JB Charleston RV Park

 
4.2 (106)
112259   1   23   1   53

User reviews

106 reviews

 
(66)
 
(19)
 
(12)
 
(3)
 
(6)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.4  (106)
 
4.3  (106)
 
4.0  (106)
 
4.3  (106)
 
4.2  (106)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
106 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

15-18 October 2018

We used the West Hill Blvd gate off of 642. No problem but the camp host said that sometimes RVers are asked to turn around and use the other gate. Good advice. Great campground but my only comment is the noise. Obviously, this is beyond the control of management but just so you'll know. The campground is adjacent to an busy airport so you hear jets coming and going from 6am till 10pm. You will hear reville at 7am and taps at 10pm over the base loudspeakers. During our stay, there was an active pistol range firing at 5am. Not complaining but if you are looking for "peace and quiet" this may not be for you. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Apr/May 2018

OUTSTANDING! The campsites are beautiful and we had plenty of room. The Camp Host was the best we ever encountered. She was helpful and worked with everyone to solve problems and followed through (one of the rigs had a mechanical problem and she worked with them to keep them in place until it could get fixed to be safely moved). We cleans the sites between campers...even wiping down the electrical boxes and checking everything out. The bath houses are spotless. Her husband (who is still active duty, she is the Host) comes home and hand mows to keep things neat. I have seen the two of them out at 10p on the golf cart helping out the campers. Excellent care, beautiful campground, next to the Outdoor Rec/Tickets (which is also outstanding), who could want more? Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

7 June to 13 June 2018

RV park is great. Paved roads, level sites. New section is where we stayed. Many upgrades since our 2007 trip, even in the old section. Location would be a 5 if the traffic in and out of Charleston was not so terrible. RV park has no control over this issue, but it is an issue. They seem to be building new ways in and out of town. Hopefully this will make it easier. When you are on a peninsula, you only have so many options. There are lots of poison ivy vines in this famcamp. There is no reason to let this stuff take over. That's your 3 in cleanliness. Security police told me I didn't have to go through the X-ray with a retired ID card.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2019

Great location to Charleston, clean bath houses nice gravel sites, would camp here again. Beware if it rains, the lots turn into small ponds. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 27-30 2018

The first camp host Gwen was great, she came to the site with us and gave us maps and information on the area. We towed a motorcycle with us to SC so naturally it rained hard on Memorial Day. We decided to leave a day early only to find our slide on the RV would not come in. Coach net sent a repair man and Jeremy our second camp host was nice enough to drive my husband to the gate so we could get the repair guy in. The camp area was clean and well maintained and we are definitely going back. The change in camp hosts was not an issue and both were a credit to the FamCamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May-June 2018

Note: at the end of May they installed temporary-looking barriers to create a serpentine at the back gate exit. One of the gate guards said it was going to be permanent to stop gate runners from coming in the wrong way (is that really a problem here?). Anyway, it's not the end of the world, but not the straight shot out it used to be. CGs with monthly rates are generally cheaper than paying the base's daily rate times 31, but the great thing about bases in my opinion is that they seem to have less of a rush on the major holidays. I was having trouble finding a site with availability over Memorial Day, but JB Charleston had no problem accommodating us. We can't say enough about Betsy and her husband. When they were camp hosts, we always saw them cleaning up something, which is why the CG always looked so nice. We made reservations through Outdoor Rec, and they allowed us only 14 days. They said the host would know we wanted a full month and fix the reservation when we arrived. Unsurprisingly, the note wasn't passed on, but Betsy ran back to her camper to use her desktop, and 20 minutes later we had the month-long stay we originally requested. We didn't use the laundry facility but it looked spotless. There was a small rack to trade books inside. The boys loved the playgrounds at the entrance, and we loved sending them there. Before arriving I called Outdoor Rec and Security Forces to ask about the X-Ray. Both gave me the answer that they weren't sure, but they thought we usually had to go to the X-Ray. I don't think the airman manning the gate really wanted us to go through because he had it blocked on the far end. Since the entrance was open, we went through that way and it wasn't a big deal at all. Noise is constant; look at Google Maps and you'll see you're near the end of the runway. Jet noise didn't bother us, but the 0700 reveille and 2200 taps did. Other bases have them at friendlier hours that weren't as disruptive. It usually woke us up in the morning, even with the a/c running full blast over our heads. One thing that was different from the military CGs we've visited the last 2 years of full-timing: when our plans changed and we had to leave 2 days early, we were offered a credit for future use instead of a refund. Not a big deal, but after being issued refunds at other military CGs we were a bit surprised the policy is different here. The base is convenient enough to downtown, and we had a great time exploring the old city. There are plenty of stores and restaurants in North Charleston; we highly recommend Istanbul Shish Kabob Buffet if you stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2018

