Raccoon Creek Recreation Area

Featured
 
3.8 (89)
143085   1   23   0   79

User reviews

89 reviews

 
(26)
 
(41)
 
(13)
 
(5)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
 
4.3  (89)
 
3.8  (89)
 
3.9  (89)
 
3.7  (89)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
89 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 15 - Dec 20, 2017

While tent camping at this campground: there was only one other individual at the campsite when I arrived I noted that the individual was a smoker and remained there the duration that I was there about a month and was there when I left. About four of five other sites had become occupied since my arrival. Things were pretty good for the biggest part; then suddenly, one night the other first individual mentioned that was camped out starting having violent coughing and hacking fits while screaming profane remarks and blasting the radio in the vehicle so loud that you could hear the metal vibrating from the vehicle this went on for hours. There was no getting hold of security without dialing 911. I reported this incident to the campground attendants and I did mention communicable diseases there are things out there known as airborne pathogens and I did not want to catch anything like Tuberculosis or anything like that. Shortly after this incident, not sure if anything was said to the individual about this incident by the attendants but one night immediately thereafter, returning to my site I noticed my tent had been vandalized by someone snapping one of the rods. These rods are $40.00 a piece, how many packs of cigarettes can you buy with that? Shortly after this I packed my stuff and left. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 1 - 14, 2018

This was our first time staying at MacDill and had a wonderful visit. The snowbirds had gone back north so it was easy to get a site. The base beach, marina and SeaScapes Beach House are right next to the Famcamp. You have beautiful scenic view of Tampa Bay, with fantastic sunsets. We would stay here again and may consider this to be a winter destination but it is very hard to get reservations unless you plan 2 years in advance. Must call on October 1 2018 for reservations for 2019/2020 winter. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 28, 2017 - Mar 4, 2018

This review was left by J.B. using the Directory software: "Free bowling, twice monthly breakfast, and weekly dinner trips provide enjoyment. New sites are planned with water view."

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 2918

GOOD LUCK getting in here from December through March! They will not make a reservation for you unless you are staying at least 3 months. The staff is downright rude, acting as if this is the way it's always been. No, it's not the way it's always been. There was a section that was held for short term stays -- no longer. It's first come, first served. So, come on down to Florida on the off chance that the day you show up, there will be a spot. We stayed here about 2 years ago, the facilities are older but pretty well kept. Now, not so much. They have crammed as many sites in here as they possibly can and as long as they get filled, the staff could care less by whom. We probably will not get the chance to stay here again. Sad. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Feb 27, 2018

We called and there were no full sites available but there were about 4 partial sites but we were unable to make a reservation for these. When we got there the partial were still available. Actually I am glad that we were in the partials as we had more room and an nice creek running behind our camper. The full sites were packed in like sardines. When I went to check in they required my DL, my ID card, my vehicle registration for my car and my camper, my insurance on my camper and my dogs shot record. I have stayed at many military campground and I have never had to supply anything but my ID and maybe the dog shot record. I had everything but my insurance card on my phone and they had to have a separate copy of it so I had to email one to them. The dogs shot record I did not have so I called my vet to get it and they said they could FAX it. The campground office did not have a FAX machine and my vet did not have the ability to email it or text it. At this point one employee began making fun of the place I was from. "Where is this place West Virginia", she said. I said no Alabama, she said "oh Alabama", "What kind of place doesn't have email". After begging my vet to ask someone to take a picture of it and text it we got it handled as I was then able to email it. They made me very anxious. Then they began to talk about where they were going to meet after work completely dismissing me. I got no info about the campground except rules that I had to sign, no directions to the camp site I rented, and no info about the bathhouse or laundry. The beach is pretty but because my dog was only allowed in one area that was grassy and muddy I didn't get to enjoy it at all. The laundry was pay machines at $1.75 per load and $.25 for 5 minutes to dry. On the Navy Base and a few other AF Bases the laundry was free. Bottom line though I probably could have overlooked the other inconveniences had the staff been friendlier and not made fun of the place I came from and asked me "are you going back to that place". 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2017-February 2018

