Short Stay Recreation Area

New
 
3.9 (49)
180527 1 19 2 43

User reviews

21 reviews with 5 stars

49 reviews

 
(22)
 
(13)
 
(10)
 
(1)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.1  (49)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (49)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (49)
Value 
 
4.0  (49)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (49)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
21 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
June 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed 5 days, enjoyed the park greatly. Personnel were very friendly and always helpful. We visited Charleston while at the park and it was a short drive to any and all attractions as well as the beach. Our stay was so great we plan on returning in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
17 - 21 June 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed the facility. We were a late check-in but the office was staffed by Security who showed us the available sites and helped us get checked in. During the week it is peaceful, the lake and beached are enjoyable. During the weekend the park did become crowded but not unruly or noisy. Our spot (site #75) was shaded and water and electric were provided. There is no sewage hook-up at the site so we had to use the dup station, which is very nice and clean. The restrooms were clean and working. My family and I enjoyed our stay and we will use this facility again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
9 - 11 May 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We camped on the waterfront pad #15. PROS: The view out our back window was picturesque. The pads are new concrete and very wide and accessible. The office/store was clean and well stocked. Restrooms/showers are clean and well kept. Several times during the evenings we observed security patrolling the areas. The park was very busy this weekend, but we never heard loud music, noise or disturbing parties. CONS: The wifi works, but is very slow. There is no sewage system, but the dump station is close by. No cable. All and all, we had a great time and will return in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
Multiple times
(Updated: April 10, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I'm a native Charlestonian and I have been to Short Stay more times than I can count. I'm also a DoD employee. Short Stay is a wonderful place to spend time at. It certainly isn't the Isle of Palms with luxury accommodations, but I'd rather bring my family here than the beach! We've camped, stayed in the 1 room log cabin, and also stayed in the villas. Yeah, they are seriously out dated and worn out, but that's part of the charm of SS. We also enjoy renting their boats and hanging out in the lake. I will continue to support SS and spend my summertime weekends there with my family.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
MARCH 19 - 31, 2012
(Updated: April 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I'm not a number rater, either I like a campground or I don"t. Well, I like this famcamp! Had electric and water hookups. Large sites. Very clean, had staff cleaning park every day. Park was almost full and very quite. Lake was beautiful. Will certainly come here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Aug 30 to Sep 06 2011
(Updated: September 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very accommodating as we arrived w/o reservations and were given site over Labor Day weekend. Only real negative is housekeeping of restrooms/bath house. Not very thorough cleaning. Wonderful facilities, gorgeous views, friendly patrons. Most staff pleasant; some were smug and rude. Overall wonderful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
Aug 14, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Short Stay is so easy to get to and the accommodations are more than ample no matter what area you stay in. The staff is always helpful and friendly. There is a lot to do here, although my favorite is fishing. Have rarely gone fishing here and not caught something. For my money, I won't miss an opportunity to go to Short Stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
Sep 2005 thru July 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Relocated to South Carolina in 2005, stayed at Short Stay Naval Campground for 1 year, while building a house, was a great campground, though it doesn't have a sewer system, the dump station worked out well. Built our house approx. 10 mile from the campground and visit there often.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
April 21 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent two days in round house #42 in April 2010. This was our first try at military rec areas and certainly will not be the last. Our roundhouse was spotless, we were greeted in a most professional and friendly manner and everything concerning our stay was fully explained. I strongly recommend this as a place to vacation for a few days or possibly get the family together for a few days. I am retired USN (CPO) and appreciate places like Short Stay. Keep up the good work. A job well done.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
April 13-20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Loved our visit to this FamCamp. The campground is close enough to Charleston to get to anywhere you want within about 45 minutes. We found the camp itself to be clean and well maintained although as with previous reviews the bathrooms and showers could use some work. Campsites have plenty of space and all the waterfront sites have water, power (30 amp), and cable. The cable did not work well but we did have a few good channels. We were on site 17 and were able to receive a weak WIFI signal most of our visit. The camp has a nice shoppette, boat rentals, fishing on Lake Moultrie and plenty of wildlife, squirrels, birds, and we saw a few gators as well. The only busy time in the park was on Saturday and Saturday night, lots of children, some not so well behaved but nothing outrageous. I would recommend this campground to anyone who wants to visit the Charleston area or just want to lay back and relax for a week. I would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
Oct - Nov 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
