Raccoon Creek Recreation Area

Featured New Hot
 
3.9 (82)
128008   1   20   0   67

User reviews

13 reviews with 3 stars

82 reviews

 
(24)
 
(40)
 
(11)
 
(4)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.3  (82)
 
3.9  (82)
 
3.9  (82)
 
3.8  (82)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 19, 2017

This campground could be so awesome. It is right next to the marina and small beach and the campers are very friendly. Unfortunately, MWR recently took some of the campground parking directly adjacent to camp sites and designated it an "asset disposal" area. aka. a junkyard. There are boats with barnacles on the bottom, motors with no cover, trailer tires flat. There are old BBQ trailers that are no longer used by the post. It is hard to believe that the post commander allowed a designated junkyard on the CG. One air conditioner in the laundry area was replaced after 4 months of no AC during the summer. A second AC is sitting on the ground, waiting to be installed. Weeds growing around it. The bathrooms smell horribly and large fans have layers of dust. There is a chaplain's trailer that is sitting half in the brush and looks like it hasn't been used in a decade. MacDill is a beautiful base in South Tampa and the rest of the base is gorgeous. It is a shame that CG facilities are being so junked up. The sites themselves are very nice and mowed as needed. You get TV, electrical, and water included. They tell you there is wifi-but I've never met anyone who was able to access it. You can, however, use the golf course clubhouse wifi. Love MacDill. Campground needs leadership. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October 2017

Just FYI, the FamCamp sent out a text message 23 October 2017 stating "Dry camp will be closed this season, therefore there will not be any rotation." That's all it said. Suggest anyone planning to go down with out a reservation call to get clarification.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

1-14 April 2017

We checked into site 94 on a Saturday. The man was rude and curt to the people checking in before us and to us also. After arriving at our site I checked voltage at receptacle and discovered that the 50 amp receptacle had 117 volts on line 1 but only 79 online 2, since this low voltage could fry electrical devices I couldn't use and a serge protector would not let current flow to trailer because of low voltage. Told man in office and was told he would have it looked at. On Monday went back to office and was pleased to be greeted by a helpful lady that called in my problem. On Tuesday I went back to office to deal with mister personality again and was told the electrician had just visited my site and informed grumpy that I apparently had not turned breakers on. I assured him that I had tried the breakers numerous times. He said there was nothing else he could do he had to go with what the electrician told him. Long story short I plugged into empty sites around me for the 2 weeks I was there. This man exemplifies the employees at the DMV and has no business working with the public. I am a work camper and have had the pleasure of dealing with people all over this country, if I never have to deal with this man again I will die a happy man. On a Happy note the facility was very enjoyable with a great beach. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

November 2015

Well we were dissappointed on our visit to this base. I called 1 week before arriving here and ask about sites available for last min arrivals and I was told MANY were available. We drove here from GA and when we checked in they said there fully booked till March! They said there doing renovation on half of there sites and we can stay in overflow. When we drove through the park we saw about 30 sites available in between other RVs in a separate area from the renovation area. It was a miserable hot night too. People at the office were not very friendly or helpful, it seemed like they were doing a job they didn't want to do. Also be prepared to bring registration for RV and toad, current insurance and dog vaccine records. Also directions above are not correct on one part: it says to take exit 41a then go South on Dale Marby highway. Sadly Dale Marby highway is also called HWY 92 and it goes east and west, not north and south, this will be very confusing, so you need to go WEST on HWY 92, but the rest of the info is correct.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Feb/March 2015

