Camp Rilea

Camp Rilea

Hot
 
4.0 (40)
101812   1   15   1   33

User reviews

Filters 16 reviews with 4 stars

40 reviews

 
(15)
 
(17)
 
(5)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.3  (40)
 
3.7  (40)
 
4.1  (40)
 
3.9  (40)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 2016

I've stayed here before and dealt with the nightmare of trying to get someone on the phone for RV site reservations before. This time I searched online and got a different number, 503-836-4076. The number came from this site, http://www.oregon.gov/OMD/OTC/CampRilea/Pages/RangeStatus.aspx under Lodging Duty Staff. Someone answered and helped me. I don't know if this will always work but it is another way to try. Good luck.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 15, 2016

Ah, this was a different experience for us. We've been to many famcamps and this was not our usual expected experience. We tried to make reservations but no one would call us back. We drove up to the gate and the gaurd told us we had to go somewhere else. He explained the lodging office was closed and they wouldn't allow anyone to stay the night and settle up in the morning. The town has an ordinance prohibiting over night parking so we went on to Stephens Park. Thank God they had a spot. They were full but after explaining to them, they put us in one of there host sites. The following morning we drove over to Rilea lodoing to see if we could get in. They said they call everyone who leaves messages. No, not all calls. I got a call the afternoon we checked in. So it was back to Stephen park to move the rv for one night. We thought it was a good price and since it took up part of our day we'd stay 2 more nights. That didn't happen. They told us someone was due in our spot the next day. So this wasn't a good experience for us. Definally didn't feel welcome here. Call and if you're passing through get there before lodging closes. They close earlier than other bases. I think it was 4pm or 4:30pm. They do have beautuful old structures, neat grounds.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

July 2016

I have been trying for a week now to get hold of someone to make a reservation. No one answers the phone. I repeat my phone number twice on the message to make sure that it is understood and they are able to write it down. No one returns my phone call. Is there an alternate phone number?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 15, 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in September & really enjoyed it here. People really friendly & facilities were clean. Not much to do on base but its a great location. We were in a 39' 5th wheel & will stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23 Oct 2013

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - We'd stay there again in a heartbeat! Lots of firing on the weekend but really not a bother to us.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 2013

This campground is an unpolished gem! With a little spit and shine, it could be a wonderful FamCamp! I would LOVE the opportunity to be able to do something special with this place; if only...! It is close to Astoria (7 miles) and it's right on the Pacific Coast Scenic Byway, right off Hwy 101. It is well-marked and the gate guards are very friendly and helpful. RVer's may not be too happy with the parking lot-type accommodations, but for tent campers, this place gets an A+ (see pictures)! Now, the amenities and facilities are still a little spartan, so I had to mark down for those; there are two small bathrooms and three showers, WiFi is only available by getting a "Day-pass" to Koski Hall, and there are no laundry facilities. The restrooms get used by everyone, including the folks doing all the training at the range behind the campground, so they do tend to get a little dirty and could use a little extra attention. The PX/BX is small and does not carry charcoal and/or lighter fluid, nor any other camping supplies, so you need to have those before you get here. If you are an outdoorsman-type, there are plenty of things to see and do in the local area. There are lots of museums, state parks, beaches, fishing, and tours in nearby Warrenton and Astoria. Now for the not-so-good: this IS, primarily, a National Guard, State Police, Sheriff's training facility! So, expect lots of shooting and training operations during all hours of the day and night. Training usually, does not go past midnight, but they did conduct nighttime operations while we were there and it was a bit noisy. The following day, they were shooting at the range behind the campground all day long, but stopped at around 1630. All-in-all, this facility is a first-rate campground for the price and great value for tent campers ($5/night), BUT there are only three tenting spots, each with its own pavilion and two picnic tables under each pavilion; so, reserve, reserve, reserve!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2012

So, for those of you that don't know, Camp Rilea is a TRAINING POST, so if you have a problem being surrounded by Soldiers doing what they need to maintain their proficiency and preparedness to protect your freedom, perhaps you should go to the KOA where you can get eaten by bugs. As far as the scheduling goes, reservations are limited because this is a great place to stay! It's safe, clean, but in high demand. If you get moved a lot it's because you waited to the last minute to get a reservation and reservations get limited. They don't subscribe to "good ol' boys", it's first come, first serve, and leftover and last minute people get the scraps. If you don't like it, you could always go pay $180 in the local hotels. Sad, that our military people get bad raps towards those that serve because people think this is a resort. Stayed out there all the time and NEVER had a problem. This is a no frills, honest, little addendum to the coast that offers an opportunity to be reminded what military affiliation is all about.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

