Tinker AFB FamCamp

 
4.2 (81)
85250 1 19 1 35

User reviews

42 reviews with 5 stars

81 reviews

 
(44)
 
(24)
 
(4)
 
(8)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.3  (81)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (81)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (81)
Value 
 
4.4  (81)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (81)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
42 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
2-14 July 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I had a great experience, overall. Camp host Linda was accommodating, friendly, and always available. They kept the area clean and $20 per night was reasonable. I docked the amenities/facilities 1 star because it’s very tight spacing and there’s no WiFi. But the laundry is only 50 cents each to wash and dry. I definitely recommend going if you’re heading through OKC. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 14 to 15, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Entrance gate not easy to find (off exit 9 on Interstate 40). The Camp Hostess was extremely helpful and friendly. FamCamp is super clean, including bathrooms and laundry. The Express/Gas Station located adjacent to the camp is closed on weekends and holidays. Highly recommend this FamCamp. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 18-22 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We love this park and have stayed here often. The only problem is they do not mow the grass around the pond or the RV spaces. It is really hard to clean up after your pet when the grass is so high you can't see what you are trying to pick up. We usually stay during the fall or spring and this has been our first summer stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
7-9 Sep 15
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the best places we stayed during a 4.5/month trip around the country. The host was incredibly helpful; guiding us to the site to make sure we were settled. The location allows great access to Oklahoma City and is only about three miles from the BX/commissary. A shoppette is directly next door. The facilities were very clean. The only drawback, a very minor drawback, is the parking situation. The park is cramped, vehicle parking is right next to the RV, with little space between RVs. Overall I rate this site highly. We'll stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 27, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very clean and well taken care of. Bathrooms and showers were free and the best I have seen at a campground. The camp host was great and walked down to out site to show us where it was and where to park. Parking is the big drawback. Each site has assigned parking and some are right next to the camp site and others, like mine are across the road and down from the camp site. But we were directly across from the pond and fishing pier. It looks like they stock some quality fish in the pond but between the state licensing requirements and on base requirements to fish, it isn't worth it for a short stay. I didn't see anyone fishing while we were there. When you come in the gate, you take an immediate right. The camp is on your left not far down. Look for the campers and pond. If you get to the gas station, you went too far. No fire rings for camp fires. I miss that but after staying on three military base campgrounds over our ten day trip, it looks like that is the rule rather than the exception. We stayed one night on our way from Wisconsin to Texas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 17- 23,2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Camp host was excellent! She was very helpful and informative. We did not use the laundry or shower facilities while staying, so we cannot comment on those. Spaces and parking are crowded but manageable. Shopping on base or off base is close. We would definitely stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
6-8 Oct 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - Wonderful "hidden treasure." Great base; super location; awesome facilities. Camp Manager SUPERB! Sites are wonderful; spacious; level; FHU. Definitely worthy of return. Manager went out of her way to help everyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 1-5, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Just spent the last 4 nights here on our way to New Mexico. Linda, the camp host, was so nice & informative. It's a fairly small park, but you don't feel like you're on top of your neighbor. There's a small pond for fishing, which we didn't do & a running/walking trail which was nice for walking the dog. There's lots of grass which to me, makes a park so much nicer. We didn't use any of the rest rooms or laundry so I can't comment on that. We didn't do any sightseeing, but I did a little shopping & there were all kinds of stores right outside the main gate. We would definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 24-27, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice campground but small and narrow roadway. Met by Linda (Host) and led to our site. Too bad she only has 10 Verizon MiFi units. It would be advantages to have one unit setup near the 'office' for use by others on a limited basis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed at Tinker Famcamp for 8 days and found the facility to be one of the best Famcamps we have stayed to date. Initially we were concerned, after reading the negative reviews concerning the facility and host, we found it to be quite the opposite. The facility is small, assigned parking spaces may be too small for a dually, but there were an alternate parking location that was quite satisfactory. We were provided 4G LTE internet (fastest internet of any military RV camps we have stayed at). Laundry was .50 for wash and .50 for dry. This place is Immaculate! The host was very friendly, professional, and provided us with a realm of ideas for visiting the local area. Commissary and Exchange minutes away. Lots of sites to see with free parking at the local Bass Pro and free trolley to downtown (including Bricktown). We will definitely be back and express our thanks to Linda (camp host), for making this place happen.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 7-9, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived when Linda who runs the Fam Camp was out running errands, she had a phone number on her door. We called her and she said to take site 6 and get up with her later in the evening. What a great campground. Clean, quite, and friendly. Very nice laundry and bathhouse. We dropped our camper and went to Ft. Sill for the day. Sunday we found a great church to attend "First Southern Baptist Church". We then went to the 45th Inf. Div. museum, the best military museum I have ever attended. My dad served with them the entire time during WW II. Tomorrow we are going to the Route 66 Museum and Ft. Reno. Base has all the services needed, very convenient to I 40 and other routes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
