Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

 
3.8 (140)
132991 0 15 1 37
Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

Location

Installation
Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, OH
GPS Coordinates
39.837136, -84.052898
Location Information
Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, OH
RV Gate Coordinates
39.84165, -84.03513

Directions

Directions
Gate 26A is now closed. ---- From I-70 take exit 41 (Rte 235). Go to first stop lite and turn left onto 235 South. Follow 235 South 2-3 miles. Turn right on Broad Street. In about 1.5 miles, Broad St ends right at Wright-Patterson AFB Main Gate. Once through the gate, turn right at 1st stop light. Follow main road all around the airfield. When a Y is encountered after 3 miles, take right fork. Sign says Bass Lake. The Bass Lake turnoff is very close to the Famcamp.

Map

Google Map (Click on the map to enlarge)
Map of Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

Contact Information

Phone Number
(937) 271-2535 Office hours are 1100-1730
Mailing Address
Outdoor Recreation, 88 SPTG/SVRP, 5215 Thurlow Street, Wright-Patterson AFB, OH 45433-5542
Email Address
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Campground Information

Authorized Users
Active, National Guard, Reservists, Retired, 100% DAV. DoD/NAF Civilians.
Season
Year round.
Reservations
Accepted up to 6 months in advance. A one night, non-refundable deposit is required. Highly recommended.
Internet Access
WiFi is available.
Mail Forwarding
(Your Name), c/o General Delivery, Fairborn, OH 45324
Pet Information
Allowed with usual leash and clean-up rules.
Campground Information
14 day stay limit that can be extended based on availability. They warn campers of very low water pressure. Not all sites have sewer. If paying by cash or check, there is a drop box in the door at the end of the community center building near the campground by the lake. If paying by credit/debit card, you have to go to building 95 (Outdoor Recreation) or pay by phone. Office hours are 0830 to 1500. They are short staffed, so phone messages make take 24 hours to be returned.
Big Rig Friendly?
Yes
Amenities
  • Dump, Sewer
  • Electric
  • Tent Area
  • Laundry
  • Showers
  • Playground
  • Picinic Area
  • Beach
  • Fishing
  • Gas
  • Commissary
  • Exchange
  • Fitness Center
  • Shoppete
  • Snack Bar
  • Class VI
  • Museum
  • Pharmacy
  • Hospital, Clinic
  • Post Office

Site Information

Type of site
Spaces
Hook-ups
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
RV Sites
40
W/20,30,50A/S
$25
N/A
N/A
RV Sites
14
W/20,30,50A
$25
N/A
N/A
Tent
?
None
$6
N/A
N/A

Other Information

Weather Information

Very close to the Air Force museum.

Photos

Attachments

  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • Ohio - Wright Patterson AFB - Base Map w Legend.pdf
    Base Map w legend to all major facilities. Really helps find Outdoor recreation, Bldg 95, #15 on the Area-A map, where RV site payment, etc takes place. Also provides gate locations and their number.
    254 KB
    2551

Map

Swap Start/End

User reviews

140 reviews

 
(40)
 
(52)
 
(31)
 
(15)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.1  (140)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (140)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (140)
Value 
 