This was our second stay at MacDill AFB-Raccoon Creek Recreation Area. We requested this reservation one year in advance and provided a $100 deposit to hold the reservation. We had the option of staying up to six months but we stayed only about four full months this season. This campground is large and is really a pleasure to drive to. You will travel through the entire base to get to it which means you pass by the hangars, air field, commissary and BX, the bay, beautiful base housing. MacDill is on a peninsula in Tampa Bay and the FamCamp is on the very end of the peninsula making the water very visible and the beach very inviting. We read through the reviews and yes, this FamCamp could use improvements especially when compared with other recreation areas. In their annual listening session held on 21 Feb 2018, we were told a contract should be issued very soon to renovate/improve the bath house/laundry building. They are also addressing other areas including better information sharing at check-in and throughout the camp; better WiFi throughout the campground and annex campground; installing new sites closer to the water (not sure if these are RV or cabins...we've heard both speculated but it was not made clear at the meeting); address customer service issues with the staff; removing boats and other recreation vehicles that are stored near the camp/beach area or discarding if no owner is identified; mentioned the marina building needs to be larger; evaluating biological and other methods to address the mosquito and no-see-um populations; and other items. We asked if an agreement had been reached with Spectrum (high speed internet provider, an optional service that you pay Spectrum directly for) to get better rates on high speed internet. We were told they would look in to this and noted that cable and internet rates increased for everyone living on base. Our review leans positive because we are thankful to have the opportunity to stay here. We understand it is a popular location and we may not always get the chance to stay. We made wonderful friends and enjoyed the experience. Location: 4/5 because we prefer campgrounds in the woods! Raccoon Creek is not in the woods but they do have beautiful palm trees and performed maintenance on them just a few weeks ago. If you enjoy the amenities of a large city, this camp is for you! If you enjoy being in a "gated community," this camp is for you! If you enjoy having plenty of space to run, walk, or ride a bike/trike, this place is for you. Please note: mosquitoes and no-see-ums are really bad in the campground when the temperature rises above 80F and the humidity increases. My wife attracts them and suffered at times from all the itchy bites. Fire ants are also prevalent throughout the camp and can be a painful experience. Cleanliness/Hospitality: 4/5 because the facilities are a bit run down and the campground staff are generally friendly but should put more information in writing so they provide everyone with the exact same information. Amenities/Facilities: 4/5 as noted above, the facilities are a bit run down and the walk to the beach is laced with old equipment and recreational vehicles. When we left, a black cable was laying on top of the ground and had been there since before Christmas. Value: 5/5 because it's a great deal for everything you get, not only a full hook up site (majority of the sites) but also being on a military installation. For a wintering location you can't beat it! Overall Experience: 4/5 because this camp could be improved, as any camp could be improved! Be Blessed! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

01 Jan 2018

This is essentially a trailer park for lucky few who take up the entire campground for 6 months every winter. Their reservation system is ridiculous and obviously geared toward filling the park with homesteaders each Oct. I called in Jan 2018 to attempt to get a reservation for Jan 2019, only to be told the entire trailer park was reserved for the entire 2018-2019 "season", and there was a 200+ waiting list already for any cancellations. I was told to try calling back in Oct 2018 for a possible shot at a site in 2020! Absolutely ridiculous! This is becoming a problem in nearly every military campground which allows reservations. I realize these are civilians contracted to run the military RV parks, but it's time the rest of us start demanding more oversight by the military to ensure a more equitable use of these campgrounds by ALL eligible personnel, rather than the lucky few who win the reservation lottery. If you want a vacation home in Florida, then buy one, but don't squat in the military campgrounds for 6 months every year. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 18, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 26, 2017