4-16 to 4-20, 2011

As stated before, it is a parking lot with hookups. The bathrooms and showers are extremely clean. The staff does a great job. The laundry room was very clean as well. As stated, 10 each washers and dryers. You do have to go to billeting to get a key card to use the laundry. The shopette on base does havea few things. A little ride gets you to a Coast Guard Exchange that does stock some food items. They also have gas pumps and the price was 10 cents a gallon cheaper than anywhere in town. The coordinates for your GPS for the exchange (taken from my GPS) are 46.17222,-123.841667. It is easy to get to thought. Head north on 101. At the rotary, take the first exit which will head you south on Bus. 101. The exchange is about one mile from the rotary. No diesel. The gas pumps are open every day from 0900-1800 and on Sunday 1000-1600. Overall, nice place to base for touring the area. Some museums nearby in Astoria. A trip to Tillamook and the cheese factory is a nice ride along the coast. Quite a few places to pull off and just enjoy or take pics of the ocean. Will definitely stay here again if I am in the area even though I feel the $20 is a little high.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 09, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

8 October 2010

Yes, it is a parking lot. A very clean, hospitable, quiet and convenient parking lot with full hookups (including cable tv), a great place to walk the dogs or yourself, watch the elk herd in the evenings and just enjoy the peace and quiet that you will not get at any of the commercial parks in the area. It is a lovely facility and the people are very friendly and helpful. The location makes it perfect for the Northern Oregon, Southern Washington coast and all of its attractions. The PX is a shopette. Fred Meyers is about 3 miles toward town if you need groceries. Costco is about 4 miles. This is a great camp!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 1 to Aug 6, 2010

It may be a parking lot, but it is a nice parking lot. Convenient to Astoria, Lewis and Clark National/State Parks and Seaside, OR. The post exchange is very small but adequate for emergency items. Took a trip to Tillamook for the cheese factory. This is a good spot to camp and see the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 4, 2010

Don't let anyone tell you differently, this is a parking lot. The site is a little used base, so there isn't much there. The PX is small and the base doesn't have anything for visitors. Now, from there, this is a great place to visit the Oregon Coast. The staff is very helpful, and folks on the base were friendly. We used the base as a place to set our 5th wheel, and from there went out to visit the coast. It gives you a secure site to leave your RV, and is close to the coast area for just about everything. I've enjoyed other sites more, but keeping in mind the limits, it is a nice place to stay for a few days. I wouldn't plan on an extended stay unless I had other things to do. The camp is well maintain, the facilities were really clean. We got to watch the elk herd come into the camp. I'd go back, and recommend it to anyone looking for a area to visit the coast.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 25, 2009

J.P. left this review using the Directory software: This our latest of several visits to Camp Rilea. This is one of our favorite stops and we very much enjoy the quiet atmosphere and nearby shopping (including Costco). The staff is always very friendly and helpful. We will return again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 2007

J.P. left this review using the Directory software: We have used this campground many times. It's current condition is very good. The stated 30 foot RV rule does not appear to be adhered to. Our 36 footer always fits nicely and no one objects. It is a very well kept, quiet place to be. Sometimes on weekends you will hear one of the firing ranges operating. Kilroy's, the on base all hands club is a great place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sep 14, 2007

This is a nice place to stay. The Billeting Office handling the RV campground is friendly and efficient. Reservations in season are apprently recommended, but we took a chance and just drove in and got a spot no problem. It is a completely paved parking lot-style campground, but very clean and the sites are of adequate size. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 4, 2007

GC left this review using the Directory software: The campsites are just a blacktop parking area. They do have full hook ups and the facilities are clean. The area has easy access to the local towns. We will stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 2005

Not a lot of extras BUT a great base to explore all you have in that part of the state. Showers & RR were clean and all the EM were very nice in getting us checked in and out. Parking on an asphalt slab along side other campers. No shade or tables or fire pits BUT again, very handy to all the Oregon northern coast. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 1 - 16