Short Stay Recreation Area

New
 
3.9 (49)
180527 1 19 2 43

User reviews

12 reviews with 3 stars

49 reviews

 
(22)
 
(13)
 
(10)
 
(1)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.1  (49)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (49)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (49)
Value 
 
4.0  (49)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (49)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
29 July - 2 Aug 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Not what I expected, expected more from an Air Force facility. Stayed only four days, about thirty miles from downtown Charleston. Gate is manned by young inexperienced young ladies every time I came in. Checking in was pretty smooth, except for determining which spot you want, hard to tell without driving all over. Saw a lot of homesteaders with old, dirty and decrepit campers. After the second day we were inundated with ants. Shower/bathhouse needs more attention. Will probably return, if certain sites were open 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
5 April - 8 April 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is our first stay at Short Stay. We are from just a few hours away and don’t get to go often or far on weekend vacations. The location is awesome, situated on the banks of Lake Moultrie, one of the premier lakes in SC. Arrival and check-I; was easy. I was given a list of sites available based on what I reserved and sent to pick my site. Thank goodness I was going Vern the option as out of 12 sites only one was not covered in water. I understand that it had rained heavily that morning but to have the majority of the available sites covered in water really isn’t acceptable. We noticed that the best sites that didn’t have concrete pads were occupied by full-time residents or old, broken down looking rigs that have obviously not moved in a very long time. We had at least three immediate neighbors that are obviously using these sites as seasonal or permanent sites and only come in every now and again. I would have to say that over half the campground sites are occupied full-time. Out of 68 sites not t listed as “Monthly” over half are filled long-term. The 50 amps sites all have concrete pads and most are water front. Some of these seem to have permanently parked rigs on them. I’ll know better next time to make sure I reserve a 50 amp site. The store was nice and appeared to be new. The bath house left much to be desired. The shower stall that I used was dirty with someone else razor stubble smeared on the walls, thankfully the stall was large enough that I could avoid the wall easily. Overall it was a decent place for the place, however, I have stayed at nicer for less. If they would get the permanent RV storage out and clean up the sites so that they don’t all flood when it rains it would be a much nicer place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
August 3-21, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I had just left the Navy RV campground in Kings Bay Ga. the number rated campground in the military,only to come to one dirty campground at short stay. I mean all there is trash from one end to the other. The full timers in the park is worst than ever. My understanding is they can stay for one year,and must leave for one day. Oh wow, during that year you collect stuff,which junks up the park. One site has a RV, one large boat,3 golf carts, a covered up pile of whatever,a work truck which is loaded with all kinds of carpenter gear. This one is of the better sites. None of the site are the same size,some could be two sites,this is one of them. I really hate the way this park has gone hill,and it stems from change of command. If I was a first time camper and saw this mess I would have second thoughts. I would like to make a comment about the lake front site,i have no idea who designed them,but I'm sure it had to been a Clemson Engineer, the sites are made for 5th wheels, and pull behinds. Real RV's class "A" need to be able to pull in so they can have the view of the lake.The office staff,are professional and should be realized for their work, I would like to point out Jodie Adams,who during my three week she was one big help to me. I had to move and change my reservation dates and she was instrumental in doing so,Thank you Ray Wyatt USN Retired
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 4
13 - 21 July 2012
(Updated: August 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Unlike other reviewers, we were greeted by the camphost Ms. Beth, who says she's been there fo'evah. She was helpful, and escorted us to our site (site #44 which is HUGE). She chatted with us while we were leveling the rig (36' that had tons of room to spare) and let us know of the happenings around the campground, the facilities, etc. Then a security guard came by with a tag for the car and a map of the place since we arrived after hours. So the hospitality was great, but I could only rate it three stars because the cleanliness wasn't so great. The bath house had clean toilets, but disgusting showers. The bathrooms at the front near the laundry and game rooms was very outdated, and dirty the three or four times I visited throughout the week. Laundry - 4 washers, 6 dryers (only 4 working though) - if it worked, it seemed to work well, so that was good. Boat ramp #1 was really shallow, but we were still able to put in there. "beach" area had duck poop en masse, and the swimming roped area was rather small, but always had a lifeguard around. Pros = location was convenient to my family in Summerville and Macedonia. Mostly quiet, folks definitely friendly. Great value at $13/night. Cons = 30 amp service (sweating like crazy when it got to 100 outside because we could only run one A/C unit), no sewage hook ups, and a severely outdated dumping station - old sump pump made that job much worse than it had to be.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 3
24 June 2012
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I stayed one night at Short Stay, 24 June 2012 and was in villa #25. The place was clean but outdated...Old. The staff was across the board very friendly and professional. I figure the furnishing from the 1960's era. An example of an inexpensive fix not done would be the shower head. It was old and inadequate by any standard. The villa was stark and unfriendly but the location and neighbors were great. Of note, when I arrived I noticed the US flag was tattered and unserviceable. I brought it to the attention of the facility manager (Civilian) and was assured the flag would be replaced. If you go in the near future and do not see a new, serviceable flag...Ask why? By the way if you stay one night as I did...Bring a bar of soap.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 28th through 30th 2012