3.7  (140)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (140)
To write a review please register or
View all reviews View most helpful
May 16 thru 19, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was my second stay at WP Fam Camp. Both were great. Vicki doing a excellent job. A little tick on facilities, because the site that I was in did not have septic port. But otherwise all was good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The previous reply must have a beef with new management or someone. This place has improved tremendously since Larry and Vicki took over managing it. Slowly improving things. New electric posts at sites, not all done yet. New picinic tables at all sites, no more concrete benches and tables. All sites have new posts with boxes that they put the name of Reservation and check in, check out. WIFI has improved greatly from 2 years ago, yes it could be better, but it's better than most campgrounds we have stayed at, might need an extender to pick up the signal better. The price of $25 is still good, Famcamps nationwide have been raising their rates and this one is still better than some of the others that are $30 to $35. Private RV parks are in the $40-50 range now. I don't remember anyone managing this campground in the past, I think some people became self appointed managers and if I remember correct, created some of the problems. Homesteading doesn't appear to be as bad as it was in the past. The grass and campground was in shambles 4 or 5 years ago. It has come along way since. Most sites are level, some will pool water during heavy rains. Electric and bathrooms are good. Also, no all Famcamps have dog runs or playgrounds. This place is great for the Museum and area and price is right. Reservations recommended. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The hidden Gem of Gem City is tarnished...the overall cost of WPAFB FAMCAMP is now too high IMHO. This used to be a very reasonable campground that charged about $17/night. New policies in place and the nightly rate has skyrocketed to $25/night. The overall cost doesn't sound ridiculous, but the campground doesn't offer much of anything in the way of amenities. The only thing going is free electric and you get to hear the National Anthem played every evening at 1700. There are no playgrounds, there are no dog runs, the water pressure is beyond poor, and you can't even fully enjoy Bass Lake because the floating dock is submerged because the contractor didn't build it right during the last fix. They do have decent bathrooms with showers, and there is a small laundry facility on site, and they do have a very limited WIFI connection (you have to be sitting right outside the shower house to get a signal). We enjoy the company of folks who stayed at and managed this campground in the past. We frequent this campground to visit family in the local area almost yearly, so it pains me to see it heading this route. I'm sure a few of our friends are still camping and working at the campground as well. We even helped maintain the campground by cutting grass and helping with landscaping when we stayed here in 2016. The sense of community and the amount of effort folks put in to keep the campground looking good and being a friendly place to stay was remarkable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
Feb 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The sites are ok, not the most levelest as water can pundle if u have one of those site and days. The week I stayed Dayton broke its coldest temp, new one is -7. That being said the water did freeze up, if I would have had enough water in my tank i would have been fine. I just used the bath house which was very clean. On my site I never did get water so I ran hose over to the next site, which was working, I believe my water handle was inop, no biggy. Getting on base can be tricky, just use main gate off. 444 and Chidlaw Rd,which enters the base, next look for Mitchell Rd and Riverview Rd, you’ll see the campers from there. Reading directions can be confusing so just find these points and use ur google map.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Aug 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is truly a HIDDEN GEM......Once we got to the base, we drove around for an hour looking for family camp. Recommendation.... raise the rates a couple bucks and buy a couple signs to put out on the road to guide people in. The facilities are outstanding...……………………. Once people find you. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
WPAFB Famcamp is very hard to find! Beware, no GPS, follow directions carefully. Not sure this park is worth the price. And, website says length or stay is 2 wks but many talk of staying much longer. Which is it?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 4
July 1, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
$25 FHU $22 electric and water only – both offer concrete slab, picnic table, WiFi Pros: Easy check in process – names are on reserved sites if arriving after hours Laundry available ($1 wash/.50 dry- fastest/hottest dryer on earth) Temperature controlled bathrooms are very clean WiFi service is pretty good at sites Slabs are level Camphosts were welcoming and helpful Some shade trees throughout park (sites 1-12 have the most shade) Cons: No swimming is allowed in the attached lake We had to shift sites while staying due to reservations already made – apparently it’s a pretty normal experience for those staying at this CG – not a big deal for us but leads to people asking what time you will be leaving as they need to move into your spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 22 - July 9, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. The grounds were clean, we had a nice spot and the folks were real nice. As retired military we have had the opportunity to stay in many FamCamps. As Air Force camp grounds go it is certainly one of the best if not the best. A lot of that credit is directly attributed to the Camp Hosts, Vickie, Larry, and Nick who never stop trying to make your stay the best possible experience. We checked in on June 22nd and stayed until July 9th. When I called to make my reservation, I was nicely greeted by Vickie who spent a good amount of time on the phone with me to accommodate our needs and though a full hookup was not available at the time of our arrival she worked with me to move to full hookups eothin3 Days. We arrived and immediately noticed how well the grounds were kept; Vickie and Larry met us upon arrival and showed us where to park (loved the personal touch), the grounds