Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

New Hot
 
3.7 (122)
80749   0   9   1   20

User reviews

Filters 15 reviews with 2 stars

122 reviews

 
(33)
 
(47)
 
(26)
 
(14)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
4.2  (122)
 
3.7  (122)
 
3.4  (122)
 
3.6  (122)
 
3.7  (122)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 15  
 
Ordering 
 
(Updated: May 03, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

2017 late spring

Many improvements have been made. Reservations now done on site. One of the host seems to be a little sharp and impatient. Homesteaders stil there. Never rotate. Guy in space 12 is hard worker. Did/does lots for the place. But this does not excuse his abusive rude behavior towards one of my friends. Guy in space 12 needs to sincerely apologize for his out of line behavior. Will not mention my friend's name but he (my friend) did much for the place as well. When others were watching and doing nothing he was out there helping day after day the guy in space 12 mowing, weeding, pouring rocks in front of the laundry room, moving old tables, putting in new tables and more. Over all, great job done at the camp ground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Jul 7-14 2015

More of a long term trailer park than vacation campground. Several permanent residents were very territorial an made us feel as though we were encroaching on their property. Nice facility and fellow travelers were friendly.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

2011 - 2015 off and on.

This RV camp ground has improved over time. But, it is still lacking in proper, day-to-day, over sight by MWR. i.e. the office is out of sight = out of mind. Payment system is not well explained. Woman who works in the office seems to never get her act together. To use wifi means a walk, or drive, over to the lodge. Never got a answer why the wifi is not located in the camp ground proper. Last post addressed the issues of the camp ground host. And rebuttal by Blackhawk was interesting. Both posters have valid points. Seems best way to settle the camp host issue at this facility is for MWR director, and or base commander to post an appointment letter at the camp ground for all to read. Then it is official. If this person is not officially the host, ignore him. He is trying to be helpful. He has no power to boss you around. If it really bothers you then contact the director of MWR and make your views known. This appointment letter should state who is the host, cell phone number, location of his, or her, RV, hours on duty, and spell out exactly what are the duties of this host. This will clear up the want to be a host business going on there. Then all campers know what the host is to do, or not do. What his, or her, limits are. This will avoid confusion and toes being stepped on. I have seen and heard the guy addressed by the post and Blackhawk's rebuttal. Yes, he is over bearing. But, has a great interest in helping out and fixing up the camp ground there. He did come out and meet and greet people. That being stated, he has a way about him that can easily rub people the wrong way. He never told anyone to mow their areas. I checked with a few campers there. Over all he is a good guy. But needs to tone it down some. Again, MWR/base commander needs to spell out in writing who the host is and the duties of the host. i.e. can, or cannot, collect money. Also list who is point of contact for comments and complaints regarding this host. Over sight is the key to any camp ground host position. Keeps them in line and keeps the ruffled feathers down. I agree with many of the comments on this board that MWR needs to have better daily contact at the camp ground. Over all not a bad place but needs some help. I counted five home steaders there. Staying full time. They did grab the best spaces. Most of stop in for a few days and move on. So why is it such a issue what spot a transient Rv'er gets? The fam camp is hardly ever filled to max. So one cannot argue that the homesteaders are denying someone a space. I do agree that the homesteaders should rotate spaces more often than what they now do. By rotating them more often would put a stop to this complaining about the homesteaders grabbing the best spaces. The winter there is bad. Horrible. So if the homesteaders want to stay all winter more power to them. Some funds come into MWR in the winter. But does not make or break MRW's budget as the poster below tried to tell us.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Oct 1 - 3, 2014

Came here to go to the museum. Called first to reserve a spot and was called three times on the road to tell me that my spots had changed (at least they called). Since there isn't a camp host, RV'ers seem to just grab any spot that's open (moving the reserved cones). The problem is that most of the spots are taken by full timers and military on orders so the six or seven open better spots are gone quick. There isn't any experience available in the day-to-day running of this place. The grass is deep (up to the bottom of the homesteaders rigs) and the water tests and tastes very bad. Not much help from the people at outdoor rec. Not a $25 a night park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 2014