I've only been here a week so far, I don't have nothing bad to say yet, because i think this is a great place, I have stayed in this park several times short term, this is my first year long term. The only thing I wish is that the staff had or provided more information about what's available to you while you are in the park, they gave me information about the internet but it was very vague and not to accurate. cable, 69 channels are free but you can upgrade with spectrum, don't call them go to the office on dale Mabry next to the navy federal credit union, i saved $70.00 going in verses doing it over the phone. Cable w/HD 2 TV with a 6 channel DVR, internet 100 Mbps (super fast) and a phone line for under $90.00 outstanding. by going into spectrum they waived the connect fee you get charged if you do it on the phone.(found all this out by the cable installer i found doing a install at some other RV. I am a disabled veteran and you have to cut your own grass and that's not very helpful to me. The web site gives a lot of local information but it would be nice if you got some hand out or a packet during sign in, telling you what to do or where to go. I guess one thing is that most of the campers have been coming for years and know the tricks, so your on your own, just ask around and people will give information you just have to decipher it. FAMCAMP has opened 100 more slots on the 2018-19 waitlist. Please call to add yourself onto the waitlist if you haven't done so already. (813) 840-6920 Thank you -Management

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 19, 2017

This campground could be so awesome. It is right next to the marina and small beach and the campers are very friendly. Unfortunately, MWR recently took some of the campground parking directly adjacent to camp sites and designated it an "asset disposal" area. aka. a junkyard. There are boats with barnacles on the bottom, motors with no cover, trailer tires flat. There are old BBQ trailers that are no longer used by the post. It is hard to believe that the post commander allowed a designated junkyard on the CG. One air conditioner in the laundry area was replaced after 4 months of no AC during the summer. A second AC is sitting on the ground, waiting to be installed. Weeds growing around it. The bathrooms smell horribly and large fans have layers of dust. There is a chaplain's trailer that is sitting half in the brush and looks like it hasn't been used in a decade. MacDill is a beautiful base in South Tampa and the rest of the base is gorgeous. It is a shame that CG facilities are being so junked up. The sites themselves are very nice and mowed as needed. You get TV, electrical, and water included. They tell you there is wifi-but I've never met anyone who was able to access it. You can, however, use the golf course clubhouse wifi. Love MacDill. Campground needs leadership. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2017

We have stayed at this RV location many times as it is in our own back yard and we keep our pontoon in a slip nearby. We usually stay only a couple of days and we have never been turned away. We are told go find a spot and come on back to let us know where you are parked. The idea that a person can stay for the "season" is a bit odd. There are a few permanent homesteaders that have allowed their items to grow beyond their boundaries. They however tend to be a bit further away than the temporary visitors. This is a place where MWR should throw some money. The shower and laundry facilities need to be remodeled and the showers have a constant smell of mold. The staff have been operating out of a shanty style trailer for the last few years. The sites are well kept and many have some shade. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 29, 2017

In reference to the previous dry camping comments. Here is what was in the latest base newspaper, Thunderbolt, dated October 26, 2017. Julie Farcy, a recreational aide at the camp: "As of this week, the FamCamp is about 80 percent full, said Julie Farcy, a recreational aide at the camp. There are 384 camping spots." "A change this year is that the dry camp, or camping without water or electricity hookups, is not available. The dry camp area is being converted into a compound of cabins which could be ready by late 2018 or 2019. "Currently, reservations have most of the camp spots booked for the winter, but there is short-term camping (two weeks maximum) on a first-come, first-served basis, said Farcy. For more information contact FamCamp at 813-840-6919"

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October 2017

Just FYI, the FamCamp sent out a text message 23 October 2017 stating "Dry camp will be closed this season, therefore there will not be any rotation." That's all it said. Suggest anyone planning to go down with out a reservation call to get clarification.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

