Arnold AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
3.8 (34)
63558   0   16   2   20

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars

34 reviews

 
(11)
 
(12)
 
(10)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
 
4.2  (34)
 
3.3  (34)
 
4.0  (34)
 
3.9  (34)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2014

Only appears to be 2 or 3 semi level spots. A series challenge to level. Also a challenge to get in several spots if more than 25 feet. Nice quite little CG to spend a few days, however don't make the mistake of reserving for an extended time, as you pay in full when making the reservation. I've had to move 3 times in 6 days. 1st time was due to my 5'er hanging over a steep drop and I didn't feel secure 2nd spot was nice, but someone had it reserved so after 3 days moved again 3rd move was aggravating as the spot directly across from me had 5 vehicles, a boat trailer and the camper in their spot. I needed at least 2 of the vehicles moved so that I could jack around enough to get in my spot. After several attempts to get someone to come out, I finally accepted the fact that no one was home. This was around 8:30am. My biggest dislike is the fact that sites are assigned at time of the reservation. Having never been here I wasn't aware of the problems mentioned earlier. After having a discussion with people (from the local area) in 2 adjacent prime sites, they told me that they were sponsored by a friend who wasn't even on the premises. These people were nice, but not remotely eligible to reap the benefits that some of us actually earned. Due to the 4th of July holiday coming up, and my original site not working out, I will have to leave 10 days prior to my original departure date as all sites are reserved. A refund is coming but there are no chances of having a site anywhere due to the holiday. Nice location with a friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

18 - 21 April 2013

This Fam Camp is a diamond in the rough. Campground check-in staff are alway's courteous but appear to lack pride and professionalism towards their rough appearing Fam Camp; an obvious failure in upper Services management. We stay here usually twice a year. The small staff does what it can but appear not to have much in the way of management backing, guidance, & direction. Interior roads are rough and unpaved but manageable. Sites are unpaved but reasonably level. There are no sewer hookups but there's a dump station on site. With budget cuts DOD wide, it wouldn't hurt to perform some litter pick up of one's assigned site and any adjacent unoccupied sites. Leaving your site in better condition than you found it goes a long way, especially at this CG. This could be a very nice CG with the right upper management.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

