Arnold AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
3.8 (34)
63558   0   16   2   20

User reviews

11 reviews with 4 stars

34 reviews

 
(11)
 
(12)
 
(10)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
 
4.2  (34)
 
3.3  (34)
 
4.0  (34)
 
3.9  (34)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August - September 2016

Famcamp is right on the lake. Beautiful area. Very quiet. Price was great until September 1st. Monthly rate went to $450.00. Daily rate up to $18.00 per night. Now way overpriced considering they have no sewer hookups. Beach is small and needs some TLC. Like about 30 yards of sand. I would come back. Commissary has everything one needs. No medical services on base. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23 May 2016

I stopped at this campground for an overnighter on my way to Nashville.  While the camp was quite full for a Monday, I was able to get sight #18, which is a premium site right on the water.  The person at Outdoor Rec was nice and helpful.  The campground was neat and clean.  It didn't appear that the campsites were grossly unlevel as noted in older reviews.  The men's bathhouse and shower was clean. If you come in on a Sunday or Monday make sure you bring your own food, as the BX and Commissary are closed on those days. They do have a grill at the golf course but it closes early.  The Jack Daniel's Distillery is close by in Lynchburg TN, so make time to go on a tour!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2-4, 2014

All this beautiful little campground needs is someone who cares about it! So many of its problems could be resolved by a resident camp host or manager. The setting is lovely and offers opportunities to play, fish, swim, boat or just relax. Sites are scattered about so you don't look right at your neighbor. Very few of them are level but the electric and water pressure were good. The restrooms are very rustic, look like they were built out of spare parts and, while they have been painted, they need some further maintenance and care. The laundry wasn't set up well and wasn't clean enough to stick around and fold clothes. There is a large trash can at each site but still there is litter. The campground seems primarily for the civilian employees of the base. We only saw a few active duty or retired while we were there. There are several obviously long-term residents, as evidenced by large wood piles and household appliances on the patio. I did appreciate the cheaper rate for Retirees.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10 - 18 Apr 2012

We were assigned site #20 for our 36' fifth-wheel. The old map has site recommendations based on length and #20 was for a much smaller RV. We were able to change but some of the sites are not clearly marked. Some campers that frequented the camp were able to suggest different sites for us. The bath houses were not cleaned but similar to state parks. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. We were not fishing or boating but did enjoy site #14 up from the lake. We were visiting the local sites and had an enjoyable stay. Sites 1-5, 14-19, would handle larger RVs with 17-19 being right on the lake. Sites 8-12 were filled with RV rentals during our visit. Sites 27-36 seemed to be for the long term visitors. There is a camp store open 4 hours Friday - Sunday. We enjoyed our time and would stop by again if we are in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2011

We're a retired Air Force family. We just spent two fantastic weeks at this facility. The base is mostly contract with only 60 active duty personnel. But, they could still put some more effort into the FamCamp. They certainly spared no expense on the Base Club, I could have lived very comfortably in its toilets, they were that nice. They do now empty the trash about twice a week (thanks to a certain retired Marine). The camp check in is closed on Sundays and Mondays. What was the camp store has no plans of reopening. In the new shower block, one of the men's toilets sat broken for over a week. It was only the plastic flushing handle. I finally went to Wal-Mart, and bought a metal one for $2.50, and fixed it myself. Take note, Arnold Services, I know you monitor this site. Arnold AFB does not participate in the DOD ICE System (Interactive Customer Evaluation) So I could not let my opinion be known there. We had a great time tent camping. But a little effort and money, would make this one of the nicest facilities in the Military. FYI, if you need any help, see the unofficial camp hosts Brian and Sheryl (another former Marine). Thanks to all the retired Marine and Air Force personnel who made our vacation one of the best we've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June - August 2010