10 - 12 June 2013
(Updated: June 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here 3 days on our way north. Very quite and relaxing. Sites were pretty close, but good for a short stay. We have a 40 ft. 5th wheel and fit in. Has a small pond. Had water, electric, & sewer hookups at our site. Direct TV, Verizon cell & Internet worked great. Paid $14.00 per night. FamCamp is on base and easy to get to. Check in is at the far rear of the FamCamp. Not far from other shopping and dining out. Has a small store right next to FamCamp. Had laundry with 3 washers & dryers .50 each. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like a FamCamp or not. Well I like this FamCamp. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 20 - 21, 2013
(Updated: April 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I was surprised seeing the earlier review after we got here. Yes, the individual pads are narrow and do not flair out at the entrance, but we had no difficulty backing in and there was plenty of room between RVs. There is a really great nature trail that is probably 3.5 - 4 miles long were you can take a walk with your four legged friends. The host was helpful to a fault. We choose to you are own bathroom so am unable to comment about the CGs bath area. The park is very clean and tidy and easily accessible to either I-40 or I-240 which you must use to enter. The park is no more then 10 minutes to downtown Oklahoma City and traffic was not an issue even at morning rush hour. We would come here again. Just wish we could make reservations in advance. A number of bases do not offer reservation services which could be a problem.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 13-16, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
W.J. left this review using the Directory software: - We had a great stay even with the wild weather. This was our 3rd stay and we plan to stop again. The Camp Hosts are great. Linda and Terry helped us get parked and up to date on the storms passing through. They had just opened up the first 10 sites after electrical upgrade so all sites are available again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 17-29, 2011
(Updated: August 22, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We LOVE Tinker AFB FamCamp in Oklahoma City. OK City is a place we return to every few years because attractions, restaurants and theaters are close by and it's an extremely nice FamCamp. The couple who manages the park obviously like what they do because they take pride in keeping the place neat and clean for guests. There is a small fishing pond on the property, it looks like newly planted trees along the edge of the pond, very clean restrooms and laundry facilities. The spaces are a bit close together but we never mind since we are always out exploring the area.
Some folks have said in reviews that the host is too stringent but WE reap the benefits. If you like immaculate facilities, easy on and off freeway access, lots of things to see and do in the area, We highly recommend this facility. We will definitely return again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
April 2011
(Updated: April 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Back again for 3 nights as a shakedown trip for this year. Great campground, great folks as host...hostess...Overall a great 4 day visit. Only downside is the cramped sites, but folks around us were easy to get to move vehicles so we could get in and out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Nov. 23 to Nov. 25, 2010
(Updated: November 27, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A nice surprise that we could use this campground with a 45' motorhome and we got site 19 the first one on the left upon entry and no difficulty getting in or out of the site. Only reason facilities was not rated a 5 was because the water connection to the site was supposed to have been repaired the day before we arrived and the host was surprised when we told him we had very little water pressure. He immediately had someone there to repair but it was not repairable the day before Turkey Day! We were fortunate enough to have enough hoses with us and used the site behind us facing the water for our water supply. The BX was new as of Sept. this year and it was just a pleasure to find our way around in it. A new concept they are now using for newly built BX's and aisles were easier to get around in also. Overall a good place to stay for a few days if you are in the area.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
October 9 & 10, 2010
(Updated: November 15, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A great Famcamp. We have used 3 in our 3 week trip and enjoyed Tinker as much or more than the other 2. The sites are a little snug to back into but really had no problems. All concrete pads, great bathhouse and laundry,,,AND,,,,FREE ICE IN THE LAUNDRY ROOM. We will be back to Tinker in the future for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 21 - July 5 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This FamCamp is a great place to stay. Can't say anything bad about it. OKC has a lot of things to see and do and this is a great place to stay while doing them. Nice grounds for walking and picnicking, fishing and enjoying the sunset. Hosts are topnotch!! We have truly enjoyed our stay here and will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22-24 October, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Oklahoma City area. Excellent campground, with full hookups & WIFI (in & out). 3.5 miles of paved bike trails. Tinker had all base facilities available with good bargains at the BX. The campground had clean and well stocked bathrooms, three sets of washers & dryers, an ice machine and book exchange. An absolute must stop while here is the location for the Oklahoma City bombing, an emotional experience and well worth the time to go see. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
42 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3