Raccoon Creek Recreation Area

Featured New Hot
 
3.9 (82)
128008   1   20   0   67

User reviews

38 reviews with 4 stars

82 reviews

 
(24)
 
(40)
 
(11)
 
(4)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.3  (82)
 
3.9  (82)
 
3.9  (82)
 
3.8  (82)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
38 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 26, 2017

11/26/2017 I've only been here a week so far, I don't have nothing bad to say yet, because i think this is a great place, I have stayed in this park several times short term, this is my first year long term. The only thing I wish is that the staff had or provided more information about what's avaible to you while you are in the park, they gave me information about the internet but it was very vague and not to accurate. cable, 69 channels are free but you can upgrade with spectrum, don't call them go to the office on dale Mabry next to the navy federal credit union, i saved $70.00 going in verses doing it over the phone. Cable w/HD 2 TV with a 6 channel DVR, internet 100 Mbps (super fast) and a phone line for under $90.00 outstanding. by going into spectrum they waived the connect fee you get charged if you do it on the phone.(found all this out by the cable installer i found doing a install at some other RV. I am a disabled veteran and you have to cut your own grass and that's not very helpful to me. The web site gives a lot of local information but it would be nice if you got some hand out or a packet during sign in, telling you what to do or where to go. I guess one thing is that most of the campers have been coming for years and know the tricks, so your on your own, just ask around and people will give information you just have to decipher it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2017

We have stayed at this RV location many times as it is in our own back yard and we keep our pontoon in a slip nearby. We usually stay only a couple of days and we have never been turned away. We are told go find a spot and come on back to let us know where you are parked. The idea that a person can stay for the "season" is a bit odd. There are a few permanent homesteaders that have allowed their items to grow beyond their boundaries. They however tend to be a bit further away than the temporary visitors. This is a place where MWR should throw some money. The shower and laundry facilities need to be remodeled and the showers have a constant smell of mold. The staff have been operating out of a shanty style trailer for the last few years. The sites are well kept and many have some shade. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 7 - 8, 2016

We just stayed a couple nights here on our way south. I think the campground is really nice and looks like they are really trying to do a good job of taking care of it. I think it is so big and there are so many camp sites that it is hard to get anything completed, like finishing the new pedestal installations. I'm not complaining just merely stating my observation. I like the CG and all the facilities. The beach is nice, really big plenty of room for all kinds of activities. While we were there there were 2 weddings and several organizational parties all on the beach and they didn't interfere with each other. The restaurant is kind of small but serves good food and good drinks and was open to everyone even during all the other activities going on. We were here in May so it was not crowded and we had our pick of sites. I would definitely return again, just not sure if it would be during peak snowbird season, that may be a little crazy with all the sites they have here. Oh and the wifi does not work very well either, we were right across from the laundry where one of the hotspots was and it still didn't work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

23-28 February 2015

Raccoon Creek is a “Snow Bird” Mecca during the winter that was at capacity during our stay 23-28 February. MacDill is a full services base with excellent commissary, exchange, gym, golfing etc. The CG has an excellent bathhouse, laundry, mail service, marina, and beach area; all within walking distance. Excellent bike or running trails. We found the staff to be busy, very busy, but courteous. The rotation to and from full hookup to dry camp seemed to be fair. The sites are situated close together-to close. Three hot spots for Wi-Fi are advertised: marina, laundry, and the club. I could literally be standing inside one of the above and could not get connected. If you need internet recommend the library. Tampa is a Metro area and recommend that you arrive or leave on a weekend or at the very least avoid heavy traffic times. Overall we enjoyed although crowded.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13 November 2014 - 12 February 2015

This is a very good facility, which could be great with a policy change. Since stays up to 6 months are allowed, from October to April it's not a campground, it's a home for snowbirds. To make a "reservation" a $100 deposit is required. We called on 13 November 2013, but did not have a confirmed reservation until a month before we left home. The last time we stayed here we arrived in December and didn't get confirmed until two weeks after we arrived. Many people abuse the system. They make reservations for October. They arrive and park their rig, then go back home until after Christmas or New Years. This allows them to get a confirmed reservation, pick a good site, and deny others the opportunity to do so. Reducing the stay limit to 4 months would fix that problem. Although the signs say the rest roooms/showers are closed for an hour and a half daily, the state of those facillities do not reflect that. I saw the same candy wrapper on the floor for 3 or 4 days. On many occasions there were no paper towels and at least one time there was no toilet paper. Wi-fi is spotty at best. IF you can connect it's not very speedy. There is a limit to the number of connections at each location and many who get connected never disconnect. They do offer Mi-Fi for $50 a month. I had my own Virgin Mobile Mi-Fi and service was lousy. They are tearing down the old office and building a new one. Hopefully they'll upgrade the Wi-Fi.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

