Eagle Hammock RV Park

Featured
 
4.8 (218)
165331 2 35 0 118

User reviews

218 reviews

 
(189)
 
(24)
 
(5)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Location 
 
4.7  (218)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.9  (218)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.8  (218)
Value 
 
4.8  (218)
Overall Experience 
 
4.8  (218)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
218 results - showing 81 - 100
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... »
Ordering
March 6 - March 13, 2012
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Before I get jumped on, I've stayed here several time and have rated the park 5s across the board. I've never had a major complaint. This time I knocked the Amenities/Facilities down to 3 because of the WiFi. It was barely usable during my stay. I rated the Overall Experience a 3 because of the following. Site E-9 looks like it may be homesteaders. They have large wooden steps for entry to their trailer, the site under their trailer is jammed with whatever they can get under it, they have very large patio furniture, and even though the rules state that you can only have appliances that are built into you RV, they have a refrigerator outside on the patio. Another site, D-5 is storing a popup camper on the grass next to the picnic table. I believe the rule states only one camping vehicle is allowed per site. I've stayed at Keesler and Hurlburt Famcamps and is my opinion that these two campgrounds are the worst run and worst in experience in the military. I just hope the two mentioned sites don't multiply into 4 by next spring when we arrive. Yes, We'll be back, The people talking a tight ship being run here should look around a little. I have no problems with Charlie but have never met any of the other folks here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
Dec 15, 2011 - Mar 7, 2012
(Updated: July 28, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
IMHO this famcamp is #1, this due to the fact that the personnel running the show, { Charlie, Missy and Ron.} I believe this is because, the staff knows how to run a successful RV park. This RV park is very deserving of the recognition. I thoroughly agree w/all the positive comments in prior messages. We've never felt so welcome as we have here, We were warmly greeted by Charlie & Missy who made us feel at home. Didn't want to leave!{Those Swamp gnats won} Credit for this amazing place goes to Charlie the manager. She goes the extra mile for everyone. Charlie & Missy are true professional and they keep a tight ship. Because of them, is the reason this RV Park is #1 in the fleet, and Eastern USA thank you Ladies for your service{well done}. I will sincerely miss you ladies and Missy I will miss our chats about nothing but about everything. This RV park is on a secure base so it is heavily patrolled. Best wishes, and a hi ho silver and away. Retired Marine, extraordinaire, traveler, and philanthropist. Simper Fi to all my brothers and sisters in my generation and future generation. “THANK YOU!!!!” Kenny D9
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
20 Dec 2011 to 20 Feb 2012
(Updated: March 04, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Close enough to Jacksonville, but not too close. Sites are large with fireplaces. Nice lake for canoeing and bird watching. Site hosts are great, with special kudos to Charlie and Betty. Wireless recently upgraded, and generally excellent connection. They have won top Eastern CG for 3 years running, with good reason.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan. 23 to Mar. 5, 2012
(Updated: March 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My prior comments about folks complaining about price has not stopped folks coming here and staying for months. Overflow sites filled every day so would like to see a little flexibility in the policy allowing folks to be here for long periods of time. Do not use washers and dryers but after 7 years they are worn out and new ones are on order according to management. Upgrade on WiFi done or being done as so many folks use all sorts of devices and have problems getting on or staying on. We use MiFi so have no direct knowledge but heard lots of grumbling. All these upgrades cost money so maybe the complainers will understand the reason for price increases and lets not forget how utility rates have gone up over the years and still no charge for laundry which runs 24 hours a day. Have heard about and observed problems with some of the MWR volunteers in the campground and they are being addressed also. Will be back later this year so looking forward to another fun-filled time.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan 18 - 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
T.B. left this review using the Directory software: - This directory might need reprogramming, to allow giving Charlie and Eagle Hammock more than only five stars. Only disappointment in our latest (of five stays) was finding that Domino Pizza took over the food concession at the Bowling Alley and Irish Pub. One can no longer order Fish & Chips in the Irish Pub. Now you have to leave the Pub to order (and then pick up) food ordered off the Domino's menu. No Fish & Chips to be found on Domino's menu.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan 21, 2012
(Updated: January 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is my fourth time visiting this park. This park is so clean that you can eat off of your site, because the cement pads and the grassy areas are spotless. The staff (Charlie & Missy) are true professions and they keep a tight ship. Because of them, is the reason this RV Park is #1 in the fleet, thank you, Retired USN
WW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov. 6, 2011 to Dec. 28, 2011
(Updated: January 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Have been coming to this RV park since it opened 7 years ago and it still is looking as good as the first time we stayed here. The staff takes such pride in what they do and that is important to us. First time we stayed here this long and since price increased rumor has it some folks will not pay the new price so might be easier for folks to get in now. Being a Floridian now we do not go looking for wildlife and in the 7 years we have been going here not once have we seen a snake anywhere in the park or swimming in the lake. The gators hang out on the sunny side of the lake and we did drive our car to an area once to see it but you have to look across the lake to see it. As someone mentioned before I too see this military RV park as the Gold Standard and anyone who stays here knows why they get so many awards.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 30th and 31st 2011
(Updated: October 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
