Camp Rilea

Camp Rilea

Hot
 
4.0 (40)
95287   1   15   1   30

User reviews

15 reviews with 5 stars

40 reviews

 
(15)
 
(17)
 
(5)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.3  (40)
 
3.7  (40)
 
4.1  (40)
 
3.9  (40)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 15  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 25 - July 1, 2016

After leaving Beale AFB and traveling for four weeks, we finally arrived at Camp Rilea Military Recreation Area for a six day stay.  We stayed at several private RV Parks during our travels in California and along the Oregon coastline.  The rocky Oregon coastline is absolutely beautiful and a shutterbug’s paradise. Walking on the beaches at low-tide is a priceless and rewarding experience.  Traveling west on California Highway 299 and then north on US-101 is some-what challenging but the scenery is well-worth the effort.  We found a lot of fun things to do along our route.  Checking-in at Camp Rilea was very simple:  the gentleman at the gate was really friendly and explained exactly where we had to go to check-in at the Billeting Office;  he told us where to park our rig for the check-in process thus avoiding a turn-around problem in the parking lot.;  the active duty soldier at the Billeting Office was also very friendly; we were given an envelope with a map of the Post and a key to the site electrical pedestal.  Experiencing such a friendly welcome set a good tone for our visit.  All the sites in the RV Park are back-ins, some are on an asphalt paved surface and others on grass.  There is plenty of room to maneuver while backing into the site.  The length of the sites can easily accommodate the largest RV’s along with tow/towed vehicles.  The width of the site is about twenty-two feet which seems to shrink considerably when you have slide outs on both sides and your neighbors also have slide outs.  Previous reviews have mentioned that the RV Park is a parking lot and that appears to be true.  We did not come here with different expectations.  We just wanted a safe, quiet place to stay while we took day-trips to local attractions and enjoy our “do nothing” days which means going for walks and just hanging out at the RV Park.  The Post is small, quiet, and well-maintained.  We did get an unadvertised Kodak moment; we watched five elk grazing on the hillside next to the RV Park.  There are major retailers about two miles north on US-101.  If you travel south on US-101 about eight miles you will be in a little town named Seaside.  What you see of Seaside while on US-101 is not a very good representation of what the town has to offer.  You will need to go west on Broadway to downtown and the beach.  Seaside is a pretty neat place to visit with or without little munchkins tagging along.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 12-15, 2015

I cannot say enough good things about this little gem of an RV Park. It is a tiny facility, as RV Parks go, BUT it is huge in every other way! Beautifully maintained training center and facilities. The only thing lacking is convenient WiFi access (I'll take the free laundry facility any day over WiFi, which is readily available at Taco Bell about 2 miles away).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 28, 2014

Definitely glad we stayed here! We camped with a 40' fifth-wheel. Location put us close to national and state parks in NW Oregon and SW Washington as well as a lot of other stuff to do in Seaside and Astoria. We were actually able to make reservations about two weeks before Labor Day weekend into the 'dry' sites for the holiday weekend then moved to a full-hookup site. The 8 dry sites w/30 amp are on grass. Showers/restrooms were clean. Firing range wasn't a problem. Training was sporadic during the two weeks, otherwise the base mostly deserted. Very quiet and peaceful, at least at this time of year. The bonus was the free laundry. Good machines and no wait. FYI, the sites are RIGHT off a road with a drop-off on the other side of the road. Larger rigs may have to do some extra maneuvering to get into spots and #8 (FHU) is positioned slightly behind the shower/bathroom building. We're new at backing up, so this was a little challenging! We would never try #8. #1 (FHU) is the site we had and there wasn't any satellite from our roof dish; we used our tailgater and no problem. And lastly, when I asked about wi-fi, I was given info for the wi-fi that's in a building down the street from the RV sites, but they also let me use computers in the classroom next to the check-in office. Everyone was very pleasant and accommodating. Lots of geese and elk viewing right around the sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept. 2, 2014

Wonderful; bit challenging getting contact with Ms. Starr for reservations. Great MilFamCamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Many time over the last 4 years

Very easy access. Right off Highway 101. Far enough off the highway that you cannot see or hear any traffic. The camp ground is a paved parking lot that is always clean. The restrooms are clean and warm. Very close to Warrenton, Seaside and Astoria. There is a restaurant on the post but the hours are limited. There is a large elk herd that hangs out here and they are nice to watch. Great hiking and bicycling.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 - 2 March 2013

Right off Hwy 101. Extremely easy access. Nice paved sites. Wi-Fi no longer available at the snack bar as it is closed. Now available at Koski Hall bldg. 7300. Koski Hall is their answer to Gateway Inn or similar. There is no one on duty in the building, however. All it has are rooms so if you don't stay in one of the rooms your only recourse is access Wi-Fi from the parking lot. It works good though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2 Nov 2012

