Smith Lake Army RV Park

 
3.5 (56)
85834   0   12   1   21

User reviews

9 reviews with 5 stars

56 reviews

 
(11)
 
(22)
 
(13)
 
(8)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
3.7  (56)
 
3.1  (56)
 
3.9  (56)
 
3.5  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

February 24, 2018

Lovely site with pine woods. We were on Lot 8 and only had to level the camper one inch. Hiking and biking trails were in good shape (for February). Some maintenance is still needed, but the staff was very friendly and helpful. New location for the check in office is Bldg. 5144 Smith Lake Road (at the Checkout/Rental Center Bldg.).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June14, 2017

This was easy to find. We did not have to go through a gate. It is off the installation but on Ft.Bragg property. We stayed in lot #18 with a 34ft fifth wheel. The concrete pad was large however not level. No big deal if you have your levelers. #18 is lake view, no one in your view out your front door. They have a prescribed burn until June 16th but being on the lower level the smoke isn't reaching is. We chose $18 /night for electric and water only. Full hook up is $25/night. There is a dump.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 19 - Sept 4, 2016

This is our second time staying at Smith Lake and we absolutely love it!! The staff in the office is very friendly and accommodating. Along with all the maintenance workers. All the sites have a cement pad, the laundry was great, newer washers and dryers. We don't use the bath house so I can't tell you how it is. Smith Lake has a real nice park that always had some private picnics/parties going on. Basketball courts were nice. Every night we saw a lot of deer roaming around. They were so beautiful. Helicopters flew right over head every night and throughout the night,it didn't really bother us we thought it was cool. One night they hovered what we thought was right over our camper. I do have a few concerns: One is if you are staying at the campground you should be able to use the lake area with no extra charge. Half price is nice but included would be better as most campgrounds have at least a pool. However I do understand if you are using the skiing area. It seems no one follows the speed limit in the camping area, maintenance workers on gators and cars. We also noticed a lot of vehicles that were not staying or visiting anyone in the camping area driving through. There is absolutely no security! MP's drive through once a shift if they can (we spoke with one to ask). The security is a big concern! Even though I have some concerns we will definitely be staying here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22 Jun-17 Jul and 18 Aug-30 Aug 15

Stayed there twice this summer. First time we stayed in the lower section. Even with the staff cleaning the bathrooms daily the bathrooms were dingy and rusted. Bugs made it into the facilities quickly after cleaning. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful; very customer oriented. The hours of operation weren't very helpful but if a staff member was in the office on a closed day they opened the door and helped you. When we first got to Fayetteville we were a bit lost. One of the staff actually drove to the entrance of the rec area (2-3 miles) to wave us down as we drove by. Very helpful. The second time we stayed on the upper end of the area. This area has newer facilities; clean. The electricity went out one day, 90+ degrees outside. It took several hours for the tech came out for the fix. There seems to be some great water sports/ beach area at the rec area. We didn't use them but I saw people using a large water skiing machine. We were pretty close to the base and the BX/commissary facilities; both of which area very good. We will stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 23, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 22, 2011

I have stayed many times at Smith Lake and now live in Fayetteville. I drove through the campground today and gave it all 5s because the unpaved road off of Honeycutt Road has now been paved. So the long, dusty, dirty and extremely bumpy road to the campground is history. For those that have not been there in a while or never have, the next section of I-295 from I-95 is well underway. My recommendation is to only use I-295 to get to Smith Lake and avoid the Murchison Road route completely with your rv. The road off of Murchison to Smith Lake has that terrible railroad crossing that has seriously damaged a lot of rvs in the past. Also to get to Smith Lake from Murchison requires you drive through much of Fayetteville. Plus, that entrance is open and closed as the road crews complete I-295 over Murchison Road. When I-295 is completed at Smith Lake, the newly paved section will be part of an exit ramp that will put you right in the campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 2009

I stayed 2 weeks at Smith Lake Army RV park. The hosts are friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the secluded location of the camp near the lake, but close enough for a short drive onto Post. As a (working) DoD contractor I appreciate the opportunity to rest in my own place no matter where my work may take me! I paid $13/night for FHU.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8/1/2008 thru 8/10/2008

Cindooge left this review using the Directory software: Visited for ten days in August 2008 - Nice campground. A bit rustic but the staff were friendly and easy to work with. The entrance from Hwy 210 (Murchison Avenue) over the railroad tracks is very short with a steep dip on the highway down side. There is another entrance off of Honeycut going towards the riding stables. Pretty quiet except for helicopter traffic from Simmons Field. Internet connections very good with our Verizon aircard. It is short on bathroom/shower facilities for the cabins and campers but a new one is under construction. Lots of cabins. Some of the connections (sewer/water/electric) do not coincide with the your RV connections, i.e. sewer is on opposite side of your RV. But that was minor. There were lots of spaces available. Quite an enjoyable experience even with all the thunder and lightning storms we endured.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb-Mar 08

This campground is really nice. Maybe a little rustic but the staff is very friendly and easy to work with. The entrance from Hwy 210 over the railroad tracks is not very user friendly to longer Class A's and could stand some improvement but can be done without dragging if you go in at an extreme angle. Pretty quite at night with some occasional helicopter traffic. (Music to my ears) Great mountain bike trails and a nearby riding stable. TV reception for local channels is great, satellite reception unblocked and Internet connection is very good with my aircard. I see this campground making a lot of improvements with more coming down the pike.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 22 - Jan 5, 2008

This campground is showing tremendous improvement under the new manager's guidance. Our last two visits have been great. There is a new energy and enthusiasm in the office as she is transforming this campground very quickly. Just two days ago, we and all of the other campers were treated to carolers singing throughout the campground. The interesting part of this is at least 20 of the carolers were on horseback and the rest were on a hay wagon being driven by Santa Clause. Following the caroling, everyone was treated to cookies, candy, hot chocolate and cider around a large fire. Permanent awards were then given to the RVs that were the best decorated. The roads to the campground are being maintained at a much higher level making getting to the campground less of a detractor. With the construction of the next phase of the future I-295 to begin next year, this is going to be a military campground of choice for those coming to Fort Bragg or passing through on I-95.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9