Eagle Hammock RV Park

Featured
 
4.8 (216)
151350 2 35 0 114
Eagle Hammock RV Park

Location

Installation
Navy Submarine Base, Kings Bay, GA
GPS Coordinates
30.77178, -81.54960
Location Information
Navy Submarine Base, Kings Bay, GA
RV Gate Coordinates
Franklin Gate: 30.78258, -81.57522 - Stimson Gate: 30.79188, -81.57556

Directions

Directions
FROM I-10 EAST: Exit I-10 at Exit 356 onto I-295 N(Stay Left upon exiting to go North towards Savannah, Georgia). Exit I-295 North at Exit 35-B onto I-95 North (exit from left lane). See "FROM I-95 NORTH." ---- FROM I-95 NORTH: Exit I-95 N at Georgia Exit 1 (St. Marys Rd). Turn LEFT onto St. Marys Road. Continue on St. Marys Road about 6 miles (3 traffic lights) until you reach the Franklin Gate of NSB Kings Bay, GA. Enter through Franklin Gate and travel on USS Benjamin Franklin Rd. to the second traffic light. Turn RIGHT onto USS Daniel Webster Rd. Eagle Hammock rests about 1 mile on the left. RVs are OK, despite the weight limit sign. ---- FROM I-95 SOUTH: Same as "FROM I-95 NORTH" except you turn RIGHT onto St. Marys Rd. from Exit 1. ---- NOTE: Franklin Gate is only open Monday-Friday, 0500-1830 and is closed evenings, weekends and holidays. If closed, use the Stimson Gate, which is open 24/7. To get to the Stimson gate, turn LEFT off of St. Marys Rd. onto GA spur 40/Charlie Smith Sr Dr. (third traffic light), take RIGHT at following traffic light to enter through the Stimson Gate. Turn RIGHT off of USS Henry Stimson Dr. onto USS Daniel Webster Rd. (third traffic light on base). Eagle Hammock rests 2 miles on the left. ---- Enter Stimson Main Gate (Kings Bay Rd and Spur 40) but have both IDs, which is required. St. Mary's Gate Closed, Jackson Gate (Spur 40) open 0400 - 2000 and closed weekends, Madison Gate is for housing only.

Map

Google Map (Click on the map to enlarge)
Map of Eagle Hammock RV Park

Contact Information

Phone Number
(912) 573-5262
Fax Number
(912) 573-3308
Mailing Address
Eagle Hammock RV Park on Lake D, 937 USS Daniel Webster Rd., Kings Bay, Georgia 31547
Email Address
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Campground Information

Authorized Users
Active Duty, Retirees, Reserves, National Guard, 100% DAV, DOD Civilians. Guests are allowed from April - October.
Season
All year
Reservations
Reservations can be made for up to 180 days. Reservations can be made up to 1 year in advance by Active Duty Military and 6 months in advance by all other eligible patrons.
Internet Access
Free WiFi available through-out the park and a computer for campers use in the clubhouse.
Mail Forwarding
For UPS and FedEx only: (Your name), 937 USS Daniel Webster Rd., Kings Bay, GA 31547 -- For USPS: Arrangements can be made with Base Post Office (912) 882-5199 or St. Marys Post Office (912)729-3301 (about 1 mile off base) to hold mail.
Pet Information
Limit of 2 pets allowed per campsite with usual leash and clean-up rules. Nice pet walk area.
Campground Information
Higher rates for civilians. 6 month stay limit. The park is located around a wooded 220-acre lake located in the heart of Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay. Free washers and dryers. DO NOT use a cell phone while driving on base. Rental trailers NOT available in the winter. The cabins are furnished with linens, towels, and fully equipped kitchens. They are 1 bedroom & 1 bath, and can comfortably sleep 6 persons. DOD Vehicle decals are required for base entry.
Big Rig Friendly?
Yes
Facilities
Propane, Bowling Center, Racquetball, Basketball, Tennis courts, BioDiesel available at on-base gas station.
Amenities
  • Dump, Sewer
  • Electric
  • Laundry
  • Showers
  • Beach
  • Boating, Boat Rentals
  • Hiking
  • Golf
  • Library
  • Diesel
  • Gas
  • Commissary
  • Exchange
  • Fitness Center
  • Shoppete
  • Swimming
  • Snack Bar
  • Class VI
  • Post Office
  • Car Wash

Site Information

Type of site
Spaces
Hook-ups
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
RV Site
50
W/30,50A/S/C
$19-$21
N/A
$540 - $570
RV Lakefront
10
W/30,50A/S/C
$21-$23
N/A
$570-$600
Rental Cabins
2
Full
$60
N/A
N/A

Other Information

Firearms Policy
No firearms are permitted on the base. Declare any weapons at the gate and they will be stored for you at Base Armory for the duration of your visit.
Weather Information

A beautiful and popular RV Park. Well liked by it's visitors.

