Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

New Hot
 
3.7 (122)
80749   0   9   1   20

User reviews

Filters 33 reviews with 5 stars

122 reviews

 
(33)
 
(47)
 
(26)
 
(14)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
4.2  (122)
 
3.7  (122)
 
3.4  (122)
 
3.6  (122)
 
3.7  (122)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
33 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2017

Wow, we really enjoyed our visit! It is a smaller but very nice campground with much to do on site and in the area. The Camp Hosts, Larry & Vickie, are second to none and go above and beyond to make sure everything is prefect. There have been improvements since our last visit; i.e. WiFi upgrade and landscape cleanup and beatification. We plan to come back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 5, 2017

While I understand that to each is their own, I don't believe we've stayed at the same place as the ones posting negative reviews because this camp, as well as the service, was (is!) FANTASTIC. Firstly, we arrived at midnight and settled in around one. In between that one hour span the hosts had helped us with a number of things and with the best attitude possible too!! They're honestly so darling. Anyways, Wright Patterson is colossal and not exactly well lit, so of course we found ourselves lost in the dark. But like the amazing hosts they are, they came to our rescue by finding us on that monster of a base and led us to Fam camp. But their kindness didn't stop there either. They even helped us back our trailer in despite the cold, windy weather and overtime they had been working. Throughout the ordeal they were patient and extremely polite, even afterwards. They even struck up conversation and gave pointers on a few things. Secondly, the camp itself was in great shape! Very clean with fresh cut grass. The grass was soft and always kept up with, as well as the rest of the campus. The bathrooms were cleaned everyday of every morning and evening. It was never a problem like some sites. So all in all, everything was great. Hats off to the lovely couple that runs it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2017

WOW!! Haven't stayed here in over 2 years, how nice to see the improvement. Bathhouse renovated, painted, and very clean. Grass is mowed and overall appearance looks great. New camp host Vicki and Larry were very pleasant to talk to and deal with. The hosts have their own phone to take you calls and reservations as listed below, call them directly, we made our reservation and were given site number over phone, on arrival had a reservation tag on the site with our name and dates of stay. Couple of other longer term campers help with the mowing and were great to visit with and made us feel at home. Some homesteading, but doesn't appear to be as bad as it was in the past and most sites are clean and tidy. Very pleased to see MWR putting a small amount of money back into the FAMCAMP. Keep up the good work. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2017

I see a trend here, lots of positive comments except for 2 people. If you don't like it there go stay at KOA I'm sure they would love to take your money. If your not happy with the host tell him or her don't make rude comments on here like some little kid. Grow up and get a life. Some people you just can't please and I think there's 2 on here. KOA is 15 miles west of their location go stay with them and see how you like their service. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2017

Don't call outdoor Rec they don't answer their phones and takes them days to return your calls. Call the camp host direct at 937-271-2535.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 1-30, 2017

One of the nicest Fam-Camps that we have stayed out. Camp hostess/host are on top of their game always willing to help. Lots of improvements over last year when we were there. Restroom renovated and nice and clean. Grounds were cut every week while we were there. Guy in site 12 is always assisting the host with all they do. We can't say enough good things about this camp ground. We will be back in September for the marathon. Keep up the great work!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

11-14 April 2017

Reservations were a snap, camp hostess Vickie took our info over the phone and gave us our site number. The grounds are kept up really well and folks were very friendly. We only stayed a few days to checkout the USAF museum on our way up home to MI. The base has everything you need and the directions to the campground are spot on.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 24-April 9, 2017

Stayed for 10 days this time for the fourth year, during different seasons. There always seems to be plenty of sites available, even the overrun. New campground hosts in Spot 29- Vickie and Larry, are easy to contact on their cellphone, 937-257-9889 for quick reservations. It appears that ODR has released FAMCAMP permissions for them to run it smoothly. Facilities are easy living, clean. Neighbors are nice and helpful. The easiest Gate is 26A closest to the FAMCAMP, IF Mon-Fri- 0700-18:00-- if you can plan it. Through the Front Gate 12 (by the AFRL facility) to Chidlaw Road will require a lot of extra time ensuring skirting the housing areas of the Base, and around the flightline road, but not impossible. No Diesel fuel, or propane refills available on Base that we found. AF Museum is a must with the newest Hangar 4 display.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 2016

Very nice campground with some pull-thrus available. Nice restroom/shower and laundry facilities with wifi at the restrooms. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Level sites. Off season camping spaces were available, but there are some homesteaders who told me they have been allowed to stay 364 days a year, then have to move for only 24 hours, but move right back. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 16, 2016

