Oak Grove Park and Cottages

Hot
 
4.5 (100)
173478   1   22   0   92

User reviews

34 reviews with 4 stars

100 reviews

 
(62)
 
(34)
 
(3)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.8  (100)
 
4.6  (100)
 
4.3  (100)
 
4.4  (100)
 
4.5  (100)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
34 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 2017

Pros: * Many spots are pull through * Super friendly Camp Host * Nice Walking Trail to Beach * Well maintained bathhouses * Easy booking, easy check in Cons: * Had a hard time finding this place, ended up driving all over the base and having to call the Navy Lodge for directions (Trust but verify your GPS) * Wifi signal is weak * Campsites feel close do to minimal tree coverage (but that helps keep down bugs) Overall a great stay, we were only there for one night. We look forward to heading back to the area to explore more of Pensacola. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 12, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb-Apr 2017

This park has a rat problem! A box with dead rats was discarded along the service road, and dead rats were in the grassy field by the park's entrance! This was very disturbing to say the least. That said, we have stayed here many times over the past two decades and never experienced this infestation in the past. The campground is rustic but acceptable. Rates are a bit high in comparison to other military parks, considering they have nothing on-site in the way of recreational amenities. Laundry and restrooms are clean and well-maintained.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3-11 Feb 2017

Stayed in pull-thru site. Sites are close, but I think that is the Florida way! Lot of trees but luckily there is cable! WiFi not the best, but that is to be expected with so many people on it. We found it to be convenient to many things - those on base include the awesome Naval Aviation Museum and IMAX theater, the Pensacola Lighthouse, Fort Barrancas, and the beaches. The Navy Exchange and Commissary are located at short distance off the base, but easy to find with the great directions provided by the camp hostess. Planes fly over during the day and sometimes at night - this is a training base for pilots, so it should be expected. But, it wasn't bad - we tuned them out after a day or two.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 15-29, 2016

FYI: We were told by CG office staff that there is NO WEEKLY RATE, only daily or monthly rates and that this has been so for a few years, so the rate info above is not completely correct. We have a regular RV site (not waterfront) and it is $23 a day. Also, effective Sep 20, 2016 you cannot reserve a site by calling the phone number listed above. ALL reservations must now be made through 1-877-628-9233 or www.dodlodging.net. If you are trying to reserve a site the same day as arrival, they will transfer you back to the CG office (but won't give you the direct number). Make sure you have the agent stay on the line until the transfer goes through however, as we were hung up on twice before it worked. Now for our review: This is our first visit to this particular campground in our RV and we are pleased so far. The office staff and the camp host are pleasant and helpful. The sites are close, but not overly so, and we had no problem parking our 34' motorhome and our toad on our site. The pads are large concrete pads and we have full hookups. The WiFi works well, the digital cable is also great. The laundry room has many front-load washers and dryers and is very clean, as is the bathroom. There aren't a lot of activities on base compared to some other CGs used by snowbirds (like Key West, for example) but there is a very nice theater just a few miles drive or bicycle ride away, and there is the Navy Aviation Museum and Pensacola Light house within walking distance. There is a also a nice paved bike and walking trail right at the CG entrance, and non-paved hiking or walking trails all around. And of course, the beach is within a short walking distance of the CG, with some sites having a bit of a view of the water. The beach is beautiful, with white sands and clear water. No swimming is allowed right off the CG area, but you can swim further down the beach within walking distance. We saw a 3-4 ft shark as well as moon and pink meanie jellyfish in ankle deep water, so be aware and watch where you step if you stroll barefoot in the water. All in all, a great place to relax!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 9, 2016

Very nice park we stayed for 3 night. Beach is close but is closed to swimming. We asked to change sites their was 3 or 4 open but were not allow to move. Great Naval Air Museum with in a mile. Very nice laundry facilities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 15, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