were clean, neat, and mowed constantly. Over the two weeks we enjoyed the stay. Over July 4th, there was a super celebration planned with all the fixin’s. Vickie and Larry worked real hard to see that everybody had a great time! It was clear that they both took great pride in the celebration and all the preparations. All along Vickie and Larry along with Tony and Nick were constantly cleaning and mowing and painting. Vickie was always present; checking on people, meeting needs and always making sure all was as it should be. Her constant visibility and availability to each of us is a welcomed experience. Because of Vickie and Larry, we will be back to Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. We really appreciated their personal touches and attention to ALL the details. Heads up on gate access and closures - do not follow your GPS. Instead route yourself to Gate 12A from 675. Gate 26A is closed. A new gate is being constructed about a mile further on Route 235, not sure when it will open. We entered through gate 12A and followed Spruce Way to Skeel Ave. Skeel follows the flight line so turn toward the right from Spruce Way then take the left at the “Y” in the road. Follow Skeel around the airfield, it will become Loop Rd, after passing the closed gate (Gate 26) take the right at the “Y” intersection. Follow this road until you pass the brown sign on the left. The next left is the FamCamp. Woody & Karen Gray
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 1
July 3 & 4, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Very very hard to find this campground. The gate we were directed to was not open and we drove around for another 30 minutes looking for another gate. Host were very accommodating. This place is at the very end of the base and you could not have put it any farther away from the exchange and commissary. Played golf at one of the two base courses and found it to be expensive ($42) for 18 holes and a cart. This was not a $42 golf course.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
9 - 12 May 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A few changes in access gates, Gate 26A is closed. A new gate is being constructed about a mile further on Route 235, not sure when it will open. We entered through gate 12A and followed Spruce Way to Skeel Ave. Skeel follows the flight line so turn toward the right from Spruce Way then take the left at the “Y” in the road. Follow Skeel around the airfield, it will become Loop Rd, after passing the closed gate (Gate 26) take the right at the “Y” intersection. Follow this road until you pass the brown sign on the left. The next left is the FamCamp. If you are in the sites without sewer hook-up you have to drive all the way through the park, past the dump station and back to the entrance road to be able to back into one of the sites. We have a 45 foot coach so I dropped our Jeep and turned around in a wide area past my assigned site. We missed the information about the non-sewer site we were assigned to and it was too late to change when we arrived, all of the full hook-ups were reserved. The cost for the sites without sewer is $22 vs $25 for full hook-up sites. Nice Park with a great camp Host. We did not have to check in at the office, we had pre-paid and had our site assigned. The route through the Base is not well marked. The GPS has led me to closed gates more than once, not totally unexpected. Great area with the best Air Museum I have visited so far. John and Barbara, 45’ Entegra, Aspire with a Jeep Wrangler 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 5
May 12-19, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Enjoyed our time here. Camp host welcomed us and provided a map and information on places to go while here. It was nice taking a nice warm shower even though we have one in our RV. The sites are clean but close to each other. Overheard possible new sites added for more larger big rigs which would be a plus. Famcamp sits way in the back next to the flight area but I love solitude. Commissary had everything I needed and a big plus was the Starbucks on site. We will defiantly come back here when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 4
Dec 17, 2017 - Jan 6, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed in site 21 while we were there. Right after we got there it rained and most of that site flooded with 2 to 3 inches water then it froze and all my utilities froze to the ground and had to go out and buy a bunch of salt to get my hoses and power cable loose. Their is no fenced dog run area but had stands for dog poop bags. When I asked the campground host what the maximum stay was I was told 6 month but taking to a former campground that was there I was told that the maximum stay is 364 days. The spigots are not winterized so if you go there during winter make sure you have heat tape to put around the spigot. The only way you can get propane is to have the only company install a tank for you as they will not fill directly to your tanks on your motor home the other option is to take your motor home off base then come back and hook everything back up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
September 2017
(Updated: October 01, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Stayed here years ago. A great improvement from years ago. This place has improved. But does not rate a 5.0 as some have given on here. It is your average, in some ways below average, military camp ground. Host hubby and wife. Kinda over board. Lots of home steaders still living full time as it was years ago. With increase of transient RVs about time the home steaders are told to move on after a 30 day stay? Some contractors in that homesteader mix. Few transient people had to rotate from full hook up to partial. There were a few dry camping as well. Should be indicator that time for the homesteaders to move on.
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful to you? 17 2
May 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Had two separate stays: one just before the Dayton Hamvention and the other just after. Both were excellent. Really enjoyed the camp ground and the hosts were excellent. Definitely will stay there again next time! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 13
