Raccoon Creek Recreation Area

Featured
 
3.8 (96)
190984 1 23 2 103

User reviews

96 reviews

 
(28)
 
(43)
 
(15)
 
(5)
 
(5)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.3  (96)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.6  (96)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (96)
Value 
 
3.9  (96)
Overall Experience 
 
3.7  (96)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
96 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
20-27 Dec 2019
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
No hot water in the bathhouse which means no hot water for showering or laundry. Took a week for a sign to be posted stating no hot water. When you ask about hot showers you're told to go to the fitness center. Good customer service does not exist at this FamCamp. When will the hot water heater be replaced? Rumor is sometime next year. Why not rent a shower trailer in the meantime? Let's mention cleanliness for a moment, trash in men's room is overflowing, at least 5 bars of soap and numerous shampoo containers on the floor in the men's shower area. Base preventive med personnel should make an unannounced inspection, because certainly no one in the FSS comes through to ensure folks are doing their jobs. First and last time staying in this FamCamp which seems like a 65 and over gated and closed community. Sites are Not private and as one other reviewer wrote, this does have the feel of a Used RV and Boat dealer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
September 12-16 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
No one has mentioned the Cable TV Connections have a MALE end so you need an "extension/adapter" for Male to Male. Fortunately I had ONE onboard with my Cable TV parts but this was the FIRST time I ever needed it (over 10 years of RVing). Originally we planned to stay the last full week of Sept and they were unable to reserve us a decent site (proposed Site 15 would never have fit our 36'RV and Truck) as Snowbirds were expected to fill it up by then... We changed our plans and came in mid-September where the main Park was maybe 20% Full and Office personnel told us to find our own site, so we found one with some shade and only one "nearby" neighbor. Nice to have a concrete patio but sites are very close together as is common with Snowbird parks. And it was overdue for a mowing... Two Dog Parks with bag dispensers was a plus for us. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
June 20 -25 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed at MacDill AFB so we could attend and support the Warrior Games 2019. We were disappointed in the high grass around our RV site when we pulled in. We paid the $100.00 deposit fee to guarantee we had a spot. The site had not been mowed before we arrived. The renters contract states that patrons will be responsible for the lawn area surrounding your site. Lawn mowers and weed eaters are provided by the Fam Camp office. This was not relayed to us at check-in. The RV spaces are close, they provide a concrete slab large enough to hold the picnic table. Camp regulations do not allow rugs. We did enjoy the dog parks one was on the beach so it gives the dogs water playtime. As we travel with 2 dogs one is my husbands service dog. They do provide laundry facilities with quite a few washers and dryers, however several washers were out of order. We enjoyed a lunch at the Seascape Beach club restaurant which is located in the RV campground within walking distance from our site. Overall, I don't believe we will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
27 June 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This review was left by T.M. using the Directory software: Beautiful and very large campground. Beautiful beach and there was a resturant at the beachfront (walking distance from the park) that serves a large platter of crab legs on Friday nights for just $11.99. They were fantastic. Facility is well kept and sites were large. We enjoyed our stay very much and would love to visit this park again in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
March 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
M.B. left this review using the Directory Software - This Campground is based right on the bay at Tampa and it is absolutely gorgeous. Probably one of the most well-maintained and well manicured campgrounds I think I’ve ever stayed at. Every spot that I saw was mostly concreted. Beautifully manicured and each utility hook up had a night light that came on at night which was really kind of neat to see when you pull into the campground at night. Saturday mornings the campground throws a free breakfast for campers. It was a breakfast buffet, with their restaurant right there on their own private beach under the palm trees as you watch the dolphins swim in front of you. It made for an epic setting. I definitely highly recommend this campground excellent staff excellent scenery and was great launching point for us to get to baseball spring training games as well as Clearwater Beach and the strawberry festival down in plant city.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 4
December 2018 - January 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
MacDill AFB, is a perfectly beautiful place to visit. We have been camping at this campground for 10 years and this past Dec/January 2019 we could not spend the winter, however, we rented one of the trailers for a couple of weeks. The trailer was nice enough, but the mattresses on both of the beds were literally horrible. The rental fee is $75.00 a night and with that kind of fee, you would think that purchasing a couple of new mattresses would be very minor to make the stay more pleasurable. Everything else about the trailer was ok, but like I said, a minor purchase sure would have made the stay much more comfortable. We will probably not rent one of their trailers again unless they corrected this problem, but will have our own camper from now on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
