Raccoon Creek Recreation Area

Featured New Hot
 
3.9 (82)
128100   1   20   0   67

User reviews

23 reviews with 5 stars

82 reviews

 
(24)
 
(40)
 
(11)
 
(4)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.3  (82)
 
3.9  (82)
 
3.9  (82)
 
3.8  (82)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
23 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 29, 2017

In reference to the previous dry camping comments. Here is what was in the latest base newspaper, Thunderbolt, dated October 26, 2017. Julie Farcy, a recreational aide at the camp: "As of this week, the FamCamp is about 80 percent full, said Julie Farcy, a recreational aide at the camp. There are 384 camping spots." "A change this year is that the dry camp, or camping without water or electricity hookups, is not available. The dry camp area is being converted into a compound of cabins which could be ready by late 2018 or 2019. "Currently, reservations have most of the camp spots booked for the winter, but there is short-term camping (two weeks maximum) on a first-come, first-served basis, said Farcy. For more information contact FamCamp at 813-840-6919"

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 1 Mar 30

Thanks again for another wonderful winter stay. We arrive in Oct and stay the full 6 months. Thanks to the office staff for all that you do. We stay in the annex by choice and enjoy the camaraderie with our fellow campers. I have to address a few things Happy Camper reviewed (previous poster), I feel the people in the annex were misrepresented. I only know of one person who brought their MH in to get a spot and left. There were a lot of people who went home for the holidays. We have a dog that we take away from the campsites do to her business, we do walk her for exercise. Happy Camper should put a no dog sign on his lot and most dog owners would avoid his site. The only recommendation I would have is to make a designated walkway to the dog park area. I don't like walking through someone's campsite to get there. We are all adults and the majority of the campsites are kept in good condition. Again, thanks for a wonderful season.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Last Visit 2011

I put my 100 dollars down to reserve a spot in advance, however due to my wife's medical condition, recently dignosed we could not travel down to the warm Florida area this year. I was surprized when I received a telephone call telling me I was close to the top of the waiting list but if I was not in the area I could reschedule for next year on the same dates, which I did. The young lady who called was very nice and supportive and it was just good customer service as I did not state to her why we could not make it this year. Breast cancer and Parkinson's dignosed in the same year will slow anyone down. I appreciate the opertunity to visit the Fam Camp in future and any prayers that are offered! Mike & Diana Solon, USAF Ret 89

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 4 & 5, 2013

I was told to call 2 weeks prior to arrival to make a reservation -which I did. The girl took all my info, I thought check in would be easy and maybe it would have if Bill was not the one to check me in. A couple problems at arrival: 1. I stated I had a reservation-he argued that I could not have one since I called 2 weeks ago. After giving him all my info AGAIN, when he hit the enter button - there was my reservation. 2. Bill said I could not have a reservation under my name - must have sponsor with me - I explained that the sponsor was deceased and my ID card stated that - he argued that it did not state that - even when I pointed it out. 3. Must show vehicle registration/insurance proof - however, I do not see that as necessary as I have base stickers for the motorhome and towed car and could not get on base without proof. I have stayed in 11 military campgrounds driving down the East coast over the last 3 months and have never had the check in experience I had at MacDill including Andrews Air Force where the President flies in and out (you would think security would be greater there). Once past the check in process: the campground is in a great location, wonderful beach, Seascapes café, clean laundry, so-so WiFi, commissary on base and propane available at the marina.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2013

Another off season camping trip at Raccoon Creek in Tampa Bay area. It is so nice having the beach right on your doorstep. We ate at Seascapes with the granddaughters and they had a blast.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 17-30th, 2013

This is the off season at Raccoon Creek, what a great time to enjoy the beautiful Tampa Bay area. Everyone at this place was just wonderful to us. I hope we can get on the list to stay in the winter here for a couple of weeks. Shore line boulevard is just beautiful and the facilities at MacDill are outstanding. We ate in the Mess hall and checked out the stand-by office and my wife even got to go to a post wide yard sale, she had a blast. This was a great trip for us. We will be back, thanks for the great time, and the Poor Boy at the Sea Breese restaurant on the site is great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 30, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan '13 to Mar 24, 2013

This is our fifth or sixth stay but our longest. We enjoyed all the activities and of course the weather. The weekly dining out trips were a pleasant surprise. The staff is great and the "rotation" is not really hard to take - 14 days and you move. But you don't have to move far and quickly go on the list to move back into a FHU site. They could do something better in organizing the dry-camp area - the 'field' as it is called. Plans are to reduce the number of partial sites by making 16 FHU sites. This will mean fewer partial sites so don't know who they will handle the rotation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6-14 March 2013

