JB Charleston RV Park

Hot
 
4.3 (89)
74585   1   23   1   37

User reviews

89 reviews

 
(55)
 
(18)
 
(9)
 
(3)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.5  (89)
 
4.0  (89)
 
4.3  (89)
 
4.2  (89)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
89 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 14, 2017

This FAMCAMP is probably the best campsite in the military system. My wife and I have had the pleasure of Camp Hosting for two seasons. It was a pleasure serving our active duty and retirees. The camp is soon to have seven new sites added and the overflow will be upgraded to full service hook ups bringing up to fifty full hook up sites. Long term sites are no longer available and all sites are on a first come first serve fourteen day stays. If site is available at the fourteenth day an extension for another fourteen days is accommodated. Camp Hosting here is great. If you are interested in camp hosting at this site drop off a resume at the Outdoor Recreation Office or email via their website; https://www.jbcharlestonorc.com/contact For more info log into Facebook below; https://m.facebook.com/JB-Charleston-Outdoor-Rec-Center-141871509170932/ 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2017

This was our first time here. I was impressed. We found the Fampcamp easy enough. The office was closed and there was a sign to see the camp host at site 42. I could not determine where site 42 was. Fortunately, the camp host was walking across right in front of us. She told us where we could go and she would stop by in a bit after we set up. She was pleasant and helpful. We stayed three days and it was very nice for the price. We did not notice, or search for, any politics of the place. We did not notice any obvious homesteading. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2017

Well, the last review posted on how nice [the hosts] are. Yes they are nice to you, but they are very vindictive. [They] should be in heaven since her husband is active duty collecting housing allowance living in Famcamp for well over a year. Now that they are host they stay for free, and get additional benefits. I'm still trying to figure out why AFI's are not being followed? ODR lets the host do whatever they want, according to [name deleted] who was the last host. [He] was the type of person who feels that unless your rig is 45 foot and over 250 thousand you were not up to his standards. There is no set rules there, they Chang them daily. I have seen other active duty personal turned away, I have seen other campers not being allowed in because of an oil leak. I have seen untaged campers parked there for years. It's is what it is. [Editor edits are in brackets]

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 28, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 20-26, 2017

The host met us as we pulled into the campground. She escorted us to our site. The host checked us in and assisted us in parking. This is a very nice campground. It is one of the best Family Campgrounds we have stayed. The sites are large and very clean. WiFi works well. The old hosts came by to visit and they are very personable. They are leaving soon however the new host and her husband will be as good a replacement as they can find. The host came by a few times and goes out of her way to help in any way she can. As soon as a camper leaves she and her husband clean the vacated site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 14 - 22, 2017

It is great to be back at JB Charleston and once again enjoy the many POI’s around the Charleston area. We were cheerfully greeted and checked-in by Vic & Connie. As mentioned in another review, they are super people and really put a lot of effort into maintaining the grounds and facilities. Most importantly, they seem to enjoy what they are doing and exceed the hospitality we have experienced at other military campgrounds. Like all good things, eventually they come to an end – Vic & Connie will be leaving in August for a new adventure in Texas. The homesteaders that set up residence in the wooded area sites are no longer here. It’s nice to visit a military RV park that promotes “recreational” use versus long term housing. Also, when we were coming aboard the base we went through the inspection lane at the Rivers gate. The gate guard told us that privately-owned RV’s are no longer required to go through the inspection lane and we could also use the Dorchester main gate entrance. I would be a little cautious bringing an RV through the Dorchester gate, the trees along the entrance circle have some low branches – ouch to some rooftop equipment. When we visit JB Charleston we usually travel on US-17, because we enjoy the scenery, and use I-526 then exit at Exit 16B going toward the Charleston Airport. We then turn right onto Aviation Blvd. and follow it to the Rivers Gate. We like this route because it takes us by the Boeing Plant. It’s quite a sight (POI) to see all the new Boeing passenger planes in the final stages of manufacture with different foreign country airline colors. And finally, don’t forget the low-country cuisine, once you try it you will want to come back to JB Charleston. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 14-17, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Charleston AFB RV Park. We arrived on a Sunday and were promptly greeted by the camp hosts, Connie and Victor who saw us approaching and were out of their rv as we pulled up. Connie took me in a golf cart to select a site which was an easy back in with partial shade. While JB Charleston does not accept reservations, Connie assured me that no one is turned away - they have several dry camping sites and will find "somewhere" for you to park. The location, close to the interstates and downtown Charleston is ideal. We hope to use this facility in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

