Smith Lake Army RV Park

 
3.5 (56)
85834   0   12   1   21

User reviews

15 reviews with 3 stars

56 reviews

 
(11)
 
(22)
 
(13)
 
(8)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
3.7  (56)
 
3.1  (56)
 
3.9  (56)
 
3.5  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 15  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 2018

I concur with all of the other posters opinions, but would add the helicopter activity from being right next door 6 days a week does get a little to much. I would recommend the other little known RV park on base, the Fort Bragg Clay Target Center. It is a great place and only has elec/water but has dump station on site. Sites are flat and level and management takes great care of the place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2017-June 2017

Location is nice and quiet; Cements pads are all unlevel; the value compared to other military campgrounds is high for the lack of amenities; NO cable, NO wifi and a dirt road; however we are being told that sometime in June 2017 the entire road will be paved throughout the campground; they are now refurbishing all of the cabins; We have stayed here before many times, this is the first time it has been long term. There are no discounts for longer stays or monthly rates. Everyone we talked to in the office seem very friendly and knowledgeable; the other downfall is the office is closed a couple of days when clearly they have enough workers to stagger and be staffed everyday.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 2015

Been there several times. Staff is always friendly, site is always clean. Wide concrete pads - a bit unleveled but very usable. Kids moved to the Fayetteville area so this is very handy for us. A few buts: But 1: Dirt road leading into the sites. Always covered with dust after just going pads. But 2: Laundry room and shower facilities (lower level) are dated and worn. Only 2 washers and dryers. Shower facilites on upper level are new and roomy. ut 3B: Not much else going on for outdoor activities (Lake Smith facilities were being repaired this year).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

December 2014

If you follow the directions on the Military Famcamp website, it's easy to find. We called ahead for reservations so check-in was easy. There are only 5 pull-thrus on their map. Roads are sandy. Pull-thru pads are concrete and level surrounded by sand and lots of pine trees. No wifi, no cable. No dog park but plenty of woods to walk them. Office staff was helpful & professional. Hookups were a little far. Nice place for 1-2 nights at $25 for 50 amp, full hookups.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 1st - Oct 8th, 2014

Please use the directions to the Fam Camp from this site otherwise the directions in the Military RV book are wrong. The gravel roads leading into the RV park get old and when people drive by everything gets very dusty. Nice concrete pads and nice setting amongst the pine trees. Only two washer/dryers but wasn't a problem except very small room. We would only stay one night or two in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Augt 8 - Sept 8, 2014

Rates have increased to $25 per night and $23 per night with senior access / America the beautiful card. However when you present your card for the discount, they look at it and tell you it doesn't say camping on the back, and no discount available. After calling America the beautiful to inquire about the card, they told us we had the most current card, and they do not mention the word camping on the card. Explained to staff at campground, but fell on deaf ears. So rates have increased $7 per night from our last visit here 3 months ago. However, no change in services , NO wifi, NO cable, and a dust bowl getting to campsites from the office.

  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • Campground Rules and Fees
    2014 Campground Information Sheet
    277 KB
    1128
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 25, 2013

L.T. left this review using the Directory software: - It would be nice if they asphalt the main road around the RV park. Otherwise, it's pretty dusty in dry conditions. There are several new sites with concrete slabs. The main post and its amenities is several miles away and you have to go through the main gate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

19-22 Jul 09

This campground was OK. I wish I would of read the previous review about the railroad entrance. That was a very bad experience causing damages to the rear of our fifth wheel. Make sure you take the horse stable entrance. Otherwise the stay was good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 18-19, 2009

R. B. left this review using the Directory software: Previous comment are correct. The poor road condition is bad. We arrived in pouring rain and the road into the campground is dirt and/or gravel. We had to hose down the bottom half of the RV to get rid of the mud. The 50A sites are okay, but only 9 and we got the last one available, Walking the dogs (on a leash) is interesting because no one obeys the leash requirement (including the host). There are also rental cabins in the 50A loop and that causes a lot of auto traffic, especially on weekends when it must be party time. One cabin had about 20-25 vehicles parked everywhere on Saturday afternoon and evening.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