I called several months in advance of our trip to make sure there would be no problem with us getting a sight because we are DOD retired. I was assured there would be no problem.. I was told to call 2 weeks before arrival, I did and was told that DOD can not make reservations but to come on we would be in dry camp for a couple days, week at the most. We arrive, and are told "oh no, you are lowest of priority" but to check back if someone leaves we may get a sight. We pay for a week in dry camp, go to renew and see what is the possibility of getting electric, at this time we are told that there would have to be a mass exodus for us to even be considered for a electric sight!! Several people have come and gone. We still sit in dry camp over 3 weeks!! I am sorry but we may be DOD my husband did serve in the guards, he did time for his country, he has worked very hard for the department of defense and is very proud of the job he did, now here we are being treated as second rate citizens. I truly understand active duty has first choice!! I understand retirees should have benefits. I do not mind waiting my turn..but it seems NO ONE here knows the rules. By the time we figured out we were scum, it was too late to find another place to stay, everything is full. So DOD unless you want to stay in dry camp, stay away..it advertises DOD can stay, but they forgot to say where. Oh, by the way the showers are NOT cleaned daily. I watched one stall for 4 days that had hair in the same spot. I bought cleaner and would clean and disinfect when I showered. There is very very limited wifi, if you find it DO NOT MOVE!! We have stayed at other military camp grounds and this is the first time I have been made to feel soooo bad.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 22-23, 2014

First the good: Wonderful location. Tampa is a scenic city and MacDill is an incredibly beautiful military base. The famcamp is well kept, neat and clean. We had a water view site on a level concrete pad. Now the bad: When we checked in we had to provide our RV registration, proof of insurance for our trailer and our truck, and a shot record for our dog. Both my wife and I had to provide our full names, plus a separate next of kin. I have never had to answer such detailed questions at any other military RV park, and we have been to at least a dozen different ones in the last two years. I haven't had to answer so many personal questions since my last overseas deployment! Next we had to sign our lives away, saying we understood the many pages of ridiculously strict rules and regulations of the famcamp. These include a demerit system. Every violation is 3 points. If you amass 12 points you are evicted from the famcamp. Definitely not a dog friendly place. Dog rules are posted everywhere, in case you forgot the page of dog rules you had to sign upon arrival. Cats are not exempt, either. A neighbor told me he got chewed out when one of his cats briefly walked outside his trailer without a leash. All the rules and their threats of heavy handed enforcement made me flash back to bootcamp... but wait, there's more. Hopefully it was just the time of year we stayed here, but the insects were horrible. Bugs known as "lovebugs" were swarming everywhere. They don't bite but they are so thick they are a major annoyance. Much worse were the "no see 'ums," tiny biting insects that were everywhere at all hours of the day and night. They are so small they easily get inside your trailer and even torture you while you are inside. I had to cover myself in Off insect repellent just to go outside. I am still swatting at them as I write this review. Overall, the terrible insect situation coupled with the absurd emphasis on unnecessarily strict rules spoiled what should have been a great visit. We will not stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

February 16-20, 2014

Demerits? Seriously? A management style of treating campers like school children assigns 3 points for various infractions. Exceed 12 and you're ejected. Office staff lets those who come to the office wait, while they take phone calls immediately. With only 34 first-come, first-serve sites, this park certainly discourages spontaneity. It really just provides subsidized Winter housing and RV storage for snowbirds. Be prepared for days of dry-camping, hearing generators from dawn to almost midnight. It would be considerate to set aside a no-generator area for those of us who can function without one. FHU sites vary from spacious to cramped. Partial sites are next to the dry-camp field and their generators. We watched seven partial sites sit empty for three nights (maybe more after we left) but we couldn't get out of dry-camping. Neither could we make a reservation. If they don't reserve them and they don't move people to them, then what? The location is beautiful, the base has every amenity. We appreciated the library, commissary and exchange. Gas was convenient. Easy to get to highways and tourist attractions. This is the 23rd FAMCAMP we have stayed in and the first to require vaccination records for my CAT! For a 4 day visit! Bathrooms were tidied-up but have had years of hard use. Every stall had a functional shower-head and shower-curtain and lots of hot water. Huge laundry, as is fitting for 400 campsites. Dump station is located for departing campers, not convenient for those needing to dump before dry-camping. Wifi? Forget it. Never got on it in the campground, indicating it's way overloaded.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 22- April 3 2013

