Eagle Hammock RV Park

Featured
 
4.8 (218)
165331 2 35 0 118

User reviews

218 reviews

 
(189)
 
(24)
 
(5)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Location 
 
4.7  (218)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.9  (218)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.8  (218)
Value 
 
4.8  (218)
Overall Experience 
 
4.8  (218)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
218 results - showing 61 - 80
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »
Ordering
July 1 - 5 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great RV park. Very clean showers, bathrooms and laundry. The laundry is FREE! The hosts are great and the activities area is top notch. They really work hard to keep activities going. We Will be going back to this one. It is Amazing. The folks at the base were so nice, making us feel welcome. Thanks for a great stay!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 6-8, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Absolutely the very best, beautiful little camp ground, will accommodate any size rig. We stayed here in route to Hudson for window repair on our Discovery, and then on to MacDill AFB for some R&R. We stayed again at Hammock bay on our way home. Such a great place to take a break. We even saw an alligator.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6 Jul 2013
(Updated: July 06, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This wasn't our first stay in this gem, and it won't be the last! Extremely clean, quiet and restful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 7 to 21, 2013
(Updated: April 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We often stop here and spend the extra few dollars for Lakefront. The staff is very friendly and the on-base facilities are excellent. The Camp Host can handle check-in after hours. FYI - the Campground has propane and the NEX Fuel Station just inside the Stimson Gate (North Entrance) has diesel; however, the overhead clearance is 12.0'. St. Marys is a nice little town and St. Marys Seafood on Osborn has excellent seafood at a great value. The base is good for biking, kayaking and tennis (the courts are locked and the times that you can get a key vary; check at the Fitness Center). Wifi worked very well!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 17-27, 2013
(Updated: March 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had a very nice and enjoyable stay here. I gave it lower grades last year because of obvious homesteading. If there are any this time they are hiding it pretty well. If the parks allow it I don't care as long as it's not obvious, large patio furniture and house size refrigerators on the patio. I saw none of this during our stay. The new manager is very easy to deal with. I had or didn't need to have any dealings with the host. We arrived on Sunday and our welcome packet was waiting for us. There are plenty of social events and if you don't participate it's your own fault. We didn't participate but that was our choice. There are enough things to do around the area to keep us busy. It doesn't take much to amuse us. We drove to the little town of Folkston and just watched the trains go through. About 70 trains go through here every day. The town built a viewing area right by the tracks. They have chairs, benches and picnic tables and if you love trains, it's a great place to sit for 2 or 3 hours. The Okefenokee Swamp National Wildlife Refuge is about 8 miles south of Folkston. A lot of installations are no longer issuing windshield decals but Kings Bay still does and are required for base entry. Our decal expires at the end of March and we were reminded of that when we first arrived. The next day we were able to get new ones and they don't expire until 2019.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Feb 11 - Mar 5, 2013
(Updated: March 06, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great RV park. Very clean showers, bathrooms and laundry. The laundry is FREE! The hosts are great and the activities area is top notch. They really work hard to keep activities going. I never saw a night or day that there wasn't somebody doing something in there. Wifi worked great. We did not use the cable this time but it has limited channels but hey it free so no complaint. The spaces are very nice and level, road gravel and no problems with them even after 2 days of heavy rain. There is a nice walking path around the lake such a nice walking area. We will be back ... 3 thumbs up to the staff and volunteers there they go out of their way to please and provide a safe, happy and wonderful place to RV!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec 2012 - Mar 2013
(Updated: February 17, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I am the Volunteer Social Host at Kings Bay. I make up the calendar each month subject to approval of the manager. I do not believe any other military campground has use of a van to provide activities for campers. I try to provide activities that everyone will enjoy. Campers are not only given a copy but I post notices in the free laundry, the community center, the men and and ladies restrooms. When calendars were late this month from the printer a friend made copies for me. (Thanks Gary!). For two days I delivered them and tried to let everyone personally know about our Super Bowl Party. We have ice cream socials, wine and cheese parties, pot lucks, trips, Bunco, breakfasts, steak nights, Zumba and Bingo in St Mary's, movie night with free popcorn (provided by the camp hosts). I also try to organize things not on the calendar....pick up card games for example. Yes, campers are now asked to pay a small price to go in the van, but they seem to enjoy being driven. I'm always stunned when someone thinks there is nothing to do here. Come join me in March for not just the every day activities, but a boat trip to Cumberland Island, Harris Heck NWR, Darien, T-Rays, Skippers, Okefenokee NWR. St. Mary's Historic Tour, etc. If you are here this Wed. I still have a few seats on our all day trip to St Augustine for the trolley tour and lunch. All of our volunteer camp hosts work very hard to make Eagle Hammock a terrific RV park and I personally appreciate their help and support with the social events. You roll up your sleeves and pitch in every time. Thank you! Betty
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 2
February 2013
(Updated: February 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Have enjoyed RVing at military parks over the years and find Eagle Hammock a friendly and active park. The hosts are helpful without being pushy and allow you as a camper your privacy unless help is requested. Hosts are always available 24/7. Hosting sites are at the entry and mid way through the park so to be an easy access from both ends of the park. The Club House (the nest) is always busy with games, entertainment and sign up sheets for on base and/or off base activities. The MWR group has instituted a fee this year for using the van as transportation depending on how far the trip is. If the van isn't available hosts and hospitality hostess make an effort to get car pools together at no charge! All and all this park provides a lively place for 'NEW' and the world traveled RVer. BTW homesteading isn't allowed - the only long term sites are for activite duty or medical. Kings Bay is 45 min from JAX FL and Brunswick GA - both BIG cities with loads of things to do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
January 2013
(Updated: February 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