20 March 2013

Beautiful State Park like surroundings..... but not made for larger RV units. There is a remote piece of heaven nestled between the trees at Arnold Air Force Base at Tullahoma, Tennessee. Located on Dogwood Ridge, this Fam Camp is somewhat primitive camping but the views of the lake and the sounds of nature all around make up its lacking of a few of the amenities some of us have come to expect at a military Fam Camps. There are no fancy paved streets to walk your dog. Nor are there security lights on every corner, nor is there a fancy laundry facility across from the clubhouse. There is no sewage at your camp site, no wifi, or cable TV. But there is a wonderful view from your RV of a beautiful lake, and an abundance of wildlife in the area to enjoy. They do have 30 or 50 electric AMP hookups at each site. They do have a beautiful sandy beach area for anyone to enjoy an afternoon in the sun. There is a covered pavilion for that family cookout. For that fisherman in the family there are boat rentals, pontoon, ski boats, kayak, & canoes. There are boat docks and launching pads at your campsites. They do offer Tennessee fishing license at the office. Tent camping is welcome and they do provide everything you might need, from your sleeping bags to a lanterns to camp for the weekend. This little piece of heaven is just right for an active family who loves to be outdoors. Arnold Air Force Base Fam Camp is a weekend retreat for those desiring to get away from the city. The Fam Camp is a no frills type of camping. Not suited for the long term camper or large oversized Class A units that might exceed 34ft. They do invite extended stays up to 3 months is available. These amenities are totally opposite of many of the better known, military Fam Camps. Maneuvering through this wilderness maze of trees isn’t an easy task. This camp isn’t a place for any unit larger than 34ft. Nor is it designed for an inexperience driver. If you’re ‘NOT’ an experience driver you can truly get caught between a ‘tree’ and a hard spot. There is no joke about this; the roads are covered with stone as are the campsites. There are narrow passages cut through the woods. It is one way in and one way out. There are 16 pull thru sites, but don’t expect to find one on a level hill top. Six of those pull thru sites are occupied by rentals. The remaining 10 sites are far from being a level. There are an additional eighteen tent sites for those whose desire is to ‘ruff’ it in the great outdoors. This Fam Camp is currently under renovation, and improvements are being made. But don’t expect anything coming soon, as the military is about to crunch the funds to many of our Fam Camps. The staff is pleasant to work with but their lack of experience shows with their desire to accommodate their guest with their request. Although it is evident by the freezer sitting outside a trailer unit that ‘homesteading’ is a problem everywhere in the system; even though the Air Force says it isn’t allowed. Hopefully in the future the managers of our Military Fam Camps, will take an active role in the management of the campgrounds and we will see improvements everywhere. A very familiar comment surfaced in an interview during our visit with the current director. It was brought to the attention of the management that a freezer sitting next to a trailer site, the response was, ‘As long as the site is paid for, I don’t ask questions.’ Wrong answer! If the items are on military properties it is part of the duties of personnel to step forward and be more proactive about the management and astatic of its grounds. I don't care if you're are just passing through or setting up for a months stay no one needs to have an extra freezer sitting outside the unit. What will we see next a washer and dryer on the porch? At this particular Fam Camp I had to ask for a copy of the rules of the campground. Director Kiersten Warren continues to support her staff and make further improvement at the Fam Camp. Her staff works very hard to make everyone’s stay at Arnold AFB Fam Camp an enjoyable one. Ms Warren has a very difficult job and with the military's budget crunch she will need all the support she can get. So if you visit Arnold Fam Camp be kind and pick up your trash and put it where it belongs. Don't spoil this beautiful park like setting, it's truly a piece of heaven. It should be noted, the Fam Camp directions and information needs to be up dated. The current address for Services Outdoor Rec, 4174 Westover Rd, Tullahoma, TN 37388… Phone: 931-454-6084 DSN 340—6084, Fax 931-454-3326. Fam Camp is located on Dogwood Ridge, north-west of the resignation office on Northshore Rd. Check in is at Building 3055, Outdoor Rec. It would be advised to call ahead and make reservations, and identify the size of your unit. If you continue to the office with your rig you might find yourself stuck. The space to turn around is very limited. Current Contact number for reservation is 931-454-6084.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

2011-2012

We are long term campers and spent quite a bit of time here. While the base is quiet and scenery is great, the service is poor. Rules change all the time and without notice. Military members, active and retired are not really welcome here. Military rates have been discontinued, and even with a credit card from card services, campground will not honor their discounts. ALL long term campers were notified this week that rules changes required them to be out of the campground without notice. This is not the first time as they did the same last year when they discontinued the military discount. The base is full of contractors and these always complain about how the military HAD the benefit to stay long term. Guess we now have seen the light on who actually runs the base. Its not the military, but contractors. The management here is always surprised to learn bathrooms are always dirty. To this date, there is still a broken toilet in men's bathroom from 2 years ago. Last month, a dead rat stayed in men's room for 6 weeks. Bathroom walls have not been cleaned for over a year, nor has the dead bugs in the light been cleaned for same period. Campers are at time required to carry their own toilet paper due to non stocking by campground. A recruit on their 3rd day of training knows more about cleaning than the staff here at the campground. Pouring bleach on the floors is not a cleaning.
Campsite trash is a toss up for when it will be emptied. We had trash in bin for over 4 weeks and decided to just use dumpster on site. 2 cases of Rocky Mountain Tick Fever have been known to be from this campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 2011

Not sure how, but thinking account was hacked. I did NOT write the 2011 Oct review for this campground. While I agree with many of the things written here I did not submit such article. Cass and I along with Bryan and Sheryl have enjoyed out times here at Arnold but we are not happy about the removal of the Military discount for any active and retired military members. I think that DOD personnel should enjoy some of the lifestyles since they work here on base and do us a service but they are not MILITARY and do not and should not enjoy the prices that were set in place for us military members. I think it is a great disappointment and disservice to those who have given their time to the military that a military base does not honor such much less take it away. As for the cleanliness of the facilities and such, well they are less than what I would expect on a military base and will leave it at that. Michael Blythe Site 35.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 15, 2010 - February 2011

