Arnold AFB FamCamp

Featured Hot
 
3.8 (34)
65521   0   16   2   23

User reviews

11 reviews with 5 stars

34 reviews

 
(11)
 
(12)
 
(10)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
 
4.2  (34)
 
3.3  (34)
 
4.0  (34)
 
3.9  (34)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May-Present 2015

Last minute change sent us down south instead of north to Fort Campbell and we are so glad we did. My husband fell in love with this famcamp the minute we saw it. Looking for a spot to leave RV and get away on weekends and this is it. Super friendly people, staff (Robert), always there to help any way they can to make your stay there great. They are working hard to update and keep things running smoothly. My only wish is if they had full hook ups (sewer) we'd never leave, oh well maybe someday, buts that's camping. Just a great place to get away to. Thank you all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 30th-June 5th, 2015

We really enjoyed the peaceful tranquility of this camp, we woke up to a visit from a heron every morning. I saw and watched a redheaded woodpecker. The kids loved the beach area, it is roped off, which makes a good safe place to swim. There is great places to fish. They have movies and actives you can join in on or they will help you by letting you know where some great places to visit while you are there, we hiked the natural arched bridge that was suggested to us. We really had a great time with family and friends. The price was very good for the wonderful scenery.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2015

I almost didn't stay here after reading the reviews, but my hubby, who didn't go to this site, said he called and they had sites available. He said if it wasn't decent, we'd go up the road to the state park cg. Boy, was I glad he told me to 'check it out'. We couldn't have asked for a more picturesque site. It was pull-through which is nice for our rig, only water and electric, but at $12 a night you can't beat it. It's a CAMPGROUND.....not a resort, and that's what I wanted. Quiet, peace, a great view of nature and all it's glory from the bold squirrels who played tag with our pups, to the great blue herons and the redheaded woodpeckers, I loved my time there. I agree, the older bathhouse is a bit, well, OLD......time and money, and in this economy, is few and far between. The new Asst. Mgr measured all the sites (no one in the past had any idea how important that is for prospective campers) so the office can know if someone's rig will fit in the available site. While there are a few "homesteaders", they are made to leave after 60 days, so there are no permanent structures on the sites. Some of the campers were 'semi' permanent, locals who parked their camper on a 'sweet' site for a month or two, all to be able to come down on the weekends and enjoy the water and the view. After all, for 12 a night, 'renting' the site for a month or two is an inexpensive multi week vacation, all for less than it would cost for gas on a weeklong trip! and this dedicated income will come in handy to help with the improvements this new team wants to make, including sewage on site, at least on the bigger sites. As with everything, it costs money to improve, and they don't want to do it at the expense of raising their prices too much. They want to keep this affordable for ALL. Then again, writing this review might just cause me to lose my quiet little piece of heaven, but the staff were all helpful, informative and accessable......what more could you ask for?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

30 Mar 14 - 6 Apr 14

When we first contemplated visiting Arnold AFB, I read the reviews here and wasn't too impressed with what I read. But we like to check out places that we have not previously visited, so here we are. And we're glad we came. Apparently management has heeded the complaints and suggestions and we're quite pleased with things. In fact, we extended our stay a few days. Both bathhouses had been painted inside and out and were very clean. The water was nice and hot. A lot of new gravel appears to have been spread at the sites. I will agree that a number of the sites are not too level and it's a bit of a challenge to get level. Previous reviews had mentioned lots of trash - we saw very little. Trash barrels were emptied regularly. Someone has done a lot of leaf-blowing, which improves the looks of things. One can now make a reservation by site, and at $12 for military/retired personnel, it's a great deal. Kaycie at the FAMCAMP desk was great to deal with, both on the phone when making our reservation and in person after our arrival. We found the directions on this site a bit confusing - here's my version: 4 ½ miles SW of I-24 on TN-127. Turn right (west) onto Old Brick Church Rd. 1 ½ miles from TN-127 turn left onto Pumping Station Rd. Go 1 mile, turn right onto Northshore Dr. Westover Rd is .2 mile along Northshore Dr. on the left. Turn left onto Westover to go to FAMCAMP registration at the Wingo Inn at the end of the road. Plenty of maneuver room for larger rigs. Coordinates are: 35.319737, -86.068276. The FAMCAMP is on Northshore Dr. 1.1 miles from Pumping Station Rd, also on the left with a sign. Coordinates are: 35.325165, -86.083251. The FAMCAMP and office are both outside the base - one does not pass through any gates to get to the FAMCAMP. We will definitely plan to stay here again. Ted H.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

