Volunteer Park Travel Campsite

Featured
 
4.0 (46)
57129   0   19   0   32

User reviews

13 reviews with 5 stars

46 reviews

 
(15)
 
(21)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.9  (46)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (46)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.2  (46)
Value 
 
4.5  (46)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (46)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13
Ordering
19 - 21 October 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We called a few days before our arrival and made reservations with Todd at the Outdoor Rec Office which is located within walking distance, on the mountain of the campsites, just beyond the Golf Driving Range. When we arrived I called Todd and asked which site was ours, he said just pick one, there should be three available, however, there was only two, number 2 & 7. We selected 7. The sites are narrow with steel poles, the electrical pedestal, a covered pavilion and lighting too close to the sides, so we pulled far forward to assure clearance of our slides. Check-in with Todd was easy and he was friendly. NOTE: Their reservation system seems a bit less than precise, as they allow folks to reserve a site, without knowing which site or how long you plan to stay. If a person shows up after hours and parks in a space, or if someone doesn't leave when they said they would, your site will be occupied when you show up on a Sunday or after hours without knowing who is on your site. They do have some electric only overflow sites available, which were occupied while we were there, however, site number 2 was never occupied. Commissary was well stocked and open on the weekends. The post museum was free and interesting. We very much enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 18-22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed at White Sands during this period. There are 8 full hookup spots looking right at the Organ Mountains. It is very beautiful and peaceful...quiet. The base was in a bit of a "down" time while we were there so limited hours on the commissary, etc. This base is pretty far from a lot of things but worth the drive. We also found services to be good as our tow car died and we had to have someone get on base to get it to a repair shop in Las Cruces. No problem. I was surprised as how quickly they got there and were able to get on post. The wrong address was on my notes for checking in to Outdoor rec, but they are within eyesight of the campground. It was very hot there in August but this was a great place to use to explore the area...a bit of a drive to things but that's New Mexico. The only wonky thing was the shower set up here. It was in a separate building a few steps from where the campers were parked but the shower was small, kinda creepy and not ventilated. I've been in much worse so no problem but be aware. I actually really loved staying here and would do it again. It was worth the drive to be in the area and to see White Sands. The fee, $10 a night for full hookups, can't be beat. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3 May 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our 25 ft LTV motorhome loved it. Site was level for us being nose down. We will return and spend a week. Only con was no showers. Price of $10 was extremely reasonable for the view! Outdoor recreation building 1338 was across towards mountains where you pay has some items to purchase. The exchange is small but we didn't check out the commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nov 7-10, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Since the golf course has been closed, it's not as much "fun" as in my previous reviews! The facility is fine. We still enjoy our visits. The old golf pro shop is now the MWR facility and the check in place for the RV park. You can't miss it: pull into a site, look straight ahead & what you see is the MWR office. I believe the driving range is still available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3-8 Jan 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay here. WSMR is quiet and relaxing place. Photos are still good. Called and reserved a site to make sure we had a spot when we arrived, employees are friendly, just could do better with knowing what sites are available. Only 4 of us there for the week. Only saw 1 maybe 2 long term occupants. Sites are all sloped backwards some and we needed to use 3" under the rear wheels to level MH. As previously stated you need to position carefully with electric and light pole right at edge, in order to open or clear the slides or basement doors. ATT 2-3 bars, wifi available at frontier club or IHG hotel with password. I was able to connect to frontier club with my wifi antenna and speed was OK. Small commissary and PX which is more like a shopette. On base fuel but no diesel. 2 mile walking track right by the campground. We enjoy the peace and quiet at base of mountains. Golf course permanently closed as of Nov 15, 2016. Frontier club serves breakfast 630-9 and lunch from 1130-1300 M-F reasonably priced and pretty good. No drop and hops that I saw. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 3-6, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
