Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Featured New Hot
 
4.1 (76)
100750   0   18   1   28

User reviews

28 reviews with 4 stars

76 reviews

 
(34)
 
(27)
 
(12)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.3  (76)
 
3.8  (76)
 
4.2  (76)
 
4.1  (76)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
28 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: June 14, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2016

After I wrote this critical review, Steve the Asst Park Mgr, visited me to apologize and explain some problems and the fix he is instituting. Steve was a very genuine person and he will do a great job fixing all the problems he has encountered as the new Mgr. If any of you have encountered problems and this RV park Steve will fix it and I will give them another change. The balance of our stay was wonderful and you all must see the Triangle at Moody with the older A/C. Its Great! Steve good luck wit the new position and you have my support.   ----  (Original Posting:) This park is not anyway near AF standards and I have to blame the Senior Officers for this. The Camp Host, if their is one, has never shown his/her face especially when we got here. We stopped in front and a passerby camper pointed to the office. Staff at office was very nice but did the minimum. The RV turnaround at the office is very very tight and should not be recommended, as they did, for use. Small popup to 25' Ok but no bigger and I almost took out the power pole. I don't agree in letting civilians stay at the CG, they can us the lake but no full timing as they are and again, this is a sign of poor senior officer management especially of my time spent for this benefit, and now any one gets it. I will send a letter to the AFCG and CC my Senator that my benefits are be offered to the civilians in this area, and suggest you all do the same. I also think the Camp Host, if there is one, be terminated. The squirrels do a better job greeting you.  ----  (Jun 11th added:) Steve, the Asst. Park Mgr., recently visited me because of my unflattering review (see above) of the park. The Commanding General/Officer should thank his/her lucky stars they have such a dedicated individual working for Moody. Steve was truly taken by the comments and wanted to know all he could do to fix the problems and some possible solutions. I could tell Steve is a very caring individual and wants what's best for Moody, the Park and us retires. This Park has so much potential and everything works and with Steve's fine tuning will make it a profitable cost center. I suggest to all my brothers and sister who are traveling through GA, stop and stay a night or 2 at Grassy Pond. And visit the Triangle aboard Moody because the display is awesome. Thank you Steve for making our stay a great one and I'm glad the Air Force has selected you. Go Navy and Semper Fi 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

8 - 12 Nov 2014

SADLY I WILL LIKELY NOT RETURN. Stayed here for 4 nights while traveling to Florida. It is a BEAUTIFUL area but from what I am told I was lucky to not be there in mosquito season. The spanish moss was beautiful. The facilities are very nice and just a beautiful location. The camphost was awesome and more helpful than could be asked for at all times. There is a downside, while speaking to the camp manager I was informed that beginning in January this camp will be opened to ALL civilians with no military DoD affiliation required. This was a disturbing fact to myself and the other campers I spoke with. The campground is making a profit but apparently the powers that be decided a LARGER profit could be made by opening to the general public. Due to this fact that is why I started with I will not return. Most of the other campers I spoke with also claimed that even though they had been coming here for years they also doubt they will return. The campground is about 25 miles from Moody AFB. I hope this is a one off decision but it may just become the start of ruining military locations not located on bases. It appears to be that MWR has lost its way on what their mission is - to work for and support the military. This change eliminates the WHY active duty and retirees choose military facilities. I explored the entire facility and had a very enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

19 Mar 14

We stay here every time we head to Florida as it is a perfect place to stop & break up the trip for us. So easy from I-75. Beautiful setting. We knew we were going to get there after the office closed so had asked which spaces would be ours. Don't bother. They told us which space but when we were driving in toward the space it was taken! Luckily for us, one of the maintenance guys pulled up right by us & explained that there really aren't reservations, but there were 2 other pullthrus open. Whew! We were able to grab one of the pullthrus & settle in. There is a lot to do here & we want to come back to enjoy this park & all it has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 2014