26/27OCT2015

Looks like a great park! I say 'looks like' because we spent most of our two days there either inside our RV or at the Naval Air Museum thanks to the remnants of Hurricane Patricia that had 40+mph sustained winds and seriously heavy rains. We drove around the facility on our way to the NEX/Commissary a few miles away at Corry Field (Deb at the office gave us a map and helped us with extending our reservation an extra night). I'll agree with the other reviewers comments regarding poor signage - especially at night and in the rain! That said, once you have an idea where you are going (or have a good GPS app) you can get around easily. We arrived at the main gate as the back gate is only open limited hours. We didn't use the facilities due to the weather, but they looked good from a distance. Utilities worked fine, although we did lose power at the museum for an hour during the storm (uncertain if it affected the campground, but probably did), water pressure was fine as was the cable TV service (to windy for me to put out our Dish). We certainly look forward to coming back, just keep in mind you can't reason with hurricane season.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 8 - April 22, 2015

We waited too late to make reservations and the only site available was in overflow at Jackson Court. I had visited this area before and wasn't impressed so didn't know if I wanted to stay there or not. We wanted to spend some time in Pensacola so decided to take a chance. The person told us that she would put us on the list to move if a site at Oak Grove became available. We arrived late and was checked in by one of my favorite hosts, Malcolm. To our surprise the site we were assigned to at Jackson Court was very nice and we decided to stay there even if a site became available at Oak Grove. The next morning when we went to pay our bill, we told them to take us off the move list. Don't get me wrong. The sites in Jackson Court are not as nice as Oak Grove. The site we had (J-3) was very acceptable. The site was gravel with a very large concrete patio. There is a lot of concrete because this used to be the base mobile home park. We had full hookups with 50 amp electric. There are nine sites with 6 being used by what looks like homesteaders. Not all of the sites were as nice as J-3. While here we developed a slow leak in one of the truck tires and went to the NEX service station for repairs on Thursday. They found a nail in the sidewall of the tire but said the government won't allow them to make sidewall repairs. The person told me to go to Vannoy's Tires (I don't know the address but just a few miles north of the main gate)and the probably would repair the tire. Vannoy's repaired the tire and due to where the nail was we decided to get a new tire. The manager, Mitch, told us that he had checked and found a tire in Mobile and it could be delivered on Monday. We agreed to purchase the tire and Mitch said he would call us either Monday morning or afternoon when the tire arrived. We were all set, we thought. On Monday at 1:00 pm with no call by Mitch, I called him. He had forgotten all about anything that happened on Thursday. He again said he'll see what he can do. We had wasted 4 days bcause Mitch had promised us a tire, cancelled a reservation for Sunday arrival and lost the deposit. He called back about 30 minutes later and said he couldn't find us a tire but will keep looking. In the meantime I had already called a shop in Milton and they had the tire I wanted. I told Mitch to forget about it. The person in Milton had done something in 30 minutes that he couldn't do in 4 days. As you may understand, I'm not giving Vannoy's a vote of approval as our friends at NEX did. On Tuesday, we drove to Milton and 4 tires were waiting there and since I probably would need new tires soon I took all four.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

7-13 March 2015

Oak Grove has a 90 day limit that works out well for “Snow Birds” that are wintering there, but not so good for folks that want to stay a few days and move on. We stayed 7-13 February and no availability existed, so we opted for the overflow at Jackson Court (about 10 sites) that is located on base a short distance from Oak Grove. Jackson is a former mobile home park, and the spaces were awkwardly set up (used 20 ft of sewer hose) but we made do. It is quiet and peaceful offered water, sewer, and 50 amp—no cable, Wi-Fi, bathhouse, laundry, or community center. NAS Pensacola is a full service base, rich in history and truly and amazing place. The Naval Air Museum is a must see and recommend that you dedicate at least two days to see it. PX, commissary and Naval Hospital are located a short distance from the base—about 10 minutes away. Golf, beach and clubs are conveniently located and within bicycling range. Overall we enjoyed NAS Pensacola and highly recommend it. Our only compliant/recommendation to management is to limit stays or develop a rotation system that allows folks to enjoy for a few days instead of the 90 day stays currently permitted.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 16-23, 2014