12 - 15 November 2014

I stayed here for 3 days on my way to Key West. It is a large RV park catering mainly to snowbirds. The staff was very helpful. They have a LONG list of rules but that usually goes along with a military environment. The first thing I noticed was a MASSIVE amount of information they required at check-in, but the staff was nice when I didn't have pet medical records. Be advised that on longer stays they require a more elaborate registration of pets. The only downside I noticed was that MANY of the fellow campers had been staying for long periods of time and kind of have developed ownership and treat the staff as servants. Many people forget when they retire that they are not as "important" as they believe. Most were very nice, I just felt bad for how a few treated the staff. The facilities are great and MacDill has every base service one can imagine. There was a definite feel on base that the snowbirds had almost taken over. lol The sites were large and level full hook-ups and cable TV, wifi and internet is said to be available but I found it basically unusable. As with many base campgrounds the awesome amenities get little use as many seemed tied to their RV sites. The Sea Scape restaurant is a privately run facility and no one seems to know/understand their hours, other than an active duty base function it was closed during my stay. Some people complain of homesteading and this is for sure one of those places, as for me that doesn't bother me at all. I much prefer the facilities being used than possibly being shut down. Make a reservation for a long stay and you will be fine. I enjoyed my stay and plan to return for longer stays. Many retirees would be well served to remember they are a GUEST not an OWNER, but again I personally had no bad interactions with fellow RVers and most seemed quick with a smile and friendly greeting.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 8, 2014

2014,2013,2012 I stayed at Raccoon Creek, Three Wi-Fi sites and they still don't work at all, I went to each location with three different WiFi antennas had 4 to 5 bars and could connect to the router but no internet, I think it's like they are trying to force you to buy the $50.00 a month MiFi, it seems to make sense now. last year I could get a little connection off and on but now nothing, I talked to someone at the sea scape and they told me the internet sucks they cant even connect the there phone it. The Staff one girl at the office counter is one of the most rudest person on the phone, but not in person. I have ever talked to and all I was trying to do is get some information about the urgent care medical centers around the area, she was just rude and could not tell me anything, that was just after I had just got off the phone with them and the person I talked to told me to come up and get a list of the facilities. I found that person and got the list no problem. Just get a name of who you talk to because they seem to have different answers, overall everything I said before is the same they treat the snow birds better than the 14 day stay people. One day I want to be a 3 month snow bird and hope to be treated better. I'm a IT guy I would check it out the internet for free. They have a lot of talent in the park and should use it. I agree with everyone about the sites just sitting vacant waiting for someone to come, but they could make a lot more money if they would manage it a little better, last year I stayed 14 days in they short term site and watched the empty long term site stay vacant the whole time. Same thing this year you have to call 14 days to get a reservation and everyday I see nothing buy empty lots. I see the same problem all the way back from July 2011 with the internet, Management don't seem to care about it at all, get your MiFi for $50.00, Also if you have dogs watch the pickers on the ground very painful to your dogs and you, seems like they would put out some grass seed every year. Beach is super, lot of noise every morning, firing range going every morning, planes flying over all hours (planes going into Tampa Airport don't know why they come over the camp ground so low and all the time, I figured it was a secure air space. I figured I would give it a try again not much change. Getting to be a little dumpy every year. Traffic speeding up and down the main road all day not to bad this time. First time no bugs, better in November, Bugs very bad all the other times, mainly at night but it's Florida. Did not think I was coming back this year but I love the Tampa area. Went to Mayport this year and loved it, been to Patrick AFB before, but I came back to MacDill, this place is way better a lot more to do here, some policies are wacked, everyplace is different, you would think policy would be the same way everyplace, all US Government Military, they need to be fixed. you can stay 14 days but if you want to extend you can't until the 14th day you can ask to stay longer, so you better have a back up plan. Gun policy at MacDill the best so far, register at Raccoon Creek and keep your guns with you. At Patrick AFB had to check them in the arms room no big problem, at Mayport a no/no for any weapons. I'm almost at retirement next year Dec 1st and waiting to get my long term stay at MacDill and will get a little more involved in the Park, I don't agree with the homestead comments it nice to have a place to go after retirement, Patrick AFB is renting housing to retirees again everyplace is different. I like the security staying on the base and one nice part of serving your country for twenty years. you don't get much but this is a plus.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 20 thru Nov 7th 2014

