Eglin AFB FamCamp

 
3.7 (53)
155547 2 20 1 56

User reviews

22 reviews with 4 stars

53 reviews

 
(13)
 
(22)
 
(12)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.1  (53)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (53)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (53)
Value 
 
3.7  (53)
Overall Experience 
 
3.7  (53)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Jan 27 - Feb 27, 2020
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice experience. There are currently 10 active duty families living in the park (Camp Robbins) and there are plenty of kids out playing when school lets out. Honestly, we don't mind the kids. They remind us of our childhoods of playing outside. They are respectful and all stop when reveille plays at 5pm. The laundry was clean. 4 washers/4 dryers @ $1 a piece. A lot of plane noise but that doesn't bother us either. Extremely close to the water. Just a very short walk. Post'l Point is right on the water but it looks like a trailer park and is located right outside the abandon TLF. Reminds me of a ghost town. Short drive to Destin...about 25 minutes but then there you are on that beautiful water. No diesel sold on base. Hook ups were adequate. OTA reception was poor. ATT cell coverage and Directv, no problems. Our GPS took up on a road directly across from the commissary. A dirt road that is narrow and we lost our antenna from the how branches. DO NOT TAKE THIS ROAD! We found out the next morning that if you pass the commissary, there is a road to the right that will take you there much easier (Shambo Cove). Take the first or second right once on Shambo Cove. We came in the west gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan 2020
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Eglin AFB Famcamp (Camp Robbins) is laid out with wide gravel sites. All FHU utilities are solid with the exception of WIFI as there is none. OTA tv service was very disappointing for the area. They did take reservations for our 3 day stay but were mostly full while we were here. Talk is they are going to close Postal Point (other famcamp on base) as it keeps flooding during weather events and maybe extend Camp Robbins to the south. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 27-30, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Staff was very courteous. I stayed at postl point. I had to move from my first spot due to soft ground. The sites are not laid out well. Electric and water only. The view is spectacular. The price has jumped to 25 dollars a day, which i feel is high for a nonprofit setup, that hasn't had improvements in a long time. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
5 April - 14 April 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Office personnel were very courteous and helpful.  Location and RV Sites are excellent. Could not contact the office because the phones did not work, there was no change in the change machines at the laundry mat, cleanliness of shower/toilet facilities were lacking, especially at Postal Point camp ground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
April 8-11, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
It is back to check-in at Camp Robbins for it and Postal Point rv camps. Hours are 8 to 3. Everything else seems to be the same. Nice bike/running path for quite a ways (from Camp Robbins). Nice Exchange and Commissary. Good choice in the food court. No diesel at the gas stations. West gate seems to be the best entrance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Mar 30, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Trying to find East Gate was a HORROR! The directions say to stay on SR20 but it ends and becomes FL397. No mention at junction about East Gate only sign to North Gate. So didn't know where to go. Then directions say to go onto 85, which takes you past the North and West Gate. Finally went in the Commercial Vehicle gate and got the final directions to the Famcamp from security. Just went straight ahead on Escambia (truck route) to Eglin Blvd to famcamp. When I tried calling all morning to the office no one answered. Finally called the Outdoor rec office just to find out if they had spaced. Nightmare!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
14 - 16 April 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
There is a serious lack of signage for the FAMCAMP The directions are correct, you should follow the signs for the Commissary-Exchange. When you get on Memorial Trail headed toward the Commissary-Exchange, you will round a right curve then you need to start looking for Shambo Cove Rd on the left. There is a sign board that points toward the FAMCAMP but you must look for it. Next lack of signage is there is NO obvious sign for the FAMCAMP entrance. Once on Shambo Cove look for the second road which is marked with white rocks that are supposed to read FC. This is a good entrance to the park. There are no signs in the park but if you drive straight in toward the back of the park, the office is located at the end of the road. Hope this helps!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 13-17, 2013
(Updated: June 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