10-14 May 2017

This was our 1st time RV camping and staying at a Famcamp. It seems to me that we found one of the best famcamps available. We were immediately welcomed by Connie and Vic, Taken to our clean, woodsy campsite and checked in. Vic guided us into the space and explained the hook ups. Connie and Vic made sure we had everything we needed for a great visit ....even offered treats to our dog. Since we live only a couple hours away, we hope to visit Charleston famcam often. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6-10 May 2017

This place just keeps getting better. Unfortunately, that also means it is getting busier! Had to stay in overflow (water and electric) the first night but were able to move to a full hook up site about 0930 the next morning. Camp hosts (Connie and Victor) did a fantastic job. As soon as people would pull out, they actually came over and cleaned up the site, blowing off the pads and even wiping down the tables. Nice size sites in a great location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 13 2017

We visited the office and asked about availability for a site We were informed that they were booked solid ,no available sites . Since it's policy is no reservations, we drove thru the CG and discovered 5 sites were vacant ! This campground is a first come ,first served, Anouther example of the good ol boy's club .Very disappointed in the AF.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2, 2017

We've stayed at military campgrounds all over the US and have rarely enjoyed such a nice combination of location, hospitality and value. The campground is beautifully laid out and maintained. It's in a lovely wooded location, with large, level sites. Sites have large concrete parking slabs and interior roads are paved. Bath houses are very clean and well maintained. The hosts, Victor and Connie, are friendly, professional and helpful. At $23/night, this FamCamp is a great campground and a great value!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 30, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 22-26 2017

We own a '87 Bluebird Wanderlodge. After we arrived, my husband got me set up and had to fly back to Eglin AFB. When I returned from the airport I was promptly told by the camp hosts #1 - we had an oil leak dripping on their parking pad that must be addressed immediately. They just weren't going to have that. Her exact words. We did not have a leak at our home as we park our bus on our own concrete pad. Do you think we'd just allow that to not be addressed at our own home that we maintain meticulously? Obviously, something had occurred unnoticed during our 3 day drive up. The time was 1900, nothing was open except Shopette. I had two aluminum pans in my bus that I secured under the bus, purchased Reynolds Wrap and duck tape. I crawled under the bus handling the minor leak issue with the camp host watching although she did help me retrieve two rocks to weigh down pans. . As we engaged in conversation later she also told me that #2 often times Campgrounds don't allow old buses into their facility due to leaks such as ours. Do you not think that new coaches have unexpected leak issues? Was this a hint of what was to come? #3. My dog cried while I was on my errands. Was that too disturbing? #4. They saw my husband spray off the front of bus. That would be $10 extra for a bus wash. Could they have mentioned that to him and not stressed me out with one thing or another? Needless to say, my stomach was in knots not knowing what was coming next. When we pulled out 4 days later heading to Myrtle Beach my husband moved the coach forward, removed my temporary oil pans and Reynolds wrap/duck tape. Drippings on their concrete pad were minimal. Nothing atrocious. Now, remember we're returning after our Rally for a few weeks as we hsve family in the area. On our way to Myrtle Beach, about 5 miles from the FamCamp my husband noticed diesel oil on our back window. Pulled over and found an issue with a line on the generator. We promptly addressed this up the road at an Ace Hardware where my husband repaired it on site. See pictures. Now we arrive at Ocean Lakes in Myrtle Beach. I receive a call from Famcamp Camp host telling me we are "banned" from the FamCamp until issue is fixed. That Outdoor Rec personnel had issued this banned status due to the mess our old bus made on their concrete pad not just from an engine area oil leak but also all over an area where the back of the bus was parked. What am I to say? Upset, speechless I just accept what they say and hang up!!! We surmised that the generator issue began as we pulled out and perhaps spilled desire oil. How were we to know? They gave me no chance to explain and we've been kicked out, our plans to see our grandkids for the next few weeks in CHS are off and we will head home. BY THE WAY, I even purchased a very large and thick tarp to put under the bus if it was needed and believe me if there was a major leak toward the back of our bus while it sat for 4 days on their pad I WOULD HAVE NOTICED. I walked my dog a tleast 25 times during the stay so that is a true statement. Special note: we are here at Ocean Lakes in Myrtle Beach. No leak on pad AT ALL. That's the story. The truth. Our experience!!! Home bound we will be. No comment otherwise as we feel disheartened and humiliated. . Theresa

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 3rd-9th 2017

Great experience! The campsite has exceptional amenities, large/level concrete pads, shade, low sewer hookups, convenient to Exchange and Commissary, about a 25 minute drive to downtown Charleston. Best part were the Camp Hosts, knowledgeable, friendly, efficient, but not intrusive. The bath houses and grounds were spotless and super clean, all the infrastructure worked well. We were worried when first arrived because the main campground was full and we had to go to the overflow sites w/o sewer hookup for one night. The camp hosts were able to juggle to accommodate everyone to their satisfaction in spite of a heavy influx of campers, the no reservation policy does work! This is the best campground we have used in our years of camping.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