Upon arrival at the office I could not find fault, The office staff were helpful and considerate, however it was only the third week of October 2014 but never less there were some two week spots. I read the reviews and certainly can see there are people who have been coming to this camp ground who feel entitled as annual renters, one told me he has been coming for 19 years. I asked several different questions regarding the USAF Policy on operating the camp ground and how the site reservation and waiting list are managed but was never able to see the AFR because there was no copy available and no clear response was given on year to year management. I suspect the IG should get involved or maybe raise it to a Congressional investigation. I don't think the people running the site are intentionally mismanaging the system, but I think there is a gap of fairness from year to year that should be looked into. Example is if all reservations are filled early in October for 6 months, people should be made to physically occupy the space not just pay to keep it for 90 days before they arrive. The other short sighted rule is if you are on the reserved waiting list and carried over to the following year then those people should be the first to be allowed to reserve spots before those who reserve and occupy annually. This would allow rotation from the waiting list annually and create fairness for all on the waiting list. Example if you are number 18 or 125 on the reserved waiting list in 2013 then you would have been given a reserved spot the following year during the peak times of October thru March 2014 before anyone who occupied the reserved spots in 2013. This would create a rotation from the reserved waiting list into the reserved spots at least every other year. The reserved list for reserved spots would only be open until they reach the total number of reserved spots available and would only be able to be reserved by those occupying a reserved spot in March of the year they have the spot. This is called fairness to all military entitled people to get a chance at enjoying the benefits offered at Raccoon Creek MacDill AFB Family Camp. I am not available to partake in this adventure because I still work full time and enjoy my job so even at 66 I have no plans to retire. However I did enjoy our two weeks spent here this year. I will not be able to travel there in 2015 due to overseas travel work commitments but I do intend to follow what is happening here because I think there are numerous violations of reservation mismanagement and if not publically repaired I will without hesitation start a congressional inquiry because I think all deserve to enjoy what just a few are now enjoying. Last thanks to the friendly management I enjoyed my visit and hope to visit again in 2016 or 2017, keep the lights on!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 14-20, 2014

After reading some of the remarks on here, I had my doubts about this place, but it is a remarkable place to stay! The beach is nice and never crowded, the marina is a full service marina with reasonable rates (just make sure to observe the rules for getting in and out of the marina; 3rd marker!) They have equipment to rent, nice permanent beach chairs, a restaurant, the golf course is nearby, etc.; what more could you want? And, the "heavy-handed" rules are mostly geared at discourteous pet owners. So, if you are a conscientious pet owner and you are cognizant of those around you who don't appreciate stepping in dog or cat doo-doo, or putting up with incessant barking at all hours of the night, then you don't really have much to worry about. If you are the type that treats your pet like it is a human being or an extension of the family with all the powers of cognition associated with mankind, then move on and go someplace else, plain and simple. I'm sure there are plenty of other appreciative folks out there who would be most happy to take your place!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2013-April 2014

We had a reservation so upon arrival we visited the office. We were told to drive around and pick an open site. We wanted to stay in the annex so we headed that way. We were surprised that most of the sites, especially the better ones, were already taken by the end of October. A large number bring their RVs there in September and early October and leave them for 1-3 months just to get “their site”. Of course they pay rental for that time so the MWR is not losing money. However, is it fair to those of us that arrive with the intention of staying and many of good sites are already taken by empty RVs? Also, some of the better open sites, with no RVs in them, had stuff setting there to appear they were occupied – obviously being saved for a friend which is against the rules. The office does not enforce this either as we watched friends move into them. However, we did pick a site that we were happy with. FAMCAMP OFFICE does not enforce any policy that I could see. They have a policy that allows other FAMCAMP residents to notify the office of any rules violations. Very few, if any violation, get reported because no one wants to be the “bad guy” and report someone. The annex seems to have its own rules compared to the main RV area. Examples of some of the rules that go unnoticed/uncorrected. PET RULES WILL BE STRICTLY ADHERED TO. PLEASE DO NOT WALK PET IN NEIGHBOR'S YARDS. In the main campground and annex, pet rules are not enforced and again FAMCAMP residents are supposed to report violators. They have dog walks but most do not use them. They walk them on long leashes and allow them to dump on everyone site. Most do pick up after them but I got tired to watching dogs use my site to dump on. I did ask two owners to please keep their dogs off of my site. UTILITY/CAR TRAILERS OR BOATS OF ANY KIND ARE NOT ALLOWED ON SITE WITH RV. CHECK WITH OFFICE FOR PROPER PARKING AREAS. In the annex, this is not enforced. They allow all kinds of trailers and boats to be stored on a site. It looks like trailer park and very unsightly. RV SITES WILL BE KEPT NEAT AND ORDERLY AT ALL TIMES. In the main campground and annex, sites become very cluttered and unsightly because no one wants to be the “bad guy” and report someone. Why can’t someone from the office drive around daily and correct the violations? THE OFFICE DOES NOT DO ANY MOWING IN THE AREA. They claim that they stopped due to residents complaining of damage to their RVs, hoses, cables and so on. That could be correct but why not require the contractor/staff to be more careful? As a result, sites become overgrown with weeds and grass growing well over one-foot. The office does have mowers for checkout by the residents if they want to mow their own lot. I moved mine once but most do not. THE OFFICE STAFF for the most part, are not very customer friendly. It is a big park with lots of activity and it must be difficult to deal with complaining residents. However, I observed lots of rudeness while waiting my turn in line to pay my monthly rent or pick up a package. There is lots of room for improvement in this area. We do enjoy the base and area and come back every year and observe the same problems. It does seem to be getting a little worse with the enforcement of the rules. Someone needs to take charge and enforce the rules. If not then change the rules.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 6th to Oct 13th 2013