J.W. left this review using the Directory software: - We made reservations by calling 14 day prior to our planned arrival date. Had to call two morning before we got a confirmed reservation. Check-In was quick and easy considering the level of activity. There was a mix-up on the site assignment but the staff quickly resolved it. Their policy of allowing you to wash off the road dirt, salt and film on your RV at your site is a pleasant surprise. There were a lot of activities planned by the staff for campers. The facilities were excellent. We will definitely come back next year for a longer period.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct. 2012 - Mar 2013

This is our 4th stay at this campground and we have plans to come back. We stay in the annex area by choice because of the larger sites. We also like the fact, we can walk to the golf course. The reservation system works well for us since we know when we will be coming back and make our reservation in advance. Lots of activities so you will never get bored. Another great snowbird season.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

21 March-4 April 2012

We stayed at the Annex which was very clean and suited our needs perfectly. Full hookup and 50A with more room between campers than raccoon cove. There are no facilities at the Annex but the main campground was not far away. Closer to the golf course. Only downside was the sand burrs that are everywhere in FL. Dogs were constantly getting them on their paws. Very friendly folks in the registration office and eager to help.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 2011

My wife and I stayed here at MacDill the weekend of Airfest 2011. Campground and hospitality were great. My wife really liked being able to walk to the beach area only minutes from camp. Not supposed to be any dogs on beach but there were a few owners who could not read signs I guess. Only thing I could fault, and not really a fault of there's, it is so far back on the base. A good drive to get there. Had a nice time and will most likely return when we can.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 2010 to April 2011

This is our first year of being Snowbirds and we couldn't have picked a better place. We stayed in the annex which has larger sites. The staff worked very hard. The amenities on base are great and the price was right. Lots of activities, you could be busy all the time if you wanted. We made some lifelong friends and plan on coming back next year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 10, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 20 - Feb 8, 2011

Nice place, however, by mid January they were already booked with 200 on the waiting list for next year. Being able to make reservations a year out is a bit ridiculous for those of us who don't know what we plan to do next month. we would definitely like to go back next winter if we can get partial or full hook-ups for at least a month January/February time frame. We were lucky this past January to get partial hook-ups the day we arrived. Great location with plenty to do on and off base. Good daily activities in the rec center.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2011

Arrived early January and staying through February. Great place and a very fair rotation procedure. All personnel are friendly and very helpful. Wi Fi is up most of time. Great beach and good activities. Not as many Rv'ers this year as the dry camp has been almost empty and rotation is quick into full.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 09, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

01-03 October 2010

Just got back from Raccoon Creek, snow birds are arriving, spots limited. Under new management, don't know if this will help with all the old complaints but our stay went OK. We couldn't get the spots we wanted even though no one was on them but just because they were empty I guess it doesn't mean someone wasn't paying for the spot. We were able to get two spots back by the entrance. Full hook up. We were there just for the week-end and we talked to other guests just passing thru. Looks like those 80 slots are being kept for short term use, that will be nice for those who aren't coming to spend the winter down in Florida.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2009

We are new (40 foot) RV owners and this was our second trip. This is the only way to camp!...never want to go back to a tent again. :O) Everything went smoothly for the entire weekend. Check-in and out was a breeze. We arrived after 1800 so we came through the maingate. The gateguard saw us approaching and immediately opened the righthand lane for us. The staff at Coons Creek were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were very nice and the restrooms/laundry room were very clean. We were traveling with our three children and two dogs. Other family members joined us as well with their pop-up camper (they were able to get the spot right next to us). There were dog walks and two fenced-in-areas for the dogs to do their business without leashes; 'doggie bags' were available as well. Easily accessible garbage bins and recycle. Watch out for the raccoons...they like to get into the garbage bins and surprise you. We retired from the Navy in 2006 and it was so nice being on base; everyone smiled and said hello (or stopped to talk) as we walked by. The restaurant on the beach was closed on the weekends, but we enjoyed the beach. (Bring your repellent for Mosquitos). We had such a wonderful time and are hoping to return for the 4th of July weekend. Thanks to the staff for their great hospitality!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 2009

We thought this was a great park. Great beach, good places to fish, lots of places to walk. Facilities are good. Our site was partial but dumping was a breeze to do with "little johnny". Great place, great experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 25 - 27, 2009

Awesome place to stay. Reveille is a pain so early in the morning when you don’t have to work, lol. I stayed in the Tent area and had a cozy spot under some palm trees. I did some site seeing and attended a few spring training baseball games. It was great time. I escaped the place before the Air Show.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 7-31 2009

This is the 2nd year we've stayed at Coons Creek and we were not disappointed. Great facility and great amenities. Watched the yearly air show and was thrilled and amazed once again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 06, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 08

We arrived at MacDill after the truck gate closed so we called the Coon Creek office and they waited for us to show up even though it was after working hours. This is our second time at Coon creek and it is always a highlight in our travels. Clean restrooms and showers, working washers and dryers, and this year they added concrete pads, You have to back in now instead of pull thru. Wireless that works and cable and yes the mosquitoes are a nuisance but we really enjoy the Coon Creek experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
23 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2