Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

New Hot
 
3.7 (122)
80749   0   9   1   20

User reviews

Filters 26 reviews with 3 stars

122 reviews

 
(33)
 
(47)
 
(26)
 
(14)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
4.2  (122)
 
3.7  (122)
 
3.4  (122)
 
3.6  (122)
 
3.7  (122)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
26 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2016

You can read on this on this web site: "Senate lawmakers want to radically overhaul how military housing stipends are awarded and end the practice of troops pocketing extra cash from the payouts. Many active duty militatry personnel are collecting the various housing allowances and are living in US Military RV Parks. For financial reasons, I don't blame them. I met an active duty person who bragged that she was pocketing over $1,000 a month, since the Military RV Park was affordable and included all utilities. However, as an RV'er, I don't agree with anyone living in a "recreational" facility. This may all end soon, as Senate lawmakers want to radically overhaul how military housing stipends are awarded and end the practice of troops pocketing extra cash from the payouts. Instead of the current Basic Allowance for Housing system, which assigns flat-rate stipends for zip codes across the country based on troops’ rank and family status, the new proposal would move closer to the military’s Overseas Housing Allowance. That system sets maximum payable stipends but awards troops only for their actual expenses, making recipients provide proof of what they pay in rent and utilities costs. If it becomes law, the new housing allowance payouts would not go into effect until January 2018, giving military officials at least a year to implement and explain the new system." The homesteaders at Wright Patterson have been in the same spaces years and years. This is in violation of the AFI. Which clearly states campgrounds are not to be used as long term housing. They are for recreational use only. Further the AFI states those employed on and off base, stationed on that base, etc will not use the Famp Camp as long term housing. I suggest others write a letter to the Commander of Wright Patterson AFB expressing your displeasure with the homesteaders in the Wright Patterson Fam Camp. We are going to send a letter to the base commanders. Others need to do the same!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

JUNE 2016

Visited this FC a few times over the years. Yes, has improved. This improvement can be directly linked to volunteers doing the improvements. MWR on this base has long over looked this camp ground. Thankfully, one certain person got involved and his involvement caused all of the improvements. If this one person, a long term camper, had not got involved the place would be in bad shape as it was for years. MWR has done little for this campground. You can thank the volunteers for the improvements. Agree with roundTire's comment about the mowers. They need to exhaust the mower away from RVs. The debris from their mowers are blasting small rocks towards the RVs. Someone, be it the operator or MWR, will pay for damages to RVs. Dog owners are dog owners. They think their dogs rule. And they, the owner, is exempt from the rules. We even saw the camp ground host taking her two dogs into the laundry room. All need to follow the rules. We also heard comments about MWR at this base not reading ICE comments. We were told the negative comments are deleted. Not a way to run a business! Take the good with the bad. Act on the negative comments as well as the positive ones. MWR can, and should, read and act on the negative comments. If this is true, what a shame. If you feel your comments were not acted on, or trashed by MWR, then submit them directly to the Commander Wright Patterson AFB. And state in your comment why you are submitting a comment directly to the Commander. Instead of on ICE.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 29, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Summer 2015

Well glad to hear improved.  Finally. Good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2016

Stayed at this camp before.  Some things have improved.  Such as grass is now cut (+), bath house is now cleaned often (+), and other minor things done to improve(+).  WIFI is now in the camp ground(+).  Last visit it was in the lodge out of range from the camp ground (-). Remains a pain to contact the office(-), to pay(-) and to find the park on base(-) (no direction signs to camp).  We finally got someone on the phone at the office.  Spoke with a T****S (-) on the phone.  Poor customer service and phone courtesy by this guy on the phone to us(-)! MWR-ODR is trying to hire a full time camp host.  This may end some of the poor customer service by office staff and lack of communication with the office. Filling the host gap is now being done by a few of the homesteaders.  They have done lots to improve the camp ground. One male homesteader has done a super great job in cleaning the place up (+)  Hats off to him.  He deserves a huge pat on the back and a "thank you." We have been to many military camp grounds.  Some hosts do a wonderful job.  Others make your stay miserable.  The good ones know their limits.  Keep out of your face and business. A common trait among the bad hosts we have seen is they get a attitude, we see often, that they own the place. Get combative and bossy.  Do not have the support, or liking, of the customers.  Hosts need to be reminded they serve the customer.  The productive relationship between the customers and the host can be quickly destroyed in a few bad incidents and bad attitude by the host.  Bad word travels faster than good word.  A rude bossy host is counter productive and gets nothing but bad reviews, complaints to higher ups and eventually told to move on.  Then back to square one.  Have this host help the place.  Not ruin it. From what we were told there has never been a host at this camp ground.  Do it the right way from day one.  Do not let who ever the host will be run unsupervised by higher ups. Over all this camp ground is an improvement from years ago.  This is due mostly due to the work done by the homesteaders there.  Especially that one guy.  Good job guy.  Thank you. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept 2014 through Jan 2015