one year ago I stayed at Raccoon Creek, Three Wi-Fi sites and they still don't work, last year I could get a little connection off and on but now nothing, I ask the guy behind the counter and he told me they are just going to remove it. I can get a great connection to the router but no internet they are paying for it but just don't want to have anyone fix it (they just don't care)(Government waste), I'm a IT guy I would check it out for free. they have a lot of talent in the park lets use it. I agree with everyone about the sites just sitting vacant waiting for someone to come, but they could make a lot more money if they would manage it a little better, last year I stayed 14 days in they short term site and watched the empty long term site stay vacant the whole time. they did some road paving sense last year, this time all the roads are in super shape. I see the same problem all the way back from July 2011, Management don't seem to care. Also if you have dogs watch the pickers on the ground very painful to your dogs and you. Beach is super, lot of noise every morning, firing range going every morning, planes flying over all hours. traffic speeding up and down the main road all day. Bugs very bad at night but it's Florida. Did not think I was coming back this year but I love the Tampa area. Went to Patrick AFB before I came back to MacDill, this place is way better a lot more to do here, some policies are wacked, everyplace is different, you would think policy would be the same way everyplace, all US Government Military, they need to be fixed. you can stay 14 days but if you want to extend you cant until the 14th day, so you better have a back up plan. gun policy at MacDill the best so far, register at Raccoon Creek and keep your guns with you. At Patrick AFB had to check them in the arms room no big problem, but they don't have a RV parking at the Arms room and wasted two hours turning them in and getting them out. I'm almost at retirement and waiting to get my long term stay at MacDill and will get a little more involved in the Park, I don't agree with the homestead comments it nice to have a place to go after retirement, Patrick AFB is renting housing to retirees. I like the security staying on the base and one nice part of serving your country for twenty years. you don't get much but this is a plus.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 16, 2013

We thought the FamCamp was fine. In fact, it has one of the best laundry facilities we have seen at a FamCamp. We were in overflow (with 30 amp) only 1 night which surprised us. We were there a few days before the Tampa RV show. They had free tickets which was a nice gesture. The campground is near the beach and marina. We went to the FamCamp church service and were very surprised how active the group is. They must have had 150 people in the clubhouse for the church service. That was a good experience. I liked the fact I could get in a 10+ mile bike ride on base. We camped in a 40' motor home and will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 2-11 2012

This was our 1st visit the raccoon creek. Management doesn't facilitate folks who come in for long term camping properly, start in short term moved to dry or partial hook-up when in fact there are spaces available in the long term area. While we were there 9 days we saw at least 25 to 30 open sites waiting for who? So those of us who just wanted to stay 7 to 14 days were given a choice of maybe 3 or 4 sites, might I add there were open sites in short term but were told we couldn't move to one, so they were being held for who?. In a few words Don't understand their camping policy at all. That said area is beautiful, beach could be, if not for lack of maintenance and a much needed grooming. Did some golfing, ate at seascape, shopping in commissary. Would love to come back if there were corrections in the camp site placement.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 2012