4 & 5 April 2017

Our first visit for 2 nights. A nice wooded area park. It was full, but we were able to get a paded tent site with electric and water. The camp hosts were great! The showers were large, nice and immediate hot water. This park does not take reservations, but they will find you a spot. There is another park at the Navy weapons station that will take reservations. We did a drive by and this park wins hands down.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 8-11, 2016

We totally enjoyed our stay at Chas Famcamp. The staff, cleanliness, and spaces were superior to any campground we have seen so far. We are already making plans to camp for a week in late fall. Thank you staff for making our stay so enjoyable. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 18 2016

I'm not sure what I can add that hasn't already been said about this campground, it is really one of the best maintained parks I have ever stayed at. We only stayed overnight as we were just passing through, but will be back to stay for a while and take advantage of the facilities. i also want to mention the folks that checked us in were very friendly and helpful. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

13-15 May 2016

Can't say enough good things about this place.  The hostess was very nice and helpful.  Easy access through the Aviation Ave / Perimeter Road North gate (right hand lane with x-ray machine).  Pull through site was excellent, and all amenities in excellent condition.  Walk to Golf Course and club grill, or use fitness trail and picnic/play ground facilities nearby.  Although the $23/night seems high, you can't beat that in this area.  Will definitely be back.  CAFB is tops!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26-28 February 2016

This was our first experience with a military campground with our RV. Very nice location, great hosts! There seems to be quite a few "long term" inhabitants, but everything is kept nice and tidy. Access to the base facilities is extremely easy! We will stay here again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 16, 2016

I rated all fives based on other reviews since we did only a drive thru. It rained several inches the day before so numerous sites with or without RV's were covered in water. Some had several inches of water and the road in the new section was under water on one side. Some sites the water was so deep the sewer hook was not visible. The new section sits lower than the old section and woods around those sites were flooded. Quite a few sites were open which was surprising this time of year or maybe it was due to the flooding.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 8 - 20, 2015

Visiting Charleston, SC in the autumn is always a “must” for us. The weather is great, but most importantly, we visit many of the historic sites and great restaurants in the Charleston and surrounding area. We have been here numerous times and always attempt to stay at the JB Charleston RV Park. We will not attempt to describe the good or bad things about the RV Park; that info is covered fairly well in other posted reviews. We are not sure if we can add any meaningful information to what is already posted. However, there are a couple of things we would like to mention about the JB. First, the base has great paved walking/running paths. You can go from the RV Park to the gate that you entered with an RV and back to the RV Park – a round-trip distance of about 1.5 miles or you can extend that distance by not taking the short-cut into the RV Park. If you left the RV Park and went in the opposite direction from the gate, you can experience an enjoyable 3.2 mile route. The second point we want to mention is the small memorial park that is very close to the RV Park. The memorial park is dedicated to airmen that have made the ultimate sacrifice in service to their country. We always visit the park and pay our respects to the fallen heroes. There are three “retired” transport aircraft on static display in the Park. Those aircraft always bring back memories of the “good ole days”. Our stay at JB Charleston is always rewarding to us. The RV Park provides an excellent location and amenities at a reasonable cost. We look forward to returning in years to come.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

20-29 May 2015

This was our first visit to Charleston AFB and will not be our last. The Camp Host, Bob, met us as we pulled in and apologized that he had to put us in the overflow area for a couple of days. Let me say, the overflow area is nicer than some RV Parks we have stayed in. Bob directed us to our site and said he would be back shortly to register us. After getting set up and settled in, Bob came over and registered us and continued to apologize for having to put us in overflow. Bob provided us with all sorts of information on Charleston and said that the 9 days were going to be there would not be enough time to take in every thing, and he was right. Bob assured us that he would have us in a FHU site in a couple of days and true to his word, after only 2 nights in overflow, he moved us to a pull thru site, site #22, with FHUs. This Famcamp is very clean and so are the bath houses and laundry. As soon as a camper leaves the grass is cut and trimmed and blown clean. The sites are large with concrete pads and almost new picnic tables. There is no CATV, but TV reception is excellent. The WIFI was great in overflow, but not so good back in the campground. The BX and Commissary are close and very well stocked. The golf course is next to the campground and serves a very good breakfast. While there, I visited the Personnel Flight for a new ID Card (turning 65 in June) and the folks there were very accommodating. The above directions are spot on and going thru the x-ray was not a hassle. We will visit this Famcamp again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
89 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5