An enjoyable short stay at Camp Robbins. The campground was only about half full (same at Postal Point). The Camp Robbins office hours have changed to 0900-1500, M-F, closed Sat and Sun. Don't know if that's just for the Summer season or a permanent cutback. Also, the FamCamp no longer offers a 10% discount for using a Services credit card. As others have noted, would be nice if cable TV was available. We were able to pull in 12 channels with the crank-up antenna, but reception was not consistent due to interference from fairly constant air traffic (same interference for the Wi-Fi caused repeated loss of signal). By the way, if you love the sound of freedom, you'll enjoy it to your heart's content with all the activity at Eglin, especially with the F-35's in the pattern. This is a very well kept campground with well-spaced spots and lots of room to maneuver (we camped in a 38' 5th wheel). The campground is very convenient to the BX/Commissary, as well as a great springboard location to attractions in Ft Walton Beach and Destin. If you camp here and haven't been to the Air Armament Museum, you don't want to miss the opportunity...it's just outside the East gate.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 13 - 23, 2013
(Updated: May 28, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Another great stay at Postal Point, weather was great, the view was as beautiful as ever! This visit, Postal Point stayed fuller than it was the same time last year, completely full the last five days of our stay, Camp Robbins was only about half full while I was there. It looked to me that word has finally gotten out that Postal Point now has 50 amp service since 5 of the campers were in the big rigs. The grounds were immaculate and the bathhouse was kept very clean the entire time. A couple of negatives: There were two campers that were obviously homesteading. From the start, it was clear that the new camp manager was holding at least one spot for friends of friends. The spot we wanted was taken, but when we asked for the spot next to it, she told us it was also taken, but it stayed vacant for the first three days. When the second camper finally appeared, both sites held a small party and the manager was one of the guests. A small gripe, I know, but it irritated me that some people are allowed to reserve spots while most people aren't. The people at the Outdoor Rec Center were absolutely great, and it's location is super convenient in case you need drinks, snacks or ice. The boat rental was smooth and efficient. I know it's not part of the campground, but the military beach has cut back on open days. Last year it was open 7 days a week, now they're only open Thursday through Sunday. Some said the sequester was to blame, I don't really know, but it's a shame because it's so much nicer there than the public beaches. Still, all in all, a great camp and a good time. I do plan on going down a little later next year (the water was still pretty cold this time) and see how things are then.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 23 - April 1st 2013
(Updated: March 27, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Enjoying our stay here.... Laundry/restrooms are nice & clean. Wi-Fy isn't working...struck by lightning a few weeks ago & not fixed yet. CG about half full, sites not too level but OK, mostly pull thrus. I like the concrete picnic table & pad. Nice trails around base. Will stay here again if in the area. Plenty of room to move to maneuver around CG. Stayed here in a 39' 5th wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 18-21, 2013
(Updated: March 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My daughters (8 & 11) and I tent camped here. Camp ground was lightly populated (guessing less than 50% of RV spots were occupied - total of three tents up including ours). Bathroom and laundry facilities very good/clean. Excellent trail, dirt road, and biking/walking paths on base for kids. Not much just outside the E/W gates. The air museum is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 2012
(Updated: August 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The Postal Point Campground had no sewer hookups and after heavy rains the campground was mostly flooded. I thought with the water laying around the camp sites made it a safety risk while hooking up the electric. We stayed a week at the Famcamp. It was close to the Exchange/Commissary. The camp sites were big and plenty of space between sites. The office staff were real friendly and very helpful. A few negatives is there was no internet service at the camp sites. You had to go to the office to use the internet and the office was only open 9 to 4 Mon thru Fri and to 12 noon on the weekends. Only got 6 TV stations and the reception to those was poor. The campground looked fairly new. Don't understand why cable TV wasn't installed. The biggest thing to me was I saw two of the biggest cotton mouths of my life.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
March 26, 2012
(Updated: April 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We didn't stay here but after visiting the exchange/commissary decided to take a look around. It was a challenge getting to the campground as they are repaving the access road. It was good seeing the boys in blue doing the work instead of contractors. The overflow and picnic area looks to be closed and used for equipment parking. In the past I've been pretty hard on this campground but this time things looked so much better. I didn't see the trashy sites as I have before. I counted 27 vacant sites. I probably would stay here but I like to have a confirmed reservation when I travel this time of the year in this area. I didn't go to Postl Point this time as I've checked it out before and probably wouldn't stay there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
April 3 - 6 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The park hasn't changed since the last time we here. I was told that the rates are going up by the end of the summer. The reason is that the civilian park owners are complaining that the base is taking away their business. No improvements are scheduled so no cable. It's a nice place to spend a few days to do FT. Walton and Destin every once in a while. I'll come back in a few years when I want to do the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