There are three wifi sites but could only get one, mainly at night, hit and miss,i see the same problem all the way back from July, Management don't seem to care. Also if you have dogs watch the prickers on the ground very painful to you dogs and you. Beach is super, lot of noise every morning, firing range going every morning, planes flying over all hours. traffic speeding up and down the main road all day. Bugs very bad at night but it's Florida. Don't know if i will come back or not, some policies are wacked need to be fixed. you can stay 14 days but if you want to extend you cant until the 14th day, so you better have a back up plan.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 3-4 2012

We stayed in the off season, no snow birds. There are a few semi homesteaders. GI's (some pretty senior) found out they can use their housing allowance to buy some nice RV's before they retire. When snowbirds aren't around there is not a lot going on. Club house on beach has restricted hours. We went there for the 4th of July thinking it would be like the old days with lots of activity's. Not so. The only thing going on was to go to Bayshore Drive and watch the fireworks across the bay. Nothing going on, on base, in fact a lot of things closed down for the holiday. There are three or four wifi sites but none were working well while we were there and we were right across from the bath house. All in all this trip was a bust. Nothing going on when snowbirds aren't there and you can't get in when they are there. So much for recreational RVing. There was construction going on, some new roads and hook ups being improved, didn't see any more sites being added. One of those you love it or you hate it places. On another note, you can eat in the chow hall (DFAC) but I was warned to watch the prices, overall good savings but not always.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 2012

We stayed at Raccoon Creek while my son was home on leave from Afghanistan. We were in dry camp for the whole time, because we wouldn't be there long enough to move into a full hookup site. We had a good time. The beach is clean, BX a bike ride away, and the club on the beach convenient. I'd go back here again. My only compliant is the lack of organization in the overflow (dry camp), people were parking any which way they wanted and made for an ineffective structure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

24 May - 7 June 2012

We arrived during the day and came in through the Tanker Gate. No problems, Security Police very courteous and helpful. It is a long way from the entry to the FAMCAMP, but the roads are OK and not much traffic along the road next to the bay. There's a lot of work going on upgrading many of the sites in one section. All sites are back in even though some have a long area to back through. The check in office is off to the side and the entry to their place is a bit narrow. We pulled ahead to the holding area just beyond and walked back, much easier. The base is very big with a lot of people stationed and working here. One thing to be careful about, I got stopped by security for not coming to a full stop at a stop sign. No big deal, right? Wrong. He had me pulled over on the side of the road for fully 45 minutes and gave me a moving citation after executing a felony stop on my. He and his partner came up on both sides of my truck with their hands on their weapons, walking sideways and stopping just behind my open window. Really? I expected a warning and a short lecture. Nope, 75 bucks. Welcome to Tampa.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 12 to 16, 2011

Long drive from Augusta Ga, GPS took us to Tanker Gate but got up to gate after closed and had to back with trailer down long narrow road to get turned around to go to the Main Gate. The area is very nice but down at the beach people had thrown trash all over the ground even though there were trash cans right there. some people couldn't bother to go 3 feet to throw their trash in the can. park layout is very nice. picked good time to go place was completely uncrowded, only a few people there. I understand that in the winter the place gets full with the snowbirds. The hospitality was good, its the cleanliness that got the 2.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 26 and 27, 2011

Arrived Main Gate Sunday evening. Sign posted directed buses and RV's to Right Lane (electrically lowered barrier). I immediately handed Airman ID cards for myself and wife. Was greeted with a 'How you doin', I guess retired officers are not addressed with a lot of ceremony! The second evening, returning from town, reentered the Main Gate and pulled behind a bus. Airman approached my vehicle and said I should get in the line with autos. I said sign directed RV's and buses to right lane. I advised my motorhome was an RV......he looked puzzled and directed me to another lane. He said "You can't go through there!" (that is, the lane I entered the night before). Now, a third Airman approached, handed him my ID cards. Wow! Came to attention, rendered a salute, and advised he would open the gate, and bid me a 'Good evening, Sir' Wow! The FAMCamp was fine, Bath, laundry room neat and clean. Nice 'Facility'....Tiki Bar on the Beach...But closed both days....in June? But, you gotta love mosquitoes! Go outdoors near the Beach at your own risk! I'm guessing it's great in Winter, if you've reserved a year in advance. Base is overall, beautiful and first class location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 4, 2011

H.B. left this review using the Directory software: Only one day here on the way to Key West. A very nice long drive after you get on base to FC. WiFi not working, but we were close enough to club house to pick up an signal. Good food at the club. Should have stayed another day or two.

Was this review helpful to you? 
38 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2