Camp Host was Wonderful! Brought area guides and maps right to our RV and gave us useful information. Great price and location. MWR even changed our reservation dates on short notice. The campground is clean, quiet and very close to several playgrounds and showers. The showers were clean and private. I recommend the back gate when entering with your RV. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

April 29, 2018

I retired as a DOD civilian from AMC headquarters at Scott AFB ten (10) years ago. March 29, 2018 I made reservations for seven (7) days in April/May time period at the Charleston FamCamp. Can't make the reservations on line. You have to call and talk to a person to make reservations, which I did. On Sunday April 29th, arriving from out of state, we approached the Charleston AFB gate closest to the FamCamp. I gave the security gate guard my civilian DOD identification card. After a few minutes I was told I could not enter the gate en-route to the FamCamp. The security guards said I would need special approval from the AFB which would open on Monday? So I was not allowed to camp even though reservations are paid for. Needless to say I scrambled to get a reservation at a local KOA campground. We were vacationing and had tour reservations so I had no time to apply for a special pass or whatever they require. Below is copied from the base web site. "The Joint Base Charleston Family Campground (or commonly referred to as FamCamp) is located on the Air Force base is open to retired Military members, 100% disabled veterans, 'DoD ID card holders' and active duty military members not stationed at or working on Joint Base Charleston." So why wasn't I advised upon my call to the campground that I would need a special pass to enter? Fix the problem!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 May 2018

This is a wonderful campground. My husband and I spent a week there in a 31 ft trailer. The host met us as we pulled in and lead us to our site. She gave us time to get set up then came back to do the paperwork and offered guide books and info on the area. The lots are nice sized with concrete pads, full hookups and picnic tables. The bathhouse/showers were super clean as was the laundry room. 2 washers and 2 dryers $1.25/load. There's a nice area to walk dogs and a playground next to the campground for kids. Commissary and exchange are not far from the campground and easy assess to Charleston. We definitely will be going back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 20-27, 2017

Parks earn their reputation on great hosts. The JB Park has great hosts and the park reflects it. These people do a great job and always checking to see if all is Ok. Thanks for making the park and our stay great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

September 2017

Well, I have great news for all our Active Duty folks. After speaking with the new camp Host that we currently have ORC will allow Active Duty Coast Guard to stay her at the Famcamp. ORC does not consider them Active Duty, and as long as if your not assigned on base here at Charleston AFB you are welcome to stay. You now can stay in the long term spots for up to 180 day, but you have to pay $23 a night. I'm just repeating what I was told. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

All of 2017

This is my first review, but not the only place I stayed. A lot of the previous reviewers made some good points, and good observations about this Famcamp. I think that a lot of people underestimate the value of long term campers or what some call "homesteaders". I was in the long term area for a year and let me tell you, the sites were the worst, and not worth it. Flooding, snakes, bugs and small spots is what you get. Since they elininated long term spots, ORC has lost a ton of money, and all but a few sites have been empty. The biggest problem that I have seen here is that there is no set rules to follow, the AFI's are not followed, the rules that change almost on the monthly basic do not apply for all. I don't understand why it can be so hard to run a facility to where it is equal for all. We have had some nice productive host here, but then there has been some that think they owned the place. I do have an issue with a host acting as if they are in full control, in reality they are given free sites for cleaning the toilets and cutting grass. They are not an employee of ORC and if they are they better be paying taxes on the value of the sites they are given for free. Overall it's a nice clean secured place. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Aug 2017

