Offutt Base Lake FamCamp

Offutt AFB Base Lake FamCamp

 
4.2 (91)
79026   0   12   2   31

User reviews

39 reviews with 4 stars

91 reviews

 
(38)
 
(40)
 
(8)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.0  (91)
 
3.9  (91)
 
4.3  (91)
 
4.2  (91)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
39 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 8, 2018

"Due to Security Reasons (?), no rigs will be left unattended for any length of time without prior authorization from [the] Base Lake Operations Manager or Famcamp Host." You have to get permission to leave your rig all locked up and unattended if you want to go anywhere...??? 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2018

As stated in other posts. I29 to Hwy34 is the best access, all 4 lane roads. Camp hosts and MWR employees all friendly. Nice overall campground and fair stay policy, rest of AF needs to look at their policy and incorporate most if not all the rules. Recommend making reservations, was 3/4 full when we arrived and weather was still cold. They do become full on a lot of weekends. So reserve to make sure you get a spot. Sewer and water are at back of site so need extra hose to connect. I needed 20 or 30 feet(closer to 30, maybe 25) of sewer hose to reach sewer, same for water. Electric was fairly close. Level concrete pads, pull thru's are better for big rigs if available. Enjoyed our two night stay. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 13, 2017

Nice, clean camp. The 2 individual baths, were a walk from any site, were nice and clean. Friendly staff. GPS may miss lead you. The camp is located by a lake off base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

15 OCT 2015

Spent one night on our way across country and was surprised when we pulled in and discovered all the water spigots open. They decided to turn the water off and didn't tell us when we made reservations a month earlier. Luckily we had a full fresh water tank. One of our neighbors told us about the bathrooms in the boathouse building and gave us the combination to get in. We never saw a camp host, but there was someone at the boathouse, when we went in the next morning, who directed us to the tank-fill spigot in between spaces 3 & 4 next to the horse shoe pits. Sites had nice concrete pads with gravel approach and departures and had plenty of room around them for slides, awnings, and such. WiFi was good, with no password required and had 2 or 3 bars depending on which antenna you used. Showers were inserts into older stalls, so they were very small for my 6' plus frame. Bathrooms were dated, but very clean with plenty of hot water and good pressure. We stayed here to visit the SAC Air & Space Museum, (which is about an hour away past Gretna), so we didn't use any other amenities. Aircraft and trains were heard but never disturbed us - your sensitivity may vary. We'll stay here again, but hopefully the water will still be on!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

7 - 11 Sep 15

Nice park. Real nice. Employees at the Boathouse were very friendly. Pull thru site was long enough for my 41' fifthwheel and longbed truck. Good water pressure, o.k. Wi-Fi. Park is off base, so no gates to contend with. Quiet location. The occasional "sound of freedom" was not a nuisance. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27 Aug 2013

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We called to check availability when we were about an hour out. Received good directions from the person manning the phone. We were assigned a pull through without requesting one, possibly because we were only staying one night. The camp was about 75% full. We spoke to several people about the narrow toll bridge and got as many opinions. Some said definitely stay away, others said it's fine, just go slow. When leaving we took E Mission ave over the toll bridge to I-29. yes it is a little narrow but no worse than many bridges and roads we've traveled. Unless you're a very nervous driver it's fine. The park has a lot to offer for recreation. The deck at the boathouse overlooking the river is a good place to relax in the shade. The hookups were a bit of a reach at the back of the site with the sewer drain in the neighbor's seating area. A nice clean quiet place except for the occasional train.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 Jul-1 Aug 2013

Our stay was excellent and very restful. The reservations phone doesn't start till 10:30. Can't really add anything to what everyone else has already stated. One update; one of the two washers is still broken and not due for replacement till FY14. Also the commissary is closed on Tuesday, until.............

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 22-24

First off, don't use the GPS coordinates or it will take you a mile down the road to a restaurant parking lot. Look for the Base Bass Lake sign which is not in a good location. Aside from the navigation issue this is a really nice park with nice facilities and a good fishing lake. WiFi is EXCELLENT better then any other campground I've been to. Good water pressure, electrical and sewage. Concrete level sights with mature landscaping and a grounds crew that keeps everything looking great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 25-27 2012

The directions were spot on, but I would add that when you turn left at the FAMCAMP sign and go over the RR tracks, turn right to get to the park. The lady in the office was very helpful and efficient. We didn't use the showers or restrooms so I can't comment on them. One washer was out of order while we were there, but I was able to do laundry without waiting for someone to finish. We enjoyed staying here, but I wish it was closer to the base. It was a bit isolated. The big drawback we saw was with something they mixed with the gravel. We had some heavy rain and a clay-like substance got all over our truck when we went thru some large puddles at the famcamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 8-13, 2012

