Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Featured New Hot
 
4.1 (76)
100790   0   18   1   28

User reviews

14 reviews with 3 stars

76 reviews

 
(34)
 
(27)
 
(12)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.3  (76)
 
3.8  (76)
 
4.2  (76)
 
4.1  (76)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 2017

Stayed here for one month. This Famcamp is a really nice location, but, it is getting no ground maintenance. There was one day that a crew of two men came out and racked up four sites (one of them the Host) left and never came back and we were their two more weeks. The camp host never once got off her golf cart to assist camper. They also need to ensure that the site people are assigned can be used by them. One camper who was 100% disables was given a site that he could not access the water or sewer from his wheel chair. The other campers assisted him, because, the host was no where to be found. Lots of permanent campers and of course the place is open to civilians so it is not quite as secure as one would hope it to be.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 30, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Feb 2016

Nice camp ground.  Nice walking trail around the lake.  Not on Moody AFB proper.  Get off I75 at exit 5.  1.9 miles from exit to camp ground.  Clean facilities.  We heard from a few of the civilians and hand full of military retirees there.  The military do not like this arrangement.  I do not like being negative.  But might as well tell you up front, I do not like civilians in military camp grounds.  They didn't serve but sure want the benefits we all earned. So now for what we saw and how we feel (sorry): The civilians plan on staying.  One told us "where else can I get a site for $450/month with all util paid.  Wifi.  Community house with TV and micro?"  "I am staying."  Other civilians expressed the same. The few military retirees that were there expressed their feelings about these civilians there:  oppose it. Just about two years ago the MWR kicked most of the retirees out of the campground.  Now the door is wide open for civilians to long term stay.  Yes, they can stay 90 days and move out for one day.  The civilians we talked to told us they would go to a local Walmart for one night and come right back the next day. When this place is full of civilians and active/retired military cannot get a space -- how will MWR handle that? Don't think that will happen?  Just listen to the attitude of the office people.  They don't care.  Goal is make the bucks.  From hearing things at the office seems the people on the desk feel "well if they are paid up then we won't move them for a military person."  Just great!  There is a military camp ground in MN that let civilians in a few years ago.  Military can no longer get in.  We stopped there few years ago to check this out.  Yep, could not get in.  100% full with civilians.  Here we served.  Honorable discharge.  Retired.  And a civilian who never served can keep us out?  Something is wrong here folks. The office told us had to let them in or close the place.  Then MWR needs to manage the place better.  And free up some the funding that goes to the golf courses and O Clubs to help out the camp ground. We are sure by this coming summer (2016) the place will be jam packed with civilians homesteading.  And military will not be able to get in. Who are these civilians MWR is letting stay long term at Grass Pond?  We were told one is a ex-con and his girl friend is now in jail.   We were told this by more than one military camper.  THIS IS NOT CONFIRMED. Wow!  Bottom line, do we need any of this type as our neighbor in a MILITARY FamCamp?  This guy had/has guys over in his tiny trailer late at night.  From what we were told, they sure didn't look like coming over for a BBQ and a beer type.  Seems MWR does not know who is coming in and do not check on these people.  These civilians, for the most of them, never served a day in uniform.  They see a great deal and are moving in.  We served with honor.  and have to put up with this?  One of the civilians is doing odd jobs around the camp ground.  Wonder if he is even paying rent? Another civilian living in one of the cottages told us he is staying.  He works at a local factory and is telling his co workers to come on out and live at GP. Another civilian told us he was here.  Went to a civilian campground.  Didn't like paying so much and not getting anything.  So he is back to live long term. Another civilian plays camp ground host.  She pays rent.  Then the office give it back to her as "payment" for work.  I thought this type of dealings were not authorized by AF Regulation? Seems the manager at GP found a way to say she is paying rent.  If MWR cannot make a buck at Grassy Pond then close it down.  We personally object to civilians coming in. Grassy Pond is a very nice rec area.  Too bad it is about ready to go down the tubes with a flood of civilians. We were in the community room.  In comes a civilian woman.  She has a very nasty way about her.  She brings her dog into the community center/laundry room.  When asked to take the dog out she says "I am getting my home sprayed today for fleas and I don' leave my dog outside."  Thanks lady for bringing your mutt and its fleas into the community room.  NO respect here. She is one of the long term civilians who live here. She is in the end spot, one of the best spaces, on the other side of the road to the circle side. Way to go MWR.  Thanks.  ----  Added Jun, 2016: t66quin, thank you for your review.  Sincerely hope you do follow up by sending your written comments to higher ups. Letting civilians in is a big mistake and a insult to active and retired personnel who have served. The civilians we spoke to there had a bad, very bad, attitude about military folks.  Be it retired or active duty.   This did not happen over night at GP. Good olde boy hand shaking has gone on at GP for years with the local civilians (no military connection).  Management at GP knows this.   They like being buddy buddy with the locals.  Instead of taking care of those who are serving and have served! I would be surprised, very surprised, if ****** does anything but give mouth service. The civilians we personally spoke with do not belong at GP FamCamp.  All of them had intentions of homesteading there.  Taking advantage of the low rates.  Few, if any of them, ever served a day in the military. IMHO I would fire the entire bunch who run GP and put some go getters in there who FAVOR the military and not the civilian community.  It will take time but the military will come back.  RI remember civilians (with no military connection what so ever) out there YEARS ago.  So this didn't start yesterday.  They kicked the military out few years ago.  Nothing like group punishment.  Instead of warning and going after the one or few who needed to go...they kicked the entire lot out. Now bunch of civilians are homesteading there.  Some you don't want to know their back ground! The military customers out there will slowly go away.  Then the place will be nothing more than your cheap Ga type of fishing hole camp ground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 2014