D.G. left this review using the Directory software: This is a superb recreation facility and not an adjunct to an operational fort or base. Clean, clean, clean!. Staff is very accommodating and professional. The RV section is spacious with sites about 100 feet long 50 feet wide, shaded, close access to water also water front sites. No sewer hookups but good dump station. Great boat access, fuel pier, 89 octane vehicle or boat fuel, great fishing from shore or boat, within 5 miles of good shopping area, Mounks Corner, 31 miles to Charleston with lots to see. Don't miss the Friday afternoon parade at The Citadel, the best show in town and it's free. Great place for retirees, couples, or families with kids. Great playground. Plenty of room to walk big dogs, all dogs welcomed when cleaned up after and attended. Excellent kennel in Mounks Corner -- indoor/outdoor runs, walked three times daily, run by a Vet. Kennel is great for your visits to Charleston without leaving a barking dog in the campground. Ask for details at the check-in desk. Nice camp store with necessities and fishing gear and bait. Very good laundry. Great lake beach. It doesn't get much better and certainly not for this price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sep 15 - Sep 22, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Is a great RV park on Lake Moultrie. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The lake is beautiful. Sunsets match Key West. It is a ways out from Charleston, SC, but for the money you can't find a better place. Has sites by the lake and in the woods. Sites by the lake have cable. Has a little store that has most things you need. Has a boat dock with rentals available. Has a laundry room available. Everything was well kept. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept 12th thu 19th, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed at Short Stay Sept. 12 thru the 19th. Did not know there was a camp ground with so many amenities for the military. Mr. Boyd, the Director of Short Stay, is a great asset to the facility. He has many idea's that will make Short Stay, a place that will be used by every family camping. If you haven't been here yet, don't let it pass you by. I will be back, and will bring other military veterans.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We Stayed here in July while waiting to find a place to move into near Charleston. The Staff was friendly! Place was clean we where able to get a Lake front site during the week and kids and Husband loved it. Caught Plenty of Large fish right at our site. Yes if it rains DO not leave anything outside it does flood (ankle deep in some sites) but seems to dry quickly. ANTS!...Yipes make sure you have some kind of spray because if not they will find a way in. It Does seem to get Crazy busy on the weekends!!! Many friendly folks to chat with. I am Looking forward to going again when the weather cools off.. Hopefully December? :) Very easy to find, Camp store had tons of goodies and fishing gear/Boat rentals etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I and our 2 kids spent 4 days here. My dad was in Charleston University Hospital and this worked out well. We had a spot directly on the water, it was excellent. The surrounding area has everything needed, wal-mart, auto parts stores, restaurants etc. The BX and Commissary is about a 40 minute drive, not too bad. WiFi was kind of shakey, hit and miss for where we had set-up. I went to register with the front desk and was told to first find a spot, get set-up and then come complete registration. The hosts were friendly as were all employees. We will definitely becoming back here, hopefully next time it will be for a vacation and not a hospital visit. The only downfall is they only offer water and electric, no sewer, so every 2nd day had to cart the cr*p to the dumpstation, no big deal.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
5-7 AUG 08
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here with two other couples and 5 kids. The weather was perfect and the lake was beautiful. I liked the fact that the water was low because it gave our two 5 year olds LOTS of room to explore (it also gave our three 10 year olds room to get away from the 5 year olds) We had Kayaks and a boat on this trip so we got to really explore the lake. The bathrooms were fairly clean but the CG was full that weekend. The only complaint I have is that I reserved two water front spots but only actually got one on the water (only one available). I still ended up paying for two water front spots some how. The camp hostess was very nice and knew someone that could answer any question. She even came back to check on us (first time with our popup).We had a GREAT time and will stay again, soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 30-July 2 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We did premitive camping on a waterfront space and also stayed in a cabin, both experiences where great. Bath house was easily accessable and very clean. The kids got to swim their hearts out and the adults fished till wee hours of the morning. Everything on the camp is easy to get to on foot. The area is secured with a keycode entry gate and security roaming the camp. The camp store was stocked with just about anything you need. The staff were all friendly and helpful. If we make it back this way, this will definetely be one of our overnight stops. The Lucas gang
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 13-23, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Sitting on the water front in my motor home with a glorious view of Lake Moultrie with 70 degree plus temperatures is what traveling is all about. One of my favorite stops on my winter travels, this is my fourth time stopping here. With WiFi being about the only change I can see. (being able to get it in the motor home at water site).
I was told last year that they were going to try and get more antennas up to broadcast WiFi in more areas. I pretty much agree with previous reviews, except I have a 40ft motor home and have no problems getting around. Access road from US52 is a little rough, but just about every RV camp I go to has rough roads leading into them. Being able to sponsor civilian guest in is a plus, since sometimes we travel with non-military friends. There are 13 good water front sites, but they are charging $17 a day now while the rest are now $14. ATT cell phone and computer air card do work here, but somewhat limited signal. I was at Charleston AFB FAMCAMP just before coming here and talked with many who have never been here. This is a great area to relax and enjoy nature.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Feb 28 - Mar 6, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We picked waterfront site #1 which was waterview and next to the spotless bath house. We usually take our showers in our camper but since this bath house was so clean and the campground doesn't have sewer hookup we used the showers. The camp host was very helpful and even rode us around campground to pick out a site in her golfcart. We had great weather and got to ride our motorcycle to Charleston and several islands in the area. The lake was really low but the sunsets were beautiful. I highly recommend this Famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 13-May 17 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Short Stay was a wonderful surprise. We had no problems with our 40 ft American Eagle. We were located 20 feet from bulk headed Lake Moultrie. Gorgeous sunsets and wide spacious sites. Lack of sewage was only a minor problem with the frequent haulers to the dump station by the long stayers. Good restuarants were lacking, although Brown's BBQ was pretty good. Only 30 miles to commissaries and golf courses at Charleston AFB and less to the Navy Base. Rental boats were unavailable during week days. Would hope to stay longer next time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 2
21 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2