L.H. left this review using the Directory software: - this is one nice rv camp we have been to alot of famcamps and this one is a very good place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 24 - Apr 29, 2012

The camp opened again on April 1, 2012, after being closed since last June due to flooding. Location is great; however, I rated it down due to road closures beyond the control of the base. There is a bit of cleanup still going on after the flooding, but it's only a matter of time before that will be done. The posts at the entry to each site have been removed, making it much easier to back in. WiFi was down for two days at the beginning of my stay, but again this was beyond the control of the host site. When it came back up, it worked great. Overall, one of the best FamCamps I've ever had the pleasure to visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 9, 2011

They are closed as of 9 June. I got their the middle of Apr. and they were worried about flooding ever since the last of May, they had a meeting the 30th of May and said they were playing it by the day, but thought we would be good for at least 2 or 3 days. The 6th of June the camp host came around and told everyone that we had to leave by the 9th. For how long she didn't know. From the sounds of the flooding around here, it'll probably be next year now before they open again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2011

An important update if you are coming to Offutt in Jun 2011 (maybe July). Be certain to call and ask for the current status before coming to Offutt. The Missouri river is flooding north of Omaha. The Corps of Engineers are considering releasing additional water from up-stream dams. There is a chance that the Offutt RV camp will be flooded (on purpose) as well as the surrounding area. Just call first to make sure everything is ok and to avoid possible disappoint.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

15-18 July 2010

This is our second opportunity to utilize this facility and again, it was a positive experience. We found the concrete pad, full-hookup sites to be excellent for our 40-ft. motor home. The camp host was professional and most courteous. The facility is well-maintained, but the laundry room was usually in need of attention. It did rain while we were there, but the roadways had been recently covered with gravel and the drain-off was satisfactory. It is somewhat difficult to find and negotiate all the narrow turns to arrive at this destination, but it was well-worth the effort.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug. 27 - 30, 2010

Site was level, showers were clean and secure. The camp host was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms needed some additional cleaning. Staff was very professional, helpful and courteous. Overall a very good first time stay. I will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jul 30 - Aug 06, 2010

This FamCamp is outside the base security gate so anyone can come into the area. Upon arrival, we were given a written warning about bicycles being stolen. I have not seen base security since I arrived 5 days ago. In addition to the FamCamp, the area is also a picnic and recreation area and can get pretty crowded and noisy even during the week. Right now, on a Tuesday afternoon, a group of about 40 are hosting a function that includes a very loud band. On the positive side, the sites are concrete pads and are level. About half are long pull-thru sites with plenty of room for tow vehicles. Full hookups with 50 amp electricity. The breaker on my site was bad and the camphost, Bud, promptly found someone to replace it. Shade trees at many sites. Laundry with 2 washers and 2 dryers. Bathhouse is two individual, lockable rooms that contain a shower, sink, and toilet - very private. Since the FamCamp is off-base and is on the opposite side of the base from the gates, the commissary and BX are 6 miles away. Although your mail can be forwarded to the base Postal Service Center, I would recommend using General Delivery at the Bellevue post office off base. The roads are not paved and I would suspect it would be quite muddy when it rains. Excellent free WiFi - it stayed connected and was faster than my air card. Good strong Verizon air card signal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 6-8, 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay here and would like to have stayed longer, but they were booked up. Yes, the roads are not paved, but everything else was great. You can't beat the price. We did not have the opportunity to check out the bathrooms or the laundry. The WIFI worked great. Much better than some of the commercial campgrounds we've stayed in at twice the price. If in the area again, we will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

12/13 June 2010

Nice park. Concrete pads make the place a little more upscale. Base Security patrols routinely. We asked for an extension to the 11 AM checkout. They didn't seem real happy about it so I didn't push the issue and we departed at 11. Overall, a good experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10 May 2010

I'm here right now, very pretty place. The weather was real bad when I got here, water was standing everywhere, doubt if they could do anything about standing water though, it rained 3 in. This morning, 11th, it all soaked away. They have some brand new concrete pads, still building them. Camp host is a great guy. There is a place in the office where you can order sandwich's and such. I agree that the laundry is a ways away from everything. Harlan Lewis Rd, is a ruff sucker, only did about 20 mph on it. Overall it seems like a real nice place, course I'm originally from Nebraska. Oh ya, I have a 40 FT fifth wheel, and a semi to pull it, 62 ft all together, and I got in here fine, staying on the west side by the lake in the new sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23 Aug.-16 Sept 2009

Had reason to stay for 3 wks and found the experience quite nice. The only negative aspects of the FAMCAMP are: location of laundry facilities from sites, and the condition of the restrooms near the sites. Full of spider webs and etc. Definitely could use a complete overhaul. Camp host and office personnel were extremely courteous and helpful. Since we have family in Omaha we will be planning on returning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
39 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2