Smith Lake Army RV Park

 
3.6 (58)
91314   0   13   1   21

User reviews

22 reviews with 4 stars

58 reviews

 
(13)
 
(22)
 
(13)
 
(8)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
3.7  (58)
 
3.2  (58)
 
3.9  (58)
 
3.6  (58)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

8-10 May 2018

Directions from I-95 should be updated, I used exit 46 and my navigation system took me right in. A little tricky when entering, all dirt roads, went to bldg 5144 and receptionist stated camp staff is closed Tuesday and Wednesday, she provided info to pick up envelope with reservation & site info at old camp bldg. from there you turn around and go to site. Why not have that info available at bldg 5144 when pulling in? (Army). Sites are large and spacious. Noticed two sites had three dogs each, two campers never picked up after their dogs and a lot of poop everywhere. Think camp area needs a little oversight, never saw camp host and no one ever came by. Overall, quite during the week, other than helo’s, which I don’t mind.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2017

We have stayed here a few times over the last four years and it is a nice place, not great place, but nice place. First off it is off-post so no gates to go through. Although the road into the campsite is gravel (and kicks up some dust), the sites have a large concrete slab. Most of the sites are big enough for a 40ft and tow vehicle. There are updated showers and restrooms, very large and clean. My major complaint is that the lake has never been open for use. I would appreciate being able to use the beach area at least. I was told it sustained some damage from a hurricane, but do not understand why the beach part could not be open. They have a couple playground areas and walking trails. They have mountain bike trails also. I hope you like to watch the helicopters fly over.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27 Jun 2017

This was just an overnight stop so didn't check out all the facilities. However, campground appeared to be maintained and clean. All previous comments in regards to unlevel sites is correct. We were in site 10 (concrete pad) and our back lifts were fully extended and we still weren't level. Appears to be nice and quiet other than the helicopters flying just overhead until after midnight. This is not a complaint--just a comment. This is a military installation after all and I presume some night training was taking place. The office is manned from Thurs-Sat (or Sun). If you arrive any other day, there will be a packet in a rack at the front door of the office with your name on it and forms/info inside. The lake is currently closed to use due to damage from last year's hurricane. Note in regards to directions: if you are come from south I-95, you can't turn left onto 295. You either have to turn right and do a u-turn (can be challenging in a big rig) or drive thru the truck stop on the right side and come out on the access street that will allow you to turn left. The rest of the directions were correct. Ft Bragg North commissary (big) and very nice (large) exchange not too far from Smith Lake. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 2017

...very nice park and quiet. My site concrete pad was really off-level to the max! One of the jack starting spewing hydraulic fluid due to it's hyperextension. Had to lower it and placed extra blocks to level it without any hyperextensions. No damage done but was really concerned but all's well now. I just need to refill the reservoir when I get the time. Can't speak for the other pads but it looked off level too. Other than that, follow the directions to the camp office and do NOT pass it. Beware that there is an uphill dirt road drive to get to the RV sites which is of no concern. Oh, the dump station is on top of the hill near the cabins and not really easy to get to if you're a big boy (45 footer). It's tucked into a corner, not much maneuverability. I decided to forego the dump. More importantly, would I come back again --- most definitely!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 19 2016

Only stayed here one night just passing through, but it was nice. Nothing special but clean and well maintained and seems to be taken care of with pride. Some of the roads within the campgrounds are a little interesting, especially with a big rig but should not pose any problems(they are steep in some spots). The people are all real friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

26 Feb- 13 Mar 2016

This is a really nice place, off the main road a couple miles paved till you get back in the campgrounds which is well graded gravel. Restrooms and area well maintained. It has a large lake but really only one little spot to fish, there are other lakes around though, watch out for the traffic in the mornings around 8 to 9 and 4 to 6, can be brutal. Of course there is Fort Bragg and Pope AF base at your back door, can get some what irritating with ordinance going off in the background, but when those helicopters fly over, sometimes after 10pm you lose tv reception unless you have satellite which I did a few days later. The staff is very helpful, basketball courts had no rims. Peadens seafood and bbq was good and reasonably priced. Very few people there, there off season, which I liked, no crowds. We will definitely stop in again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2014

If anyone has complaints about the office staff, please go to this site and let Command know. If we all make our complaints here and it falls on deaf ears, we will not get resolution. Good luck! https://ice.disa.mil/index.cfm?fa=card&sp=81393&s=249&dep=*DoD&sc=15

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

17 -20 May 2014

This was our second stay at Smith Lake. 1) We arrived a couple of hours before the posted Check-In time and had to wait until Check-In time to be given our site assignment. There was plenty of parking area for us to wait in. So, just a note, you can arrive early, there is plenty of room to have a comfortable wait, but you can not check-in. 2) When allowed to Check-In there was some problems with my reservation. I do not believe this to be recurring problem, but you may want to confirm your reservations a few days after you make them. 3) My final concern is more of a safety issue. I ride a motorcycle, the roads are gravel, very steep, curved, and posted as "One Way". On two occasions, I was driving my motorcycle down a steep, gravel, curved road when a government-owned ATV came around the corner going the wrong way and at a very brisk pace. I was able to apply my brakes slowly and avoid the tires locking up, sliding over the gravel and causing damage to motorcycle and myself. If the park reads these reviews, "Please abide by your own speed limits and road signs. NOW THE GOOD. It is a very nice place to stay. It is like real camping. The setting is peaceful. The shower facilities are good. It is a bit dusty, but not as bad as some places. When planning your trips into Fort Bragg and Fayetteville, please note that many things are closed on Sundays and Mondays. Overall a great place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2014

