't see it. Did not use the restroom or laundry.

Was this review helpful to you? 
40 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2