This campground is in need of some TLC. The Outdoor Rec. crew of three are responsible for the upkeep and do the best they can from what I have seen. There is no host and no workampers something that would help. This is a quiet and beautiful location on the lake. The sites are level to slightly sloped, and with good spacing between them. They have a nice dock with 6 slips if you have a boat. The bath house is clean but does need some repair. They have one washer and dryer attached to the old bath house which also needs some repair. They have a 28 day stay limit which you can extend. The week ends are the busiest since they let the contractors on base use this campground. This helps with the income. There is only 70-80 active duty stationed on this base. The Commissary (Tuesday – Saturday) is small but has everything you need. The BX is about the size of a Shoppette (open same as Commissary) but has the essentials. Tullahoma or Manchester TN is about 12 miles away. They both have Wal-Mart’s and shopping centers. Things to do on Base: 9 hole golf course (Tuesday and Thursday $10.00 all you can golf). Club open on Thursday 5-8, Friday 5-9 and Saturday 6-9, nice new lodge $39.00-$52.00. Auto Shop (appointment only) Equipment Rental (Tents Tables etc) Small Cabins on the lake. Boat and Pontoon Rentals ($2.00 - $20.00 per hour)(Short Boating Class required) Free New Release Movies at club on Thursday nights. Things to do in the Area: Chattanooga 1.5 hours away. Look Out Mountain, Raccoon Caverns, Ruby Falls, Aquarium, Chickamauga Battlefield etc. Nashville 1.5 hours Away Country Music Hall of Fame, Parthenon, The Hermitage etc. Locally Jack Daniels Distillery, George Dickel Distillery, Civil Wars battlefields. The Campground is a good base camp to relax after a day of site seeing. The Map gives site lengths. I have a 38 foot 5th. wheel and have plenty of room. Most sites have plenty of room behind them to accommodate any size rigs. I have had no problems with a portable Sat. dish. Good local TV from Huntsville Al. Huntsville Space Center is also a nice day trip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

14-15 June 2009

We've never camped here before, but have stayed in the VOQ, so we were familiar with the base. Couple things people need to know. One-This isn't a typical Air Force Base. It has a huge swatch of land, much of which is opened for public use - hiking/biking trails, fishing, boating, swimming - an outdoor person's paradise; but there are very few USAF people--lots of civilian contractors. Hence, there is a tiny commissary/AAFES shoppette on the Main Base and its closed all day Sunday & Monday and has very limited hours and selection. If you want to grocery shop/eat/buy stuff, go back to I-24, go just three miles east to Manchester, and right at the exit there's a Wal*Mart, Murphy Gas, Starbucks, McDonald's, all the usual stuff. Setting is gorgeous - but rustic! You're outdoors - you'll see a few bugs, hear ducks, birds, peepers, and people enjoying swimming at the small beach and boating. If you're seeking a "nice" dry, sunny, inland camping experience, don't go here. But if you love inland lakes of clear water, camping where you can enjoy a fire, lots of trees and decent weather away from cities, noise, crowds and freeways, this is your place. No wi-fi at the camp, but there is wi-fi up at the visiting quarters about 2 miles back up the road. TV? There is excellent DTV reception with a simple outdoor antenna from Huntsville - all four networks plus PBS. I gave "location" a 5 because this is a rare find if you like rustic, safe, scenic lakeside camping. If not, then 'location' would, for you, probably be a 3 at the most. NICE people to deal with. Satellite TV is good IF you get a site with a good tree-free shot to the SOUTH over the lake. Pick your site! That's a nice feature.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 12-23, 2008

Spent 11 days between 9/12 & 9/23. I don't know how the CG was before but the new patio slabs are nice and the crushed rock on the sites are nice but are over graded. Most of the sites are not big rig friendly. Tried the first one we were assigned and had the front wheels 6" off the ground so it was not so good. Checked around and found a better one but still needed blocks under the jacks but wheels stayed on the ground. But we did luck out and our Direct TV came in (site 7). The only thing that I can gripe about is there is no sewer hook up due to lack of interest from engineering to go the distance. They have a dump station and a lift station handles the sewer and water from both bath houses. It would be no major problem to at least hook up a few sites to sewer. However the personnel at the campground and MWR were all friendly and helpful at all times. If you want to fish and do not live in Tenn. and do not have a lisc. it will cost you about 16.50 for three days which I fell is a bit much but that is state regs. ALL IN ALL A GREAT EXPERIENCE, We would do it again, nice quiet place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2008