Recently stopped in the WPAFB FamCamp. Have not been there in years. Good news the "lady" who worked in the office at Bass Lake is now retired. That is the biggest improvement to the place. Minor work has been recently accomplished. Such as: painting the bath house, new washers and dryers, information board outside bath house, etc. Long term folks, homesteaders, still living full time in the back row by tree line. Agree communication with office is horrible. Be careful when dealing with the woman in the office who has English GB accent. Received reports of her not crediting accounts. Forgetting who she put where etc. ALWAYS get a written receipt. Grass has not been mowed in ages. This may be typical for bases now due budget cuts. Heard reports of one camper going around at night shinning flash light into people's faces telling them to stop talking. Word from other campers this was a drunken guy who was out at 9 pm being rude to others telling them to "shut up." Word is the campers were merely talking. No loud music, just talking. Takes all types. But we don't need this type of "town cop" in a FamCamp. Further, heard this was reported to the office by two or more people and nothing was done to this guy by anyone from the office. He should have been given a one way ticket out the gate. Which brings me to this point, support from the office has always been lacking at this FamCamp. After hearing this report of non support by the office regarding this rude hostile person, seems nothing has changed. Smoking and pets in the laundry room: nothing has changed over the years regarding pets/smoking in the laundry room. No signs put up saying NO SMOKING / NO PETS in laundry room or bathrooms. Same problem here when we stopped in few years ago. MWR needs to put/paint signs in the bathrooms and laundry rooms stating NO SMOKING - NO PETS IN LAUNDRY ROOM/BATHROOMS.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

May 27 - 28, 2014

This is our usual last stop on our way home from the south. Nothing much changes. We called from the road and the first time no one answered. We were told to leave a message and they would get back to us. However, the in box was full. Called back about an hour later, a recording gave us a half dozen phone numbers we could call but none related to the RV park. We pressed on and spent the night and planned to do what we always did in the past, call them the next day and pay our bill. This place is for us just an overnight stay. We wouldn't want to stay here for any length of time. The grass was about 8 inches tall and about 3 feet around the utilities and close to RVs that looked as if they had been here forever. We don't use the restrooms or showers but I like to check them out. The men's restroom looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in months. The showers were filthy. I'm glad I don't need to use them. We got on the road the next day and tried to call and pay for our stay. That was May 28. It is now May 30 and we still haven't paid even though we've called several times. We did talk to a person today and was told that someone will call us on Monday, June 2 and will take our payment at that time. She also said that the Famcamp does not take payments any more and that payment will be handled by Parks and Rec. What a messed up place. And for you folks that like all those orange cones and don't know their purpose, they have new ones and are now green. There was even a large orange cone in one of the showers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

March 30-5 April 2013

The staff at Outdoor Rec was very helpful to get our reservation, and do the best with their budget problems. Eric was great and followed up as he promised. However, in the week we stayed, I never saw any staff at the facility. I paid my bill via telephone charge, and never went by the Outdoor Rec facility. The security police drive by the facility all night long which is next to the Military Dog Training facility, but never stop to see if anyone has any problems. I forgot to bring a heated hose to fight off the sudden cold we experienced in early April. The water supply valve froze while we were out before we realized it was going to get down to 23 degrees that night. We showered the next days in the bath house that was tolerable, and heated and didn't get to use our coach shower. Many of the water valves and sewer valves throughout the campground were in bad condition. Not sure the voltage is regulated properly on the 50AMP side, cause my HDTV didn't work anymore and I had to replace it when returning home. There appeared to be full time other "working" residents that stayed inside and you never found anyone to talk to anywhere. Must have been a unfriendly time of year, or "Ohio folks" nature. The campground may experience more hard times on fixing more of the problems from neglect in the future. The Base with so many Gate closures is hard to navigate through at different times of the day. The BX, Commissary and Home & Garden/Class Six and the Museum are first rate, and best part of visiting there. Next time- no April visits for us.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