Restrooms are cleaned about (being generous) once a month. Washing machine has been without hot water for 3 months. Lights at dump site inop. Trash cans at individual sites emptied about once every 3 months. One of mens toilets in new bath house is only bolted to deck by one bolt making it very unsteady. Showers do not drain well so need to dress/undress outside of stalls. This is due to only one person full time to take care of the campground, the Cove and the public beach on the base. Many things would take little time and money to make this one of the nicest campgrounds I have visited. Due to manpower and money not being invested there is no wonder that there have been only campers here for more than 3 days since beginning of October.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

November 7-17, 2008

We spent 10 days there in November. Of 37 sites, only 7 were occupied so there was lots of room. It is a beautiful campground right on the shore of a fairly good size lake. The fall colors and the view of the lake were beautiful. Being off-season, there wasn't much going on, but the price at $7.50/night was a bargain. The camp store was never open that I know of during the entire ten days. The sites all have a nice concrete patio with picnic table and fire ring, water and 50 amp power but no sewers. There is a dump station on site. The sites are all gravel but the gravel is fairly fresh and is still soft in some places. It can be a challenge to get level. First site we had, #37, was beautiful but we could not get level and a large tree prevented the slide from opening. We had problems pulling out of the site because of trees across the road and on the right. Also, a lot of the ground must have been dug up during renovation as it is very soft. Stick to the road when walking thru the campground. We moved to site #29 which was very level and easy to back in or pull through. The bathrooms were acceptable but I never saw anyone cleaning them. The 30-gal trash can was half full when we arrived and 3/4 full when we left - never emptied. One bathhouse is quite old and is showing its age with rusty light fixtures and scarred and deteriorating wood doors and frames. The newer bathhouse has drainage problems with the showers as the floor slopes away from the drain. Don't leave your shoes on the floor when showering! The washer was not working and no one knew if or when it would be repaired. TV reception was pretty good with antenna but terrible cell phone coverage (AT&T). Dinner at the club was good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

September 2008

B.A. left this review using the Directory software: Bath houses in the famcamp are fair. Not cleaned regularly and need refurbishing. When approaching the campground from the east (I-24), swing wide when entering the famcamp if you have a big rig. There's a couple of signs near the road which could be a gotcha. Although the sites have been improved, it is still pretty tight in there for bigger rigs. As you enter, the sites to your left on top of the hill seem to be better for big rigs. The sites on the right by the lake may or may not be OK. The sites have been improved but the trees are still there. If you have a big rig, you might want to take a walk thru before pulling in too far. And, if it's dry, the roads can be pretty dusty so slow down when driving. Cell phone coverage (Verizon) spotty but there is free wifi at the Lodge in the housing area. Also, you can do laundry for free at the Lodge and there is a nice walking trail. Lots of deer and turkey all over the place so be careful driving at night.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 5, 2007

My wife and I are tenters so we are looking at the campground from a different point of view. The tent sites are plentiful, no electric. Bathrooms are clean. This campground is far from everything. There is a small store and they will open whenever you come by. This campground is well used with lots of local people storing their RV's at the sites. Everyone was nice. This place is in the woods on a lake with a small swimming area. Would be great for kids.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 2006

Remember no sewer. Too far off the main road to overnight. We were assigned a new site, #35, which was supposed to be a pull-thru. We had to enter the site from the wrong way because the electrical and water are on the wrong side. It was difficult to level because it took 2 2X6s thick and we could have used a 1X6. When leaving we had to back out because of trees in the way. We had a great meal at a reasonable cost at the nearby Lakeside Club. Registration was a bit confusing especially since we had to pull our 35? 5th wheel past the gate barriers, turn around and back thru them again. Beautiful but not for us again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10