Wife and I PCS'd from JBER, AK in Sept '14 (wife is active, I'm retired). The housing situation was bleak. We stayed at the FAM camp until just after Christmas. We were thankful to have a safe and convenient place to stay. Initially we lived in our class C, but by mid Oct we had purchased a very large 5th wheel, to live in permanently. Yes, I said permanently, like 9 others were HAVING to do. A few of the 9 have lived their for 2-4 years, to date. There was a doctor who lived there for 4 years, during his entire tour. We were of the mind to do the same, but were finally moved into the on base by surprise. Outdoor Rec has issues with maintaining this facility, especially during the winter months, Oct thru April. The full-time residents, by being there long-term, help keep the place running. Without them and their monthly ($500/month) fees, ODR would be forced to close down the CG. So, yes, there are some who are there long-term. They are required to move out at least once a year, and they do this as required. They, like any camper, have the right to select the site they want. This may not seam fair to the rest of the world, but if you were in their shoes and had that opportunity, you would do the same. As for the CG host...Having a CG host helps to keep visitors directed, especially those who feel the need to "let their hair down". The CG host, as well as all campers/visitors have the right to a good camping experience. The CG host helps to insure that everyone is treated fairly and that the facilities, like the new, expensive, most beneficial washer and dryers, are taken care of and not abused. Yes, there have been some abuse, believe it or not, of our facilities and we must work hard to police the area. The current CG host is new to this volunteer position. He works long days, weeks, months, and at the same time, helps to facilitate the needs of campers concerns, especially during winter months when there are very few people available to provide support. He may not be your ideal CG host, but he is a welcomed volunteer. Give him time, he's adjusting to these new and strange duties. Being a retired military person, like many of us, he expresses an authoritative style of leadership "habits". Oh well. This CG experiences many travelers, especially those still in uniform who need and deserve to have a place to rest their heads, have their families with them and do their jobs while both working and playing here at WPAFB. The missions here are very complex, and this FAM camp fulfills many needs of the military men and women assigned here. Please be patient and respectful, and try and enjoy your time and stay here at WPAFB. We need to keep ALL our CG's, so help us keep this one too! Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 2015

Stopped in for a few days recently. Some improvements made. New washers and dryers. Office is no longer at Bass Lake (close to FC). Call in for reservation and pay on phone. Or, go to building 95 and pay in person. Homesteaders still there. Still have the prime spots. Should be a policy that they have to move out for 30 days and come back. Or change spaces. They get the best spaces and never move. Do what other camp grounds do. Stay for 90 days and move on for 90 or something of that sort. We were told there is a wanna be camp ground host now. He is one of the homesteaders. Seems he wants to run the place. Even though he has NO authority to do so. We did not see or hear from him. Had he started some nonsense with us I would have told him to get lost. Many camp grounds have hosts. But the host is well vetted and is a outsider. Not someone who is a long term homesteader. These types get the attitude that they run you and the place. They need to be reminded they have NO authority to tell anyone anything. Helping out some is fine. Being bossy and having a attitude of "I own the place cause I live here full time" is no good. Few people told us they are tired of this wanna be camp ground host already. We will submit a comment to MWR head about this guy. Best to stop this nonsense before he starts to get out of control. From a few years ago, the place seems to have improved.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 27 2014

Stopped for one night going west. 3rd or 4th time staying here. Did not use bathhouse. There were about half flu sites available, back row still looks like homesteaders. Called office for reservation, did get through on third try over an hour of trying. She is still completely clueless of sites available. Grass was high as usual but was mowed recently for a dog and pony show marathon or bike race, so I'm told. They also made all the campers move from flu sites for that weekend. Cleaned up for one weekend then ignored again. This is a nice park if they would give it just a little attention and get better office help.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2 -June 13 2014