Oct 2018 - Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our first time staying at Macdill AFB. We stayed in the annex and got a great site. Way more room than the main campground by the beach and Marina. All full hook up with 30,50, and 15 receptacles. No bath house or laundry in annex area. Laundromat is quite large and has the bathhouse in the same building. The famcamp office is in a portable trailer near the main campground as a new famcamp building is in progress of being built now. They have a mail and package delivery building. A mailbox key is $20 for the time you are here. The marina has fishing, pontoon, and kayaks for rental. You must have a boating course completed thru Boat US to rent power boats. The famcamp has a rule that you keep your own site mowed and organized. Mowers, rakes, and weedeaters are available for use along with the fuel. Being new here we weren't told too much and learned as we went. Mostly people here for the winter months from all over the US. Two 18 hole golf courses, bowling alley, auto shop, bx, commissary, and several eating spots. The MWR staff were accommodating and friendly. Lots of things are changing, and some staff are new and learning the ropes. Wifi has been installed in the annex now so thats a plus. We enjoyed our time here and hopefully will return again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 0
Nov 15 - Dec 20, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
While tent camping at this campground: there was only one other individual at the campsite when I arrived I noted that the individual was a smoker and remained there the duration that I was there about a month and was there when I left. About four of five other sites had become occupied since my arrival. Things were pretty good for the biggest part; then suddenly, one night the other first individual mentioned that was camped out starting having violent coughing and hacking fits while screaming profane remarks and blasting the radio in the vehicle so loud that you could hear the metal vibrating from the vehicle this went on for hours. There was no getting hold of security without dialing 911. I reported this incident to the campground attendants and I did mention communicable diseases there are things out there known as airborne pathogens and I did not want to catch anything like Tuberculosis or anything like that. Shortly after this incident, not sure if anything was said to the individual about this incident by the attendants but one night immediately thereafter, returning to my site I noticed my tent had been vandalized by someone snapping one of the rods. These rods are $40.00 a piece, how many packs of cigarettes can you buy with that? Shortly after this I packed my stuff and left. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 16
April 1 - 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first time staying at MacDill and had a wonderful visit. The snowbirds had gone back north so it was easy to get a site. The base beach, marina and SeaScapes Beach House are right next to the Famcamp. You have beautiful scenic view of Tampa Bay, with fantastic sunsets. We would stay here again and may consider this to be a winter destination but it is very hard to get reservations unless you plan 2 years in advance. Must call on October 1 2018 for reservations for 2019/2020 winter. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
Nov 28, 2017 - Mar 4, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This review was left by J.B. using the Directory software: "Free bowling, twice monthly breakfast, and weekly dinner trips provide enjoyment. New sites are planned with water view."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
March 2918
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
GOOD LUCK getting in here from December through March! They will not make a reservation for you unless you are staying at least 3 months. The staff is downright rude, acting as if this is the way it's always been. No, it's not the way it's always been. There was a section that was held for short term stays -- no longer. It's first come, first served. So, come on down to Florida on the off chance that the day you show up, there will be a spot. We stayed here about 2 years ago, the facilities are older but pretty well kept. Now, not so much. They have crammed as many sites in here as they possibly can and as long as they get filled, the staff could care less by whom. We probably will not get the chance to stay here again. Sad. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 13 1
Feb 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We called and there were no full sites available but there were about 4 partial sites but we were unable to make a reservation for these. When we got there the partial were still available. Actually I am glad that we were in the partials as we had more room and an nice creek running behind our camper. The full sites were packed in like sardines. When I went to check in they required my DL, my ID card, my vehicle registration for my car and my camper, my insurance on my camper and my dogs shot record. I have stayed at many military campground and I have never had to supply anything but my ID and maybe the dog shot record. I had everything but my insurance card on my phone and they had to have a separate copy of it so I had to email one to them. The dogs shot record I did not have so I called my vet to get it and they said they could FAX it. The campground office did not have a FAX machine and my vet did not have the ability to email it or text it. At this point one employee began making fun of the place I was from. "Where is this place West Virginia", she said. I said no Alabama, she said "oh Alabama", "What kind of place doesn't have email". After begging my vet to ask someone to take a picture of it and text it we got it handled as I was then able to email it. They made me very anxious. Then they began to talk about where they were going to meet after work completely dismissing me. I got no info about the campground except rules that I had to sign, no directions to the camp site I rented, and no info about the bathhouse or laundry. The beach is pretty but because my dog was only allowed in one area that was grassy and muddy I didn't get to enjoy it at all. The laundry was pay machines at $1.75 per load and $.25 for 5 minutes to dry. On the Navy Base and a few other AF Bases the laundry was free. Bottom line though I probably could have overlooked the other inconveniences had the staff been friendlier and not made fun of the place I came from and asked me "are you going back to that place". 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 20 4
