Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

 
3.8 (127)
90507   0   15   1   21

User reviews

127 reviews

 
(38)
 
(47)
 
(27)
 
(13)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
 
4.2  (127)
 
3.8  (127)
 
3.4  (127)
 
3.7  (127)
 
3.8  (127)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
127 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2017

Had two separate stays: one just before the Dayton Hamvention and the other just after. Both were excellent. Really enjoyed the camp ground and the hosts were excellent. Definitely will stay there again next time! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2-3, 2017

We had stayed here a few years ago and weren't too impressed back then. What a difference a few years makes! The hosts, Larry and Vickie have done a great job cleaning and maintaining this FAMCAMP. Larry came over to greet us as we arrived for our 2 night stay, and invited us to a free Labor Day hot dog gathering the next day. The FAMCAMP now also has canoe and kayaks to rent and bikes. The restrooms were kept clean and the three washers and dryers were only $1 wash and 50¢ to dry. The sites are not very large but they are maintained nicely Trying to figure out what gates are open can be tricky especially on a holiday weekend. Check in advance and it will save you some grief and U-turns.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2017

Reservations recommended. Many active duty and contractors living here full time. Length of stay is 365 days. Park has had a steady stream of over-nighters. To extend you most likely will have to move around. There is a rotation going on for extended stay, in and out of partial hook-up sites to full hook-up sites and back again. Park Appearance: mowed. Trash picked up routinely. Asphalt pads with concrete patios are older. Utility boxes old. Women’s Shower/Toilets: Updated and clean. Laundry: 1.00/.50 wash/dry: Large top load commercial Speed Queen washers and dryers in good repair. Commissary: Large. Meat and produce selection large. Some Organic selections. Camp WIFI - One access point located on top of bath house. Slow, drop off rate HIGH, when you do gain access, it is extremely slow. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 23 - August 12, 2017

To whom it may concern, In 2016 my husband and I stayed at Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. The grounds were clean, we had a nice spot and the folks were real nice. As we are full-time RVers and retired military we have had the opportunity to stay in many FamCamps. As Air Force camp grounds go it was as good as any other so we came back for our 2017 journeys. We checked in on June 23rd and stayed until August 12th. This year was noticeably difference not only from the prior year visit but FamCamps overall. When I called to make my reservation, I was nicely greeted by Vickie who spent a good amount of time on the phone with me to accommodate our needs and though a full hookup was not available at the time she assured me the “dry” camping area would meet our needs for a few days. We arrived and immediately noticed how much different it looked; Vickie and Larry met us upon arrival and showed us where to park (loved the personal touch), the grounds were cleaner, neater, and mowed, we saw a bounce house for the little kids and there was an overall sense of “we are happy to be here”. Over the two weeks we enjoyed the stay. On July 4th, there was a super celebration planned with all the fixin’s. Vickie and Larry worked real hard to see that everybody had a great time! It was clear that they both took great pride in the celebration and all the preparations. After that our plans changed dramatically and we needed to stay longer. While there was some moving around involved for us to do that it was really not a bad thing because it allowed us to meet more people in the camp grounds. All along Vickie and Larry along with Nick and Brooke were constantly cleaning and mowing and painting. Vickie was always present; checking on people, meeting needs and always making sure all was as it should be. Her constant visibility and availability to each of us was I assure you, not the norm as camp grounds go. Most camp host are content to stay in the cool of the office. Because of Vickie and Larry, we will be back to Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. We really appreciated their personal touches and attention to ALL the details. Additionally, we have a monthly newsletter and have advised many that this FamCamp was a cut above! Sincerely, Mark and Holly Shaw On the Go Mission Ministries Onthegomission@gmail.com Onthegomission.org 903-530-3955/4055 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 25 thru May30 2017

This is one of the better Famcamps we have stayed at. When we left eastern Ohio it was raining and when we arrived it had just became spotty rain.the directions to the base are easy if going thru gate 26A (m-f 0800-1800) or 12A which is 24/7. Larry and Brooke came by as soon as we pulled into our spot,to ensure everything was okay and if we needed anything and finally to let us know about the activities going on for the memorial day holidays. The trip to the Air Force Muesum was quick,easyand our stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. Vickie, Larry and Brooke are interested in the appearance of the park and it's facilities and it shows.As we where leaving Brooke was out weeding and watering the flowers at the entrance to the park, I'd recommend this Famcamp to everyone. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 1 - June 8, 2017