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed in a 37' fifth wheel. We had waterfront view site #46. The good thing is it was a large one where no one could park to our back or one side. Bad thing it's on the main dog walk path and near the bathrooms so there's considerable traffic. Seems there were more dogs than people staying and some were not well behaved. The barking got annoying. The center sites are quite crowded together. If you can get one of the waterfront sites or around the perimeter you'll have more breathing room. With all the vehicles parked around it felt congested. There is an unadvertised Jackson RV park also on base just off Taylor Rd that has only 9 sites with FHU. It's a pleasant little place in a wide open area next to a scout camping area and housing. I think we'd ask to be there if we stay again. Oak Grove was a little busy for us. The base itself is wonderful, so much to see. Just driving around looking at the old buildings is nice. The museum is just amazing and we were lucky to see the Blue Angels practice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 10-13, 2014

Check-in was chaotic with staff multitasking and guests and residents waiting. We were given an end spot, to our regret. Traffic noise from one of the main roads on base was very loud, starting at 5AM on weekdays. We are not unusually sensitive to noise, but the loudest TV we have ever heard in any park was right behind us and across from the office and camp hosts. Utilities were good. The site was clean, spacious and had some shade. It's a short walk to the beach and the lighthouse. They have a Happy Hour daily from 4-6PM in the clubhouse. Since they allow three-month reservations, all of the 'good' sites are occupied and always will be. One 5th wheel was backed 8' beyond the end of his pad to gain more space. For $4/night more we could have had a short-term site away from the road with an obscured view of the water. The bathrooms were vintage but absolutely immaculate and cleaned twice daily. The laundry was $1.50 for commercial front-loading washers. Quite reasonable. Camp host Debbie was exceptionally helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

February 9/10, 2014

I tent camped here last November and wrote a review that still holds up to scrutiny this time around. I do have to add a couple of things, though. One is that there are now several signs around the campground indicating areas that are NOT pet run areas; and, after this visit, I can see why. Most pet owners are responsible and clean up after their pet, but some seem to have this ambivalence to anyone who is NOT a pet owner. They ignore signs and let their dog go wherever and do whatever they please. I am starting to see more and more campground segregate areas for pet owners and non-pet owners, and if this kind of thing keeps getting out of hand, it won't be long before pet owners will be hard-pressed to find a campground that allows pets. Nobody likes stepping in dog poop, especially when it happens in a public area you are not expecting to encounter dog poop, like the beach! Another topic that I touched on before, but needs reiterated is the noise level here. Saturday and Sunday night are not bad because the west gate is closed on the weekend, but the rest of the week, starting EARLY Monday morning, forget about it! It sounds like a four land highway is running right next to the campground! And, some of the campers in the park didn't help, either, by slamming doors and yelling at dogs at 5 AM. The camp hosts are wonderful people and they do what they can, but they can't do much about traffic noise and its proximity to the campground. The facilities are nice and clean, and the gazebo area is a wonderful place to stretch out, check email, have coffee, etc. All in all, this is a very nice campground, except for the noise. Oh, and watch where you step!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3 December 2013

Had to see what all the buzz was about the campground. While staying at the Recreation FamCamp and visiting the Naval Aviation museum we took a ride in to see the Campground. Met the camp host, extremely pleasant and helpful told us a lot about the area and FamCamp. We drove through and noticed that it seemed to be a bit tight, older FamCamp, well maintained but had what looked to be homesteading, I guess they just don't enforce regulations here. Crushed shell roads would make it difficult to get around on the mobility scooter. The facilities looked well maintained. I did talk to several full-timers and they said to make sure I make reservations because taking a gamble to get a space is almost impossible. The Aviation museum is just down the road and you could walk to that, plan on all day there. While there the active runway nearby did make it a bit noisy and the main road had a lot of traffic. Taking in the pro's can con's, I'm sure that I would call ahead and secure a place here in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 1-4, 2013