This is an article from the January 28 Valdosta Daily Times. Grassy Pond has gone public. We spent several nights there at the end of November 2014. Guess we will need to find another stop on our way south. http://www.valdostadailytimes.com/news/local_news/grassy-pond-goes-public/image_3e787eb0-a697-11e4-a90c-af1914a47438.html

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 1 - July 5, 2013

This is a nice quite place to relax and do nothing, just make sure you have transportation and a working toilet. The bathroom/showers were bug infested.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 13-14, 2011

J.H. left this review using the Directory sofwtare: Nice facility....the only problem we saw was where office was compared to campsites..When temps are in 100's it is hard to walk downhill for check in after you find your site. I recommend checking in @ office then when you locate site you can CALL them with site # or they can provide one. Other then that It was restful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 05, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

31 November 2010

The main pond's dam had broke during the summer. The dam was being worked on. Many fish was lost. Being from Valdosta and fishing Grassy Pond for many years, this was heartbreaking. Items noted in other reviews will not get fixed until we get a Commander that loves the outdoors. Moody AFB could turn this RV camp into the best RV camp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

14-16 Feb 2010

Was put in "overflow" location down by the lake with W/E even though some sites were vacant for the duration of our stay. Camp Host was helpful in locating an overflow site giving us a choice of spots. Bath house available however was some distance away and was reasonably clean. Hosts Steve and Melee did do a lot to organize activities such as breakfast on weekends, pot lucks and other social activities in the "Round House." Campgrounds itself was not impressive, roads rough and unlevel gravel sites. I agree with a previous poster that this park seems to generate a lot more funds than are used in upkeep. A lot of FEMA trailers have been set up with satellite TV for each and concrete drives with decks. Some of this attention for the RV park in the form of paved drives and sites would be a BIG plus as would WIFI and cable TV, however I did have my own satellite. One does NOT want to swim in the lake or allow children or pets near the water. Can you say ALLIGATORS? Stayed here in a TT. The Hills.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec. 27, 2009

Grassy Pond could be one of the best "one nighters or extended stay" campgrounds in GA. Unfortunately, the campground needs a more progress/aggressive management. The RV sites are minimal at best. They have removed the kitchen at the office, that allowed guest to cook together, and any hot foods that they used to serve at the counter. Now their raising the monthly RV site rate to $380.00. I looked at all of the other RV sites in Georgia and the only other military campground that charges this high a rate is Kings Bay. If Grassy Pond had the same standards as Kings Bay, I would gladly pay the $380.00. Kings Bay is on base, has controlled access and base security, close to base facilities, extremely clean, well managed and well maintained. It appears that Moody management wants to suck in the funds that are generated by Grassy Pond for their own slush funds, rather than improve the campground. The only reason I gave four stars for hospitality, is that the on site staff, camp ground volunteers and site host, work wonders with what little they have to work with.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 5 to present (2009)