Sept 2-3, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had stayed here a few years ago and weren't too impressed back then. What a difference a few years makes! The hosts, Larry and Vickie have done a great job cleaning and maintaining this FAMCAMP. Larry came over to greet us as we arrived for our 2 night stay, and invited us to a free Labor Day hot dog gathering the next day. The FAMCAMP now also has canoe and kayaks to rent and bikes. The restrooms were kept clean and the three washers and dryers were only $1 wash and 50¢ to dry. The sites are not very large but they are maintained nicely Trying to figure out what gates are open can be tricky especially on a holiday weekend. Check in advance and it will save you some grief and U-turns.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 13
June 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Reservations recommended. Many active duty and contractors living here full time. Length of stay is 365 days. Park has had a steady stream of over-nighters. To extend you most likely will have to move around. There is a rotation going on for extended stay, in and out of partial hook-up sites to full hook-up sites and back again. Park Appearance: mowed. Trash picked up routinely. Asphalt pads with concrete patios are older. Utility boxes old. Women’s Shower/Toilets: Updated and clean. Laundry: 1.00/.50 wash/dry: Large top load commercial Speed Queen washers and dryers in good repair. Commissary: Large. Meat and produce selection large. Some Organic selections. Camp WIFI - One access point located on top of bath house. Slow, drop off rate HIGH, when you do gain access, it is extremely slow. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 1
June 23 - August 12, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
To whom it may concern, In 2016 my husband and I stayed at Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. The grounds were clean, we had a nice spot and the folks were real nice. As we are full-time RVers and retired military we have had the opportunity to stay in many FamCamps. As Air Force camp grounds go it was as good as any other so we came back for our 2017 journeys. We checked in on June 23rd and stayed until August 12th. This year was noticeably difference not only from the prior year visit but FamCamps overall. When I called to make my reservation, I was nicely greeted by Vickie who spent a good amount of time on the phone with me to accommodate our needs and though a full hookup was not available at the time she assured me the “dry” camping area would meet our needs for a few days. We arrived and immediately noticed how much different it looked; Vickie and Larry met us upon arrival and showed us where to park (loved the personal touch), the grounds were cleaner, neater, and mowed, we saw a bounce house for the little kids and there was an overall sense of “we are happy to be here”. Over the two weeks we enjoyed the stay. On July 4th, there was a super celebration planned with all the fixin’s. Vickie and Larry worked real hard to see that everybody had a great time! It was clear that they both took great pride in the celebration and all the preparations. After that our plans changed dramatically and we needed to stay longer. While there was some moving around involved for us to do that it was really not a bad thing because it allowed us to meet more people in the camp grounds. All along Vickie and Larry along with Nick and Brooke were constantly cleaning and mowing and painting. Vickie was always present; checking on people, meeting needs and always making sure all was as it should be. Her constant visibility and availability to each of us was I assure you, not the norm as camp grounds go. Most camp host are content to stay in the cool of the office. Because of Vickie and Larry, we will be back to Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. We really appreciated their personal touches and attention to ALL the details. Additionally, we have a monthly newsletter and have advised many that this FamCamp was a cut above! Sincerely, Mark and Holly Shaw On the Go Mission Ministries This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Onthegomission.org 903-530-3955/4055 
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 14
May 25 thru May30 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the better Famcamps we have stayed at. When we left eastern Ohio it was raining and when we arrived it had just became spotty rain.the directions to the base are easy if going thru gate 26A (m-f 0800-1800) or 12A which is 24/7. Larry and Brooke came by as soon as we pulled into our spot,to ensure everything was okay and if we needed anything and finally to let us know about the activities going on for the memorial day holidays. The trip to the Air Force Muesum was quick,easyand our stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. Vickie, Larry and Brooke are interested in the appearance of the park and it's facilities and it shows.As we where leaving Brooke was out weeding and watering the flowers at the entrance to the park, I'd recommend this Famcamp to everyone. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 15
June 1 - June 8, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We changed our plans after leaving Arkansas and chanced a call to the Family Camp at Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake to see if there was room for one more. Left a message and were promptly given a call back by the camp host, "Vickie", who advised us that she had a site with partial hook-ups available, although they provide both, partial and full, with an added dump location nearby. We jumped at the chance because of the proximity to the USAF Museum and other attractions we wished to visit. We were able to follow the posted directions to the base as written without difficulty and were graciously met as we arrived by the camp host to show us the best way to back into our spot and turn around. Vickie, Larry and Brooke provide very clean facilities and are making improvements daily, recently adding canoe and kayak rentals for the lake. The camp hosts have been very instrumental in getting the camp fixed up into the gem it is today. Very clean facilities, lots of space and great to see so many visitors from all over the states using it. Reservations are accepted and recommended. Enjoy your stay, we have! Ed, Terri and Kona! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 11
May 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wow, we really enjoyed our visit! It is a smaller but very nice campground with much to do on site and in the area. The Camp Hosts, Larry & Vickie, are second to none and go above and beyond to make sure everything is prefect. There have been improvements since our last visit; i.e. WiFi upgrade and landscape cleanup and beatification. We plan to come back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 13
View all user reviews