Offutt Base Lake FamCamp

Offutt AFB Base Lake FamCamp

 
4.2 (91)
79026   0   12   2   31

User reviews

9 reviews with 3 stars

91 reviews

 
(38)
 
(40)
 
(8)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.0  (91)
 
3.9  (91)
 
4.3  (91)
 
4.2  (91)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 15-17, 2014

There seems to be a pattern here. I arrived without a reservation and asked for a site that was dark and quiet. She put me in Site #1, between the only two street lights in the campground. It was across from one of the picnic areas. Sites 1-10 are Jack & Jill sites. You park butt to butt and share W/E hookups. The sites are about 25' long, there is a tiny parking pad, grass patio w/ table and a bare spot. When I asked about the bare spot, they told me there were concrete patios but they got broken and weeds grew up so they removed them and planted grass. They couldn't have put in a new patio? You may not park on the grass, so if your tow vehicle doesn't fit in the site, you have to put it down in the extra parking. These pitiful sites are the same price as the larger, nicer sites in the other loop. Those sites all have normal hookups and room to park the tow vehicle. If they reserve the pull-throughs for overnight and short stays, I didn't see any empty. The restrooms and laundry are well away from the campsites so we didn't use them. The lake was beautiful and there were plenty of recreational opportunities. The main base is miles from the FAMCAMP.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Aug 27 - Oct 11, 2012

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - First FamCamp we have been at, where we could not get a drive through site. We had been at this Camp a week earlier and had not been able to get a drive through, even though we requested one. Did not really understand why, since there were several pull through sites empty the whole week we were there. Anyway, we left Offutt to head to WI, but had to come back, since my mother-in-law had a heart-attack and was at a local hospital. We were driving all night and I called the FamCamp office and explained the situation and requested a pull through, so we could get right to the hospital. I had a tough time backing in a week earlier, because I'm new at RVing and found the angles and pad width made it very difficult to back in. Well, when I arrived I did not get a pull through as requested. It took me at least 20 minutes to back into the spot, Later, I went back to the office and asked the two office workers why I had not gotten the pull through when there were at least 4 open pull through spots. They said they asked the camp host and was told to put us into a back-in spot. When I told them I was not too happy about not getting the pull through, they showed me a camp map with the the spots on and a placement listing showing size of rig and was told that only over nighters or someone staying the weekend get the pull through spots. Later, the camp host confirmed this system and went on to say that it works good for the base people who come over on the weekends, since they do not have that much experience backing. She also said this kept the traffic congestion down, since the people who were only there for a day or two did not have to block traffic by backing in. I watched large rigs having to back in to these small width pads, while pull through sites were empty. We were there for six weeks and I never saw all the pull through pads full. The last week were there it was getting cold and not too many rigs were there, but they were still making large rigs back in, while they had many open pull throughs. Did not make any sense to me. There are several signs saying that you cannot park on the grass, so you had better not or the camp Host will be right there ask that you move. Many of the spots have room for your rig, truck and a car, because the grass has worn down. My sister came to visit and parked in front or our rig and was on the gravel/grass mix area and the camp host showed up and requested that she move her car. So, if you have grass coming up through the gravel, you had better not park on it. The only place for visitors to park are at the office area, which is about two blocks from the northern end of the camp. The camp is clean, grass is cut on a regular basis. Trash containers numerous which, is nice. I've read someone had complained about being next to railroad tracks. Well the trains have about three crossing to go through within a few miles of the camp so you do hear lots of horn blowing, but it's off in the distance and you get used to it. Never really bothered me. The camp was very quiet. Right next to large lake. It it was not for the bad exp. with the pull through situation I would be giving this camp high marks. I did have a chance to speak to the director (cannot remember her name) and we had a very nice chat. She said that in 2014 they are going to turn the east side row all into pull throughs, so that will really help. She said they could be more flexible with the pull throughs on a case by case situation, especially in the off season. They turn the water off on Oct.15, but she said they keep the roads plowed and open all year long. Word of caution, the RR crossing does not have lights or gates, so make sure you stop and look both ways prior to crossing. Seems like the base could pull some strings and get a safer crossing sign there. At least flashing lights. I grew up in a small town that had a similar crossing and we lost two people who were talking and drove right in front of a train at the crossing-even though the train was blowing its horn. I'm afraid it is just a matter of time before someone gets hurt at that crossing--so be careful. Last year the camp was closed because of flooding, but the only damage I could see was the water rose up on the lake and killed a lot of trees. Could not see any other damage in the camp area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

18-21 Aug 2012

I wish I had seen the new directions to the park before our arrival! Very nice campground with some large pull-thru's. We were assigned space 32, one of the pull-thru's. The hookups are at the back of the sites so you might need extra sewer and water hoses. A lot of train noise! Bathrooms are very dated and need to be cleaned more often. Laundry has two washers and dryers but only one each working. Apparently they others have been inop for some time. Staff was pleasant but not very accommodating. We asked to be moved to another space and told that all their spaces were booked. We saw two spaces that were empty the whole time we were there and no indication of a reservation on one of them. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