1-14 April 2017

We checked into site 94 on a Saturday. The man was rude and curt to the people checking in before us and to us also. After arriving at our site I checked voltage at receptacle and discovered that the 50 amp receptacle had 117 volts on line 1 but only 79 online 2, since this low voltage could fry electrical devices I couldn't use and a serge protector would not let current flow to trailer because of low voltage. Told man in office and was told he would have it looked at. On Monday went back to office and was pleased to be greeted by a helpful lady that called in my problem. On Tuesday I went back to office to deal with mister personality again and was told the electrician had just visited my site and informed grumpy that I apparently had not turned breakers on. I assured him that I had tried the breakers numerous times. He said there was nothing else he could do he had to go with what the electrician told him. Long story short I plugged into empty sites around me for the 2 weeks I was there. This man exemplifies the employees at the DMV and has no business working with the public. I am a work camper and have had the pleasure of dealing with people all over this country, if I never have to deal with this man again I will die a happy man. On a Happy note the facility was very enjoyable with a great beach. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Oct 21, 2016 to Feb 1, 2017

Disappointed with management, base security as well as command to fix this place. They had a town hall Jan 2017 which from gossip I heard went ugly, so much entitlement from campers the command was astonished I heard later? I like active duty people skipped it as I know my place, I'm a guest and being on base is a priv, not a right like so many dependants seemingly think. Management doesn't seem to follow policies, much less enforce them equally among campers as anyone who spends time will realize and experience. Very close minded and project borderline thinking of "good people can do no wrong/bad people can do no right" so I'd suggest smile and don't get personal with people if you wanna stay extended/seasonal? Homesteaders wreck moral at this campground as there are special people (insiders) and outsiders (those the clique doesn't know) Constant less than equal treatment prevails here sadly as seasonal snowbirders converge and you get the clique effect is ugly, pretty emotionally immature dependas as well with their entitlement issues ("my husband served blah blah blah yrs and I'm entitled" mentalities) These are the people who think they don't need to follow base policy I.e. Wear a bicycle helmet...they think they're at K.O.A. Quite time 11pm-7am isn't respected, had a civilian defendant neighbor who thought the rules didn't apply to her, she'd start up her rattle diesel truck and let it idle 0600 so went over and reminded her it was quite time, she said "I'm going to work" to which I said "get in the truck and leave then, truck is waking people up, were retired not working people here" so she went to the office and said I intimidated her with a baseball bat??? LOL!!! Office cowards brought it up weeks later asking my side of it then leaving it with don't be confrontational, just come to us??? Here is where a lot of the issues with unreasonable and irrational behavior begin, people don't work things out seemingly here, they try to get those they don't get along with kicked out seemingly... Gossip is ugly as all heck too, way too many people acting like junior high kids but that is what happens when you have people who come year after year after year etc. Heck, one veterans wife was so hurt trump won and hurt by my comment one night at weekly trivia "I don't know how anyone can be in DNC after the way they treated Bernie" her spineless veteran hubby made comment in other words "I wanna control what you talk about and I can't hear your happy trump talk" so I quit the trivia team...I later started seeing/hanging out with a active duty SGM which the trivia team leader asked the classless question "am I getting some of that cooter?" I responded with "I don't ask you about sex with your wife do I?" Too many homestead kids also, little brats constantly running-biking yelling, screaming in campground can't respect your space much less your desire for peace and quite...they'll wake you up from afternoon naps daily, management won't fix this by doing the logicle reasonable answer of enforcing the kids play at the playground which is away from campers yet close to offices and in great view by adults for supervision/security/safety yet outta hearing of most of the campground? Dog policy isn't enforced, people bring dogs that are Air Force policy wide banned from installations (pits/Doberman/rots etc) and staff acts clueless...they'll act like you're the problem for bringing it up even when these animals are clearly acting aggressive and that being your grievance for bringing this up??? You'll see people without leashes and their animals pooping/peeing in your area of occupation and they'll act like you're being unreasonable? Campground stay lengths aren't inforced equally, supposed to be a six month limit per year for RV/60 day for tent which they selectively enforce? I know people who squat/homestead their RV there non stop year after year without leaving much less rotating? They even have one Vietnam veteran who RV camps, who has a mentally challenged/socially inept middle aged son whom he sponsors his man child 40something son and girlfriend in tent camping and won't let them in their RV as they fight verbally and physically? Most bases have a 14 day guest limit but this veteran gets to have his middle aged man child kid there indefinitely??? (This guy has no base privs, can't get on base without his mother or father present) yet he's mentally challenged and thinks he has same status as veterans...This is the issues with management I speak of) I know I rip this guy bad, but this is white trash who suggested I dog fight my puppy for money??? His father made the comment about my pickup "does that thing even run?" To which I replied "does your daughter like BBC?" (Has a mulotto granddaughter and is especially ashamed his daughter made children with black men so I couldn't resist) Again, I have zero no confidence in the staff as they'll twist stories into outcomes they like and for whom they want to prevail in disputes. Same feeling for fellow camper veterans or their families much less base security or the command to fix this place so I've personally boycotted it when I left I was so frustrated and it was making my ptsd issues worse. Staff were so competitive with me in the end I got a all base restriction as I didn't come see them when they left a note asking me to come by office on my checkout date LOL!!! Security at another base fixed the restriction issue and explained after their investigation that this was grand scale snafu and should've only pertained to macdill AFB LOL!!! (More examples of their over reacting and unprofessionalism) I called month later to cancel my reservation for the following year and one of the staffers who had it out for me was childish enough to tell me he'd call me back to cancel/refund my money but never did, great example of the professionalism there again, stubborn bratty childish pukes...but again I blame the command for this as it's their campground. In hindsight, seems things got especially ugly when I was gossiped by the community about my time with an active duty female SGM (jealousy) Again, too southern as in corrupt. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 7 - 8, 2016