The staff was great, the laundry and shower areas were nice. and the location was nice, however, the RV's are packed in like sardines. There is little room to open your steps without hitting the camper in front of you. One would think at such a high ranking location (Tampa) Wifi would be great, but it was non- existant, and cell phone reception wasnt great even with an antenna. We made reservations over a month in advance so didnt have to worry about the overflow lot or anything so that was nice. It looked like most of the RV's there were definately using all of the 6 month allowance to stay there, which to me borders on homesteading and makes it difficult for others to enjoy the warm and beautiful climate. From my overall experience I wont be staying here again. I dont like being that crowded up, and there are nicer, rommier places to stay that are less expensive.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

16 Dec 2012 - 15 Jan 2013

J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - We submitted our reservation a year in advance, but were number 21 on the WAITING LIST when we arrived. After 12 days we reached number and were assigned to a site that had been vacant for at least 5 days. To assign us to that site on the computer they had to remove 2 other names. Office is staffed with volunteers, some good some lousy. There are 3 WiFi locations, each with a limited number of IP addresses, so service is dependent on how many others are on line. Virgin Mobile MiFi works, but is slow. Cell reception goes in and out, probably due to radar interference. If you want a confirmed reservation, you MUST NOT arrive in Dec, Jan or Feb.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan 6 - Feb 20, 2012

L.N. left this review using the Directory software: - Still one of the best deals in the state of Florida.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Aug - Nov 2010

L.A. left this review using the Directory software: Never really meet the Host until my final few days where I was asking for a 4 day extension, to my current rental, when I renewed my lot and she refused to do an extension stating "I'm not cutting my throat due to the high input of other clients with reservations”. I am in the 2 week rental lots and there are quite a few of them empty, there is a lots of gun firing noise due to the firing range being less than a quarter of a mile away. The park is a good park, the WIFI needs worked, and mosquito control isn’t that great, big enough to ruin a good out evening.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May-June 2009

This RV park has so much potential but needs to be maintained. They are discontinuing WIFI. Now they tell you that you can go to the Marina rec room and use dial up. But you have to have an account with an ISP and it obviously is slow. They gave the campers only two work days notice they were shutting the WIFI down while try to contract the service out. Which means months and months but definitely before the snowbirds flock in. You get the sense and the staff definitely makes you feel like you are a second class citizen because you are not a snowbird and here during the off months. It is obvious they cater to the snowbirds and during the off season (summer months) there are no amenities. During the summer there are no issues getting a spot as most of the park is empty. The grounds are in a state of disrepair. They do not trim the grass around your spot and they only mow common areas. The showers and bathrooms are not cleaned and are filthy. I have seen used Q tips and used soap in shower drains that have been here for the last two months. The showers are disgusting and the toilets at not much better. The laundry room is nice but get your quarters before and do not rely on the change machine to work. Hint: The golf course driving range has a change machine so you don't have to drive all the way to the BX or Commissary. Propane can be purchased from the Marina but the staff is not personable and can be downright rude. They act like they are doing you a favor. During the snowbird season they have a contractor to deliver to your site for a fee. Off season you have to unhook and drive to the Marina. The Marina has a small store for ice and chips but you can tell they also cater to the snowbirds. They do not restock during the summer months and the prices could be considered gouging. RV toiled paper is almost $5. The beach is really not a beach. It is a bay and has the typical smell and the water is not one I would swim in. To each his own. Yes it is a haul to the gate and then another drive to really get anywhere but this is Tampa and the rates off base are much higher. There is nothing the FAMCAMP staff can do about location, or the bay, or the water, or the smell, or the critters. But they can do something about how clean the grounds and facilities are and how they present themselves.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

December 2009

Arrived without reservations and were placed on partial hookup. After 1 night, we were assigned a FHU site. We only stayed a week. This is a busy campground. We attended a Christmas dinner, but it was standing room only. We paid our $5 for the meal and took it home.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13