NASKW Campground

Hot
 
4.3 (146)
266517   2   33   4   102

User reviews

20 reviews with 3 stars

146 reviews

 
(81)
 
(40)
 
(20)
 
(5)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.8  (146)
 
4.0  (146)
 
3.8  (146)
 
4.5  (146)
 
4.2  (146)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
20 results - showing 1 - 20  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan 25, 2017

See my review from Feb 16 last year. To add what's going on this year. No improvements on any of last years observations. The new complaint is the waiting lists for full hook ups, some genius decided it would be better (for who?) if we could not tell where we are on the list. What does that person think? that we are all idiots and can't count. So now people stand in front of the boards counting the names to see what number they are. The bathroom cleanliness is worse this year. No cleaning service on weekends or holidays. On MLK weekend there was A TURD FLOATING ON THE MENS ROOM FLOOR. Trashcan was overflowing, shower curtain rod in last stall broken and laying in a flood of water. Sickening and disgusting. Where is the NAS health department? Nobody cuts the grass in any of the areas of dry or hookup camping. If you think it needs cutting you cut it yourself. After coming here since 1994 the only real improvement has been the Gowifi service for internet usage. Everything has got worse and nobody seems to give a damn. Rooster is still keeping people awake in Sigsbee circle starting about 0300 every morning. Management should go visit Pelicans Roost campground in Jacksonville to see how a campground should be run.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct-Nov 2016

Agree with below (the next one down) comments. Bathrooms were dirty. Over all looked like much needed weed eating, grass cutting, liter pick up, fixing up etc is needed. Seems to have gone down in the up keep since last year and other years back. Tent campers: they closed the tent area down the road from NEX. Guess it is called Arthur Street area. Such a shame. Word is it was closed cause of flooding. Been that way for years. All of the tent sites did not flood. True reason may be the big rig RVs complained about tents, and their POVs, blocking their view (RVers view). I heard such complaints few years ago. So, suspect they got rid of the tenters to pacify the RVs. Shame. Tent campers have just as much right to camp here. Host are host. Few good ones there and a few you don't even want to meet or deal with. Won't mention names. But sure you know who they are. Trumbo is still good place to dry camp. Area by the inlet is fixed up nice. That should be the tent area. Go figure. Guards back on the gate. Good news. Laundry room ran by NEX is still dirty, trashy and dirty. What else is new. For the money they take in each year off RVers you would think much more could be done here. Wrong.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

16-23 Oct 2016

Concur with previous comments on how the system is being played by many active duty buying rigs on the government, but this is not a new problem with the substandard housing rules and how the housing allowances are allocated. We dry camped for two days prior to placement in a power site, but before we hooked up I used a weed eater and lawnmower to clean up the site since it does not look like there has been any cleanup done in months. The maintenance of the park is an issue that could be fixed by mowing and weed eaters. The camp hosts were exceptional, Jeff and Mo helped us a lot and especially on the weekend when the office is closed. Wifi good in most sites, but we did not try at Trumbo annex.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 01, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 16- May16, 2016

I'll echo some of the thoughts expressed in previous comments. The location of the Sigsbee campground is great, beautiful views, nice cool breeze, it's the perfect location. The price as well is pretty darn nice, you definitely won't beat it down here. The commissary and NEX are very close by, there is a gym, bath houses and laundry facilities. The statement about the bathroom facilities needing a facelift is accurate however as well as the statement about crappy roads. My issue comes primarily with management. The statement made about them seeming to "make up rules" seems spot on. I feel like they live to complain about every little thing and it's never about anything substantial but rather little things that no one else would bat an eye at. Such silly examples could include, car toward the front of your rig=move it or we'll fine you, Boat won't fit in the car wash and you wanna hose off your car/boat at the site for a few minutes=we'll fine you. Now please don't get me wrong, I have no issue following rules, I am in the military after all. I would also say if you are infringing in any way on anyone else's vacation then you need to reevaluate as well. However, if the "rules" don't seem to have any real basis and you're not bothering anyone then what is the big deal? This is supposed to be relaxing and the almighty MWR (that's a whole other issue,.....) should exist to make the service members life better, not bombard them with unnecessary/annoying rules and threaten to call security when asked to explain. Yes, that happened, I'm still waiting to see the instruction where it defines all of this. My friend and I were parking our second vehicles (we're PCSing and waiting on housing) in a small grassy area by my rig, we were forced to move them because it was deemed a "community area". Mind you there are no grills/tents/benches/tables or anything else that could make one think that was a hopping community spot. Additionally, the very small size of it made it's use as anything other than a parking spot highly unlikely. But logic aside that spot just has to be open for the "mythical" weekender that can't find a spot to hang out anywhere else on the acres of open land at  Sigsbee. That was about a month ago, what's has happened on that chunk of prime real estate since then? You guessed it, nothing, it has sat empty right next to my RV spot where I now have to cram my vehicles in. Overall this campground isn't terrible, as mentioned before it does have many nice attributes. But my 2 cents is that the campground community as a whole would benefit if management would calm down and save their thunder for when someone is really ruining the atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 2015 to May 2016