21 - 25 Feb 09

This could be a great campground, it needs some work. It took them two days to fix a water leak at our campsite. Make sure you're careful when you leave the campground and turn onto NC 210. We banged up our sewer house holder and the backend of our 5th wheel. The bathrooms where nice, big, and clean. With your access card it is only $10.00 for full hook ups, $8.00 for 20 amp/water. The staff is friendly and helpful, and you can build a fire everynight.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 13, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

10-11 Aug 2008

I must say that I agree with all the other negative comments. This is a poorly maintained campground. When we arrived the young woman who waited on us was really flaky. She was waiting on us and a young soldier and didn't seem to know how to do anything. Finally she told us that her computer wasn't working and that we could just go to our campsite and come back and pay later. When we did, we got another young woman who had a personal conversation with a co-worker the whole time she was waiting on us. With our golden access pass the site was a REAL BARGAIN at $10 a night, which kind of made up for the negative aspects. I had no complaints about the actual site. We were on 5A which was just fine. The campground is not on post, as listed in the "Military Living Military RV" book; in fact, it is quite a ways from Fort Bragg. The post is quite difficult to navigate, even with a map. We got lost numerous times, trying to find things that were right on the map and we normally get around quite easily. We were amazed at the high grass on post. This military brat NEVER saw neglect like that on any base I ever lived on. Had good reception at the campground with a Verizon air card and phone. Fairly good TV reception with antenna - about 10 channels.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 17, 2008

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon with no reservations, and had no problem getting a site. As with many army installations, they offered Golden Age cardholder discounts, which made our overnighter a particularly good value. We chose a site down on the lake with partial hookups (w/e only). Lovely view out the side windows of our rig. The bad news was that the electric plugs for that site were not working. Marilyn, the CG manager, came down and tried to reset the breakers for that site, but to no avail. Looked like the breakers were totally corroded. Since we really liked the location, she offered us a 50 ft extension chord to plug into another, less desireable site. We took the offer, ran the cord and were set. While she was there, she and her assistant cleaned an incredible amount of non-burnable trash out the firepit. She is a good, customer relations manager. That said, I must note that the trails, lakeshore, etc., were terribly littered with unconscienable amounts of casually tossed trash (beer cans, potato chip bags, etc). This has as much to do with the cretins who threw the trash there, as with the management. But MWR at Ft Bragg really needs to get the CG cleaned up. AND THEY NEED TO PLACE MORE TRASH RECEPTACLES AROUND THE CG. It's kinda sad to see such a naturally beautiful place be allowed to become trashy. The full-hookup sites and bath house are on the top of a hill. No concrete pads, just fairly level dirt. The partial hookup sites are off the hilltop around the lake, and are generally not at all level. So expect to do some leveling if you take a partial hookup site. The bath house is a bit spartan, but is kept clean. For internet, we use a SPRINT PCS AIR CARD, and had good reception there. Overall, it was a good, if average camping experience. Again, kudos to Marilyn for being a good, customer-oriented manager, and I hope she'll light a fire under the MWR big-dogs to maybe get a work detail from the brig (or I guess the army calls it a stockade) to walk the trails and lakeshore to pick up all the trash.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug. 28, 2007

RV sites could use more grooming. Great place for a stop over while traveling. Quiet. Nice beach facility. Near, not on, base so base facilities required a little driving. Got there late and there was no one to ask about the sites/access/payment/requirements. Was told over the phone that I could not make reservations because the CG was NEVER full. I now understand why. BUT, it still served my needs as a place to stay over night instead of Wal-Mart. Bath house was clean.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Apr 2006

Fort Bragg is one of the largest, most important posts in the entire Army. Smith Lake is an acceptable campground that is close to the main post. With the large military and special ops presence, you would expect a far more substantial RV park. It meets our needs but sure would like to see more attention given to it. Reservations would be a great start. The camp just does not do justice to such an important post in the Army.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 2006

Careful entering access road over a very large hump at RR track! Only spent one night; interior roads very dusty and long way around if you follow the one-way signs. Park is near the end of a runway used for helicoptor training--"good" noise?! If you visit Ft Bragg, make sure you have a good base map--very large base that is confusing to navigate the first time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
15 results - showing 1 - 15