We just stayed a couple nights here on our way south. I think the campground is really nice and looks like they are really trying to do a good job of taking care of it. I think it is so big and there are so many camp sites that it is hard to get anything completed, like finishing the new pedestal installations. I'm not complaining just merely stating my observation. I like the CG and all the facilities. The beach is nice, really big plenty of room for all kinds of activities. While we were there there were 2 weddings and several organizational parties all on the beach and they didn't interfere with each other. The restaurant is kind of small but serves good food and good drinks and was open to everyone even during all the other activities going on. We were here in May so it was not crowded and we had our pick of sites. I would definitely return again, just not sure if it would be during peak snowbird season, that may be a little crazy with all the sites they have here. Oh and the wifi does not work very well either, we were right across from the laundry where one of the hotspots was and it still didn't work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

November 2015

Well we were dissappointed on our visit to this base. I called 1 week before arriving here and ask about sites available for last min arrivals and I was told MANY were available. We drove here from GA and when we checked in they said there fully booked till March! They said there doing renovation on half of there sites and we can stay in overflow. When we drove through the park we saw about 30 sites available in between other RVs in a separate area from the renovation area. It was a miserable hot night too. People at the office were not very friendly or helpful, it seemed like they were doing a job they didn't want to do. Also be prepared to bring registration for RV and toad, current insurance and dog vaccine records. Also directions above are not correct on one part: it says to take exit 41a then go South on Dale Marby highway. Sadly Dale Marby highway is also called HWY 92 and it goes east and west, not north and south, this will be very confusing, so you need to go WEST on HWY 92, but the rest of the info is correct.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

March 22-29 2015

We were not sure at all we wanted to come here but curiosity got the best of us and being nearby we drove over to check it out. I'd called in late Feb and was told there was no chance of even overflow, dry camping. Then the conversation turned confusing: something about you had to wait 2 weeks in overflow, then you had to make a reservation 2 weeks out. So I asked to make a reservation for 2 weeks from then and no, that was not possible. When I hung up I just said HUH?? To my surprise when we drove in on March 22 the office staff was super pleasant and said sure we could have a fhu site with no reservation, just come back Tuesday. We did, again very pleasant people in the office, and we got one of the many sites open. That said, we would not come back. I think the place's main appeal is it's the southernmost famcamp outside of Key West, making the winters warmer than the nicer (in our opinion) camps up in the panhandle. The sites are just average, pretty close together, the laundry room is big but not very inviting, same with the bathrooms. The beach is ok for sitting, not for swimming. The base itself is very nice, the commissary and bx are great. The annex on Golf Course Rd was never discussed so I don't know what one has to do to get there. It's a little more open, more of a "country" feel. Has the look of an old mobile home park with the sites very oddly spaced on concrete pads, one for each wheel. There are no facilities at all there. The Tampa traffic alone is enough to keep us away from a second visit. It's just not that nice a place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

