Destin Army Infantry Center Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.4 (101)
213808 1 33 2 186

User reviews

59 reviews with 5 stars
101 reviews
 
64%
 
27%
 
7%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.7(101)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(101)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(101)
Value
 
4.5(101)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(101)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
59 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
September 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My first visit to Destin, FL and to the Army Recreational RV park. Both experiences were exceptional. The RV park is on par with any commercial park and full service with the added bonus of security. I highly recommend this RV park and we will be returning in 2022 about the same time if possible.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
NOTE: Per a 16 July 2020 DOD Memo from SecDef Mark Esper, no political flags or signage is allowed on military installations, whether in housing, barracks or famcamps (all common access areas and public areas).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
1 -5 Aug 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The spaces were very tight and the road was narrow because of the vehicles park on sites. The rules stating 1 vehicle per site was mostly ignored. The posted speed limit of 5 mph was also mostly ignored. The cable and WiFi was excellent. I was never kicked off the internet for the duration of our stay. We made use of the dock to view beautiful sunsets over the water. Did not use the laundry or bath house. Overall a pleasant visit. Would go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
July 7-14 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
If you overlook how tight the spaces are and realize that it is not really for a camping experience but is for a place to have access to the beach, then this is a great place. We loved the fact that you can rent boats and equipment right here on the facility. Then there’s the fact that the Elgin AFB Beach Park is only a couple of miles away and is a private beach for military ID card holders that is right on the gulf. The reason for the overall 4 rating is because of the stickers. Two years ago we were camping at Tyndall AFB and decided to make a day trip to Destin. While we were here we checked out the Destin Army Recreation Area and were very impressed. The area between each site had lush grass and everything was very well maintained. So for this trip to the beach we decided to stay here. We were very surprised to find out the grass was gone and now it is all weeds, sand, and stickers, and that is all throughout the entire establishment. So anywhere you walk your dog they get stickers in their paws plus you track them into your camper for them to get imbedded in the carpet only to be found with bare feet. While we were here they did have a company that had started laying new sod in some of the biggest areas so maybe they will get it back to the status it was two years ago. If there was still nice grass this place would be a 5 star for me, yeah the sites are tight but it is all about location, location, location. ? While you are here be sure to make a trip to Fort Pickens which is a civil war fort on the outer island down by Pensacola Beach, well worth the drive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Spring 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay here! All the staff was friendly and nice helped us with fishing and made us feel welcome. Its a beautiful resort and mostly big motor homes are here. Close to everything in Destin fishing charter boats right at the Resort. Rooms and little cottages to rent as well. It is a little pricey but its the experience. The spots are small in the campground but there are plenty of fun things to do in the area. The bathrooms were clean and nice and there was a key card to unlock. Very nice and friendly staff. Would love to go again. : )
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 18-May 9, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just spent 3 weeks here. The campground was in great shape, folks working on the whole place most of the time. We have never had such a great experience staying the campground. The yards between sites were kept cut. Jessica in the office & others were very kind & helpful. Cable & WiFi worked great. No complaints. Dewey Destin on the Bay is always a favorite place to eat. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 16-20, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place is awesome! Didn't think anyone in the office was rude--perhaps just busy. Being able to mke a reservation for our stay in the RV park was an assuring bonus. We had Enterprise pick us up for a rental car, the beaches are not that far, and the dining opportunities in the area are fabulous--we had a blast; so, we'll definitely be going back :-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
Mar 20, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground! The grounds and facilities are well maintained. There is so much for children to do including the splash pad, pool, and two playgrounds. There is a fishing pier and affordable boat rentals as well. RV sites are pretty close but we were able to get our 36 ft RV in with no problem. One thing I noticed was how kind and respectful everyone is here. There are many retirees who are just the sweetest and a lot of children, all of whom have been respectful and kind towards adults, the facilities and each other. You are a short 3 minute drive from the main drag. Henderson State Park is about 5 minutes away once you hit the main drag and it is beautiful, much prettier beach than the packed beach and brown water we saw over by the Boardwalk/Gulfarium area. This is definitely an amazing value, we plan to come back for sure! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
Jun 12-17, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great for RV it is a little tight but great we will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very happy with our experience at the Destin Army Infantry RV Park. it's a small park, and parking bigger RVs can be tricky but quite doable. The park is maintained beautifully, it's clean and quiet. There is a great children's play area, and a nice pool. the park is situated on the bay but it's not a swim area. There is a nice fishing pier and charter fishing boat trips are available. Cable and WiFi both great. In fact, the WiFi is much better than most I've encountered in RV parks elsewhere. We really enjoyed this RV park and thank the Army for doing such a great job staffing and maintaining it. We'll be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
Feb/Mar 2016