As others are saying, this FAMCAMP has immensely improved over the past few years. Nick (volunteer) spearheaded this movement and now, MWR has added a few hosts (Victoria and Larry). Other volunteers are coming out of the woodwork (Vicky and others just passing through). The sites have always been good, but the people are making it even better. Twice in our 3 week stay the hosts offered a picnic/potluck. Kids played in bounce houses and played games. Adults share a meal a wonderful time of fellowship. While the facility to could use better wifi and a playground for the little ones, little else could be done to improve. The few long-term campers volunteer with mowing and are constantly helping others by spotting a back-in or giving directions around the area. They make it feel like a little community. Honestly, it’s a gem and a great value. We have used this as a stay-cation spot 3 years in a row and this has been the best year yet. My one request is to get a playground for the little kids as it is a 5 mile drive to the nearest base playground and FAMCAMP insinuates all families. There were plenty of kids during our stay that would have used such facilities had they been available. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May and August 2016

Like other visitors, I'm taking the time to post a review because of the outstanding work done by Victoria, the WPAFB Famcamp host. As others have pointed out, Victoria and unpaid volunteers who are (I think) homesteaders really do work very, very hard and make this place feel pleasant, safe and friendly. In fact, one day I suggested to Victoria that she take a break! They are currently in the process of moving all of the long-term folks, like TDY/AD military, into the non-pull-thru spaces. The result of all their effort is that the grass is mown, the campground is orderly, public spaces are clean, and checking in and out is done with oversight. Victoria has a golf cart and is consistently seen monitoring the coming and goings. She'll help spot you as you back in, review the rules in a very friendly way, and makes sure you get a receipt for your payment. They use cones on each site for the reservation system, so if you pull in after hours just look for your name on the clipboard attached to the cone. I guess my only suggestion for the campground is that the laundry/shower facilities need to be expanded. Even aside from the AF Museum, which is awe-inspiring, Dayton is an ideal place to pause enroute from west to east and back, so expanding the Famcamp here would be a blessing to service members and their families AND the base. FSS CCs who are looking to increase revenue for the base truly need to realize how many military retirees are out on the road with their RVs and whose site fees could make an enormous difference to the FSS budget for all sorts of programs on base--think tens of thousands of dollars! There appears to be a great deal of unused land behind the campground, too, so even more revenue could be generated with a reasonable extension of the sewer/electric infrastructure. The last suggestion I'd like to make (presuming the FSS CC reads this) is to repair the dock on the lake, which is right next to the campground. It's a beautiful(!) lake, but it's unsafe to use the dock because its falling apart. Specifically, just 1 one entry point onto the long dock out of 3 is stable and above water. I enjoyed walking over to the lake each morning with my dog, who is an avid swimmer and ball-chaser. It was so fun! Even though it's terribly confusing to find things at WPAFB (except the golf course, which very obviously IS a priority for base leaders), it's still a worthy stopover spot for RVers. Think smart, guys; expand the Famcamp and pay Victoria what she's worth. OH, AND....create a link to the FSS leadership so that they can get campers' feedback. You seem to be hiding who is accountable for the Famcamp; that's counterproductive.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 6, 2016

The Camp Host is the deciding factor to stay at Wright Patterson FAMCAMP. She has done an outstanding job getting things fixed up and harnessing motivation of many volunteers. Laundry area and bathrooms were very well kept. The sites themselves are also in very good condition and have brand new picnic tables. We used laundry facilities regularly and found the machines and prices to be good. Local campers help out with mowing, so the grounds are in very good condition because the folks who stay there frequently take great pride in maintaining the facilities. The regulars are also very friendly and helpful. One downside on facilities and amenities is lack of water pressure and power of the WIFI signal in the park. Water pressure is coming into the coach at ~20psi. Not the greatest, but I do have water. WIFI is available, but most folks seem to go to the table near the restrooms/laundry room or in the laundry room to gain access to the device. MWR and the chain of command don't seem to realize what a gem they have available within reach of the Gem City (Dayton) and the National Museum of the US Air Force. Far too many big ticket events like the AF Marathon and Dayton/Vectren Airshow to allow anything but a top-notch operation at this FAMCAMP. Hopeful wing leadership will see the monetary impact some pride has brought to the park and make a conscious decision to provide funding and/or make further improvements to the camp. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26 May 2016

We almost did not come here because of some of the earlier negative reviews.  We're glad we came, this is now a great Famcamp.  We reserved and paid over the phone a couple of months in advance, so no additional check-in needed.  The camp host met us at our site as we pulled in and helped us position. She saw our dogs and pointed out the dog bag/waste station locations and showed Cheryl good walking areas. Our pull-through site (16) was level and long enough for our 40' MH and towed car without unhooking.  Electric and sewer fine, water pressure a little low, but acceptable.  The campground and surrounding recreational areas are well-maintained.  We'll definitely return to this Famcamp when visiting the Museum of the Air Force.  There were only two negatives.  1. A few days before our stay, Rec Services called and explained they were re-working site assignments to fit more folks in over Memorial Day weekend.  Asked if we'd be willing to change to a back-in site.  I explained we were there for a one-night stay and had specifically reserved a pull-through so we would not have to unhook our car.  Young man said OK and confirmed we'd be in a pull-through as reserved/paid.  I count this as a negative versus a positive because our stay was before the holiday rush and there were a half-dozen empty pull-through sites the night of our stay.
2. Getting through the base to the campground was a nightmare.  We had to come in the main gate.  The guard was very helpful, providing a map and directions to get to the Famcamp. But, just as we were getting to the right turn to go around the flight line, the SPs put a barricade across the road and took off with no indication of what was going on. We did eventually make it to the Famcamp via a tortuous route with low-hanging trees, etc.  The unannounced road closure screwed up the camp host's drive as well - she thought it was for some kind of festival/event.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2013