May 2013

Being retired Air Force and a full time RVer, I have experienced many military RV camping facilities across the nation. Other than being a good location for the National Air Force Museum, it has very little going for it. The worst part of the experience was dealing with the Camp Host/Recreational Facilities people. Not only were they unfriendly but it is almost impossible to contact them by telephone. If it wasn't for the Museum, we would not have stayed the night! I just wish that I could include photos of the ten inch dandelions surrounding our campsite, to provide a visual impression of the quality of this campground. The entire base is inundated with these weeds. Also, regarding the base in general, I have not experienced such a difficult base to traverse. There are very few signs indicating the direction to popular destinations. And, worse than all of that, there are no current maps of the facility that are available from any source. If we do return to see the Museum, we will stay at a campground that is off of the base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 24, 2013

This is our last stop whenever we are returning home from a southern trip. This time we arrived unannounced at about 1300. The office was closed with no indication as to when it would reopen. A sign on the door said to pick an overflow site and a full hookup site would be assigned next day. The office hours were said to be 1030-1630 Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. It was going to get to 31 degrees so we needed electricity. We waited until 1330 and still no show at office. We called both phone numbers posted on the door without getting responses. We decided to park in a site and see what happens. There were only about a dozen sites being used. As in the past there were no cones blocking any sites. I checked back at the office again at 1400 and 1600 and still no show. We stayed overnight without incident. We got on the road next day at about 0800 and called the office at 1030 to see if they wanted our payment. My wife was able to make contact and paid them with our credit card. She asked the office person what happens if the person doesn't call to pay. The office person said they have our vehicle license number and we would get a letter in the mail in a few days. What a way to run a campground. Now, about the closure of Highway 444. Nothing much has changed as to route to campground. From the north, go in the same way as in the past. From the south, as we did, we got off I-675 at Exit 17 and then Highway 444 and made a left turn into the base. Then drive thru the base to the campground. In the past we stayed on 444 thru town and turned onto Highway 235 to the back gate. If you do that now it going to be confusing if you are not familiar with the town of Fairborn. They have rerouted 444 onto Kaufman which runs along side the old 444 but comes out north of 235. So the best bet is to go into the main gate and drive thru the base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 19, 2013

We have been full-timing for 8 years & use many military RV parks all across the country. We found the Bass Lake RV Park to be quite disappointing. It could have been the time of year, but we found the RV park to be fairly run-down looking - lawns needing to be mowed, power posts & small picnic tables in poor conditional. Additionally, the reservation system was a mystery at best. It took several calls across several days to finally reach someone. When I made the reservation I specifically stated that we wanted 3 days, but might also like to extend. When I called to extend I was told we would have to move sites although there were many, many open sites. We would use the facility again if we needed to be in the area, but it is certainly not up to the standards of most other military RV parks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