Have stayed here several times over the years. It is hard to get to for the first time, but once you learn about the gate off of hwy. 235 it is real convenient. The place has gone down over the years due to no one actually cares. The office at the campground has been closed for a couple of years and you have to call for reservations and hope someone answers the phone. Waited three days for a returned call. I arrived unannounced and had to find the MWR office to see if there was a site for me. People in the MWR office was very helpful, except for you know who with an attitude. I will be back probably next year so my wife can visit her family which lives there. As far as the price, I think it is a little high for a military campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2-16, 2014

This was our third visit to this RV park as we have family in the area. It is a decent park, with paved sites, that is adequately maintained. Mowing is adequate but not top notch. Water pressure is quite low (never higher than 40 psi). Electric and sewer hookups are good. There is no recycling available on site. We will stay here again to visit family.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

12th to 15th June 2014

We stayed here for the convenience to the Air Force Museum and the Wright Brothers National Historic sites. We had to make several calls before getting a return call to book and pay for the site. The sites were a good length and the grass had been recently cut. The restrooms were not the cleanest. Signage to the camp from the main gate was poor, and the base itself isn't the easiest to find your way around (we thought we'd found the commissary then ended up exiting the base so had to get back on). Overall not the best rec camp experience we've had and it could easily have been made so much better. To cap it all, we weren't even able to get our frequent camper booklet stamped.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 21-24, 2014

Water pressure low. Called for reservation, took information said she would call me back. After 4 hours of no call back called her, she seemed to be very unorganized, didn't have my original call information, had to do it all over again. Management and help is lacking and needs lots of improvement. Campground does appear to be going downhill from previous stays. Freeze divertor leaking, a few sites have no water, faucets must be broke and need attention. Still a good place to stop when passing thru. Would be nice if campground office was open, but appears to be closed permanently. A couple homesteaders, still on site since our last stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct. 29 - Nov. 4, 2013

We were at Wright Patterson from October 29 - Nov. 4, 2013. The campground was in fairly good condition. The largest problem we had with this location was how difficult it was to find your way around. There were no base maps to speak of and what they gave us was so tiny you needed a powerful magnifying glass to see and even then it was very blurry. The folks we met were very friendly and helpful when it came to figuring out the water hook-up. We hadn't experienced the freeze plug before and once we understood how to operate it it made a lot of sense. Getting around the base, was as said before, very difficult. The museum was awesome and being able to drive to the "Presidential Hanger" was very convenient. We enjoyed our time there but were disappointed in the condition of the base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October 7, 2013

We stopped here overnight on our way home from the South. We tried calling from the road and got no answer. We left a message but didn't get a return call. We arrived and since no one was in the office, we set up for the night and would call and pay for the site the next day. We have done this in the past. After we got home this afternoon, my wife called and paid them with a credit card. She was told that the office is now closed and you have to go to Outdoor Rec (Building 95) to check in. The previous Rater talked about the possibility of staying for free. I wouldn't try that. This Spring, we stayed and called later to pay and my wife asked the person in the office what happens when someone drives off without paying. They said that they make a run through the campground at night taking down vehicle license numbers and if you left without paying you would get a letter in the mail.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

August 26-27, 2013

Tried to make reservations, after numerous calls just a recording. Stopped anyway, got a site with the help of the unofficial camp host. This facility has no management, office closed. Could have stayed for free but put check in drop box. Really enjoyed the museum.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sep 2012

The sites are full hook-up and mostly level. With the recent change to the main base entry it could be confusing to locate the campground for first time visitors. The campground meets all the needs is well maintained and clean but there are not really any "extras". About 10 miles to the Air Force museum which is a MUST for anyone, set aside a full day, probably two for this awesome FREE chronical of history. Also check out Huffman Prairie Flying Field on the way. The BX/Commissary and service station are quite far from the campground. The staff is truly great - friendly and helpful but this much more of a stop than a destination.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 2012

JE, having stayed at the WP FC many times over the years, I am hard pressed to see any "improvements" the now retired manager did for the facility. Hopefully she took all her useless orange cones with her! We were there the day the "new" fam camp opened at WP. And from that day on it has been nothing but a down hill slide. Mostly caused by her and her horrible attitude towards customers. Like the USAF Seaward FC manager, the woman at WP FC has ran many customers off with sheer nonsense. (note: Seward USAF FC is closing at the end of August.. another place sitting on a gold mine but due to poor management: ruined). Glad you enjoyed her and the famcamp. Sorry to say, the place could have, and should have, been ran much better under her. No loss finding out she is gone. Hopefully, whoever runs the WP FC can make improvements. Starting with CUSTOMER SERVICE ATTITUDE. Under her, customer service and attitude was horrible and it showed. This seems to be the problem with many of the military famcamps... the managers start thinking they are the base commander and develop a attitude when suggestions are made to improve the FC.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2012