We enjoyed our stay. We have a 34' TT. Pads (at least on the upper loop) were very level, easy to back into and spacious. Our 3 granddaughters were with us and enjoyed the "woods" experience. Would have been better but the water facilities were closed. Only real down side - unpaved road. The speed limit is very slow but I don't care how slow you go - DUST!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23 Nov- Dec 14 2013

Overall a nice campground. Tv reception not so good when the Helicopters were flying. Mostly at night until 22:00 hrs. When I left they were removing the lower concrete pads and replacing with new. Close to shopping commissary and PX were a few miles away.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

12-14 Oct 2013

Good experience. Great value. The new/lower paved sites are not level as stated previously. Prepare to elevate the RV on the lake side. Restrooms were adequate....cleaned at least daily. Easy access to Bragg...Honeycutt gate. Excellent Xchange and commissary. Bike/hiking paths on property. Office staff were pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 10-12, 2013

We spent three nights at campsite 3A and had a good experience. This is one of the full hookup campsites on the upper ring. I learned that programming 1199 Honeycutt Road into my GPS took me to the new paved road going into MWR and the campground. They are telling people use 1200, but that is actually on the opposite side of the road. The MWR office is now closed on Tuesday and Wednesday, but there was a package with our name in a holder on the front porch of MWR that had a map and information that we needed to get to the campsite. We went in on Thursday and paid the rest of our fee and the personnel were very hospitable. The restroom and shower facilities looked pretty new and were always clean. We used the laundry facility, which is on the back of the second (older) restroom facility. The washers and dryers looked almost new and worked fine. All the sites now have concrete slabs, but I was told that the lower ones on the lake were not level, possibly for drainage. As I said, we had a good experience and I will stay there again if we are in the area. The only downside I saw was that the gravel road to and through the campground was very dusty.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 8, 2013

We were able to stay for 6 nights at the new sites they put in April,2013 sites 19-24. I don't know what they were thinking when they built these sites. Even though the view is outstanding, facing the lake and beach area, the sites are all unlevel. We tried three different sites in row and all of them left our front wheel, totally depending on the levelers at least two feet off the ground leaving us totally dependent on our levelers to keep us level and we still weren't level. We were planning to leave. My husband was so mad that he was cursing like I've never heard before. I went to the front office to complain and asked to be moved to an adjacent spot only to find out that it too was not level. Jamel, the clerk in the office was very helpful in trying to accommodate us but Mrs. Brown, well she was not so nice and while explaining to her our problem once Jamel was off work, she wrote down the new site we decided to stay in on my parking slip, but failed to write it down in the books and didn't seem like she wanted to be bothered by us either. We finally decided to stay in site 21 but pull off the concrete pad into the gravel/dirt area in front to finally get it leveled. It's parked close to the front dirt road that cars come down but at least were are not two feet off the ground now. Other then that, great beautiful place with great views. Advice is that they should redo these spots and make them level and not just throw concrete down and call it a padded site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 3-10, 2012

Beautiful area & sites 1a-9a have the hookups on drivers side while sites 1-9 have the hookups on passenger side. You'll need extra sewer, water, & electric for the hook ups. Follow the directions given by the write- up from Oct bellow. We have enjoyed our stay & recommend this location to all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 4, 2012

We stopped here one night on our way North. We followed the directions for 295. Only it is Andrews road, not Andrews Church road. Quiet, serene location. The facility is undergoing some improvements which will be great when completed. No cable, and the digital signals were weak.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 10 to June 20, 2011

Another wonderful campground - had no problem going over the railroad tracks with 5th wheel and truck - beautiful quite campground. The only thing bad right now is the lake is closed because of the tornado going thru in April - Staff very friendly, loads of places to hike and relax. Reading reviews must be taken with a grain of salt - you will miss alot of wonderful places.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 12, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

4-10 Oct 2010

We had recurring voltage problems (SurgeGuard cutting power) when trying to use Foreman grill w/ac running …had to turn off EVERYTHING else including AC, TV, WH, refrigerator, and charger in float mode to maintain acceptable voltage (over 102v), next day could not run heat pump at all (17 amp load) in early AM. Very dusty roads. Very peaceful location. We stayed one week, and paid $18 per night with 10% Golden Access discount.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 21, 2009

I met the new manager and she appears to be working hard to improve this campground. Sites now have nice fire rings and the new bathhouse is quite nice. It has six rooms, each of which have a lavatory, toilet and shower. Maintenance people working there were very proud of the building. The concrete floors are heated and rain water is captured to provide water to flush the toilets. This is one of the nicest bathhouses I have seen in a military rv park. One issue that still remains is the poor entrances to the campground. The terrible railroad crossing is still there. Many an rv have suffered damage trying to get across. The other entrance is a very dusty, bumpy road. The good news is that work is well underway extending I-295 to right passed the park. This will eliminate the railroad crossing and provide an exit to the Smith Lake complex. All of this is coming courtesy of BRAC which will add two more major headquarters to an already bustling Fort Bragg. I think that things are really going to greatly improve this campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

21-22 Aug, 2008

We enjoyed our stay. We choose to stay on the lower level without sewer hookup. We had it to ourselves. We liked the woodsy feel. The staff was superb and very friendly. As others have mentioned, it would not take a lot of money to make some meaningful improvements. Bottom line: great experience and we'll be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 14th 2008

Not a bad location if you can get around traffic patterns & railroad tracks. Staff was pleasant but not very well informed. Hook-ups for most RV sites are on the wrong side, duh. Hope no one in a tent needs to make an emergency headcall, the bath house is up hill 200 yards from the tent sites. No reservation was needed. Pleasantly surprised by the rustic outdoors of this CG, except for the helicopters, this CG has a beautiful setting on the lake. I will stay here in the future, and probably longer. I used the CG on as a stop over during a trip home. This CG has a lot of potential, I hope to see it improve.

Was this review helpful to you? 
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2