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We didn’t use the toll bridge indicated in the directions, but came down Rt 133 from I-10, a 4-lane road with non-toll bridge, which I would recommend using instead unless you are coming from the west. Access to the CG is very straightforward. There is a lot to do and see within a few miles either direction from the CG. The CG was very clean as were the restrooms & laundry. Ice was $1.50 a bag in the small shop, but there are a Walmart & Publix within a mile or so of the CG if you don’t want to go the 15 miles to Eglin. Wi-Fi was great and much easier to use than the Navy Go Wi-Fi. Cable was good. We didn’t experience any concern about ‘tightness’ in the sites themselves, but more from the campers. They park their trucks partway on the road, which is only single-lane pavement, making it narrow and limiting room to swing around into sites. The sites are concrete pads, but ours had settled somewhat into a lean and we had to block up to get level. Pool and marina looked nice, but were all closed for the season.  We stayed in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
10 Feb - 13 Feb 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first visit to this Famcamp, and nothing really new to add to all the good things reported in previous reviews....just an affirmation.  Strong WiFi, good cable TV, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, and yes - very tight maneuvering with spaces close together, but workable for big rigs if you're careful. The campground really occupies a beautiful and private bay front location with quick, easy access to the gulf, Eglin/Hurlburt AFB facilities, and shopping/restaurants in Destin or Ft Walton Beach.  Even though we were there in what should be the heart of Snowbird season, we were able to get reservations with only a weeks' notice.  If you're planning a longer stay/vacation on the NW Florida beaches, or just passing through for a few days, I can strongly recommend this Army Famcamp/recreation area....kudos to Ft Benning!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
January 18 through January 25 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Destin Army Recreation Area. We're here for a week and as other reviewers have stated the RV spaces are "tight" but it's the price you pay for a great location, excellent rates, cement pads and an overall super facility. The WiFi actually works and is strong, cable provides lots of channels.  Personnel here are very courteous the RV community during our visit was very "homey" very social.  Everything was clean, well maintained, even the sand box for the kids to play in was taken care of - overall an excellent value.  Only caution would be if you have a behemoth of a RV there are some spaces you'd never get in and some turns you might not make.  I'd say anywhere north of 42 feet would be too much.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
23 Oct - 21 Nov 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Love this Famcamp!  Another great visit and now the WIFI is throughout the park and is very reliable.  The staff is very friendly and does a great job keeping the park clean and all the amenities in good working order.  Can't wait till our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
4-11 April 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second visit to this Campground and we may just make this a yearly Spring visit. The Staff is very friendly and the park is very clean. On this visit we got the last large site (next to the bath house) and it was a little difficult getting our 39 foot 5th Wheel into it because of the angle of the site. WIFI is only available in the office, but it worked real well there. We rented a pontoon for a few hours at the marina and just cruised the Bay and enjoyed ourselves. This park is worth visiting if you are in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
March 18-20, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great facility, great Staff, Awesome location and amenities. Our first time there, but we will visit on every trip to Florida in the future. Rates were very reasonable for the services provided. Thanks Destin Family and Ft Benning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
BEAUTIFUL!! Everyone was very very friendly!! The grounds are very well kept!! It was rainy and chilly when we were there and want to return when it is warmer so we can take advantage of the pool and beach!! I want to bring my grandkids here. A BIG thank you to the office personnel for making us feel as a valued camper!! Very very clean!! Spaces may be small but there are places with less space for more money!! We have a 34 ft 5 th wheel and had enough space.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
February 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of the nicer military parks we have stayed in. Located on the bay but very near town makes for an ideal location (see comments below). The park is clean and very well maintained. There were lots of things to do.. swimming, fishing, etc. The prices were very reasonable and the folks very helpful. There are only two drawbacks. 1) the spaces are small and very close together. Difficult to get into with a larger rig. 2) if you are sensitive to loud noises you might think twice. Eglin Air Force base is across the bay and the touch and go jet fighter training make for a lot of daytime noise. At night there was quite a bit of bomb practice going on. Our dog was not a happy camper the first week. But did get used to it as we did. We recommend the park very highly and most certainly will go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
7 April - 20 April, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - We came in on a Monday, with a 39ft 5th Wheel. Site 40. Neighbors were helpful in parking - moving vehicles and aiding guiding the job. Some lots have car curbs at the back. Ours was right under the rear leveling jack so I had to move forward a foot. Our 3500HD did not fit very well in front of the trailer, probably should of parked it in the overflow lot. Moved the picnic table for the slideouts, and settled in. Did not use the laundry or show facilities- no comments there. The dogs loved the area for walking ("new smells every trip). Eglin was busy (read lots of jet traffic by day, helicopters at night) but to be expected here. . I would visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Apr 12-May 1 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was my third visit here and I love it! The staff is very friendly and informative. Look forward to returning again perhaps in the fall. The only reason for only a 4 star rating for amenities is the WIFI isn't always reliable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
59 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3