Sometimes when you read these reviews you get a false positive. I really wish people would give an honest one. There is not one place all 5's. Let's be honest about it and write them as they are. Ok, let's start with Amenities that is in the Famcamp. There is bathrooms and laundry room, does that really deserve a 5 rating? Cleanliness, the main "new" bath and laundry room is clean, but the other is old and very worn. The newer campsites in the pull thru section is nice and clean while the older section in the woods is over grown. Now, does "cleanliness" deserve a 5? Ok, Value, $23 a night is good, but there is other ones in the area that you can get for $29. Let's talk about location, yep your phone in Charleston SC, but it is still along way from the beaches. That is not really a 5 either. Most of the other parks in the area do offer a lot of amenities for the campers. These would be activities either during the daytime or nighttime. What you have here is a RV park that is half old and have newer, laundry facility and bathrooms, nothing else. When they moved the long term campers out, now those "prime" spots are all empty. If you just want a place to park your camper with hook ups, well that the is what it is. I know most people are going to say, you have the NCO club, pool on base, ect. Nothing goes on at the club except bingo, and the pool is ok if your want to drive to it. I just wish people would do reviews trufully. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 31 - Aug 13, 2017

We will be packing up tomorrow, then Sunday we leave for our next destination. As I was taking my morning walk, I began to think about what to write in my departing review - nothing came to mind. Just about everything you can think of, helpful information and dirty laundry, has already been posted in other reviews. I can say, that once again, we had a great time at JB Charleston - despite the rain. There have been no physical changes to the park and it remains well-groomed. As I re-entered the park from my walk, I noticed the host going about a host’s duties. I approached the host and asked about something I saw the day before when an active-duty member in uniform was walking around the park depositing little white tapered cylinders in the water puddles. I thought I knew the answer but wanted to make sure – I was right, it was part of a comprehensive mosquito control program on the base. The host shared a lot of interesting information about the mosquito control program. I have never seen anything like that before in my life. This “ole dog” learned a new trick while interacting with “small talk”. I suppose mentioning a problem we had with the electrical pedestal shortly after we unhooked and the offer by the host to help us move to another site could be considered a nice gesture worthy of mention. We really appreciated the offer but declined it. We checked-in at the FamCamp the day-after the special event concert. The FamCamp was empty and closed on the day of the concert. RV’ers slowly trickled in during the following few days. Now, it looks like they’re back to their normal occupancy rate. Gosh, it’s hard to come up with anything else so I’ll just mention a general thing about our other activities. There were two remaining POI’s to visit on our “to do” list, they are going be added to our “next-time to do” list. One of the POI’s that we wanted to visit is the Fireman’s Museum in North Charleston. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

2016-2017

We are a retired (USAF 30 year) couple who stayed at JB Charleston Air Force FamCamp in long term. The following is a short review of our stay. The camp itself is fine – and many of the long term sites are very good. However, some are way in the back, under heavy tree cover and poor drainage causes them to stay wet after it rains. The location is great in relation to commissary, airport and the Charleston area. We have camped for years in many different places and this director and her office staff are some of the laziest, rudest people I have ever encountered. And, if I read one more comment about the greatness of Connie and Vic, I might puke. Connie is in everybody’s business! If you stay a few days, they are probably great, but long term is very, very different. There are no written guidelines for campers and the director refuses to provide any such guidelines. She makes up the rules as she goes along and is furious if she is questioned about ANYTHING! She lies outright. You can’t depend on the website. If you refer to it, she will tell you it has not been updated. When we left, she openly gloated that she had seven IG complaints on her desk and they meant nothing! If that’s not a lie; then obviously, the IG Office needs to be investigated, too. In the year we were there, there were six different hosts. Everything we read states that active duty members are not supposed to live in the campground. When we left in the late spring, the hosts were a young active duty Coast Guard member and his wife. He claims to be retired Coast Guard. He is not retired. He wears civilian clothing and changes at work. Jmann is right, management and especially hosts Bob and Gwen Diamond who return every fall have their favorites and if you don’t have a $200K-plus motor coach, are not a member of the American Motor Coach Association and/or do not participate in the 4:00 o’clock cocktail hour, you will not be in one of the better spaces. If you go to Bob with a question and he does not like you or the question, he will literally beat his chest with his fist and scream in your face that he is “running the place.” And make no mistake, he is! The Director allows him to do as he pleases. She cannot be bothered with the people who stay there, even though it is why she has a job. If you want to stay in long term, be ready for all to know your business and your comings and goings. It is a gossiper’s delight! Military campgrounds like this were built for the enjoyment of veterans who have served their country and retired! For the commander and his staff at JB Charleston to turn a blind eye to the rude and disrespectful treatment that the FamCamp Director, staff and hosts show to veterans and their families is shameful! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 30 - August 13, 2017