In response to the Review of Oct-Dec 2009, I feel compelled to correct some of the slander, presented behind "The Cowardly Cloak of Anonymity". There are many management problems at Grassy Pond, years of promises to pave-over the mud-holes, install cable TV, Enlarge the Club-House, level lots and install working WiFi, have gone unfulfilled. Other than when the hosts Steve and Malee Winans are here, the place is filthy, no repairs are performed and there is no visible effort to maintain or improve the facility. The latest 17% raise in fees, is an unjustified slap in the face to all who have earned the right to use this facility after many years of service. The hosts Steve & Malee are the glue that holds Grassy Pond together, they work 12 hour days cleaning, making coffee, supervising community service workers, organizing pot luck dinners, Sunday breakfasts, greeting and assisting new arrivals, etc., etc. I have never encountered hosts who do so much, for so many, for so little. There have been several instances where dead trees have fallen, causing property damage at Grassy Pond. Steve does provide a valuable service in felling such dangerous trees, and yes, the wood is used by all at the park campfire. Any volunteer help in this important work is always welcome. People come to Grassy Pond for the camaraderie, to meet old friends and to enjoy the Community Spirit, not for the sub-standard facility and not to criticize from behind closed doors. Scotti Reilly

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 2009 - Dec 2009

Grassy Pond is a conveniently located CG it is not too far from Valdosta for shopping. The base is about 35 minutes away. I have been staying at Grassy Pond a lot in the past. It was very beautiful with a lot of wildlife and friendly people there. There is a chance of Grassy Pond going down hill. The management does not get anything done or fixed properly. The camp host acts like he owns the CG and just cuts down the trees for firewood for the winter as mentioned in previous post that the CG supplies wood for fire 24/7 all winter, claiming to be taking down dangerous trees. My opinion is that if a tree has a dead limb then cut the limb off do not take the whole tree down. There have been quite a lot of trees taken down this winter. I have witnessed some of these trees being taken down in a very unsafe manner putting lives of campers as well as other civilians helping out at risk. When a camp host begins to put camper against camper because of his own unsafe actions a replacement of camp host should be in order. I would like to see more professionalism at Grassy Pond both from staff and camp host.I am ashamed that the actions of grown adults that have served our country can revert back to act like children. God bless you all happy trail.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April, 2009

Grassy Pond - that should give it away right there. Mosquitoes live here in abundance. We lived in GA for 15+ years and know mosquitoes, but this place breeds the largest. It really is a nice place, especially if you like to fish. Very quiet at night and close town and many places to eat. Good distance from Moody AF Base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

17-20 November 2008

Very nice campground. Staff was very friendly. A little too far from Moody, but plenty of shopping in Valdosta, about 12 miles away. Brand new washers and dryers a week before I got there. A little misleading though. Slots marked for coin only had three marked so you would think 75 cents per load. Wrong. $1 wash, $1.25 dry. Still not too bad. This seemed to be a good destination and many campers were there for the winter. I was in site 38. Verizon cell phone and internet worked very well. Dish also worked very well. I guess if you stay on the other side where most of the campers are, you would not be able to use Dish. In that part, campers quite close together. On the side I was on, plenty of room between sites. Not all had fire rings. Small concrete patio and picnic table.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 2006

Very friendly hosts - MWR told us there was plenty of space so we showed up without reservations - CG was FULL. Hosts found us a temporary site and provided adapters so we could share hookups with an existing site. They stated they never turn anyone away. 2 Nice lakes that should be good for fishing. Many very long term residents.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

---

Good rental trailers. RV sites looked good, though have yet to try them. Good location, not too far off the beaten path. Valdosta (Wild Adventures Park) is just around the corner. Good shopping/eateries nearby. Easy access to interstate. Friendly staff, good grounds, overall nice area. Will visit again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
14 results - showing 1 - 14