Short Stay Recreation Area

New
 
3.9 (49)
180527 1 19 2 43

User reviews

12 reviews with 4 stars

49 reviews

 
(22)
 
(13)
 
(10)
 
(1)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.1  (49)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (49)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (49)
Value 
 
4.0  (49)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (49)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
Dec 29-31, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice campground. The 50 amp sites area all concrete. Site 7-20 (50 amps) all have water view. All the 30 amp sites are on dirt, and most of the 30 amps sites were flooded during this time. They have had more than 8 or nine days of rain. There are several full timers living at the campground and some of the other sites were being used as long term storage. Everyone we talked with pleasant to deal with and I am looking forward to going back. Worth the drive. We only had two issues and weather is not something that any of us can control. The other is was that, we went out for a few hour drive (Class B) and when we returned our rug was missing. We left it because it was soaking wet and to show the we are coming back. We did ask the security guards if they moved it and they said they did not. The store is open 24 hours, and they have boat rental. We only paid $24 per night (it is off season). 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 6, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Short Stay - $18 a day for wooded site with electric/water Pro(s): o Location, the park is on Lake Moultrie o Available rentals of a plethora of aquatic toys (boats, tubes, etc.) o Fully Furnished homes/cabins available for a nominal fee o Large covered picnic areas available for rent o Gate for entry into park (code required and it is changed weekly) o Variety of spots – pull thru, back in, concrete/gravel o Many spots were double if not triple width of spots we have had elsewhere o Man-made beach for swimming o Large playground for children o Brand new, easy to use centrally located dump station o Very easily accessible handicap shower with build in bench o Temperature controlled bathhouses Con(s): o No internet at sites, however we were told they had some signal near the office (dead center of grounds) o Gravel lots (older sites/wooded sites) are pretty uneven after years of use o Laundry room was outdated (1.75 per load) o Game room was just a pool hall that was out of order o A fair amount of long term residents
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
16-21 June 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This was the 2nd time I hosted my biannual family reunion at Short Stay. Renting a waterside campsite for my camper and a couple of Villa for my family. All and all, a perfect place for such with only one exception and that is the tremendous amounts of goose crap EVERYWHERE!. The beach was so loaded with piles of goose droppings that all were walking around carefully. Kids where trying to dig the sand with toy shovels but Moms warned to just stay away. The morning raking by a tractor needs to be more frequent. I know money is tight with MWR but this is a health issue. Most of the Villa grounds were covered with piles of poop where the birds roost at night. Sidewalks, parking areas all loaded with droppings. The Canadian Geese are becoming more than temporary and for the few years we've been coming to Short Stay, they are growing in number as they are largely unmolested. I would rate all 5's except for the untended too poop piles. Please CLEAN UP THE POOP and give Short Stay back to us.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 15 4
13-18 Jun 12
(Updated: July 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed at Short Stay, 13-18 Jun 12 in campground spot 6 in a Fifth Wheel. We have stayed here several times. Totally enjoy the area easy to take day trip into Charleston. The campground could use some updating but not totally non-enjoybale. There seems to be several rigs that are extended stay and has a lot of items stored outside that makes for unsightly campsite. The same Camphost is there and we have been going for two years now at least 10 stays total. She has not once came to greet us and ask if we need anything. We asked this past stay about getting assistance with the fire pit clean out. She stated go to the front office and ask them. What is the Camphost suppose to do if not assist and greet campers? We have stayed at several FM's and by far this is the WORST Camphost ever.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
May 11-14, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful location on Lake Moultrie. Sunsets were spectacular. It was a little farther to Charleston than we thought but we didn't mind as it was so nice to sit outside in the evening. We spent both days in Charleston so we didn't take advantage of the many recreation activities at the rec area. We will definitely return and will stay longer next time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
17 Mar 10 thru 31 Mar 10
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
If only someone would take a little time with the bathhouse, it was really, really in a bad need of cleaning. Camp sites were very well maintained, camp host was there ready to help. Security needs a little more attention to the Saturday night loud music. Nothing anyone can really do with the unruly kids, parents seem not to care if they throw rocks at the ducks and run freely between campsites. These were not camp site kids but the ones in the cabins that were only out for a couple of nights so the parents could party. Got them everywhere! Thanks for a good time guys and keep pushing for sewer hookups!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Nov 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Drive from I-95 is a bit long. Camp is clean and well supervised with a great staff. Check in and site assignment was fast. The camp store is well stocked and saves a run into town. Fishing, boating etc. is excellent. Mounks Corner has lots to offer. Great place to visit and have some fun.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sep 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This Fam Camp is located on a lovely lake at the end of a narrow, paved road. We had a waterfront site and enjoyed watching the sunset over the water. Laundry facilities were adequate. Staff was very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
16 April- 22 April 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I agree with comments left on previous. In addition to all mentioned. The wi/fi connection was great for us. We were directly on the lake front (facing lake) beautiful sunsets!!! Fishing was good too. Big thing to remember there is no site waste dump. Be prepared to move as needed or have your bucket. I can't say more than has been said before but I would return. I agree with the markets!!! But with multiple tours in other countries I can wheel and deal with the best.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 29 - April 24
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just spent a month at this facility and found it to be very enjoyable. Nice location only 30 miles from Charleston which is a wonderful city with a lot of things to do. We did the historic downtown tour, the downtown Market, The USS Yorktown, Plantations and Fort Sumter. If you go down to the Market make sure to deal, especially on the baskets, can get them down by 50% or more. The Campground is laid back. Same rules as most but no one shoving them down your throat. I didn't even see them posted anywhere. They have a Marina with boat rentals. But do not be late bringing them back. I was 10 min. late and it cost me a extra $50.00 they made sure I was aware of this before going out (my fault). You have to take a open book test that takes about 30-45 min. They have a small store on site with most items you may need.
Could use some new gravel on the sites and roads. And some site could use some tree trimming for the taller rigs. Satellite has good reception and my Verizon Air Card had 3 bars. Moncks Corner has everything you need and the Navy has a small BX and Commissary about 20 miles away. One thing that would be good for the overall look of this campground would be a place to store your trailers. It junks it up a little with them around your campsite.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 7, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were very impressed with the campground. We liked how open and well maintained it was. We had plenty of room to move around and choose our campsite when we arrived so they worked with us. I liked being able to make my reservation, then adjust the spot after we arrived. The tackle store was a nice surprise with friendly helpful staff there as advertised at 0700 on Saturday morning. We arrived the night before after the reservations desk had closed but the security guard was very accomodating. The 2 story rental units were several hundred yards away and separate from the RV area. The RV area had some long term and short term guests. The bathhouse was new and nice. We were very pleased with our time there and would recommend it. We will probably be back. The large lake and beach area were way below normal levels but it still was a nice sunset.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
December 27, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Short Stay is a very nice military R+R facility located right on a large lakefront. We stayed here overnight in a 34' motorhome during Christmas holiday travel. Very secure location with electronic gated entry. We arrived just after the office closed at 1700...no problem at all. Professional and friendly night guard had our paperwork and escorted us to a lakefront site...great spot with mature trees, cable TV and terrific water views. Bathhouse was clean and had adjustable electric ceiling heaters to take the chill out of the morning air. We stopped here on the scenic route from Myrtle Beach to Charleston. The town of Moncks Corner is a short drive away...nice,large Wal-Mart supercenter here. Overall, thumbs up to Short Stay...we'd like to stay longer next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12