21 - 23 May 2011

This was the third time I have stayed at Offutt. The road from I-29, NE 307, is really rough and will rattle everything in your rig if try to drive the posted 55 mph speed limit. The Nebraska cost of $2 to cross the bridge is a rip off but it is only $2. The campground was a mud pit. Not a real good experience this time around.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

8 Sept - 10 Sept 2010

Most of the other reviews are right on. In a Nutshell: Difficult parking, Hard to find, Poor Access (rough, rough, roads). The wifi was good, the area was clean, it was VERY hard to find, and there were dammed rough roads getting there. They will shake your eye teeth out. The staff was friendly. Mowing the grass at 7:30 in the morning was a bit early. The 30 amp sites (1-10) are DAMMED short and there is NO parking on the grass. Where do you park? We're 27 ft and essentially hung out in the road when the truck was parked in front, so the sites have only about 40 ft to work with, including the parking of your prime mover. Quiet, peaceful, and the water pressure was about 50 lbs, a bit high.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

20-21 June 2010

Am presently here, in site #1. Sort of a shabby side of the CG, new pad, but short and no place to park vehicle nearby. Has been raining and the roads are REALLY messy, a white, pasty mix that really messes up your vehicle, inside and out. Some real gravel, or concrete/paving, would really be a plus. Host was very helpful in directions, called him before arriving. When arriving via I-80 use Exit 439 onto Bellevue to the base, as directed by the Garmin. The directions provided in "the book" direct you to exit at 452, which requires about 20-30 miles added travel, if arriving from the West, and also requires navigating through some back streets. I found the book directions vague and confusing, but followed them thinking Garmin would mislead me. In this instance it was correct. Someone might wish to review the directions to this location. On the plus side, once set up, there is a neat patio table and chair arrangement on a concrete pad in front of each site in the lawn. The lake is really neat with fishing and canoes available. When the roads dry I am certain I will like this place a lot better, right now I need to find a wash rack for the RV.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

16 April 2010- current

First off, I have called a few times this past winter to find out about staying here for awhile while we were going to be PCS'ing out. I talked with a gentleman over at Equipment Rental and he said that there are monthly rates for those PCS'ing in or out of Offutt. So when I called to make a reservation for this month the lady said "Oh no, we have no need to have monthly rates." As if this park is the greatest thing next to sliced bread. So even tho we are PCS'ing out. On www.offutt55fss.com on the FamCamp page (http://www.offutt55fss.com/recreation/outdoorrec-famcamp-location.html) it says there are monthly and weekly rates available. What in the world, how come some people can't get their info correct. Another thing, if you stay here do not get the back in's on the East side. They are ridiculous to try and back a larger 5thwheel into. The post's get in the way, not enough room to pull up and straighten, totally ridiculous. I would say a mid 20 footer is the max for these spots. Ask for a pull thru if larger than that. Oh and the people who are pouring the concrete pads are doing a horrible job, need to angle them better with the drive and make them bigger..and maybe make them a bit more level... But besides that it's a nice quiet location (except for the occasional train, which isn't too bad and airplanes of course, but that's expected being next to an AFB). Real close to base too. Takes like 10 minutes max.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 7, 2010

Having arrived a week before the season begins we understand the limited water source. What we did NOT expect was to be spectators to military dog training, which at one point found a military dog running around our rig, this had us thankful we were NOT outside with our 2 chihuahuas. The German Shepherd was failing to respond to his handlers call to heel..which was disconcerting to say the least. The 45min "attack" session was less than 100 feet away..so kept us locked inside til this session ended. At the SAME time...there were literally hundreds of rounds of small arm fire sounding at the general area of the group area of the famcamp....not 150 feet away as well. No posted warning in advance, just a morning "wake up". I understand the need for training, etc...but PLEASE post warnings to expect this activity. We ended up calling the SP's when the gunfire started, as we believed this was hunter activity. Needless to say this has terrified our own dogs, and put us on edge. The SP's tell us this gunfire was to scare away the birds. Fine, just post a warning to all here in the famcamp to be aware of this possibility!! The area is very nice overall. The roads are NOT paved in the park, and it's raining now..the road is coated with a cement like paste that sticks to your shoes and tires, and automobile just like cement. I would not return to this park. There are too many other options with less disruptions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2006, and Oct. 2006

Very pretty setting, but RIGHT next to RR tracks! Lake has good fishing. Both sections are NOT within quick walking distance (especially with small children) to showers/laundry. Showers in great need of repair. Playground is also "far" and would require parents to go with them -as opposed to being able to see them while cooking dinner. Playground is also desinged for children under 7 yrs. Camp is only out a back gate which is open M-F, but there is recycling available right inside that back gate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9