Here they go again, making up the rules as they go. Dry camp has been empty for awhile now. We have had empty full hook-ups for a few days. A friend went to request a different site and was told that they couldn't move because it would screw up the rotation of everyone else. Nobody has rotated in weeks! They would still have the same number of empty sites if they let them move. I think that Dawn is holding the sites for her friends when they come over from Trumbo. It should be first come first served to be fair to everyone. This place has really gone down hill since she took over. They don't cut the grass, rarely do they trim the trees, when they do they just leave the trimmings lay where they fall for weeks. The roads are terrible gigantic pot holes that turn into mud holes 6 to 12 inches deep. This place needs a complete makeover starting with the office workers. The other thing is the chickens, not to mention the health issues for the kids and pets they get on your RV, tables, chairs and anything else you have outside and craped all over them. 12 ecicks were just hatched, about 10 are still alive 7 of which are Roosters, we will never get any sleep next season! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Jan 2016 - Mar 2016

I have read the reviews and agree with most. noticed a lot of candy coating and I think i know why. Management for the past two years has gone down hill biased attitudes, tenants fear that if they complain they will be tossed out. I agree with the last review from Phanomil, however I will add some observations, CHICKENS have took over, ROOSTERS sometimes start crowing 3 or 4 am and don't stop all day. it started a little over two years ago with the feeding of one hen named Henrietta. The person feeding the hen {alledged} arranged somehow for a rooster to join up with the hen. She has been told by management to stop feeding the many chickens we have now and she still sneaks around and feeds the flock. The manager knows her very well and appears to do nothing about it. Feeding and cottling wild game is prohibited but still goes on. the chickens fecal is on the picnic table, on our rugs and roofs We have  young children here that are exposed to the fecal piles; environment unhealthy for all. THE ONLY THING GOOD ABOUT NASKW campground is the PRICE and LOCATION since about two and one half years ago. The other important observation is another health issue, they do not clean the bathrooms on weekends, holiday weekends. No bathroom maintenance on weekends, holiday weekends either. We have but one Handicap toilet and one handicap shower in dry camping. both have been broke through the weekend. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 15, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 2015 to Mar 2016

Sigsbee MWR has gone downhill in the last couple of years. All they care about now is making money off the campers. 1. No more grass cutting by the base or MWR. Place looks like crap everywhere. This is in all 3 Sigsbee campgrounds. 2. No more MWR sponsored cookouts or picnics. The pig roast that used to be every year is no longer being put on. 3.No moving to other sites that may be empty. I guess it is too much to ask of the 5 or 6 people sitting in the office. 4.Roads need maintenance bad. Big pot holes and when it rains floods everywhere. Nobody gives a damn I guess. 5.They should build another bath house at the east end of the dry campground. Can you imagine 225 dry campers (rigs, probably at least 400 guests), and 15-20 tent sites using a bathroom with two (2) commodes, 2 urinals and 3 showers for the men. Four (4) toilets and 3 showers for the women. This would violate all codes in the civilian community. 6. This year they added additional boundary lines in the 100 section and prevented the rigs from backing up too far. This was supposed to be for storage which never was used. Campers were harassed if they were a couple of inches too far back which no effect on anybody else. I personally saw a handicapped person forced to move his trailer because it was a couple of inches too far past the line going towards and empty grass area. Ridiculous to say the least but nobody will say anything because they are afraid of the camp manager throwing them out. 7. Laundry room maintenance in the circle is hit and miss. Washers and dryers are overworked and not fixed in a timely manner. The change machine has been broke for 2 years, MWR could care less. 8.Rough estimate would put the camping fees collected at 180K per month. I am sure the employees aren't that high paid so where is all this money going. Surely not back into improvements in the campground. 9. Many sites in dry camping now do not have picnic tables. Last few years every site had a table. I guess they will not spend the money to buy any more. 10. This year the circle campground is over run by Key West chickens. They crow starting at 0300 and continue all day. The chicken feces is around the camp sites posing a health risk but I guess the Navy thinks this is acceptable. It is impossible to get a full nights sleep unless you are in full hookup with the air conditioning running to block the crowing and cockle-do-do noise. Why isn't the Navy health dept. looking into this? This list is just the tip of the iceberg about what is going on down here. It is still a good deal for the price but it sure could be better. Compare this place to Mayport Naval Station campground and the difference is night and day. I believe they are both under the same MWR management. After talking to many campers here most feel the same way but are too afraid to say anything since they might get asked to leave. One person had the Security Police called by the staff to kick him off base when he was given conflicting information by the staff members. When he disagreed politely the gestapo was called on him.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

