JB Charleston RV Park

New
 
4.2 (96)
79389   1   23   1   39

User reviews

15 reviews with 4 stars

96 reviews

 
(58)
 
(18)
 
(12)
 
(3)
 
(5)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.4  (96)
 
4.0  (96)
 
4.2  (96)
 
4.2  (96)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 15  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

31 Mar 2015

Just passing through, wished we could have stayed more. The policy is no one is turned away. We were put into the overflow lot, but it was OK. Had electric, and water, wifi and good overall TV reception. The bathhouse wasn't too far away, and our waste water tanks were empty, because the last stop had full hook ups. Make sure to use the back gate and stay to the right for the X-ray machine.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

21-26 Sep 14

Came in via Exit 211. IMO that is the easiest way with a big rig. There are only 2 right turns off the highway and neither are tight. Rolled over to site 11 (one of the hosts) to sign in. Met host Alan and his wife Christy. Both are nice people. Alan did a great job of giving me directions to the commissary/exchange and all ranks club. Hosts also have ITT tickets for some attractions. That helps people who arrive when ITT is closed. There seem to be a lot of long termers here, but that shouldn't matter to anyone since you'll get a site. Campground is close to the runway so you occasionally hear the sound of freedom. You may also hear Reveille, Retreat and Taps.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

7 Mar 2014

R.M. left this review using the Directory software: - stayed just one night was met by camp host T. helped with some information but did not receive a package as stated by prior persons comments. stayed in overflow which is fine as it has electric and water. campground could use cable tv. the base clubs or other places do not have delivery to the campground which would be nice after driving a long day. a list of food places from off base would help also. arriving at the gate I was not aware that you had to go through a vehicle x-ray machine. military guard was helpful in getting us turned around so we could go through the machine but the paid security person was not all that friendly or helpful. we have never had to go through an xray before and the guards should be more understanding. back to campground, it is very nice and clean and next to the rec area and golf course (golf course grill serves breakfast and lunch). outdoor rec should be open on saturdays not just weekdays. a better sign on roadway showing where to turn to famcamp is needed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 2014

J.A. left this review using the Directory software: - Nice facility. The host was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us lots of good information for touring and even had a roll of quarters for the laundry facility. I would not hesitate to return to this fam camp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 24-25, 2013

This was our first stop at the JB Charleston FamCamp, but it won't be our last. The campground is nice and clean. They do have one section for long term stays, but the other half is only for short term. There were still a few site available during our visit. We arrived without a reservation, but were quickly met by "T" and Karen. Great hosts! They made us feel very welcomed and comfortable. it was impressive that they had a huge packet of information on the Charleston area prepared for each new camper. The restroom and showers were very clean. Although they have WiFi, we didn't use it. Our Verizon and AT&T worked fine with 4G. Since this was a short visit, we plan to return again in a couple months, when we'll have more time to explore the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2013

Very good facility "once you get there". Follow instructions to back gate or you'll be directed to it if you try the Front Gate. The local traffic is always a challenge and after a long day on the road calls for special alertness. I am from Charleston and know the traffic situation up close. Recommend visitors arrive before "quitting time" or much later. Lane changing may require a little aggressive behavior :-)...Once on base, the relief is immediate after the first drink.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 9-14, 2013

Great famcamp. The host escorted us to our site and then proceeded to give us a great briefing on the park, base and local area. The sites were great, long cement pads with plenty of elbow room. About the only negitive is the water drainage leaves a lot to be desired. We had a good rain one afternoon and water was over an inch deep on our site and deeper in other places. After about 24 hours, all the water was gone but made for a mess initially. You would think the drainage would of been well designed since the area see's a lot of rain each year. The park is near the rec center with a lot of things to do on base and the interstate is easy on easy off. We had a great time exploring Charleston area. We only wish we could of been here longer. We stayed here in a 5th wheel and will stay here again when in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept 2009