From a tent camper's perspective, this campground has more hits than misses, that's for sure. The camp hosts were friendly and accommodating, the facilities were outstanding and the park is clean and orderly. The trails to the beach are short and the beach is wonderful. The lighthouse and Naval Aviation museums are also wonderful and the Pensacola area is very pretty. That's all the GOOD. The BAD? Vehicle traffic noise is exceeding loud during the week. Even after hours the little traffic there can be bothersome. Those with campers with their TV's and such running inside probably won't be bothered, but it gets bothersome in a tent, let me tell you. Also, the back gate is closed on the weekends, so you have to go out the front gate, which leads me to the UGLY... There have been two murders within about two miles of the front gate at NAS in the past couple of weeks. A year ago there was a murder right outside the gate at Corry Station. And, it seems every street corner has some vagabond looking for a handout. People in town seem friendly enough, but be on your guard!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 10, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 5, 2013

We had a good time at Oak Grove. Accommodations were good. Didn't like the fact that we had to move overall it was a good experience. Great laundry, nice people in the office. Can't beat the location. We camped in a 40' motor home and will likely be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

5 Aug 2012

Great camping experience! We had a hard time getting backed in to our site, it seems the long timers all take the end sites and the one night guest are stuck trying to back in in the middle of the night waking everyone up. The camp host was helpful and did not mind helping me get backed in. The base is set up as a training command, so no commissary. The closest one is at Whiting field in Milton, FL. We had a great time taking our son to the beach, but be forewarned the sand will follow you back to your rig and will get in to every thing. Laundry prices are reasonable, plenty of machines to go around. The whole base is kind of out of the way if you are traveling from the west. If you are traveling to Foley, AL, to visit the outlet mall, it is very convenient and close. We stopped for the night on our way to Orlando, I will plan to stop again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 8 & 9, 2012

When we came in through the back gate the guards said that the park was well marked but we did not see one sign. We just happen to see it at the last minute and turned in. We were welcomed by the camp host and since it was a few minutes before 4pm she said that we would have to pay in the morning which was fine. We were given a base map that was the worst base map we've ever gotten. We had a very difficult time finding the NEX and it wasn't until we got directions from Starbucks that we found it. Once we arrived there was no place to park and were going to leave when a spot opened up. But overall the campground was well kept and facilities very clean.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

11-14 Sept - 11

R.G. left this review using the Directory software: - This was our first time here in PNCLA NAS to camp. The Camp Hosts never contacted us while we were here. The beach and concrete sites are great and I will be back in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

24 Oct - 3 Nov 10

Really enjoyed the stay. Overall, it is very slow-paced. May be the time of year. The base itself has a small Naval Exchange, but the Commissary is located on Correy Station about 3 miles or so off base. Naval Museum is kinda cool as well as a noteworthy lighthouse. There are lots of good places to eat seafood from Destin to Gulf Shores and we tried many of them. We especially liked the Back Porch. Other than that, places to see mostly involved beach type sites. While we were here, BP was combing the beaches for oil mess. We found the park cramped, but it didn't bother us much other than getting parked in our waterfront site. Backing in was compounded by a gentleman host (long hair and sweats) who insisted on directing me into my site when I didn't ask nor want assistance.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

7 Jan - 21 Jan 2011

I give location a 4.0 only because when they open the back gate to the base at 5:00 AM you will think you are sleeping on a race track. Price is higher than most military parks. WiFi connections are expensive. MWR manager appears to be hampering hosts desire to run socializing events. All in all, still a good value.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 2011

Sites are a bit small and there are signs and trees than can make navigating some of the sites difficult. BX/Commissary are about a 10 minute drive. Right across the street from the Naval Aviation Museum. Highly recommend it. Bath and laundry facilities are outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you? 
34 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2