They are closed till Labor Day, 2008

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 6 - 10, 2007

This place is hard to rate. I personally don't think it's a "far" drive from I24, but that's just me, maybe. It's on a lovely lake, most front sites have a clear view, but EVERY SINGLE PAD is unlevel, gravel, and you must back-in. Also, there is only one W/D (pay the hostess a couple bucks to do laundry), and the front shower/restroom is very old, although kept up as best as possible - very clean. There are no sewer connections, only a dump station and the park is as old as the camp (with only a swing and slide). Luckily, for my children, there is fishing and lots to explore, AND there is an awesome community center (where campers check in) that has FREE pool, foosball, air hockey and video games, a small library and two computers with internet. That's good, b/c there is no reception at the CG - even for most cell phones. There IS free laundry (thanks jsummers!) up at the inn (a couple blocks from the comm. ctr) and a person can even "check their kids in" (ages 5-13) and parents can leave them!! No kidding!!! I did laundry up the street and ran to the commissary, while the kids had fun. At the CG, there is also a "fish cleaning area" with cutting boards, water, and a drain, and there are boats for rent. There is no recycling at the CG, and the commissary has a limited organic selection. Now, I met the MWR Commander (he was at the comm. ctr one day) and he said they have the funding for a totally new CG; 30/50 Amp sites, some pull-throughs and some back ins, and some with sewer (I think the top level, away from the water further...has to do with some environmental thing). A new bath house/laundry area with 3+ W/D, and a new playground. I'm planning on coming thru next spring and check it out. (I hope they don't change the community center! : )

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 25-28 2007

Arnold AFB Famcamp is NOT on the base proper. I mean there is no gate or barricade to contend with in order to get in the Famcamp. We were somewhat confused reading the info in the Military Living RV park guide. The Arnold complex is 1000's of acres but very, very few are behind gates. If you want to use any Famcamp free coupons you will have to go thru' 1 gate to Arnold Village(requiring Military ID) to get to the Community center, and the same is req if you want to use the Commisary/BX @ Gate 1(both closed Sun & Mondays). The Fampcamp is all gravel pads & roads, laid out helter skelter on a pretty little penisula of land that sticks out into Woods Resevoir. We watched geese, ducks, wild turkeys, deer and hawks from the campground benches. Boat launch and marina are at hand as well. Camp hostess Charlene lives on premises & does a great job of welcoming you. Her Small store has a good supply of must haves. The Services chief there at Arnold told us by Sept 07 they would be paved and completely redone. I'm thinking that means construction through-out the summer. Hopefully construction will include at least 1 campsite dump. No sewer now-none. Bathhouse/shower was clean and well looked after. 2 stalls & 2 showers per side. I think my wife & I must be the only folks using these showers/bathroms. Most of our stays this Spring we've seen no one ever in-side them except us. We pay close attention to them however since showering in out TT gets a little tedious. Arnold has a BOQ/VOQ 1 mile from the Famcamp that lets Fampcamp guests use their washers/dryers for free. (BYO detergent !!) VOQ manager Greg says "pls spread the word", they're open and dying for business. The club is next door to the VOQ and open for Lunch M-F and Dinner Fri & Sat nights. After 1 April, most Arnold facilities go to a summer schedule w/longer operating hours. Arnold's pretty little 9 hole Golf course is 4.5 miles from the Famcamp. Arnold Famcamp is off the beaten track for sure. It's quiet, laid back and secluded. Arnold itself has only 1000 military & 2500 Civilians. But for a restful stay it's a jewel. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 11