January 2014

We stayed at the NAS Key West campground in January, 2014 as we have for the past 15 years. We are not going back this year. Why? 1. Some of the new camp hosts are very rude and unhelpful. 2. The generator policy has changed - now it is allowed to run generators from 6AM until 11PM. Why? This is too long, there was nothing wrong with the old hours of 7AM until 10PM. Additionally they are not enforcing their sound level rules: Someone about 3 units from us was running a generator without a muffler. This generator could be heard all over Sigsbee circle yet neither the camp hosts nor the management did anything about it. 3. Authorized users are now allowed to "sponsor" civilians with no military connection into the campground. Once again why? This is contrary to the published list of authorized users and they are taking space away from those of us who have served honorably. 4. The bathhouses were not kept clean. 5. Garbage was left to pile up around the dumpsters. (smelly)

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 20, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Apr 6, 2010 and Feb 2-10, 2013

Having just read the USAF LtCol's review in the Mil. Campground news letter, it has become very clear that that review was all about the "Gamesmanship" at this facility. It has also become very clear that the reason this Campground does NOT take reservations is because it would eliminate this "Gamesmanship". Something smells very rotten here, while it all centers around the policy of not taking reservations. The excuses about this policy would be eliminated if management would just follow other NWR Campground excamples in the State of Florida. Having been retired for 20 years now, I will continue to stay away from this Campground. It is a shame.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

14 Oct -01 Nov 2009

The location is the best. The cost for full hookup has gone up to 21 dollars. At that price you do not get much more than power, sewer and water. No WiFi, no cable. Loretta the Camp host is absolutely the best. Very pleasant and helpful and nice to be around. The front office is a different story. They are smokers and sit out front smoking and when you pull up, they run inside to take care of you, but you have to smell the stench. During this time Fantasy Fest was going on and the full hook up people had to rotate out to dry camping which is fine, but it did not seem that the rotation was done from the front office on an equitable basis. There were some year round campers that never moved. That is not fair or right. We will be back, when there is no rotation and hopefully they will have other amenities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

15 Dec 2008 - 10 Jan 2009

B.G. left this reev using the Directory software: Great campground. I elected to boondock the entire period, camping at Trumbo Point(?), and I can't say enough good about the campground hosts (there were three, on a rotating schedule). I greatly enjoyed the area, and could open my trailer door and look right out on the Gulf of Mexico. Or walk up onto the bridge between Key West and Fleming Key to watch the full moon rise up over the Keys and flood the bay with shimmering light - magnificent! The only problem was a neighbor who drank far too much, far too often. When I left, he had received his LAST warning; one more offense and he was out. I decided not to remain for the final offense. But I WILL be back. This next time, however,if I get a disagreeable neighbor, I'll simply move, rather than trying to tough it out. My only other complaint is the lack of enclosed area for evening games - cards, dominoes, checkers, chess, what have you. There is an apparent lack of group activities for newcomers. Oldtimers have their friends from other years, and tend to stick together.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

few years ago

Sigsbee and Trumbo are nice. Trumbo is closer to town. Long time reader and first time writer. (deleted) There is much to say about the campgrounds in KW. As earlier stated best to move on. Move on to bigger, nicer, greater things. I do not see a benefit for all members and readers on here to continue this. Merry Christmas and best wishes for New Year! (Moderator note: Portions of this review have been deleted to reduce a controversy.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Winter 2008

