Tinker AFB FamCamp

 
4.2 (81)
85250 1 19 1 35

User reviews

25 reviews with 4 stars

81 reviews

 
(44)
 
(24)
 
(4)
 
(8)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.3  (81)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (81)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (81)
Value 
 
4.4  (81)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (81)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
25 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
30 Mar- 1 Apr 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice & clean Famcamp, no WIFI, small entrance and all backin’s. Little or no parking for larger pull vehicles. Overall good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jan-March 2108
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice little campground. Limited parking for trucks and tow vehicles.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 8-18 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
NEW 24/7 GATE...I've being going to Tinker past 3 years in the summer to visit our daughter who's husband is station here. Just want to mention that the gate hours have change. The gate on SE 59th St is day hours only and if they have the serpentine poles out then you'll need to go through the truck gate which a lot of times there's a lot of trucks going through inspection so you may wait a bit. There is a new gate 24/7 south of the base. They do have a large vehicle entrance there. I believe it's call Piazzo Gate. To get there take I-240 which is south of Tinker. Take exit 11 Douglas Blvd and go north. Turn left on SE 74th St. When you get to SE Midwest Blvd turn right and you'll be going into the gate just stay to the right lane. Once in the gate just follow the road and signs that say BX, Commissary, Medical Facility. The road will whine through a number turns. You'll pass the shoppette and gas station then the FamCamp entrance will be to the right. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 14 0
March 27-30 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had a very nice stay at the Tinker FAMCAMP: the host, Linda, was very helpful and welcoming. We did experience a "weather scare" with a tornado watch/golf ball sized hail alarm one evening: it was very comforting to know that there was a solid "tornado resistant" structure in case we needed it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Oct 7-9, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
VERY clean and well cared for facility. Snug for big rigs (38' 5er and full sized dually), but concrete pads. Staff (Linda) was extremely helpful and courteous. Only negative is no wifi at the cg or at the Exchange (we sat in front of the Popeye's and couldn't get anything to connect). Library is not well marked (it's near the bowling alley), but wifi is great and there's soft furniture as well. I'd certainly give it 5 stars if they had it at the cg.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
24 -28 August 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice place. Park road is a little narrow. But, I had no problems backing in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
November 10, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed for one night. There were still a few available spaces when we arrived. The road in the campground is pretty narrow and backing in our 40' motorhome was a little tight, but we made it without much trouble. Luckily, there's painted lines on the road that you need to be sure you are behind to insure the road is wide enough for exiting RV's. Linda, the camp host, was FANTASTIC! She's overworked and under paid. She covers the campground by herself, 7 days a week and is required to pay for her own site (USAF Regulation). All sites are now 30 and 50amp electric. A pretty nice FamCamp on a small pond. The current rate of $17 is fair. We would return to Tinker AFB FamCamp when in the area again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
8-22 August 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here while we needed to take care of medical visits in the local area. There is no longer a services club card 10% discount given, it was discontinued in January according to camp host. However, we received it in the spring as she didn't know they had stopped it til recently. Additionally, we are a 30 amp and were charged $100/weekly so not sure about the accuracy of the $14 daily/$90/weekly rates for that usage. Very clean park and facilities. There is a 6 month stay limit per calendar year. This is our second visit here this year. The wi-fi availability is spotty and definitely depends on what site you are in. Last visit it was near impossible to pick up, this visit it's been no problem at all. The area has very little shade. The 110 plug did not work on our site and we reported it when we checked out, I would also say that the other electrical plug needed to be looked at as well. Slots are tight but doable and parking is assigned. Grass was not mowed our entire stay. Nice trails for walking and biking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
24 Apr 2013
(Updated: May 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice campground, camp host very helpfully. Lack of WIFI and Cable reduced my Amenities score. Mini mart 1 minute walk from Campground. Will not take reservations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
June 5-12, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Still a real nice FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 3
22-26 Nov, 15-19 Dec 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.A. left this review using the Directory software: Excellent campground, bit difficult backing into space, as vehicles must park on edge of right of way. On both occasions had to ask person parked to right of our site to move vehicle while we pulled out. Good working dryer an washers and very clean showers. The camp host is a bull dog and oversees his responsibility well, closely observers camp site going on. Unable to use water and sewer as temps hung on 10 degrees and wind gust got to 40+ miles hour. Will be using Tinker in May 2011 as our launch site for Alaska.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 15, 2010