October 2017-February 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our second stay at MacDill AFB-Raccoon Creek Recreation Area. We requested this reservation one year in advance and provided a $100 deposit to hold the reservation. We had the option of staying up to six months but we stayed only about four full months this season. This campground is large and is really a pleasure to drive to. You will travel through the entire base to get to it which means you pass by the hangars, air field, commissary and BX, the bay, beautiful base housing. MacDill is on a peninsula in Tampa Bay and the FamCamp is on the very end of the peninsula making the water very visible and the beach very inviting. We read through the reviews and yes, this FamCamp could use improvements especially when compared with other recreation areas. In their annual listening session held on 21 Feb 2018, we were told a contract should be issued very soon to renovate/improve the bath house/laundry building. They are also addressing other areas including better information sharing at check-in and throughout the camp; better WiFi throughout the campground and annex campground; installing new sites closer to the water (not sure if these are RV or cabins...we've heard both speculated but it was not made clear at the meeting); address customer service issues with the staff; removing boats and other recreation vehicles that are stored near the camp/beach area or discarding if no owner is identified; mentioned the marina building needs to be larger; evaluating biological and other methods to address the mosquito and no-see-um populations; and other items. We asked if an agreement had been reached with Spectrum (high speed internet provider, an optional service that you pay Spectrum directly for) to get better rates on high speed internet. We were told they would look in to this and noted that cable and internet rates increased for everyone living on base. Our review leans positive because we are thankful to have the opportunity to stay here. We understand it is a popular location and we may not always get the chance to stay. We made wonderful friends and enjoyed the experience. Location: 4/5 because we prefer campgrounds in the woods! Raccoon Creek is not in the woods but they do have beautiful palm trees and performed maintenance on them just a few weeks ago. If you enjoy the amenities of a large city, this camp is for you! If you enjoy being in a "gated community," this camp is for you! If you enjoy having plenty of space to run, walk, or ride a bike/trike, this place is for you. Please note: mosquitoes and no-see-ums are really bad in the campground when the temperature rises above 80F and the humidity increases. My wife attracts them and suffered at times from all the itchy bites. Fire ants are also prevalent throughout the camp and can be a painful experience. Cleanliness/Hospitality: 4/5 because the facilities are a bit run down and the campground staff are generally friendly but should put more information in writing so they provide everyone with the exact same information. Amenities/Facilities: 4/5 as noted above, the facilities are a bit run down and the walk to the beach is laced with old equipment and recreational vehicles. When we left, a black cable was laying on top of the ground and had been there since before Christmas. Value: 5/5 because it's a great deal for everything you get, not only a full hook up site (majority of the sites) but also being on a military installation. For a wintering location you can't beat it! Overall Experience: 4/5 because this camp could be improved, as any camp could be improved! Be Blessed! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 0
01 Jan 2018
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This is essentially a trailer park for lucky few who take up the entire campground for 6 months every winter. Their reservation system is ridiculous and obviously geared toward filling the park with homesteaders each Oct. I called in Jan 2018 to attempt to get a reservation for Jan 2019, only to be told the entire trailer park was reserved for the entire 2018-2019 "season", and there was a 200+ waiting list already for any cancellations. I was told to try calling back in Oct 2018 for a possible shot at a site in 2020! Absolutely ridiculous! This is becoming a problem in nearly every military campground which allows reservations. I realize these are civilians contracted to run the military RV parks, but it's time the rest of us start demanding more oversight by the military to ensure a more equitable use of these campgrounds by ALL eligible personnel, rather than the lucky few who win the reservation lottery. If you want a vacation home in Florida, then buy one, but don't squat in the military campgrounds for 6 months every year. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 30 5
Nov 26, 2017