MWR staff is great. Nice facilities on base. Key West is close by to both campgrounds. The people staying at Sigsbee are very nice. The old crowd at Trumbo are a bunch of nasty rude people. Some of them think since they have gone to Trumbo for years they own the campground. They will tell you that the rules do not apply because they have been there for years. The gossip mill is alive and well at Trumbo. The stories about new comers and anyone else they don't like get bigger with each mouth that passes the BS story on. Some of those old farts staying there need to get off their high horses and realize there are others in the world. The campers at Trumbo run a mile long garden water hose to dump their black tanks. Despite the fact that such is illegal. They leave the cap off the sewer when using their garden hose to dump their black tanks. Be down wind you will get a good wiff of it. Someone needs to put a stop to this unhealthy practice. Environmental health and state authorities are being contacted by a few of the campers here who also see this as a health issue. The base commander will receive a written letter of complaint about the black water dumping with garden hoses and no "doughnut" being used. Generator are to be turned off at 11 pm. Despite this rule, which is good for all campers, a few in class-A motor homes ran their generators well past 11 pm. (Moderator note: The rest of this review has been deleted since it caused a lot of controversy.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

5 Jan-15 Jan08

One comment I have to make first is that of tent campers complaining about price of $12. When the motorcoaches are on dry camping they pay the same and have to deal with inconviences of generator noise and fumes. The motorcoaches only are on full hookup for 2 weeks after dry camping of about 5 weeks when campground is busy. If tent campers think $12 is too much they can go to Boyds and pay $70 a night to camp in Key West! Next most important is we need to get rid of generator noise and pollution by putting in at least electric on all sites. It should not be a problem since housing was there before the campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

8 - 13 March 2008

E.W. left this review using the Directory software: It's in the Keys and it was warm, but otherwise not much to offer. A lot of folks seem to live there full time with many living in homemade shelters like in a shanty town... pretty sad that the portion of the park we were in looked like skid row with several "tarp" houses and junk everywhere. Obviously we had to have somebody relocated when we showed up since his refrigerator and other crap stayed in our spot during our visit. Not a bad family camp and if you like the ocean (no beach!) it is a great place. Somebody really should look at the area that looks like it is full of homeless people and clean it up. There is a very large car wash very close to the camp and if you are able to wash your own rig it is great!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

1 Jan - 1 Feb, 2008

The location of Sigsbee NAS is great; BUT not being able to make a reservation and not being able to stay on dry camping if you don't want to go to hookup is not right. You should be able to go on a list for hookup and be able to make a reservation to go on hookup when you first get to campground and stay on for 2wks to a month. Then go on a list to go back on hookup. Another thing that would help immensly is ELECTRIC to cut out GENEATOR noise. Hopefully the right people will read this and take some ACTION!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 2007

Sigbee RV Park at NAS Key West has one of the most beautiful locations but is the worst run military RV Park we have ever been to. As with the other reviewers, the location is great. The area where we stayed the grass was uncut and there were several campers/trailer sites that look like they were occupied by the homeless for years. The nicer section is only available if your part of the 'good old boys' network. Even though the regulations provide rules on how long one may stay and etc, I believe the rules are overlooked or used only when it benefits them. The people in the office are physically there during the posted hours but do nothing to make the campers stay enjoyable. They are there just to take your money. I feel that the current management feels that they have a captive clientele and don't really need to improve or correct the current park conditions because, after all, what other choice do you have? The employees of MWR Sigbee RV Park should manage this facility as a service organization and enforce the regulations for ALL authorized visitors.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

5 Dec 06 - 5 Mar 07

Area is great and at Trumbo by Fly Navy you can walk into downtown KW. The thing that we do not care for is having to move at Sigsbee fam camp. Even if full hook up is available you cannot go on it before being on dry camping. You should be able to make a reservation and be on full hookup at least 2 wks - a month then go on just electric which would also help with generator noise and eliminate not being able to have any electric after 11pm and before 7am. The only thing that people like about Sigsbee and don't mind moving because of BX, commissary and other convieniences make moving somewhat workable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 22 2006 - Jan 14 2007

You have to check in during normal operating hours M-F 8:00 - 5:00 Sat and Sun 8:00 - 12:00 at the MWR RV Park Office before taking a space which is located at the following GPS Coordinates 24.580898, -81.773417. Take a right just past the Commissary/Navy Exchange. After hours find the on-duty campground host. This was our 1st visit and we enjoyed Key West. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Wish I could say the same for some of the people that come there year after year. They think they own/run the place and are not friendly at all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

---

Been here before and each time had to dry-camp but it is worth it ! Will certainly be returning to this campground again. If you don't have a tow vehicle, rental cars are available and the rental company will send someone to the gate to pick you up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20 results - showing 1 - 20