various

I stay here a fair amount, so I thought I should chime in with my two cents worth. the famcamp at Arnold AFB has been a fantastic getaway for my family and I. I live about 70 miles away, so it is a quick transition to a vacation oasis. I have a small (21') trailer and the sites are all easily accessed and most in wonderful locations for lake and scenic views. The staff could not be more helpful. On a limited budget they do a great job keeping the facility in fine condition. This is not a for profit, upscale vacation destination, but neither are the prices. 20 bucks a night for full hookups, beautiful lake views, sand beach, boatdock...golf, tennis and a world class gym nearby...you just can't beat it. As a plus, it is almost never crowded. I ride my bike on the base roads which are wide and safe and seldom used. They even have a mountain bike track on the base. Kirsten, the new services director and her staff are working very hard to improve those areas that need improving. The bath houses are sometimes not perfect. Clean up after yourselves folks! Sometimes a site will have butts and bottle caps thrown about or beer cans in the firerings...give me a break, your mother doesn't live here! Police up the area before you leave for the next campers. Last week I had a problem with the electric hook up, Jackie dropped what he was doing and replaced a circuit breaker panel in about 5 mins flat. I don't want to name all the names, because I'll leave someone out (Joe, greg, Nathan). It can't all be roses of course, I'd like to see fewer pesky squirrels and I have had to be careful to check for ticks. All in all a great spot, great staff, great value. Everybody stay away..don't come here and don't tell your friends.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

February 5-12, 2012

T.S. left this review using the Directory software: - Although the campsites are numbered, gravel roads are not well marked or defined and a bit confusing for our first time visit, particularly since there were only 3 other campers (long-termers) at the site. Although there are several pull through sites, it can be a tight fit for big rigs due to trees being very close to the roads & campsites. After carefully parking and a good amount of leveling, we had a wonderful site with beautiful views of the lake. Water & electric (30/50) at site, dump station nearby. Restrooms were very clean, warm (below freezing temps during our visit) and showers had an abundance of hot water. WiFi not available at campground but we were told it is coming this summer (2012). To check email, we parked in the lot at the Wingo Inn (at the end of Westover Rd) and tapped into their wireless from our vehicle. Also had a great tasting dinner at the Lakeside Club next door to Wingo Inn. The FamCamp office on Westover Rd has a small library of donated books and movies and the staff was very informative and helpful. Enjoyed our visit and look forward visiting again someday, next time during the summer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

20-22 August 2011

J.W. left this review using the Directory software: - Great FamCamp site. There is a boat ramp in the campground and two large boat docks for use be campers. There is a fish dressing station next to the bath house. The campground has a sand beach/swimming area that is great for small children, no lifeguard. The Camp Store is closed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 13, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

27 - 30 March 2011

This was our first camping experience at one of the FamCamp's and I would have to say we absolutely loved it here (site 18). I called about a week in advance to make reservations and everyone was very nice and friendly. The lake was beautiful and the wildlife was very friendly (ducks). The grounds themselves are very nice with large concrete slabs for the picnic tables. The roads through the park as well as the sites are all gravel. Most sites are level, but some have a bit of a slope entering them. So chose your site wisely if you have a low clearance rig. Sites 17, 18 & 19 are right next to the small beach so it might be busy during the warmer months. The connections for site 19 are on the 'wrong' side. But if you have a large Class A and towing a car, this might work out well for you since you could pull straight in and then disconnect. The small store is seasonal and was not open during our stay. We walked through Bathhouse 2 and it seemed very clean and maintained. Our camper is self container so we did not have to use these facilities. There isn't much to the dump station, but it serves its purpose. A fish cleaning station is provided next to Bathhouse 1. The main dumpster was emptied during our stay but not the site trash cans. We had a very good WIFI connection for the entire stay, using our Comcast USB key. We did not bring a TV with us so I cannot speak to channel reception. The commissary and exchange are closed on Sun/Mon. WalMart is about 12 miles away. Overall this was a great camping experience for Angela and I and we will definitely will plan a return trip. I have posted pictures on my website at www.camperjohn.com.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 08

Had a great time there it was clean and easy to get in and out of, nice beach area also.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2008

We were here 3rd week in Sept. This is agreat Campground. Very quiet. Liked it very well. Was plenty busy but still enyoable. Bathrooms outstanding. The Lake was great. Could be a bit cheaper but hey it was nice. Thank You.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2006

The base is not closed. The campground is in the process of upgrading all RV sites electrical to 50 amps, enlarging & leveling sites and adding ten sites, this should be completed within two years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 11