We changed our plans after leaving Arkansas and chanced a call to the Family Camp at Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake to see if there was room for one more. Left a message and were promptly given a call back by the camp host, "Vickie", who advised us that she had a site with partial hook-ups available, although they provide both, partial and full, with an added dump location nearby. We jumped at the chance because of the proximity to the USAF Museum and other attractions we wished to visit. We were able to follow the posted directions to the base as written without difficulty and were graciously met as we arrived by the camp host to show us the best way to back into our spot and turn around. Vickie, Larry and Brooke provide very clean facilities and are making improvements daily, recently adding canoe and kayak rentals for the lake. The camp hosts have been very instrumental in getting the camp fixed up into the gem it is today. Very clean facilities, lots of space and great to see so many visitors from all over the states using it. Reservations are accepted and recommended. Enjoy your stay, we have! Ed, Terri and Kona! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2017

Wow, we really enjoyed our visit! It is a smaller but very nice campground with much to do on site and in the area. The Camp Hosts, Larry & Vickie, are second to none and go above and beyond to make sure everything is prefect. There have been improvements since our last visit; i.e. WiFi upgrade and landscape cleanup and beatification. We plan to come back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 5, 2017

While I understand that to each is their own, I don't believe we've stayed at the same place as the ones posting negative reviews because this camp, as well as the service, was (is!) FANTASTIC. Firstly, we arrived at midnight and settled in around one. In between that one hour span the hosts had helped us with a number of things and with the best attitude possible too!! They're honestly so darling. Anyways, Wright Patterson is colossal and not exactly well lit, so of course we found ourselves lost in the dark. But like the amazing hosts they are, they came to our rescue by finding us on that monster of a base and led us to Fam camp. But their kindness didn't stop there either. They even helped us back our trailer in despite the cold, windy weather and overtime they had been working. Throughout the ordeal they were patient and extremely polite, even afterwards. They even struck up conversation and gave pointers on a few things. Secondly, the camp itself was in great shape! Very clean with fresh cut grass. The grass was soft and always kept up with, as well as the rest of the campus. The bathrooms were cleaned everyday of every morning and evening. It was never a problem like some sites. So all in all, everything was great. Hats off to the lovely couple that runs it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2017

WOW!! Haven't stayed here in over 2 years, how nice to see the improvement. Bathhouse renovated, painted, and very clean. Grass is mowed and overall appearance looks great. New camp host Vicki and Larry were very pleasant to talk to and deal with. The hosts have their own phone to take you calls and reservations as listed below, call them directly, we made our reservation and were given site number over phone, on arrival had a reservation tag on the site with our name and dates of stay. Couple of other longer term campers help with the mowing and were great to visit with and made us feel at home. Some homesteading, but doesn't appear to be as bad as it was in the past and most sites are clean and tidy. Very pleased to see MWR putting a small amount of money back into the FAMCAMP. Keep up the good work. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2017

I see a trend here, lots of positive comments except for 2 people. If you don't like it there go stay at KOA I'm sure they would love to take your money. If your not happy with the host tell him or her don't make rude comments on here like some little kid. Grow up and get a life. Some people you just can't please and I think there's 2 on here. KOA is 15 miles west of their location go stay with them and see how you like their service. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2017

Don't call outdoor Rec they don't answer their phones and takes them days to return your calls. Call the camp host direct at 937-271-2535.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 1-30, 2017

One of the nicest Fam-Camps that we have stayed out. Camp hostess/host are on top of their game always willing to help. Lots of improvements over last year when we were there. Restroom renovated and nice and clean. Grounds were cut every week while we were there. Guy in site 12 is always assisting the host with all they do. We can't say enough good things about this camp ground. We will be back in September for the marathon. Keep up the great work!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 03, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