(Updated: January 18, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I've only been here a week so far, I don't have nothing bad to say yet, because i think this is a great place, I have stayed in this park several times short term, this is my first year long term. The only thing I wish is that the staff had or provided more information about what's available to you while you are in the park, they gave me information about the internet but it was very vague and not to accurate. cable, 69 channels are free but you can upgrade with spectrum, don't call them go to the office on dale Mabry next to the navy federal credit union, i saved $70.00 going in verses doing it over the phone. Cable w/HD 2 TV with a 6 channel DVR, internet 100 Mbps (super fast) and a phone line for under $90.00 outstanding. by going into spectrum they waived the connect fee you get charged if you do it on the phone.(found all this out by the cable installer i found doing a install at some other RV. I am a disabled veteran and you have to cut your own grass and that's not very helpful to me. The web site gives a lot of local information but it would be nice if you got some hand out or a packet during sign in, telling you what to do or where to go. I guess one thing is that most of the campers have been coming for years and know the tricks, so your on your own, just ask around and people will give information you just have to decipher it. FAMCAMP has opened 100 more slots on the 2018-19 waitlist. Please call to add yourself onto the waitlist if you haven't done so already. (813) 840-6920 Thank you -Management
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
Nov 19, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This campground could be so awesome. It is right next to the marina and small beach and the campers are very friendly. Unfortunately, MWR recently took some of the campground parking directly adjacent to camp sites and designated it an "asset disposal" area. aka. a junkyard. There are boats with barnacles on the bottom, motors with no cover, trailer tires flat. There are old BBQ trailers that are no longer used by the post. It is hard to believe that the post commander allowed a designated junkyard on the CG. One air conditioner in the laundry area was replaced after 4 months of no AC during the summer. A second AC is sitting on the ground, waiting to be installed. Weeds growing around it. The bathrooms smell horribly and large fans have layers of dust. There is a chaplain's trailer that is sitting half in the brush and looks like it hasn't been used in a decade. MacDill is a beautiful base in South Tampa and the rest of the base is gorgeous. It is a shame that CG facilities are being so junked up. The sites themselves are very nice and mowed as needed. You get TV, electrical, and water included. They tell you there is wifi-but I've never met anyone who was able to access it. You can, however, use the golf course clubhouse wifi. Love MacDill. Campground needs leadership. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 14 2
October 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have stayed at this RV location many times as it is in our own back yard and we keep our pontoon in a slip nearby. We usually stay only a couple of days and we have never been turned away. We are told go find a spot and come on back to let us know where you are parked. The idea that a person can stay for the "season" is a bit odd. There are a few permanent homesteaders that have allowed their items to grow beyond their boundaries. They however tend to be a bit further away than the temporary visitors. This is a place where MWR should throw some money. The shower and laundry facilities need to be remodeled and the showers have a constant smell of mold. The staff have been operating out of a shanty style trailer for the last few years. The sites are well kept and many have some shade. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
October 29, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
In reference to the previous dry camping comments. Here is what was in the latest base newspaper, Thunderbolt, dated October 26, 2017. Julie Farcy, a recreational aide at the camp: "As of this week, the FamCamp is about 80 percent full, said Julie Farcy, a recreational aide at the camp. There are 384 camping spots." "A change this year is that the dry camp, or camping without water or electricity hookups, is not available. The dry camp area is being converted into a compound of cabins which could be ready by late 2018 or 2019. "Currently, reservations have most of the camp spots booked for the winter, but there is short-term camping (two weeks maximum) on a first-come, first-served basis, said Farcy. For more information contact FamCamp at 813-840-6919"
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
October 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Just FYI, the FamCamp sent out a text message 23 October 2017 stating "Dry camp will be closed this season, therefore there will not be any rotation." That's all it said. Suggest anyone planning to go down with out a reservation call to get clarification.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
1-14 April 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We checked into site 94 on a Saturday. The man was rude and curt to the people checking in before us and to us also. After arriving at our site I checked voltage at receptacle and discovered that the 50 amp receptacle had 117 volts on line 1 but only 79 online 2, since this low voltage could fry electrical devices I couldn't use and a serge protector would not let current flow to trailer because of low voltage. Told man in office and was told he would have it looked at. On Monday went back to office and was pleased to be greeted by a helpful lady that called in my problem. On Tuesday I went back to office to deal with mister personality again and was told the electrician had just visited my site and informed grumpy that I apparently had not turned breakers on. I assured him that I had tried the breakers numerous times. He said there was nothing else he could do he had to go with what the electrician told him. Long story short I plugged into empty sites around me for the 2 weeks I was there. This man exemplifies the employees at the DMV and has no business working with the public. I am a work camper and have had the pleasure of dealing with people all over this country, if I never have to deal with this man again I will die a happy man. On a Happy note the facility was very enjoyable with a great beach. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 16 0
96 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5