Osprey Cove

Osprey Cove RV Park

Featured
 
4.0 (28)
72556   0   21   0   33

User reviews

5 reviews with 3 stars

28 reviews

 
(11)
 
(10)
 
(4)
 
(1)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.0  (28)
 
3.7  (28)
 
4.0  (28)
 
4.0  (28)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Jan 2017

A lot differnt than Pelican Roost. Multple large military families in small trailers. Have to dodge kids on bikes using road as playgound. Reminds of civilian trailer park.all sorts of storage trailers, boats etc. stored at sites. OK for very short stay. Basically low cost base housing for families. Sidewalks in dire need of repair. Never meet camp hosts .

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 16, 2012

I visited while staying at Pelican Roost to check out the facilities. It seemed to be a nice park although there were some trashy looking sites. After all, this is a homesteading park. You have to stay a minimum of 30 days and can stay for 6 months. So during this time you can collect a lot of stuff and pile it under and around your RV. The negatives: No rest room facilities; the Youth Center is adjoining on one side and a very large children's playground is on the other side. One other is you have to drive through the housing area to get to the park. If I was coming to the Jax area for an extended period I would stay here. However, that probably would not happen I don't stay in one place for more than 2 weeks and I don't like parking on grass sites because you can't see the ants.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

1 Mar - 3 May 2011

This was our third and last visit here, unless there is a big change in attitude of management. We tried to get a reservation beginning in mid-February thru the first of May. When we applied we were told they were full until the first of March. When we arrived on the first of March we found that was not really the case. We found that there was always three to five empty sites all winter. Pet rules appear to be for only those who will obey them, as is the case with a lotof rules. A 30 day min stay is hogwash. While there we saw one two week stay, one three week atay and one three day stay. During this time there was open sites at Pelican Roost. I guess it depends on Who you know. Homesteading is still going on and yes they still give "Trailer Park Trash" a good name. The new rates are high, too high for what was promised and not delivered. Yes the new club house and facilities are nice. I also didn't like the attitude that "MWR programs are for Active Duty only, not retired." If you look closely, most RV parks are supported by the retired community. This park has raised rates three times in the last three years, the last time three dollars a day. When was the last time we in the retired community received a raise? Military RV Parks are not meant to be a base's "Cash Cow."

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 2010 - Feb 2011

we were at this park for six months and it was pretty good at first. the camphost was really good and the maintenance man keith and his wife were great. however they have now raised the monthly rate to $524.00 a month. this park is not worth the $90.00 extra dollars a month. you pay the same amount as pelican roast campground. at least they have a view of the water and ships. after we were their a couple months we noticed they have homesteading going on. then they changed camp hosts a couple times. and the ones we had when we were there need to get a better attitude. they were very clickey and i had impression they thought they were better than everyone else. we had a few get togethers at the new club house but they only invited certain people. ones with kids were excluded. never did find out the name of new hosts they never really introduced themselves to anyone. so overall this campground is nice but not nice enough for the new price. their are cheaper ones out there that are nicer. if the price would not have gone up that much we would probably go back but as it stands we wont. so if you don't mind clicks and cold shoulders this is a very nice campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 30, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

26 Nov 2007 - 1 Jan 2008

This CG is reserved for long term stays of 28 days or longer. The RV Park/CG is located in the old trailer court area of base housing, right next to Hana State Park. A good walk to the beach. Entire park is surrounded by trees and there are very few spaces where you can receive satelite reception without a remote dish. The sun seldom breaks through, at least while we were there, so the problem with gloominess is prevelant. Phone and air card reception is strong, sometimes 4 bars, usually three. There are two hosts who try to keep up with the daily maintenance and are very hospitable. There are no ammenities or facilities here to speak of except a dumpster, however there are plenty to take advantage of over at the "Roost" (the main CG). There are plans for a clubhouse possibly in the near future but we all know that story. I felt that the daily rate was a bit high with the lack of ammenities, but I feel almost all military C/G's overcharge the military. Current rate is $13.00 with the promise of going up to the same as the Roost as soon as the clubhouse is built. Overall if you are pretty much self contained and don't rely on the showers and wifi, which is only available at the clubhouse, this is a very nice spot to kick back for a while. The local Walmart and and other big box and name stores are within a 30 minute drive. Commissary and exchange are 2 miles off base

Was this review helpful to you? 
5 results - showing 1 - 5