Received the 2009, 2010, AND the 2011 Campers Choice Award for BEST Military Campground (Eastern USA).

Photos

EHRV from fishing pier
EH Nest
EH office
EH Nest 2
EH Late arrivals booth
EH Free Laundry
EH Cabins
EH entry & office
EH A-C rows
Lake D Gator, +/- 12'

Videos

Naval Submarine Base : Eagle Hammock RV Park - Kings Bay, Georgia
Naval Submarine Base : Eagle Hammock RV Park - Kings Bay, Georgia

Map

Swap Start/End

User reviews

216 reviews

 
(187)
 
(24)
 
(5)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Location 
 
4.7  (216)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.9  (216)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.8  (216)
Value 
 
4.8  (216)
Overall Experience 
 
4.8  (216)
To write a review please register or
View all reviews View most helpful
June 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Outstanding facility. Easy to get reservations (1-800-NAVYBED), nice price $20. Full hook ups. Nice, helpful host both times I stayed. Cut stay by one day and received refund for that day. Bathrooms, clubhouse, laundry all fine. A little out of the way on base, but a nice base beautiful area. Wish all famcamps were this good. I think I've used this campground 3-4 times over the last 4 yrs while RVing and it consistently is a good operation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
3-8 June 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Loved everything about it!!! Beautiful location, clean, quiet. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The facilities are clean, neat, and very nice. My wife and I totally enjoyed our stay. Really am looking forward to coming back when we can stay a bit longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 17 to June 7, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Been quite a while since we have been here and staying for a few weeks and the hosts are fabulous. New furniture in the clubhouse and new stove and fridge and great lawn furniture to use. Some folks have been here for years and the units are not looking good and some vehicles are not being used but sitting on their sites. Many military are now living here and children are running willy-nilly and I almost got run over by a bicycle on the pavement to the clubhouse as the child was looking backwards not forward. I came out of the clubhouse after we arrived and small children were whacking each other with plastic baseball bats and a little boy was crying and I stopped the whacking and they scattered. Not a good environment for small children as they have many acres to run around and school is out now. Not many retired folks are here right now and in the winter it must be difficult to get a reservation when about half of the spots are already taken year round.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
13 May 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Easy after-hours check-in with camp host who was very helpful. Very quiet at night. Had great sleep. No problem getting reservation same day; they had a few vacant spots. We didn't know where we would get to by that date. Concrete pads.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Good FAM Camp. Very easy to get the RV park. You will have your coach inspected due to some issues last year with people coming on base and spray painting the missiles . We stayed here for four days. Every one is friendly and durning high season from what i understand there is so much going on at the club house. There are all kinds of activities. This base is huge and has a extremely long bike path behind the RV park to ride your bicycles, round trip over 6 miles. The wild life is abundant. The base is so beautiful and nice. The campground has nice RV level pads to keep your RV off the dirt. Nice hookups and cable of 40 channels is included. Our site #3 had two large trees to block some of the hot afternoon sun. There is a lot of space between each RV slot and with hedges to provide some privacy. There is a large club house with air conditioning. Full kitchen with stove, fridge and many more amenities. On the downside is that the laundry facilities are very old and some of the machines are not working. The AC for the laundry facility and bathrooms was broken along with the Ice machine. Front offices has no idea when and if they will get fixed. This park is well maintained and you can see that. This base is great for families and extended time. Check in was simple and the cost is only $20.00 a day for full hookups. The rules STATE THE “MAXIMUM stay is 180 days” This is not enforced due to upper management not enforcing the rules and allowing homesteading to go on. There is some Rver’s that have been in the same spot for over five years! While management is letting active duty, retires, contractors and DOD people stay here for years. This is an MWR benefit not a RIGHT to abuse the rules and benefits our retires worked so hard for. Active duty has other housing options vs a MWR benefit. It makes it hard for others to enjoy the same benefit due to lack of spots. Everyone needs to rotate out at 180 days unless there is an available slot. Just like other military bases you must move out and wait 24 hours before making a new reservation. I don’t know how soon they are going to add 40 new slots but it wont be in the next few months. Would come back here for sure. