Osprey Cove

Osprey Cove RV Park

Featured Hot
 
4.0 (28)
69979   0   21   0   32

User reviews

Filters 9 reviews with 4 stars

28 reviews

 
(11)
 
(10)
 
(4)
 
(1)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.0  (28)
 
3.7  (28)
 
4.0  (28)
 
4.0  (28)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9  
 
Ordering 
 
(Updated: May 24, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2016 - April 2017

We had stayed there for the 6 months, and really enjoyed ourselves. The beach is right there and enjoyed walking it as much as possible. Unfortunately they are not able to get a grounds person so you are raking and cleaning up your site while there. When we left, we made reservations for next year, and was told that the price is increasing to $20.00 a day because they are putting in cable television. We thought that was fair and understand the increase. Yesterday I received a phone call letting me know that they are going with a seasonal rate for the winter. The months of April - October will be the $20.00 a day, but the winter rate for November - March is going up to $23.00 a day. I think that is a large increase compared to what we were paying this past year. That will come out to an extra $150.00 a month and the greatest impact will be to the retirees, who are on fixed incomes... I guess they can increase it because there is a demand for the sites and a waiting list.. Just wanted to make people aware of this before they are making their plans for the winter...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 2017

We stayed here one night as an overflow waiting for a site over in Pelican Roost. While we were disappointed that we would have to move, Osprey Cove was still a nice place. It is much more wooded and I am sure must be cooler in the summer. You drive through the housing area to get there. Follow the instructions and go to Pelican Roost first, as that is where you check in. The sites are back in and some of them you will jump a small curb to get into it. The cable was out on our site, but did not matter as we were only there for one night. The restrooms were very clean and the lounge was well kept. The laundry was FREE! Overall a great place to stay. The view does not compare to Pelican Roost, but I bet in the summer Osprey Cove is much cooler.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3 Mar 16

Enjoyed watching vessels go by.  Walked down to the beach every day.  Enjoyed activities like bingo at community center.  Will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 2014-Feb 2015

Osprey Cove has lots of shade which is good in the hot months, but very hard to get a good satellite signal depending on your site. Need lots of trees trimmed/removed. Some of the sites are difficult to back into because of the location of trees. The camp hosts were great, always trying to come up with some activities. This is the long term campground for Mayport. It does fill up quickly and spots do not remain empty for long. The MWR manager and I had words because they told me that I had to leave a day earlier than I had planned, even though I paid for the whole month. Needless to say, I left even though she tried to mollify me and let me stay. Since I hope to stay here next winter, didn't want to burn any bridges. Sidewalks need repair as well as some of the street lights, but the base doesn't want to put any money into this park. It's behind housing, so some of the kids would walk through the park and tried to get into the club house and bathrooms. The camp hosts keep a good eye out for troublemakers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2013

T.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Pelican Roost was full when I called to reserve and the staff set me up in Osprey Cove. Apparently about 18 sites in Pelican Roost have been lost due to electrical problems the host tells me so they are utilizing available sites a Osprey Cove for short timers (we were there 4 nights). Nice clean campground with the sites situated among mature shade trees. One bit of information if you come to Mayport is get a pass. The gate guard didn't mention it to us and we assumed access was as all the other places we have been where producing my retired ID card was sufficient for entry. I found out when we were returning after a shopping trip to the off base commissary with our tow car. The passes are available at a layby just inside the main gate. However, since we were after 1600 we could only get one for that day. You can get a multiple day pass during normal duty hours. Not a big deal just a little surprise inconvenience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 3, 2011

J.M. left this review using the Directory software - We made reservations for three rigs. They accommodated us and assigned us sites close together. When we got there there were a lot of empty spaces on the front row. We asked and were told the computer assigns spaces and can't be changed. The check in lady told us all the front row would be filled up that night. This turned out to be untrue as there were empty spaces in the front row during our four day stay. I guess it is who you know. The campground and clubhouse is excellent. The camp host "Rocky" was the best I have seen. He was there to accommodate us in every thing we asked. He does everything with a smile. I wish he would take over the reservation desk. Nice campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 06, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 23 - October 6, 2010

Not leaving, Just wanted to post that the laundry, restrooms and showers are open. They have 4 washers and 8 dryers. The room is code locked and open 24 hours a day. The lounge and patio will be opened soon. The plan is to have a 60" flat screen TV in lounge area with two computer desks. If you want to come here plan on making reservations way ahead. They are already booked for this winter.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

15 Feb - 14 May 2010

Price has gone up since last year. Still a good deal though. It is supposed to be a long term stay but if you are in the "IN" you can get a short of a few days. There is some "Homesteading" going on also, and a couple of the site make "Trailer Park Trash" look good. The new clubhouse has been started, completion unknown at this time. Sure glad we stayed over at Osprey Cove. There is too much of a clique at the Roost and every time I visited there or went to pay my bill, I felt the "Cold Shoulder" big time. Woody needs to get a personality. We will probably return next spring, in spite of that.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 20, 2008 - March 2009

This is a quiet very private campground. Comments about trees and shade are over stated. They have removed a lot of the trees and we get lots of afternoon sun. The amount of sun you get or shade you have is dependent upon the site you are located. This is just as good if not better than most of the state and federal campgrounds that I have stayed at in the past. There is a club house/laundry/showers approved and budgeted but the base commander has not approved the design. We receive excellent antenna TV reception. Very nice concrete deck pad with picnic table and a sidewalk from the pad to the street. Yes you have to back over the curb to reach the site. Big deal!! Based on previous reviews we had planned to stay only a month but really liked it after we got here. Yes it has some shortcomings but it is not the worst place we have stayed by far and a very good deal for the price

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9