June 2012

Some improvements have been made; but, still lacking in the customer care business, dirty bathrooms, up keep of the grounds, utilities etc. Not much better than the last time we stayed at Wright Patterson a few years ago. Due to budget cuts, word on Wright Patterson is they will be closing one of the golf courses, the tennis club and two other MWR facilities. It appears the Fam Camp is safe. Not enough can be stated how Wright Patterson Fam Camp is sitting on a gold mine due to its location. Has great potential, as stated below, but poorly managed and ran. But then you only hear of MWR crying about how they cannot make a buck. Run the place like you should and it will make a buck for you. Person in the office was telling campers for years that there was no wifi. This was not true. There was wifi in the office (free) for everyone to use. Been there for years. I would rather not speculate as to why someone in the office did not want to put that word out. Again, another example of the poor management of the Wright Patterson Fam Camp. Seems any good to be done at this Fam Camp is a uphill battle with one certain person in the office who does not want to change. When change will help the campers and generate more business. As stated in other reviews, they did finally open up the office area to campers for playing cards, getting together, using the wifi (that was there all along anyway), etc. But, as stated below the time when campers can use the facilities in the office is limited and needs to be expanded. There is a combo lock on the door to this rec area. Idea was for the campers to be given the combo number and enjoy TV, pool table, card table etc. Well you guessed it --- so we were told -- the woman who runs the place will not give out the combo number to campers. The TV in the laundry room still only displays a MWR ad. When asked what was wrong with the TV in the laundry room -- you guessed it -- we were told that "she" had the remote and will not let it go. So much for watching TV when doing clothes. Smokers, dog owners continue to come into the laundry room. As of June 2012 no large sign has been posted reminding people not to bring pets into the laundry room and no smoking in the bathrooms and laundry room. Personally we feel there should be no need to post this. It is common respect and doing the right thing. Seems some campers at Wright Patterson do not care. The row of homesteaders, where the back in spaces to the trees are, is down to about two or three homesteaders. Most of the homesteaders who were living there for years, yes years, have moved on. One of the homesteaders who believed he was the base commander, but never served a day in uniform, is finally gone. Double checked on the cost of tent camping. Yes, fee is $10.00 for each tent, screen house etc put up. Wow! Tent campers normally are the ones who do not have much money. Such as young military families. Someone needs to look into this over charging of tent campers and look into as to why tent campers cannot use the shower room in the RV park. The tent area is within hearing distance and a easy walk from the RV area. Hard to understand how tent camping can exceed the cost of a full hook up RV spot if they put up a few tents, screen house and so on. No improvements have been made to the tent area. Tent area is located by the old tables in the grassy area directly in front of the office. Hopefully, this campground will get better one day.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

First week of May 2012

I have never seen a military, state, or federal campground do this: the woman who runs the Fam Camp at Wright Patterson AFB, Ohio will charge $10.00 per night PER tent/item for the tent campers. Also, she tells them they are not permitted to use the shower room at the RV park (which is right at the tent area anyway). She tells them they can use the bathroom close to the tent area (has no shower room there). All is within eye ball distance of each other..RV park, office and tent area. Anyone heard of this nonsense at other places? She will charge $10 for the first tent. Add a child's small play tent or house and bammmm another $10 is charged. If you put up a screen house over the table, bammm another $10 is charged. This has just exceeded the cost of the full hook up spaces. It is not like they do not have the room for tent campers. They (MWR WP) is doing tent campers wrong. If a family of four come out = $10 for mom and dad's tent. $10 for each kid if they have smaller tents. Ten more for the screen house over the table -- or get eaten alive by the bugs (no bug spraying). Then if the kids put up some sort of small plastic play house, another $10 is charged! So that family pays: $50 to tent camp at WP! You would think tent campers would be given a break. Nope not here and not at WP by the woman who runs the place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 3 - 27, 2011

M.G. left this review using the Directory software: Inconvenient location after hours and weekends. Gate is closed and have to drive quite a distance to a gate. Price is now $25.00 per night which is expensive compared to other famcamps. Otherwise, OK place to park. Has a small lake nearby.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

June and July 2009

E.T. left this review using the Directory software: Price went up $22/night--why is overflow (water/electric the same price as full hookups? Also don't think it is managed properly. Stayed here & wanted a pull thru & was told none was available, yet several pull thru sites were coned implying someone was due in. I stayed in a backin & even after I left, the same pull thru sites were still coned off. What gives? Recent conversation with another camper who has been here for 2 weeks noted the same discrepancy. There is no camp host & I guess the office is the "Outdoor Rec" office. I guess I'll just contact the base commander to see what goes--sure hate to bother him with trivia, but does not appear to have any oversight. The charge immediately with no refund is absurd--no private campground does that although they do have a cancellation policy. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

26,27 Sep 08

M.H. left this review using the Directory software: Someone roam the campground placing stickers on vehicles. It has been hard to get off. This is the first security flaw I have ever seen. It spoiled our stay as my motorhome is 2 days old.

Was this review helpful to you? 
15 results - showing 1 - 15