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We've camped here twice & it was lovely both times! We had a nice lake view and the facilities are so clean (thanks to Addie, because of her, that makes all the difference in how nice it is)! The laundry facility is great, not to mention it's free for guests to use. There are boats, bikes, etc, to use or rent. And lots of dedicated bike lanes! It's really a wonderful place to camp. St. Mary's is very close, which means Lang's Seafood is as well. Don't miss that yummy Georgia shrimp! (Closed Sun/Mon.) Also St. Mary's Seafood is quite good, too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Fantastic campground. Not one complaint.The community center, bath house is one of the best we have ever seen.they ever have benches and tables to sit in while waiting for your laundry (free laundry). Huge Webber grill, I believe for the campers just outside of the bath house.We have traveled the country in our RV and have made it to every state except Kansas. We try to stay in military RV parks whenever possible. This one was right up with the best. The gal in the office is very friendly.One thing to note is they do leave at 4pm. The camp host also was very friendly and made us feel welcomed.We received a packet of information and things to see in the area.Sites were perfect.Level concrete pads and easy hook ups.Cable and WiFi worked perfectly. Campground was quiet and very neat. We would not hesitate to stay here again. Follow the directions on this page.Stay on St Mary's Road to get to the gate. Our RV GPS and regular GPS both took us to the gate that is closed. 5* campground for sure!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
October 2018 - February 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
October 2018 - February 2019 Our stay here was great. The sites were level with full hookups. They have overflow parking with water and electric and dry camping. The office works tirelessly to move them to a full hookup site. They have a community center with a new stove for general use. There is generally cards (hand & foot) every day at 1300. Twice a month there is an ice cream social for the campers sponsored by MWR. Every Sunday, they have bunko and every Wednesday is game night. The campground is on a lake where fishing is available. The base has a small commissary and NEX. Beth at the office, does a great job. Camp hosts are always available when the office is closed. Highly recommend Eagle Hammock and would definitely stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Winter 2018-2019
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I absolutely support priority for active duty that are on vacation or TDY to the base. All of us were active duty at one point, many of us have seen combat and bled while in service. Kings Bay and NAS Key West both use the “campgrounds” as alternative housing so we have many active duty that are here for the duration of the tour, even have retired who live here full time. I think that is the biggest negative at Eagle Hammock. Staff and Hosts are all hands on and very helpful, facilities are good. Walking and biking on base are very good as well as well as base facilities. Location is good with access to Cumberland Island easy access to Brunswick and Jacksonville. Little cold for winter but a good stay so far.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 2
Nov - Dec 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Good Fam Camp. Biggest negative we have is being slowly over ran by home steading people. Active duty, civil service and contractors. One retired camper counted, I believe, over 30 spaces occupied by home stealers! This is not family housing. These people draw ample money to stay off base. Fam Camps are for Rec purposes. Not a mobile home park. Office staff was nice. Polite. Place was clean. Nice large sized laundry room. Always kept clean. Over all good place. Right off I95. Just kick the homesteaders out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 0
Oct 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Hey, hey Larry F. This is the first visit for me to this NSB Kings Bay. Following the directions as written mislead me onto the wrong road! The directions for I-95 from the North currently read, take exit 1, turn RIGHT onto St. Mary’s Rd, that is WRONG! It should be a LEFT turn onto St. Mary’s Rd... The directions for I-95 from the South currently read, take exit 1, turn LEFT onto St. Mary’s Rd that is WRONG! It should be a RIGHT turn onto St. Mary’s Rd... For these two directions, all other notes of turns are correct. Someone like me, and you, with a large unit going 6 miles up a county road, in the wrong direction, will be searching for a place to turn around in and injure their vehicles. I was lucky to have only gone 3miles before double checking map to directions and had an easy place to “U” turn...  (Editors note: Directions have been corrected)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug 6, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Have not been here since March 2015 and what a difference since then. About 75% of the sites are filled with homesteaders and it is very obvious they are here to stay. Grass was cut but sidewalks around the community center were not cleared of the dried grass that blew onto the sidewalk and our site was covered with dead grass and dirt also. I went into the C.C. no library anymore and a foul food smell was coming from the fridge. The good old days at some of the FamCamps are gone!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