2017 late spring

Many improvements have been made. Reservations now done on site. One of the host seems to be a little sharp and impatient. Homesteaders stil there. Never rotate. Guy in space 12 is hard worker. Did/does lots for the place. But this does not excuse his abusive rude behavior towards one of my friends. Guy in space 12 needs to sincerely apologize for his out of line behavior. Will not mention my friend's name but he (my friend) did much for the place as well. When others were watching and doing nothing he was out there helping day after day the guy in space 12 mowing, weeding, pouring rocks in front of the laundry room, moving old tables, putting in new tables and more. Over all, great job done at the camp ground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

11-14 April 2017

Reservations were a snap, camp hostess Vickie took our info over the phone and gave us our site number. The grounds are kept up really well and folks were very friendly. We only stayed a few days to checkout the USAF museum on our way up home to MI. The base has everything you need and the directions to the campground are spot on.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 24-April 9, 2017

Stayed for 10 days this time for the fourth year, during different seasons. There always seems to be plenty of sites available, even the overrun. New campground hosts in Spot 29- Vickie and Larry, are easy to contact on their cellphone, 937-257-9889 for quick reservations. It appears that ODR has released FAMCAMP permissions for them to run it smoothly. Facilities are easy living, clean. Neighbors are nice and helpful. The easiest Gate is 26A closest to the FAMCAMP, IF Mon-Fri- 0700-18:00-- if you can plan it. Through the Front Gate 12 (by the AFRL facility) to Chidlaw Road will require a lot of extra time ensuring skirting the housing areas of the Base, and around the flightline road, but not impossible. No Diesel fuel, or propane refills available on Base that we found. AF Museum is a must with the newest Hangar 4 display.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

2 December 2016

I made reservations and had to cancel a week in advance due to an emergency. I was told I lost $25 ( one night ) due to their cancellation policy, I have been staying at FamCamp's for 10 years and I've never lost a deposit due to an emergency cancellation, most FamCamp's will just hold a credit card and not charge it until you arrive, they charged all three nights on the card before I arrived. I don't agree with their policies but I had no recourse.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 2016

Very nice campground with some pull-thrus available. Nice restroom/shower and laundry facilities with wifi at the restrooms. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Level sites. Off season camping spaces were available, but there are some homesteaders who told me they have been allowed to stay 364 days a year, then have to move for only 24 hours, but move right back. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 30, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 2016

Agree with the below comments. This place has improved. Stopped back in here for a few days. Even noticed improvements since last visit. MWR needs to be reminded that only paid employees are authorized to handle/process credit card info and personal information. Being real polite saying that. Otherwise the place is one heck of an improvement over years ago.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 31 thru September 18, 2016

We have stayed here several times over the past few years, as this RV park is located close to family. By far, this was the best visit that we have ever had, as overall management has improved dramatically. The RV sites are level and concrete. The access roads are paved, the hookups are good, the grounds are well-maintained, and the WiFi is good. The only two negative comments that I would have are in regards to the reservations system and recycling. There is still a disconnect between the folks who take reservations and the camp hosts. I changed my reservation several days prior to arrival and that change did not get communicated to the camp hosts. When I arrived, my site had almost been given away to someone else (which would not have been good since the FamCamp was filled to capacity). Also, there is no recycling on site. Adding this amenity would be helpful. Regardless, we would definitely stay here again when we are in the area, especially given the management improvements.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 11-14 2016

Highly recommend arriving during the week as the gate nearest the campground is closed on the week-ends. Also recommend downloading the map as this makes it much easier to find your way around. The campground was very clean and we were greeted by the camp host upon arrival (Sunday) and they even had a pot luck dinner that day of ribs etc. We didn't bring a pass around but there was lots of food there and meeting other campers was very nice. They don't seem to have a lot of scheduled activities, games, etc even though there is a very nice rec hall. Maybe we just didn't stay long enough to get involved. The best part of the trip is the Museum where they just opened up the fourth building this year and it is very much worth the trip. You can go aboard Air Force One (older one) and the Space Shuttle, which is part original and part made up to be full scale. Highly recommend several days to take this all in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
127 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7