Camp Grayling Trailer Park

 
3.4 (30)
39454   0   5   4   2

User reviews

11 reviews with 3 stars

30 reviews

 
(6)
 
(7)
 
(13)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
 
3.9  (30)
 
2.9  (30)
 
3.6  (30)
 
3.4  (30)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Aug 2014

There appears to be some type of campground up keep to be started. All campers had to be removed and nothing could be stored this season. Of course when someone is asked what upgrades are being made, no one seems to know. Base security says the only thing they were told is that some trees were going to be cut back. Which if someone has a satellite dish, this would be great because they can't be used right now. 50 amp hookups for the newer style trailers would be excellent because 30 amps are the highest rated hookups that the campground has. Certain upgrades would make this a sought after camping site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2015

PX and Clubs are fine. The campground is not well kept. Several trailers looked abandoned. Lake access was fine. I will continue to stay there when traveling that direction, my ratings are based on comparison to other facilities I have stayed at.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Aug 2012

There are no 50 amp hookups. Everything was 20 & 30 amp. 50 amp would have been nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June & July 2012

We stayed this past summer. Overall we had a nice time. They need to add 50 amp hookups. The park can use a good cleaning especially the bath house. Some the trees need to be cleared away for easier rv parking. the sites could be leveled a bit more. The officers club that runs the park is being updated, they should invest some money into the rv park. The hosts were very nice people.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

2 Sep 09

S.S. left this review using the Directory software: Host was very accommodating, and he has several long pieces of coax cable to loan out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 26, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

19-28 JUL 2009

Concur with other reviewers who have noted that this park is somewhat run down. As usual, I was living out of my FW while training one of the MI ARNG units out in the maneuver area. Many of the MI ARNG units were up at Camp Grayling for their AT (a busy place in the summer), so during my stay the camp was fairly crowded. Sites are very close together (built before the advent of slides, I suspect) so larger trailers/FWs tend to be about 4 feet apart in many cases, and while it would not be accurate to describe this crowd of Guardsmen/campers as "raucus" - they are young and will obviously socialize during the evenings - so if your trailer is 4 feet away from their gathering place you may find the park a little noisy during peak AT periods (assuming you're trying to sleep as opposed to staying up and drinking beer with them...). Many of the sites are not level (laterally), which can cause substantial wash problems when it rains heavily (which it is bound to do). The "playground" appears to be a collection of 2 x 4's nailed together creatively, and the "renovated" bathroom had copious amounts of peeling paint and mold/mildew (I wouldn't even use it and I'm an old soldier...). Concur that while the manager-couple (retired MI ARNG member) are friendly, they are getting on in years and are essentially unable to keep up with the maintenance requirements, and the "Officer's Club" (great drinks/lousy food) has not put any money into the park in many, many years. Cell coverage is extremely weak in the park, and generally nonexistant once you enter the maneuver area to the west. I pulled in about 3 or 4 local digital channels with a standard roof antenna. Having said all that - it's the only game in town around here; it's inexpensive; had both 30 and 50A service and sewer; the park is heaviy wooded thus well shaded; Michigan is, of course, beautiful in the summer; and the lake (about a 2-min walk down a path) is beautiful and full of fish. There are a few great restaurants and an espresso shop in Grayling (my definition of civilization), and, finally, it's close to Mackinac Island, which should be on everybody's bucket list. If I come back up here to train another unit I suppose I'll stay here again. Strongly encourage you to call the park manager (989-344-6604) to confirm your reservation before you show up, as it appears the O-Club and the managers have some bureaucratic comms problems. I've posted a couple of phone pics so you can get an idea of how the park looks with trailers in it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 25, 2009

First, I rated everything a 3 because nothing was open. I guess I didn't read the article here very well. The campground does not open until May and here I am early. The guard at the gate said there is nothing on in the campground. NO electric or water. Since I was going to generate my own power, I was allowed to just stay in a site. From what I can see, the sites are very close together, but I would not want to say more. It is a rainy, cold, windy day, so I did not go exploring. It looks like it would be a nice overnight stop, but for long term, I don't know. I did try calling ahead to find out information, but cold never get an answer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 17 - 19, 2007

Heavily treed and many sites close to each other, with gravel or dirt pads. They have a playground, but it's old and worn. The bathrooms are bad, and the campground is in major need of care/attention. There is free laundry at two different facilities, and campers can eat at the main dining facility. They also have free canoes and paddle boats through outdoor rec. We had a decent stay, and the folks on base everywhere were kind, but I wouldn't stay here again unless I needed a 1/2 way, overnight stay...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 12 - 25, 2007

Nice area of Michigan -- major attractions around here are the rivers (canoeing a big enterprise in town) and golf. Two good golf courses very nearby. Lake Margrethe, about a block away from the campground, is very pleasant. Marina on post has non-motorized boats available for NO fee! Campground is very wooded and sites seemed crowded to us. We had some difficulty getting into our back-in site due to parked vehicles along the fairly narrow roads. There are several "seasonal" sites here. Some sites were rather unkempt, and everything about the place could stand some updating. That being said, the managers were very nice, and we were able to get a satellite signal (LUCK). We would return but would ask for a site on a street other than the one that has many seasonal residents. Says all reservations have to be partially paid in advance but no one asked us to do so when we made the reservation on the phone and this seemed no problem.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 19 2007

We called ahead while on the road and a site was reserved for us. Be sure to let them know if you are a "big rig". Camp host was very helpful and friendly. It is heavely treed so Satalite TV was impossible. There was good reception on two local channels. The road and sites are primarily dirt. We had 30amp with W/S. If other campers vehicles were home we may have had difficulty parking our 41ft coach. The one room BX is new and provides most of what you need if just passing thru. It is a good stop-over. We would stop again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jun 2005

Heavily treed CG. Does'nt interfer w/parking but makes sat reception a real trick. Small one room BX avail. Good hiking/walking on E side of base w/lots of deer along old tank trails. Would rate higher if more activities/facilities were available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 11