February 2011
(Updated: March 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice place but 1/2 empty. Staff friendly and working to improve sites. BX is in walking distance. Close to Destin with lots of things to do off base. Not much to do at campsite. It would be nice to have a dog walk park. Great place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov 1 - Dec 1, 2010
(Updated: November 07, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a good campground. Our major complaint is that where there is no cable tv - there is NO tv. It is impossible to get a signal for tv with antenna. The phone service is poor as well. But these things have nothing to do with the c/g.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 18 & 19, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Office staff and sites were fine. Did not use bath house or laundry. It is very close to the commissary and BX. BUT, this location is not for the true recreational traveler. We got the last site at Camp Robbins. Most occupants were "permanent" or "semi-permanent". According to staff they stay for 3 months (may extend an additional 30 days) exit for 48 hours and return for 3 more months as soon as a site is available. The attendants words were, "they rotate in and out." We were there from Friday to Sunday and estimate that half of the sites DID NOT HAVE A LIVING SOUL at them during that time. A lot of units have local license plates and they must leave them there and visit occasionally. We drove through Postal Point campground and it is right on the water. Nice location, no sewer. Many units looked like they were there for a lengthy stay. 4 sites available. They don't accept reservations so it's not really worth the drive hoping you'll get a site. The office attendant was nice enough to tell us by phone what was available and even though we told her that we would be there in an hour she couldn't hold a site. Luckily, there was still one available. We asked about availability November - March and were told they stay full. You could show up, wait in overflow and possibly get a site in 3 or 4 days. They also said that they have 5 or 6 sites with a 3 day maximum stay. We suggested that they designate more sites for the recretational traveler and accept reservations. If planning to stay here, be sure to have Plan B!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
11-15 April 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Camp Robbins and Postl Point are both very full. As an Active Duty Reservist, I was able to get right in. However, up until I mentioned that fact, they just said "Sorry, we're full, but in two or three days in overflow, we can get you a spot." Not sure, but they probably booted someone out for me. I stayed at Camp Robbins, since I have small kids and need a sewer drop. Nice level sites, easy hookups, and nice roads for kids bikes. It's pretty well maintained. Two of the four washers were broken when I arrived, but were repaired when I left. And much cleaner (thanks to me.) The bathrooms were very clean, but the laundry room needed attention. I mentioned this to the FamCamp staff. They were very friendly and helpful to me, but slightly overwhelmed. I drove through Postl Point. It's nice there if you like to have access to the Marina and the beach. There is not a playground at either FamCamp, but Camp Robbins is only 400 meters walk to the picnic area that is on the bay ... bring your umbrella and sand toys! There is a big park just to the west of the BX/Comissary area, across from the school, about a mile away from Camp Robbins. A very nice jogging trail is along there, about 1.5 miles up to the flightline, for a 3-mile roundtrip isn't bad. Good enough for rollerblades too. The FamCamps on-base are on the bay, but to get off-base to go down to the main beaches, it is a 20-30 minute drive. As for full-timers "living" at the FamCamps, I agree with other reviewers that it appears many are abusing the FamCamp privilage, and living there instead of using it as intended, a recreational facility. Very frustrating to see.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
March 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Camp Robbins stays full, often with long-term users, but most days there was one or two available spots. Nice pads/hook-ups/roads. Near exchange/commissary/water. Easy access. Come and go through east gate near Niceville. We will do this again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Dec 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Check in for both campgrounds is now at Camp Robbins Campground. You can no longer check in to Postal Point Campground at Outdoor Recreation so do not follow the 7th Street/Flagler directions until you have gone to Robbins and checked in. 50 amp rigs are NOT allowed at Postal Point even with an adapter. Attendant says the CG is so old the breakers cannot handle 50 amp rigs. ONLY straight 30 amp rigs are allowed at Postal Point. Internet connection available free at Base Library. Excellent campgrounds, both beautiful with spacious sites. Camp Robbins is completely full of snowbirds who have a 90 day stay but 30 amp rigs can get into Postal Point, which has no sewer hookups but a beautiful view of the bay. Dump station available. Waiting time for Camp Robbins is estimated at "several weeks." Overflow dry camping also available. Excellent facilities on base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
22 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2