(Updated: September 18, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
All sites are level and utilities are good. There are no trees for shade and there isn't much room between sites. POVs have to be parallel parked between rigs next to the road which henders getting into a site if you have a larger RV. All rigs need to come thru the commercial gate on the south side of the base otherwise you may not fit thru the barriers at other gates. There is a huge mall just out the north gate and I-40 is easily accessed there. Ditto on the previous reviewers comments on the camp hosts.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
11 - 17 Oct 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great Fam Camp. Although it is small in size, the hosts make every effort to keep everything in top condition and their efforts are commendable. There is no club house to gather in and all sites are back in (and the first row is very tight). The WIFI is slow and sometimes spotty. Our own air card was much faster so we just used it. Retirees can eat in the dining facility on Fridays and holidays. The club has free food on Friday nights for club card members, (just wings and shrimp with a relish tray when we were there). But there is plenty. The truck gate is where RV's must enter, and during the week it can be a bit of a long line waiting for inspections. (RV's are NOT inspected, but must pass thru the same gate so you have to wait in line like the big rigs). Laundry and showers were nice and clean. Three washers and dryes are kept very busy, but their costs are reasonable. I understand that there are plans to add either some pull thru's or put in elect for the overflow area, but nothing firm.
F
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
April 22, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: Nice little CG but has very little shade. Watching the martins dart around by the lake is fascinating and knowing they eat their weight in insects every day is encouraging. Staff were very helpful. One note -- the 30A sites share power. There's one power panel for every two 30A sites and the power panels are well behind the pads. A bit of advice -- if you don't already have a 30A extension cord, get one; there's a good chance your going to need it. The host had us park in a 50A site because our 30 foot shore power cord would not reach in either of the two 30A sites available when we arrived.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
29 - 30 Sep 08
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a nice campground, the host are great. They will go out of their way to help you. Washers and Dryers are only 50 cents. That is a nice deal compared to some of the other campgrounds. This is our second time staying here, we like, and will return again down the road. Sprint card works great for wifi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 31 to Sep 4, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.F. left this review using the Directory software: We intended to stay only one night but because we wanted to visit OKC we extended one day, then we stayed two more nights because of Gustav. Sharon and Bill are great and the FamCamp was great too. The place was spotless and well maintained. A nicely stocked Shoppette is next door to the campground. All other base facilities are on the other side of the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 May-4 Jun 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Tight roads, but workable. We had to leave for a few days due to a death in the family, and appreciated the helpfulness of the management in leaving our motorhome there. The only big draw-back to this nice Famcamp is the lack of working WIFI, particularly since my Verizon broadband won't work in most of Oklahoma. I drove to the BX food court and back every day to keep up with email -- a pretty lengthy drive. I understand the equipment was purchased to put WIFI in the famcamp many months ago, but the installers have repeatedly failed to get it working. Hopefully this problem will be resolved to make this a great famcamp experience!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
17 June 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice place. It was worth braving the roughest and worst section of I-40 to get there. OKC really needs to put some work into those roads. Anyway, the CG was nice and the host was really friendly and helpful. He came and helped me with weird water shut off on their taps. Hadn't ever seen that one before. The BX and commissary are huge but a bit far away from the CG. There is a shoppette near by but it closes at 1800hrs. We had a nice site facing the lake and the kids really liked the dock to look at fish and turtles. We'd definitely stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2 - 7, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.B. left this review using the Directory software: This is still avery nice c/g in our opinion. We stop here whenever we come thru. Just wish the wifi was avalable. New host now (also named Bill is here).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
April 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Roads are too narrow. And you have back in on the BLIND side. A motor home front end was right next to the road as the sites are short because of a bumper at the back of side. It took a lot of jiggling and pulling within six inches of the Motor home to get my 33ft 5th wheel on the site. I pull with a F-350 dually, crew cab and 8ft bed. It was raining cats and dogs also and if I hit the grass it could be outa sight. Also the host made it clear to keep off the grass because of the rain. Other then this problem it is a great famcamp it was my second or third time there, and hope to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
25 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2