Very nice, great service, free laundry service, pick-up key card when you check-in.deer and elk on site. Every one was helpful as it always is with military personnel. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 18-20 2012

We could only stay for two nights because BIG summer camp program for disadvantaged kids....however we drove thru a few days later and there were spaces available-so what can you say. As the picture shows a plain, no frills rv park except there is cable. Beautiful views and mostly quiet EXCEPT if you have a dog that is afraid of gunshot/fireworks sounds this is not the place for you. Firing range is right behind the berm behind RV's !! The shower rooms are separate from restroom and not that clean-wear shower shoes!! Tent spaces with covered picnic area and space to walk and enjoy scenery. Didn't see elk but saw much other wildlife! Right between Seaside and Astoria/Warrenton with shopping in both places(exchange is barely a mini-mart). The gate guards are VERY personable and helpful! Would go back and if no space as we had to leave go to Kampers West Kampground in Warrenton and ask for the military discount!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 23, 2010 to Jan 3, 2011

R.J. left this review using the Directory software: - It was a wonderful holiday week. Friendly, helpful staff. Woke one morning to a herd of elk grazing around our camp. What a gift that was. It is a well kept secret. A great place

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 10, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8 to 12 Sept 2011

The previous comments are accurate. Just a couple of things to add. First, this is very convenient to Astoria and surrounding area. Second, this is primarily an installation supporting the Oregon National Guard. We happened to be here on their drill week-end. The firing range is right behind us so, during the day, we heard occasional weapons fire. Not a problem for us - no worse, in fact better, than being under the end of a runway. Finally, because it was a drill week-end, the RV spots were full. We were offered, and accepted, a spot in "dry camping." The "dry camping" spots were next to the full hook-up spots, but we were parked on dirt instead of asphalt. The showers and other facilities were still available to us. Since we dry camp a lot this was not a problem. Much to our surprise, however, their definition of "dry camping" also included a 30 amp electric hook-up so we were very happy. Cost to dry camp: $5 per day. When the firing range isn't active you can drive out to the beach. We loved this place. But if you are one of those who needs a pool, hot tub, activities center, playground for the kids and so forth - don't come here. There is a KOA just up the street for you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 3, 2009

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: The staff is VERY friendly. Although it is a "paved lot", with all back in slots. But, you have a nice view of the camp which is very well maintained. There is a free laundry available to campers. Also, there are cabin like facilities that can be rented as well. There is a VA clinic on post. The Rest Rooms and showers are spotless and very close to all 10 parking slots. There is a small picnic area to the SE. Word has it that in summer, you may "experience" small arms fire. Just over the hill from the "campground" is a firing range. It is a VERY nice park, and is close to Fort Clatsop and Fort Stevens in addition to Astoria and Seaside....this is a good location for this part of NW Oregon. Good price for what you get.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 13-14, 2009

Just cannot compare with a Walmart parking lot. Cg is quiet, clean, convenient. Not many amenities on base, but, after all, this is a reserve base, not active duty. What do you expect? Definitely worth the price and convenience. Area tourist attractions are almost non-existant, but a nice place to stay for a few days.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 18-22, 2008

This is a nice place to stop thru. We stayed here so that we could go look at light houses and waterfalls. The famcamp is basically a parking lot, but you have full hook-up and cable. The base is well kept and nice looking. There is a laundry room w/ 10 washers and dryers and the cost is FREE. We only had one day of gun-fire, the rest of the time real quite. There is a small PX that is open from 11-5pm Tuesday-Saturday. Front desk people are great, really nice and willing to help you out. You do have to check in at billeting to get a key to unlock your service box. Do not worry, plenty of room for big rigs. We manuevered our 40 footer around nicely and carefee. Spot 10 is the best because it is right on the end leaving space to park your vehicle. The 20.00 a night seemed a high to me, but then again there is cable and free laundry.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2007

What a nice camp. We pulled in there with no reservations, just as someone left unhappy with no fire rings. Oh well. Stayed there for 4 days. The area is rich in military history exploring old forts and the Astoria area was wonderful. Check out the Base Headquarters for historical facts of Camp Rilea. The Commanding Officer is a great wealth of information and is more than willing to share all his knowledge. Great experience. Will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 6, 2007

The gate guard will supply a map of the base; check-in is at the Billeting Office, just to the left of the gate-house by about 200 yards, and the 10 spaces are a mile down the main drag, turn left at the flag pole and a quarter mile more on the right are the spaces. The PX has military clothing, magazines, booze, and snacks. But, not to worry because in Warrenton, less than 5 miles back toward Astoria there's a COSTCO and Fred Meyers (its like a Super WalMart). The base is very well situated for the area's attractions. We will be returning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
15 results - showing 1 - 15