we have stayed at WSMR often and always enjoy the beauty and quiet surroundings. They have installed new electric pedestals and "night light" stanchions. It can cause some parking problems for rigs with slide-outs and short hookups. The pedestal and stanchion are directly opposite each other, toward the front of of the site, right on the edge of the site. This makes for a narrow space about a 1/3 of the way from the front of the site. Since we have 3 slides-out and basement doors, we either had to park towards the rear or the front of the site, not the middle. We parked near the rear since we have a 38' rig. This necessitates a long 50 amp cable (in our case) and long sewer hose, as the sewer connection has been moved next to the electric pedestal. A shorter rig could park near the front. The saving grace is that these are some of the longest sites I've seen at a military RV camp. While it is not a well thought out placement of the pedestal and stanchion, in my opinion, one can certainly work around it! The MWR (outdoor rec.) mgr. is a super nice lady! We'll continue to use this facility many times a yr!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jan 10 - Feb 29, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very quiet and isolated from other populated areas, but only 15 miles from Los Cruses.  Vehicle decal no longer required for entering the post, only a current military ID (active duty or retired).  The commissary and exchange are more than enough for provisions, but no diesel or propane available on the post (purchased an electric space heater to save on propane-was a great investment).  Very little traffic on the post, especially during "rush-hour."  Excellent (intermediary level) hiking trail behind the golf course, going up Texas Canyon (which enters the Organ Mountain Range) ... the trail ends at Texas Canyon Spring (can view with Google Maps satellite view).  Only mountain climb if very experienced, but worth it.  Outdoor recreation staff is friendly/hospitable.  No laundry facility at the campsite - a Launderette is located close to the bowling alley.  Well worth returning next year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
14 Nov 2010 - 15 Feb 2011
(Updated: February 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I are retired Army, but were staying on WSMR while working as contractors on the Ft Bliss ranges just south of WSMR. Our experience here was quite good. The WSMR contonment area is small compared to most Army bases visited, but has everything we needed except diesel fuel.
We were able to tour the White Sands National Monument and the Trinity Test site while we were in the area. There are also old and active gold mines and trails nearby to explore. The park showers need serious attention. The night security lights were not operational the whole time we were here (we did call the MWR office about it). Parking is very spacious for RV as well as dinghy vehicles. CAUTION** Be sure to watch for Orick (large South African antelope) while driving on SR-213 (War Road). They are big animals and would cause lots of damage if they were hit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 23-26 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We parked here for the 1st time and the RV park is small but it's really nice. The view from your front windshield is awesome. The only draw back we found is that the street signs are not placed where you can see them. When we came through the main gate and passed the Headquarters Bldg we were looking for Aberdeen St. We did not see a sign on our side of the street and we drove a few blocks further till we found a place we could turn a 40 foot MH with a toad. When we got back to the Headquarters we saw the sign on the right side of the street, there needs to be a sign on the other side of the street too. There's no doubt we'd stay here again when we're passing through Las Cruces, the staff at the Outdoor Office were very friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
December 13, 2008 to January 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Second time staying here. This is a very nice campground. Only 8 spaces, but was never full while I was here. It looks like there is overflow on one of the roads leading into the park with electric hookups. There was a motor home that stayed there most of the time. At other times it was seen in various parking lots on base. On the way out, another motor home hooked up to electric there. This is a small base or at least from what I can see. One of the other campers works on the base with construction. Did not see any buildup of troops since last visit. Only problem this time was wind. It is quite a drive to Las Cruces. Like one of the campers said, you pay the prices here or it is a 30 mile or 50 mile drive to something else. Definitely will stay here again when coming through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Apr 21 - May 2, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Would go back in a heartbeat-this was 2nd visit and would return and hope it isn't windy!! Beautiful views and peaceful and great water pressure..super value for $10. Small base (now) about 20 miles from Las Cruces...no diesel or recycling on base. A laundramat by post office (which is helpful with receiving general delivery mail) is driving distance and a club within walking distance of rv park. The outdoor rec people-Gerry & Kim are super (we pulled in with tow car trouble and when we called outdoor rec Gerry came over within an hour to offer assistance). The auto hobby shop is great-they helped us and we had work done there as well as they also 'rescued' and worked with 2 other rv'ers! As someone else said be aware of dip in road by fire dept and auto hobby shop. Auto Zone in town gives military discount. Be aware not to plan during November time frame when the Colonel has her rally!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Mar 18-19, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second visit. Since we're desert rats, we love this place! Unfortunately the golf course was closed for the week for an up keep period........boo hiss! We'll come back! I'd love to see them add some sites!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
21 March 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This a great little spot. It is quiet & if you like the desert, very pretty. The directions which are posted are correct. WSMR is actually only 17 miles East of Las Cruces, NM (on the East side of the mountain) and on the South side of US 70. Our stay was only one night, but since we live in Northern NM, when we want to go to warm weather, we'll plan on going back for a long week end.
JJ
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
13 results - showing 1 - 13