J.A. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice facility. Located close to shopping and other living needs, grocery, gas, restaurants, etc. Nice nature walk for the pups and us. People were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 29, 2013

Not sure what is going on here now. In years past the campground other than the spots for short term were always full. We had a reservation confirmed for site 28, on arrival found a unit on it. After some discussion we were placed on site 38. There are only 10 units in here. The 'Community Room' is only open 8:30 to 5. The WIFI seems good and the cable/satellite TV works too. Shame they are not more utilized. Rumor has it that contrary to what it says here, stays are limited to 30 days, so lots of folks have moved on to the local private campgrounds.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 2 - 16, 2013

Great peaceful campground. Stop when you get to the campground. Find a site and park then go to the office. The office area is not big rig friendly. 3 miles off I-75, no gates and has a few pull through sites and numerous back-in sites. Clean bath houses and friendly staff. Was here a couple times in the summer and now in winter and it seems never more than half full. Beautiful Spanish moss hanging from the trees. So relaxing I do not seem to get personal projects done here. To us it is a great place to unwind from traveling to busy places. Good places to eat 3 miles away and grocery store, but 25 miles to Moody AFB. Will be back ever time I pass this way!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 11-17, 2013

I like Grassy Pond, but it's quite far from the Moody AFB and Valdosta. But the staff is friendly and helpful. Sites are fine. Bathrooms are clean. Overall to me it's a 4. Added benefit...seeing my son, his wife and my grandson. Along with my son's inlaws... It's a win/win.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 30, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 15th, 2013

This was our very first Military campground stay. It was only 3 miles off the 75, check-in was easy, had a full hook-up pull thru site for $20!!!! Called ahead for directions but could barely hear the young man working the desk, too soft spoken. This was just a one night stop on our way to the GA mountains, beautiful lake with big oak trees. Would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 18, 2012

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - 5 sites (on L) are for short term stays and are full hook-ups/pull-thrus. Recommended that you drive to office first-and do a 180° turn back to sites. A campground map is available now, and they will take reservations.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 14, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

11-13 Feb 2013

Second time at this CG and we were very pleased with it. Stayed in main camping area sites were fairly level, gravel and remained pretty dry with the half inch of rain we had. Water, sewer, power 30/50 amp, CATV and WIFI available with pretty good signal. Bathrooms are clean and well maintained, shower was barley warm when I used it but my wife said it was piping hot when she went earlier, I'd say she used all the hot water. There are a few docks on the lake and a nice concrete boat ramp. Valdosta is about 15 minutes away and the Florida state line is about 10, Moody AFB is another 10 to 15 minutes past Valdosta off I-75. Wal Mart is about 15 miles and the best place I found for fuel was Flash Foods on the east side of I-75, gas and diesel were both cheaper than competition. I will visit again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

31 Jan 2013

Only stayed one night but nice CG. Called a week prior for reservation and had no problem at all checking in. Note, you must go past the camping area to the office by the lake to check in. They have a few items in the small store at check-in and sell beer by the glass or pitcher, They also rent canoes, boats, paddle-boats, you must have a Moody AFB fishing license and well as state to fish in the lake. There is a 3 mile trail that goes around the lake and when we were on it it was well maintained. Sites are gravel, fairly flat and have 30/50 amp service, sewer, water, and limited cable television. All sites have concrete patio and picnic table, some have a freestanding grill. Bath room is across the street from main camping area but the big bath room on the main side is being worked on to serve as a community center as well and should be completed this year. Overall this is a well maintained CG and a pleasure to stay in. I will stay here again and recommend it as a good pit stop for travelers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 10-22, 2012

Rates are now $20.00 per night, $120.00 per week and $400.00 per month. Campground has been cleaned up since last year when we were here. All the semi-permanent residents are now gone and at this time there were only 4 RV's in the campground. There are other improvements scheduled for Grassy Pond in the coming year and a half that will improve the facility.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