We stayed here a week. We did make reservations in advance. When we got to the campground we found a green cone with our name on it. Found out that the office at Bass Lake is closed and reservations are handled in building 95. While there, the attendant told my husband that some campers moved cones reserved for others and took their sites. Fortunately, that did not happen to us. The other problem we had was with DirecTV. Their coordinates are wrong. It is not 40 degrees, but more like 45 to 48. It is obvious that there have been cut backs on the base. We saw very few planes. We found the campground to be neat and clean.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 Aug - 4 Aug 2013

We called after hours and left a message; called first thing the next morning and made reservations for a pull-thru 50 amp with sewage. They called back later when they checked their phone messages. Going into Gate 26A worked great; the most direct way to the campground. We went directly to the site and set up; good since no one was at the office. Our GPS took us thru gates to get to the Museum of the AF and to gates that were permanently closed on other trips. The power was good (hot and running two ACs). Campground is clean and the bathhouse is well maintained. We stopped by the office several times and never found anyone there. A good place to stay and would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 15-22, 2013

We showed up with no reservation on a Wednesday afternoon. Our surprise was that the office at Bass lake was closed for the winter on last Oct 21. After looking at the map posted on the door, we made our way to building 95, Outdoor Rec, on the main part of the base. The cargo trailer with the "Rent Me!" sign made it easy to locate. The cost was $125 whether it was for 5/6/7 nights. We had only passed through once before years before so we stayed for the week. Since this was the weekend of the ham radio convention that 25,000 people attend in Dayton, we expected only dry camping at the most. We were given a pull through. There were many back-ins available with sewer and more than a dozen w/e overflow available. By looking for antennas we found three other ham couples there to attend the convention. The famcamp was well maintained, and the grass mowed while we were there. We found no wifi at the camp so we located the library in the Kitty Hawk area, the smallest we have found on any installation but it had both computers and wifi, in the area of the BX, Commissary & Gas station. It was a surprise to us to learn that the gate by this area also had a 24hr gate which makes eating at restaurants on Fairborn's Main Street easily accessible. The information book maintained in the famcamp laundry room provides several choices. We enjoyed both the convention and the Air Force Museum. If you are crossing the country on I-70, this is a convenient stopover. We will make it a point to stop here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 20, 2012

We were not sure of our arrival time so my wife called the lady in the office who informed us that there would be room and about the gate locations and closing time. We managed to enter through Gate 26A and locate the fam camp quite easily. There is a binder in the laundry room with plenty of information. We did not do laundry because 2 of the three washers were not working. After dinner out in town we found our way back from the 24/7 gate. The bathrooms were clean. In the morning the lady from ODR came through the park on her way to the office. She explained how to get to the kitty hawk area where the gas, BX, Commissary & theater are located. The base is in the process of permanently closing highway 444 and incorporating the kitty hawk area into the base design. I think the signs say it will be complete in December. This was our first visit here and we will be coming back in the spring.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 2012

Overall excellent. I downgraded the facilities because 2 of 3 washers are inop and experience tells me it will be a while before they are fixed. As stated earlier, the manager was great. I got there an hour before the office opened and he was already there. Great attitude and personality. Many probably think the price is too high but fees are going up at military parks just like the commercial parks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 22-24, 2012

Our first time at this famcamp and it has been wonderful. I called from the road to inquire about available sites and talked to Eric. He couldn't have been more helpful. When I told him we may not be able to make it that far that night he suggested we opt for overflow which has water/electric - all we really needed. That way he wouldn't have to charge our credit card for one night and we wouldn't lose that money if we couldn't make it in. Refreshing to find someone who wasn't just looking to make some money. We arrived one and half hours AFTER the office closed but Eric was still there and welcomed us like we were long lost friends. Couldn't ask for a better office manager. The sites are very nice, each with a small patio. Restrooms are very clean with soap dispensers in each shower and terrific water pressure. I urge anyone who was put off by the previous manager to come back and experience the difference.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2012

WOW!! After reading the last reviews, I am shocked to find out that the camp host is so uncooperative and rude. I must not have had the regular host. I was not aware that the CG had WIFI either, but would have sure been nice to know. Perhaps it is time for MWR to find a New Host!!! We go the Commissary and Exchange 1 or 2 times a month and have not had any trouble that is why I rated 5's all the way. We have not had a bad experience at all. I think it still a good value.

Was this review helpful to you? 
33 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2