There is no host at the WP Fam Camp. The woman who works there is a full time employee. Been there for years and years. They could use a host. But, WP MWR will not let anyone be the host.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2012

First week May 2012, after last visit 2 years ago: While there have been some improvements, we do not rate this campground even a 3.0. The woman who works in the office still needs to improve her customer skills. Looking around the camp ground we found many of the same fixtures are still broken from over two years ago! (water & electrical sockets). The laundry room has been cleaned up some. TV in there is only good for watching MWR ads. Why have a flat screen TV in the laundry room you cannot watch? Bathrooms/shower rooms were dirty (as they were two years ago). They did improve the office area. Now made into a game/card room for campers; but, should be open 24/7 with full wifi. Closes too early. Would be nice to keep it open longer for card games, get together, etc. Biggest disappointment continues to be the woman who runs the camp ground. Her attitude is she could care less, she stresses over anything, makes everything a big deal, seems to never get her act together (but has been working there for over 20 years!) and is rude. Makes customers feel not welcomed. As stated in other reviews: she should have been replaced years ago with someone who can better manage the camp ground. Place has lots of potential; but, for now Wright Patterson MWR is not taking advantage of this potential. With many local sights (at the junction of I75 and I70) to see and being the only military camp ground in the area, this place should be full during the spring and summer months. When you con (Fort Bliss, Fort Knox, Barksdale AFB, Sub Base in Ga, etc) have done and how they treat their customers, Wright Patterson needs follow suit and improve. WP MWR should take a trip down to Fort Knox to see what can be done with a campground. And go over to Camp Atterbury Ind. Both keep making improvements all the time and listen to their customers. 1. They need to provide customer information sheets/receipts/envelopes for night drop fees. Campers have to run around looking for a envelope. Other than info on your check, no way of knowing who dropped money off for what space. MWR: Make up reservation slips with copy for customer. i.e. like most National/State Parks do for after hours. 2. Office voice mail/answering machine is about useless. MRW: Put office hours on the recording! Would help tons. 3. No host. Seems MWR WP is too tight to have a host (pay is their space). Other bases, including many Air Force bases have host. This helps after hours and keeps the free loaders out of the camp ground. MRW: Having a host at WP would help. Might even improve your business. 4. Pets in laundry room! ughhhh Last time we were here people would bring dogs into the laundry room. Hey folks, it is our clean laundry and we don't want your dog fur/smells on it. Have some respect for other campers. On this trip, one lady was considering using the small sink in the laundry room to bathe her dog! Give us a break! Did you leave your manners at home? MWR: Put a large, permanent, sign up in the laundry room. To wit: NO PETS/SMOKING ALLOWED IN BATH HOUSE AND LAUNDRY ROOM.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Sept. 9, 2010

G.L. left this review using the Directory software: The campsites are large and spacious. Water hookup a bit tricky. Laundry and bath house appear to be neglected. Trash was running over by the lake, and the dumpster needed a good cleaning, you had to hold your breath while walking past it!! On the day we were there, the lady in the office allowed three different civilian motorhomes to stay in "our" famcamp!!! She more or less said she could do whatever she wanted (per her boss) regarding admittance to the park. Does this mean anyone can stay there now?? It looks like rules only apply to those who follow them. We are finding this in more and more Famcamps. Not sure I want to stay here again if it is going to be open to just anyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 28 - 30, 2010

Mixed emotions about this Fam Camp. Location is fine if you want to be in the Dayton area. The lady at the "office" is nice enough, but it bugged me that they never answer the phone. They have voice mail & say that they will return your call with in 1 working day... they did. We wanted to come in early, but they were full, even in the overflow. There seems to be a lot of active duty folks utilizing the facility, which is ok. The laundry room has no ventilation, so be prepared to sweat this time of year! The sites are long enough for a big rig & wide enough to feel comfortable. Since most of the gates close at 18:00 getting back on base is a REAL PAIN! The main gate is a long ways from the Fam Camp! The golf courses on base looked really nice & were being highly utilized, but I didn't have time to play. The facility (other than the laundry room) appears to be very well maintained. If in the area again we'll stay there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
26 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2