Tinker AFB FamCamp

 
4.2 (81)
85250 1 19 1 35

User reviews

8 reviews with 2 stars

81 reviews

 
(44)
 
(24)
 
(4)
 
(8)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.3  (81)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (81)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (81)
Value 
 
4.4  (81)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (81)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8
Ordering
Mar 30, 2015
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
To cramped spaces are to close together and patron vehicles are parked in roads. To me this place is a hazard and a serious site survey needs to be accomplished by the base fire Marshall. I don't know how it is receiving such high reviews, unless it is the camp host writing them!
R
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 11 2014
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I told the hostess I was leaving early and wanted a space that I could get out without disturbing anyone, she put me in space 6 which was cramped, and if the person in the space next to me had been home, I could not have left early as I had planned. After she had placed me in space 6, I saw it was very cramped and asked for another space, she refused, She gave me the impression, that the campground belonged to her, and not to the service members. There were plenty of spaces for my request.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 3
August 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We spent a few weeks in the park while dealing with the OKC VA. Very few trees and the park was HOT in the summer. WiFi was inadequate to several of the sites…stay close to the bathhouse and you can get a decent wifi signal. The slots are close together and parking is at a premium. Make sure you have a Ground Guide while driving through and parking your RV. We had an issue with our power and they called in the Civil Engineers to take a look. Response was quick within 2 days. However, I was very upset that the maintenance TURNED OFF my power without 1st coming to the door. The AC was running and our car was parked out front. But I had to move to another site since the power was a long term issue. Also, they have a trailer used as the office, but it's locked up except when Linda is checking people in. It would be nice to have this trailer open as a ClubHouse…it does have a TV and only the Camp Host has access. While the maximum stay is 6 months, if you are nice to the Camp Host…it appears this is "negotiable".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
March 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Nice small park with tight (extremely tight) sites and road around the camp. In fact, many 5ers with the big dually trucks makes it hard to drive around the road and park your rig. Biggest drawback with the 'very direct' FamCamp Host--Linda. While I like a FamCamp that follows the rules they have imposed, Linda was a little over the top! We had a visitor who stopped by the RV and pulled up in front (a no parking area according to the rules) and Linda was at the door within 5 minutes telling us he had to move the car. The park needs to improve the WiFi connectivity. Depending on which site you are in, you may find that you have limited wifi. The signal is coming from the Vet Building on the East side of the camp. For the best wifi, ask for one of the sites near the bathhouse. The bathhouse and laundry was kept clean and all of the equipment worked (so happy). Overall, we enjoyed the stay, but it was a little too cold in March. Also, no trees to speak of, so the wind blows…and I'm sure it's HOT in the summer. NOTE: There seems to be different rules for who is allowed to stay. We had one of the Oklahoma STATE representatives staying in the park.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
November 2013
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We have stayed at many many Famcamps across the country and have enjoyed every location. Not so much this one. We will NEVER stay here again. If need be, we will find a location out in town. Linda, the Nazi camp hostess, is never off-duty. She stated that she hasn't had a day off since January 2013 and it shows. Perhaps she needs some help or replaced. My husband is a retired combat veteran and I am a combat veteran. I find the camp hostess' behavior to be rude, judgmental, medaling, and very demeaning. We've never seen anything like it. The facility itself is clean and convenient, albeit cramped and not designed for larger RV's and campers. There is a lovely pond and trails to walk on, but it's amazing how one person can make it such an ugly place.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 2
Sep 10-11, 2012
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Have stayed at multiple military campgrounds with great results but would not ever stay at Tinker again. I'm dumbfounded that it has received so many good reviews. First, let me say that Linda checked us in and was very friendly and helpful in getting us into our site. But sites are ridiculously tight and all back-ins. While getting into our site the hood of our truck was literally underneath the front end of the fifth wheel across the street. Then to top it all off, our sewer connection is UPHILL from us. Spent 20 minutes in 95 degree heat trying to elevate my sewer hose so that I could empty my tanks before I finally gave up. Also, there's no wifi and no cable. There are strict parking rules, too. Can't be on the grass and you can't be over the white line. I'm surprised that there isn't a daily site inspection. They have a serious attitude about dogs with multiple signs posted that all dogs must be on leash, stringent rules about where your dog can do his business and 2 posted signs/articles in laundry room lecturing you on picking up dog poop. I've stayed at many RV parks, military and commercial, and have never seen this degree of paranoia. The funny part is that they don't even provide any poop bags anywhere I could see. The bathrooms have not been upgraded and there's no way my feet would touch the floor of those showers. I don't require fancy digs but I do expect things to at least appear clean and in good repair. It would be cheap to at least re-grout the showers. Next time I'm in the area I will be happy to pay more and stay where there are better amenities.
PB
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
May 2011
(Updated: May 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We are currently at this campground as I write this; Will not stay here again. The host is very stringent and too much like a drill sergeant for our tastes. NO wi-fi, NO cable. 3 washers and 3 dryers, good price for them. You cannot allow your dogs to go potty near your own RV but must walk them outside of the park to go potty so as not offend any neighbors. The spaces are CRAMPED and some spaces require extension cords for electric hook-ups and I saw one who couldn't even hook up his sewer hose. Pretty park but just tooooo UNCOMFORTABLE unless you are a sardine in basic training.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
June 2-4, 2007
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Okay, this is definitely an RV CAMPGROUND!!! All tent campers heed!!! The camp host was friendly enough, and upon first glance, the campground looked pretty good, but then, after I got set up, I started discovering the disturbing little nuances that ruined this experience for me. For one, what is NOT mentioned in any of these reviews (as far back as I cared to read), is that there is a train depot less than a mile away and it provides a night FILLED with clunking and clanging of box cars being hooked up, switched (screeching), or unloaded. I didn't sleep much either night I was there. Secondly, there is a beautiful BX/ Commisary facility there, but watch their hours very closely on the weekends. I got in at around 5 PM on Saturday and everything was closed or closing when I got there. Oh, and then there's getting there...which is not an easy task, either. You have to go clear across the base and watch your speed, because the Air Force Security bubbas most certainly are! Also, don't even think about going to Burger King for a quick meal unless you know their hours (11-4 on Sat./Sun.), otherwise, you're wasting a trip. You'd be better off going out the back gate and going down to exit 1C off I-240. Lastly, there is supposed to be a rule about dog-owners picking up their pup's poo...well, let's just say that following that rule must be optional, as dog poo can be found everywhere, as my 5-year old found out the hard way. Also, folks are supposed to have a fishing license AND a base permit to fish, but most everyone I saw had neither. Oh, and the fishermen? They fish wherever the heck they want to, so if your campsite is in the way...too bad, so sad. I came to this campground because of all the recommendations in this forum, but I guess I need to call ahead, as well, because unless your driving and RV, true campers are a dying, if not forgotten breed. On the plus side, there is a Shoppette right next door, and the bath houses are very clean. But, I don't approve of their policy of having the darn things locked with a combo lock. While I was there, a father who had taken his little girl fishing asked me for the combo because his little girl (about 4 or 5 years old) had to go. I felt down right foolish telling him he had to get permission from the camp host. Off base? Hey, great policy! But on a secure military installation? Waaaaaayyyyy overboard.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
8 results - showing 1 - 8