There is a reason this is always rated as one of "the" best RV parks in the military. It's very clean, roomy, and the people there take pride in what they do. It shows. I wish they took as much care of the golf course. It's ok, but compared to the RV park, it's not great. I guess the only drawback is that it's off the beaten path. Quite a ways from I95. Kudo's to the help there. They are great!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 1 - Oct 2, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
B.M. left this review using the Directory software - We were planning on staying two weeks but fell in love with the place. The view of the wildlife (i.e. birds, turtles and alligators) is great and the staff that run the RV park are the best we've come across in all the years we've been RVing. St Marys is a cute town just about ten minutes away with some really great restaurants.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept. 9, 2011
(Updated: September 10, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a very nice campground, well maintained. Everyone is friendly, large sites and we were given lots of information about the base when we checked in. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Juny 7 - 11, 2011
(Updated: July 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
VERY NICE PARK VERY CLEAN. EASY TO GET TO OFF 95 EXIT 1 WEATHER WAS GREAT THE WEEK I WAS THERE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PARK
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 11th and 12th, 2011
(Updated: July 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a GREAT park. Wonderful sites, nice staff, clubhouse, free laundry, trail around the lake. It is the GOLD standard for military RV parks. Only thing that I would wish to see is diesel fuel sold on base. The staff had signs posted all over regarding poisonous snakes "on the move", so watch for them. We never saw any.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 15-16, 2011
(Updated: July 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
After passing by here on our way north and south on I-95 many many times,I vowed to take the time to stay. We stayed at a lot of nice Fam Camps on this 2 month road trip I can honestly say that this if by far the nicest. A lot of fam camps we stayed at never answered their phones or returned phone messages either by phone or e-mail. We took chances driving many miles to reach some, was afraid there would be no spot for us.....Missey assured us we would have a spot here....A WORD OF ADVICE....IF USING GPS TO REACH THE CAMP GROUND TURN IT OFF AS THE GPS WILL TAKE YOU TO THE BACK GATE WHICH HAS BEEN CLOSED FOR A COUPLE OF YEARS.....IT WAS A CHALLENGE TURNING OUR 5TH WHEEL AROUND ON A TINY 2 LANE STREET TO GET BACK TO THE FRANKLIN GATE TO GET INTO THE BASE. It was definitely worth the trip here....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 4-17,2011
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
L.R. left this review using the Directory software: - It's easy to see why this place is voted #1. First class operation and we will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
16-19 April 2011
(Updated: April 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
To my fellow shipmates, this is the place to be. This park is rated #1 by the navy and when you arrive, and met the staff, you will know why. This is realy a great place to be, and there is alot to do in the area. Have a great time here, w.ray wyatt(ret)USN
WW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 12-17, 2011
(Updated: April 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This place certainly deserves the award. Super staff, clean park and so nice. Spent five nights in a 'lake front' site. If there is one negative it is the distant loud speaker warning about the restricted area. We will return for certain to take in the Cumberland Island tour.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 18th to 24th, 2011
(Updated: March 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Has been almost 3 months since we have been here and find many of the same RV's here in the same sites. We were not aware you can now reserve a site for 3 months and hear you can then reserve for 2 more months. Could not get the length of stay we hoped for and as much as I dread saying it this may be another Military Campground that is more for the homesteaders and not the 1 or 2 week stayers at a campground like us. Everything else about the staff and facilities are still the best but not happy about folks staying 3 months and more and not rotating out to allow others in.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
16 - 31 March 2011
(Updated: March 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I stopped writing reviews, because I learned that what people thought was bad for them might be good to me. With that said, this is the 74th military campground we have visited. This is the best run campground of the 74. They want your stay here to be a great one. They don't care about your rank, officer and enlisted get treated the same, as it should be. If your in the area, visit this campground. This campground is Awesome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
20-27 February 2011
(Updated: March 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent the 20th thru 27 February at this wonderful place. Everything was First Class, from the Welcome packet to the location and even the weather was perfect. Plenty of activities available, ice cream get-together-pizza evenings, tours, van trips to local attractions and on base activities and the gym. I think what makes this place work so well is that they have plenty of help for all functions and one or two folks are not task with trying to accomplish everything. We toured Jekyll Island and St. Mary's and did a lot of bike riding and walking while there. One of the best bike riding areas we have visited, just ensure you always wear a helmet, Security folks are very watchful for folks that do not. The only area I could see that could be improved is a little paving of the campground inner roads. The gravel becomes quite dusty in windy conditions. The facility was full during our stay with Overflow being utilized to the max. Great facility and the price is right.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
December 26 to January 1st 2011
(Updated: January 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the best sites we have been to. It must be the Navy but we've been to four Navy camps and they are all great. Hats off to Charley for being so helpful and to Betty for all the activities. They run a really good "ship". There are plenty to do for that wish to stay active. The walking trails are very nice. Saw an Eagle flying over the lake and heard boar in the wooded area. All sites are concrete and pretty level. You can get by with a bike but if you need a rental, Enterprise will not come on the base. They will come to the gates for pickup and drop off. This is a great place. Will keep them on my list of most favorite campgrounds.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
218 results - showing 81 - 100
« 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... »