19 & 27 Oct 2011

D.S. left this review using the Directory software: - When all the planned updates are completed this will be a super RV stop, off IS-75. The quietest RV park I have ever found.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 5, 2011

R.P. left this review using the Directory software: This campground is great for an overnight stop this time of year. Its clean, plenty of available sites which are spacious, gravel, and level. All the activities listed in other reviews do not happen this time of year. Office personnel were helpful. Take plenty of bug repellent with you as gnats abound.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2011

BUGS!! This is south Georgia, but even for south Georgia, there are a LOT of bugs in the baths. This is a beautiful place though, and the 2 employees I spoke with on the phone and in person were very nice. Spaces are large and well maintained. Wifi and cable, small fenced toddle/ little kid pool, very nice docks, a few boats that appear to be available for rent, including paddle boats. Gators and snakes likely in the ponds, so I would not want to swim in those. This camp is very close to I-75 and great for a stopover, but we're thinking about a long weekend here to visit a nearby amusement park and wild animal safari. Clubhouse looks fun too, with billiard tables.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 31, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

28 - 31 December 2010

The set up of the campground is probably the best we have stayed at so far. The sites are spread out so you are not on top of your neighbor and there is plenty of trees so you don't feel like you are in a parking lot like at other parks. The camp host is great and met us at check in and led us to our spot. Our spot was pretty unlevel and the fire pit was full of dirt which is fine but doesn't earn a 5 rating. The community center is nice and is maintained well by the community of campers. The snowbird community there is very nice and welcoming. The campground is conveniently located to I-75 and to Wild Adventures (amusement park/zoo). Only complaints are the lake is still down due to the Dam break but has been fixed and will hopefully be full of water soon; also we were told reservations are not accepted but when we arrived we were told that they are holding some sites (the nice ones) for snowbirds...so no reservations unless you are a regular. Other than that small stuff it is a very very nice campground with a nice staff and community and we plan to return when we can.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 11, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 20 - 26, 2010

Not much has changed since our last visit. The dam had broken and was under repair so the pond was very low. My 6 yr old grandson was very disappointed that he couldn't go out in the pontoon boat. Free firewood, friendly crowd, spacious sites, and very quiet. Close to I-75 but about 25 miles from Moody AFB. Civilian stores, fuel, RV dealers, restaurants, outlet mall withing 3 miles.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 7th to 9th, 2010

I was traveling to Florida and took a short break by stopping. I like the rustic campground feel. I had full hook-ups and was under some great trees. The gravel roads and sites did not bother me. The mosquitoes were a bother. The shower rooms and grounds were clean and the park was very quiet. I will be sure to stop here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 5, 2009

Only spent one night, but took a good look around. This is a modern and clean recreation area. All of the staff and Steve, the host, were very friendly. They had a breakfast in the morning and some type of activity going on when we arrived. This rec area has LOTS to do and would be a great place for a family vacation. We didn't have a reservation, but there were a few sites empty.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

19 Feb-22 Feb 2009

I agree with all the positive comments from the previous reviews. I agree it is a bit far from Moody, but Wal-mart and Sams club about 10 miles away...Ok country miles. FAM Camp needs to put some money into this area. They are spending tens of thousands on FEMA trailers (single wides) for rentals. The campground needs to improve an the roads in the camp ground area. We stayed at the pavilion area over looking the lake ..Beautiful views. Great fishing too.!! The host was superb, met us and helped us to the temp, site. TV reception is good, providing you have a HD/Digital tv antenna..good sat. signal from our area, clear shot at the southern ski, but not all sites and temp area are like that. Wi/fi connected great..Strong signal and no problems. Over-all great place. I would come back.. Moody needs to look at this treasure chest that they have here and just put some new money into the CG and it would go to five star fast. Just a bit more money!!! Something for practical hook up and some road improvements around the sites would do wonders.

Was this review helpful to you? 
28 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2