(Updated: May 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I love Short Stay we go there quiet often as I like it better than going to the beach. This was our first stay at one of the Villas. It felt very dirty, there were hundreds of spiders and bugs IN the villa which was not comforting. The blankets and sheets are about 30 years old and have seen better days. The villas are okay I'd say 2 star kinda deal but they need to be cleaned better the carpets are nasty and you can smell it when you walk in (granted the building its self is old too). The floors were sticky and dirt everywhere, I don't know if it was jut our Villa but it was not pleasant. However, we had a lake front view and the sunset was beautiful. No complaints as far as the campground its self because like I said I love short stay and would diffidently recommend going but if your staying in a cabin or villa you might want to check it out first.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 2
April 6-10 2012
(Updated: April 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I have been using this RV park for 6 years plus,and i have never wrote and comment about it. I just want to say that the welcome aboard staff at the check-in office are a outstanding group of people,and that the camp host is one of the best in the business. Thank you. However the grounds it self are so dis-organized that it can be confusing. Site are so spread out,and some are really close,and the park lets you store any and everything on your site,that it overflows onto other sites. Kids,dogs,run wide,quite times are NEVER enforced. This place could be one heck of a rv park if only there were uniformity here and that the rules were carried out. Fines need to be placed on people that let there dogs run wild and also not cleaning up after them. The sites need to be cleaned up and all the trash that rvers collect on their site needs to be discarded,in other words the mind-set of the people that live or visits short stay needs cleaning up as enforcing the rule,have better security. The bath houses are usually cleaned cleaned twice,which it should be,but once they are the pits,because of the people not cleaning up,and allowing their kids to use the place as a play area. I know this will take time,and a effort by all. 50 amps electric would be nice.
WW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
September 15-19, 2011
(Updated: September 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Great place to stay, price is right and campground is good. Our complaint was security. First night there we had a dog next door barking and yowling until after 1am. Second night there same campsite had a loud party going on. We called security and complained, they went to the site and left and the noise did not stop. We were awake until 2am listening to it. Next day, we go to park across from the conference center to pick up wifi. One security car came by and said nothing. Another came and told us we could not park there. Day before there were at least 10 cars parked there as they were having a festival at the conference center. We are disappointed security was not more aware of what was going on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 2
27 June- 9 July 2011
(Updated: March 15, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
This was our 2nd visit and probably wont be back. The only problems we seen were with the campers and not the campgrounds. We camp with a dog, when we walk him we take along a bag to clean up after him. It seems some people don't bother doing so. People seemed to leave their trash throwing about making it look like a trailer park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
8 OCT - 10 OCT 2009
(Updated: October 10, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Although the lake is pretty, we weren't able to get a waterfront spot HOWEVER we got charged the rate for a waterfront spot. Signage is good getting TO the RV park but after you get there you're on your own. We had to ask a camper where we were supposed to go as we arrived after hours. Security told us to go pick our site and he'd be by shortly to remove the lock from the electric box. He kept his word. I knew we weren't going to have sewer but I hadn't read the info close enough and didn't realize that all that was available was 30 amp. Didn't turn out to be a problem though. We were able to run our A/C and lights and TVs and microwave and toaster without any problem. Don't understand why cable is only available for waterfront sites but with our antenna we got 7 stations. Our Verizon cell phones and aircard worked fine. We didn't have any problem with ants as previous people mentioned. One previous post said there was no Dump Station, but there is, we used it. The laundry room is air conditioned and has 4 washers and 6 dryers. All are $1 a load. I don't think we'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
16 JULY 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
CAPTAIN LITTLE US NAVY THE COMMANDING OFFICER OF CHARLESTON NAVAL WEAPONS STATION & THE SHORT STAY NAVY OUTDOOR REC CENTER SHOULD ADD A DISCLAIMER TO THEIR RESERVATIONS,"AREA SUBJECT TO EXTENSIVE FLOODING WHEN IT RAINS !" WE WERE FLOODED OUT, FOUR INCHES OF NON DRAINING WATER COVERED OUR CAMP SITE. WHEN I WROTE TO CAPTAIN LITTLE HIS RESPONSE WAS THAT SCE&G HAD THE LAKE LEVEL TOO HIGH ???? NEVER AGAIN ...

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
Jan. 07
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Performed a drive thru inspection and roads/rv sites are very rough, not big rig friendly. Office/store staff friendly and store well stocked with food and fishing stuff. Perfect place for a family vacation in villas and for all you fishermen. Large sandy beach area with lifeguard when beach open. Did notice numerous ponds around campground with signs saying beware of alligators and none of them had fencing around them! Ideal for day use or weekend outing for family wanting to get in touch with nature.
LA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 2
12 results - showing 1 - 12