We are in our first week of a two week stay at JB Charleston and wanted to post two pieces of information that could have time-sensitive attributes for folks planning a trip to JB Charleston. Please be aware that we are not speaking for the management of the RV Park. First, as you may already know, August 21st is a BIG, BIG opportunity to enjoy a once-in-a-lifetime phenomenal event, the total eclipse. And we are sure you know that Charleston, SC is one of the premier east coast viewing sites to enjoy the event. As of today, it is my understanding that no special considerations are being planned for the anticipated large influx of folks wanting a RV site. It will be business as normal – no reservations accepted, provide sites in either the FHU or overflow areas. The second piece of information is directed toward folks that may be planning a trip to JB Charleston during the latter part of the year. There are approved plans to expand the number of sites in the newer FHU section of the park. There is no known starting date for the construction to begin, other than, later this year. In any case, it is anticipated that the newer section will be closed during the construction period. We will try to keep you updated if we hear anything more about those two points.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 29- July 13, 2017

This was the first time we have camped at any military installation and was really surprised ! Connie and Vic (the camp host) were awesome ! They run this FAMCAMP as if it were their very own. Everything was so very clean and they showed each camper real "southern hospitality". We definitely will be camping here again!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 14, 2017

This FAMCAMP is probably the best campsite in the military system. My wife and I have had the pleasure of Camp Hosting for two seasons. It was a pleasure serving our active duty and retirees. The camp is soon to have seven new sites added and the overflow will be upgraded to full service hook ups bringing up to fifty full hook up sites. Long term sites are no longer available and all sites are on a first come first serve fourteen day stays. If site is available at the fourteenth day an extension for another fourteen days is accommodated. Camp Hosting here is great. If you are interested in camp hosting at this site drop off a resume at the Outdoor Recreation Office or email via their website; https://www.jbcharlestonorc.com/contact For more info log into Facebook below; https://m.facebook.com/JB-Charleston-Outdoor-Rec-Center-141871509170932/ 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2017

This was our first time here. I was impressed. We found the Fampcamp easy enough. The office was closed and there was a sign to see the camp host at site 42. I could not determine where site 42 was. Fortunately, the camp host was walking across right in front of us. She told us where we could go and she would stop by in a bit after we set up. She was pleasant and helpful. We stayed three days and it was very nice for the price. We did not notice, or search for, any politics of the place. We did not notice any obvious homesteading. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2017

Well, the last review posted on how nice [the hosts] are. Yes they are nice to you, but they are very vindictive. [They] should be in heaven since her husband is active duty collecting housing allowance living in Famcamp for well over a year. Now that they are host they stay for free, and get additional benefits. I'm still trying to figure out why AFI's are not being followed? ODR lets the host do whatever they want, according to [name deleted] who was the last host. [He] was the type of person who feels that unless your rig is 45 foot and over 250 thousand you were not up to his standards. There is no set rules there, they Chang them daily. I have seen other active duty personal turned away, I have seen other campers not being allowed in because of an oil leak. I have seen untaged campers parked there for years. It's is what it is. [Editor edits are in brackets]

Was this review helpful to you? 
106 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6