March 29-April 1, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We love it there stopping again on way north in a few days...I have found the best route to be I 95 to GA exit 3. East on 40 (E Kings Hwy) about 2 miles to left on Kings Bay Rd. Takes you straight in the Stimson gate. 24/7.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 11-18, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent a week and it was great. We have nothing but good to say about the management, facilities, and campsites. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Jun 20 - 22, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great RV park located on a good size pond/small lake. Took us a while to find it as our GPS kept trying to take us through base gates that were no longer being used. Very clean and friendly and the laundry facilities were free. Strong WiFi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Eagle Hammock is a GREAT RV park. Very clean, neat and friendly. Plenty of space between each site so you feel very comfortable and you have your own space. Each site has a concrete pad, patio, fire pit, picnic table and the utilities are neatly behind a little fenced area that is surrounded by bushes so they are not unsightly. Lawns are well kept as well as the laundry (free) and club house. The park has Wifi but we didn't use it and Verizon signal was excellent. We loved it and would go back again and again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 27-30, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The Camp Host do a wonderful job. They are very proactive and concerned with the beauty and quality of the park. Great Job!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
October 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed here years ago. Years ago we would have given this camp ground a 5.0 in each rating. It has changed over the years. For the worse. This Fam Camp is now a permanent housing area for homesteaders. About half of the park is now homesteaders. We did not get a clear cut answer from management how long someone can stay. Seems who you asked you will get a different answer to that question. Seems management and the host shy away from saying anything about the active duty homesteaders. Talking with a few of the campers revealed that people have been staying here, not moving, for years! A Fam Camp is not housing, mobile home park, or permanent lodging facility. It is a recreational area for all to enjoy. People should be limited to staying a certain length of time and move on. i.e. stay 90 days and then gone for 90. The active duty military and base civil servants (who are most of the homesteaders here now) get paid ample COLA and quarters money. We were told there are quarters available on base as well. There is no justified reason for them to homestead in the Fam Camp. Some of the home stealers are senior officers and CPOs. There is ample housing in the local area. They elect, as one told us, to live full time in the RV park to save money and pocket the quarters and COLA money. And, pay no utilities, taxes, sewer, etc. What a deal homesteading on base. Over flow camping is permitted. We saw many overflow campers hooked into the space next to them. Double dipping off one pedestal. Parked on the grass in a non RV space. Tapping into the water, electric and sewer of the permanent space next to them. This is tacky. Looks bad. Unsafe. There was a OF camper on the grass next to a permanent space anywhere they could fit one there. Rules say to control dogs. No constant barking of dogs. Forget that! We heard a few dogs tied up to RVs barking and barking. Never shut up. Sign on the bathroom door stated due to vandals base security will visit more often. Kids ride bikes and play in and out of the breeze way between club house and the laundry room. Also in and out of the laundry, bath rooms and club room. Host just look at them and keep going. They do not tell the kids this is not a play area. Guess host and management are scared of the homesteading active duty types. All of the kids belonged to homesteaders - active duty types. Over all this camp ground has gone down hill. Up keep is poor. Attitudes of people staying here is "us against you." A few more spaces, along the water, were added since we were here last. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 15 5
23 Sept 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What else can I add but this was the nicest milcamp we stayed at east of the Mississippi River. They even had ice cream.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
July 1-7, 9-23, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My husband & I visited NSB Kings Bay for the first time this summer & stayed on a lakeside lot at Eagle Hammock. The campground is wonderful, & lakeside lots are huge & worth the extra $2/night. We enjoyed many breathtaking sunsets over Lake D that only our God could paint. Navaida (hope I spelled that correctly!), in the office is so kind & very helpful, as were the camp hosts. (Campground office staff at Mayport could certainly take lessons from her!) The laundry room is very nice & clean, as are the community room & restrooms. Lots of neat paths for walking the dogs & never had a problem with ticks....we use the Seresto collars. The base, BX & Commissary are nice & we took advantage of the dog park just outside one of the gates in a residential area. We cannot say enough good things about this campground! We will certainly be returning! Wish all military-run campgrounds were as nice as this one & Pelican Point at MCAS Cherry Point. Oh, and if you love great barbecue, you have to try Malson's Barbecue in Kingsland. Oh my goodness is it delicious! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 2
View all user reviews