New at RV'ing and had to experience this one early on as it was given awards several years. The actual sites are good for any type of RV, inroads are stones so bikes have difficulty and actually saw a person fall off the bike. Not much to do in this area and choice of activities is poor. Social calendar on Tues. and Thurs. is Zumba and Bingo in St. Marys, trips in a van cost you and many get cancelled due to lack of interest, not sure who makes up this calendar but not much going on here as an organized function. Think it might be because just about all folks I talked to here are homesteading (now I know what that means) so no need for them to socialize as this is how they live for the winter I guess. The laundry and bathhouse is good and the community room is comfortable but not used much. Not sure if all RV parks have hosts but one here is not friendly and sits outside at his picnic table for hours. Have one host parked in the middle of the campground so very inconvenient for folks coming in if that host is on duty. Using my computer is sketchy as signal must be blocked or something interfering with it so go off base to use it when needed. Probably would stop here again for a few days on the way back home as it is convenient to the interstate.
JS
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 5 6
Dec. 30, 2012 to Jan. 30, 2013
(Updated: January 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Back for one month and some days there are several sites available so for those heading south and need a place to stay for a day you should be able to get in. If needed they will double up on an end site for you and give you electric and water. We are on a site that overflow uses and our water pressure goes down of course but can always turn on our water pump if need be. Some talk about stopping homesteading but may be idle chit chat so remains to be seen. Also rules about when you can make a reservation may have changed but nothing definite about that either, best bet is to call and ask the new manager Matt Sparks about changes so you have the accurate information. Yes, there are less activities scheduled but campers have stepped up and formed groups that play all types of card and board games and movie shown on Friday nights by campers. Always enjoy our stay here and a trip into Jax for all kinds of shopping, events etc. is very convenient so if you have not been here please give it a try.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan 7, 2013
(Updated: January 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Called a week ahead and was told only available would be overflow. Arrived and staff is super and this place has one of the best shower facilities we've seen. Low value rating based on poor WIFI and limited cable channels (missed the BSC game). Something needs to be done about the GPS coordinates however. DO NOT use them to get to the park. You will be lead to a long closed entry point. Better use the coordinates for the gate closest to the campground (Benjamin Franklin).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct. 26th to 28th, 2012
(Updated: October 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stopped here on the way back from our trip to New York and New England and were surprised it was so full already. After looking around it appears some of the same people from last winter are here already and they told us they have a 6 month reservation and some never left from our stay last winter. When we made a reservation for Dec. for about 6 weeks we were asked if we had plans on coming back in March or April and should make that reservation now, hmmmmmmmmmmmm rules no longer apply I guess so if you plan on going here call now and book everything or you will not get in. This is definitely a homestead park for full timers now so will see how our stay goes this winter.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Oct 13, 2012
(Updated: October 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our first time using a military campground, what a great place to start. We can't do anything but rave about eagles hammock. Site, view, laundry, golf course.........it's the Best!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 15/16, 2012
(Updated: October 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Even though our stay was just 2 days we enjoyed it thoroughly. We did not use the facilities but walked through and everything looked clean. We liked the golf course very much and played in record time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 17, 2012
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
E.D. left this review using the Directory Software: - We often stop at Eagle Hammock and find it to be top notch. Convenient location not far from Interstate 95.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 31, 2012
(Updated: June 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We frequently use this campground as an overnight travel stay. Each time we are always impressed with every aspect of the park. The sites are spacious, level and immaculately maintained. The common area and the restrooms are always very clean and again immaculately maintained. The roads are pot hole free ad level. The staff has always been courteous and helpful. You receive a welcome packet with a wealth of information about the base and the surrounding area. Cannot think of one negative. Each time we stay we always say we need to make our stay longer rather than just an overnight. Maybe someday!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
2012
(Updated: June 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We've had nothing but stellar service from the staff and have enjoyed clean campgrounds in the last year. We have visited the base 4 times and have stayed each time. A little out of the way, but the trade-off is peace and quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 22, 2012
(Updated: April 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
There is a reason why this is a top rated campground. We pulled in on a Sunday afternoon and our information packet was waiting for us along with our assigned campsite number. A camphost came to meet us at our site as we were hooking up to see if we knew where everything was located. We were two sites down from the community room/kitchen and library. The two bookshelves of books were packed. A common computer was available. The laundry with five washers and six dryers was very clean. The equipment was in tip-top shape and the cost was zero. FREE washers and dryers! We did all our wash on Monday morning in about an hour. I wish all campgrounds would take note. The campsite we stayed on was a pull through with full 50 amp electricity, water and sewer. We went over to the Fitness Center on Monday morning, worked out and returned to our motorhome for a shower. We had lunch and departed before noon. It is a great place to stay and we will definitely be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Feb 2012
(Updated: March 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Did not stay here, rode thru park and asked questions, it looks like homesteaders stay for winter, could not get in. Park should start restricting length of stay like NS Mayport has. This would be fair for everyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
March 21, 2012
(Updated: March 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I have been to this RV park more than all of the other military parks, because of the high standards. However on this stay there was several washers/dryers broken and not slated for repair. I have on several visits inquired about lake front site only to be told that they are filled. This park is one big click, with snow birds taking all of the really nice spots, which in turns leaves people who want to stay for a shorter period left out in the cold. Mayport Naval Base had this problem and they went to a system that is fair to all, not just the snow birds. Clicks are nice, but not on the naval base, which should be equal for all.
WW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
218 results - showing 61 - 80
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... »