23-28 February 2015

Raccoon Creek is a “Snow Bird” Mecca during the winter that was at capacity during our stay 23-28 February. MacDill is a full services base with excellent commissary, exchange, gym, golfing etc. The CG has an excellent bathhouse, laundry, mail service, marina, and beach area; all within walking distance. Excellent bike or running trails. We found the staff to be busy, very busy, but courteous. The rotation to and from full hookup to dry camp seemed to be fair. The sites are situated close together-to close. Three hot spots for Wi-Fi are advertised: marina, laundry, and the club. I could literally be standing inside one of the above and could not get connected. If you need internet recommend the library. Tampa is a Metro area and recommend that you arrive or leave on a weekend or at the very least avoid heavy traffic times. Overall we enjoyed although crowded.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Feb/March 2015

I called several months in advance of our trip to make sure there would be no problem with us getting a sight because we are DOD retired. I was assured there would be no problem.. I was told to call 2 weeks before arrival, I did and was told that DOD can not make reservations but to come on we would be in dry camp for a couple days, week at the most. We arrive, and are told "oh no, you are lowest of priority" but to check back if someone leaves we may get a sight. We pay for a week in dry camp, go to renew and see what is the possibility of getting electric, at this time we are told that there would have to be a mass exodus for us to even be considered for a electric sight!! Several people have come and gone. We still sit in dry camp over 3 weeks!! I am sorry but we may be DOD my husband did serve in the guards, he did time for his country, he has worked very hard for the department of defense and is very proud of the job he did, now here we are being treated as second rate citizens. I truly understand active duty has first choice!! I understand retirees should have benefits. I do not mind waiting my turn..but it seems NO ONE here knows the rules. By the time we figured out we were scum, it was too late to find another place to stay, everything is full. So DOD unless you want to stay in dry camp, stay away..it advertises DOD can stay, but they forgot to say where. Oh, by the way the showers are NOT cleaned daily. I watched one stall for 4 days that had hair in the same spot. I bought cleaner and would clean and disinfect when I showered. There is very very limited wifi, if you find it DO NOT MOVE!! We have stayed at other military camp grounds and this is the first time I have been made to feel soooo bad.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13 November 2014 - 12 February 2015

This is a very good facility, which could be great with a policy change. Since stays up to 6 months are allowed, from October to April it's not a campground, it's a home for snowbirds. To make a "reservation" a $100 deposit is required. We called on 13 November 2013, but did not have a confirmed reservation until a month before we left home. The last time we stayed here we arrived in December and didn't get confirmed until two weeks after we arrived. Many people abuse the system. They make reservations for October. They arrive and park their rig, then go back home until after Christmas or New Years. This allows them to get a confirmed reservation, pick a good site, and deny others the opportunity to do so. Reducing the stay limit to 4 months would fix that problem. Although the signs say the rest roooms/showers are closed for an hour and a half daily, the state of those facillities do not reflect that. I saw the same candy wrapper on the floor for 3 or 4 days. On many occasions there were no paper towels and at least one time there was no toilet paper. Wi-fi is spotty at best. IF you can connect it's not very speedy. There is a limit to the number of connections at each location and many who get connected never disconnect. They do offer Mi-Fi for $50 a month. I had my own Virgin Mobile Mi-Fi and service was lousy. They are tearing down the old office and building a new one. Hopefully they'll upgrade the Wi-Fi.

Was this review helpful to you? 
89 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5