This park is in bad need of an overhaul and more restrictions as far as stay limits. Most short stay slots are in the front with only a few spaces with elec,and water hookups. No shade in the front at all and no cable. If there is a slot in the shaded areas, forget satellite. 30 amp hookups only, so bring a big fan in the summer as it gets very hot and humid even inside the RV. The camp host is great and there is a park next door and MWR outdoors is next door also. Golf Course is close by also. Great location, but like said, needs a complete overhaul with 50 amp slots and cable TV and sewage hookups. I wouldn't mind paying a few more bucks for that. This is a military installation, so don't be alarmed when your RV shakes from the Bombs being set off behind. Also small arms training is behind the camp. I have stayed here 4 times to visit family and stay due to location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 12, 2009

Stayed here a few days. Great hosts. Place would be awesome with some sewer hook ups and new electric. We had to turn off one thing to run another or it all went off. Stayed in the back part.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 9-11,2009

T.L. left this review using the Directory software: - I enjoy this campground, the front row is a little crowded but good for satellite reception and the free wifi. It is convenient to one of my favorite cities to visit (charming Charleston). The campground would benefit from updating, but has most of what I need 30amp and water, with a dump station available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 14-15 2008

Unusual experience. Office just let us find a space then inform them which space we utilized. We parked on the concrete slab in space #2 just steps from the shower. 1 Male and 1 female shower. Extremely clean though. No lines. Personnel in office were extremely helpful in mapping routes around city. During day there is some jet noise but not bad. Only down side was no sewer hookup. But for a 2 day stay not a problem going to dump station only a few yards away as we left. Very nice place and I recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Apr 24, 2008

T.L. left this review using the Directory software: Got here just in time for the air show, what a pleasant surprise.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

16-23 July 07

I just finished reading the review from "SeaMist" and I just don't understand his comments. As for the cleanliness of the bathrooms...I have seen 3 times this week staff going in and cleaning (water/pine sol/etc.) cleaning floors, stalls, showers. I come to Charleston about 6 times a year to visit family and have never seen anything like soe of the comments that have been given in the reviews here. The one time I blew a fuse, the staff went out and changed it. My comment is that if things are as bad as you say they are there, why do you keep coming back? Have you talked to the Manager? As for me, I have used the facility many times and even though it does need a upgrading, which I have been told was supposed to happen latter this year, but had been moved due to money being diverted to Iraq, it is still a nice small campground. I recommend this campground with it convienent location to Downtown Charleston and surrounded by a very nice AFB.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Apr 27 - May 6, 2007

I don't know what all the fuss is about. Our stay was pleasant. Admittedly, we were parked in the front section on a hard surface with no trees to block satellite reception, and got by fine on 30 amps. We used the laundry once and noticed no water leakage. Also used the shower. The location is much more convenient to downtown Charleston than the Navy campground. We ate a couple of times at the chow hall. We would go back (but would want one of the front sites, mainly because I like to be able to use my roof mounted satellite).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Year Round/Frequently

I have been staying in this particular campground for many a year. Some of the comments and reviews on this interweb site are just not true to any extent. The campground, indeed, needs some renovations. However, the staff has told me that the government has diverted the previously approved money and allocated it towards the war effort. The place is not AWFUL nor is it unkempt. And it is surely not dangerous towards anybody's health. There are no abandoned trailers and no standing water. The location is perfect for visiting local area attractions and noticeably closer to Charleston's historical district than Foster Creek. I have stayed at Foster Creek and yes, while the facilities are quite a bit nicer, it's also a much much newer campground and significantly more expensive for what you get. Also, the surrounding area around Foster Creek is just awful. Not much to do in that area and follows an inconvinient route off the interstate. The folks at the "Outdoor Recreation Center" are well-aware their campground needs a boost. They always do everything they can to make our stay as nice as possible.

Was this review helpful to you? 
15 results - showing 1 - 15