Blue Angel Naval Recreation Area

Hot
 
4.2 (91)
208776 3 34 0 129

User reviews

47 reviews with 5 stars

91 reviews

 
(49)
 
(30)
 
(7)
 
(3)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.4  (91)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (91)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (91)
Value 
 
4.4  (91)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (91)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
47 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
August 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great park. It’s right on Perdido Bay. We got a site on the front row of Battleship row and couldn’t ask for a more scenic site. We have an unobstructed view of the water and full shade for the site. I will definitely be returning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We are the grandparents of a Navy guy,we stayed at Blue Angel Campground in Florida last year,our grandson is know in Washington State,but we would like to stay at Blue Angel again,is this possible if our grandson is not with us.Thanks in advance
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 11, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very pleased with our first Military RV Campground. We checked in on Monday afternoon with reservations. 2 spots were open and both were equally as nice. The sites were located in Battle Ship Row Campground. We will be here for 6 nights. We really like this campground. The people are super friendly and helpful. Bath House is clean and operational. The location near the water is very nice. Value for full hookup was $22 or $23 was totally worth it. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 2
February 5, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was a great stop for us. The park is in a beautiful location along the gulf. Our dogs enjoyed it. The park is well maintained. It's shady and quiet. We would definitely stay here again. We recommend highly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
18 Jan 2019 - 24 Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice campground! We stayed on Battleship Row (FHU) vs Anchor Cove (there are two campgrounds at Blue Angel Rec Area). We arrived after hours and didn't have any issues with getting into our spot. There are numbers on the welcome center door for POC's when arriving after hours. We dialed the number and contacted the Camp Host (John) and he was very helpful. He met us on the tarmac and took us by golf cart to find an open spot (we had reservations but not for a specific spot). John was very helpful and around anytime you had questions. The sites are large concrete pads and the roads are paved, this is nice because of the amount of rain we had during our visit. There is a picnic table at each site. The sites are not on top of each other and there is trees between most sites, very quite. There is NO WiFi however Verizon has a good signal. We were able to get about 25 channels just using our digital antenna, with all the major networks. Very clean park, I did use the shower facility on the last day and it was clean as well. Pet friendly park, lots to do for the kids (two playgrounds), nice beach, mini-golf, kayak rental, volley ball court, Frisbee golf, and lots of trails. It is off the beaten path, so if you a planning to go site seeing (Aviation museum and Lighthouse on post) you will need a car. The commissary and NEX are 6 miles away when taking a right out of Blue Angel Rec Area and on to Highway 98, also there is a Walmart nearby. For the those individuals staying for a long period of time there is a VA CBOC and Base Hospital right next to the Commissary/NEX. I would recommend this park to anyone staying in the Pensacola area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
20 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place! We arrived and I was a bit concerned that yes we had a reservation on Battleship Row, but the sites are first come, first served. My fifth wheel is 42 ft long + the truck. No worries. The lady quickly checked us in and said to proceed on down to the campground and contact the camp host who will help us find a spot. We proceeded down the road and a left turn past the long term storage to the campground. We parked near the long term storage area and walked to the camp host site. He is very friendly and helpful, He took us around on a golf cart and quickly found us a spot. Then he took me back to my truck and lead us into the spot. I would highly recommend this process rather than trying to maneuver around yourself looking for a vacant spot. We did not use the bathrooms but my wife used the laundry facilities several times. Four washers and three dryers, $1.00 ea. Very clean area. The camp hosts are around all the time and very helpful. We had a lot of rain and they maintenance people came by with leaf blowers to clean off the concrete pads. The fire rings are nothing to speak of, just a few stones in the shape of a ring. Streets are paved as are the sites. Very nice. This place is a ways off the highway but that is not all bad and is easily accessible. I would definitely stay here again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
Feb 5, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We loved this military campground located right on a beautiful bay. It is operated by Pensacola Naval Air Station, but is actually 9 miles outside of the NAS back gate off Highway 98. We stayed over on the full hook up side (Battleship Row), and were able to get reservations for 2 weeks in February. There is also a partial hook-up RV side which is closer to the mini golf. There are miles of walking trails and its an easy drive to the base with an amazing Naval Aviation Museum and a terrific lighthouse. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
31 MAR-9 APR 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My family and I had a GREAT time at Blue Angel Recreation Area (Battleship side). The staff were very nice and accommodating. As soon as we got there, we hooked up our RV to the sewer and electricity lines and walked to the beach! The sites aren't on top of each other and they're very quiet. We rented a couple of kayaks during our stay and the rental fee was inexpensive. 2 (2 person) Kayaks for 3 hours was 38 dollars. There's a Walmart and Target nearby in case you need anything, Pensacola Naval base with the national aviation naval museum and Light tower and Destin is about an hour away. Like I said, we had a great time and WILL go back as soon as the opportunity presents itself. My only concern is making the sign on Bronson road a little clearer to drivers. There's a sign informing of the turn a quarter mile away (small brown sign) but it's still pretty sudden when you get to the turn. It's only a 2 lane road so you have to be cognoscente of oncoming traffic and the vehicles behind you. Beside that, we love it. Thank you to the site staff for being great! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 2
Mar 14-17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed 4 nights in anchor cove, the campground is somewhat off the beaten path but that is one of the things I truly loved about it, it was very quiet and peaceful. Camp Host was very helpful. Your about 20-30 minutes into Pensacola or Orange Beach Alabama. The park is right on the water and and the view is nice to say the least. Will definitely be going back. It was a truly enjoyable time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Feb 29 - Mar 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed three weeks in the Battleship Row part of the park. Originally were going to stay our first two nights in Anchor Cover but due to a cancellation were able to stay the entire time in Battleship Row. Don't think I'd be comfortable trying to maneuver my 45' MH in Anchor Cove. Park is on the water....the old sea plane section of war time Pensacola. Great walking and the sites are superb. Concrete, nicely landscaped, and at the right price. No wifi but the Verizon signal was good so wifi worked just fine. We were able to hook up our satellite but I could see how that might be a problem in some sites. It's a bit of a road trip to get out to most things but this is a great park and we will most definitely be back. $22 p/night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3-14 thru 3-17, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our 2nd stop on our 1st RV trip ever, we stayed in the anchor cove side of the campground, it was wonderful, quiet and peaceful. we will be staying there again thats for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 8-14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first time staying here and there is only one word for this place.... OUTSTANDING. We stayed at Anchor Cove which has no sewage because Battleship Row was full but we had a wonderful site. We were in A2 so we had the water right in front of us and it was beautiful. The staff is outstanding. We are going back many more times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jan 4-14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed in Battle ship row from 4th thru 11th. move to Anchor cove for last few days. place was great clean and well maintained. Not as advertised for internet. NONE there. gone for about 2 years now according to the staff. will stay there again had a great time and a lot to do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Nov 20, 2017 to Dec 01, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First visit to this facility. Stayed at Anchor Cove without full hookups. This facility was very nice and all the staff I met were helpful and friendly. Would recommend this facility to all. There is also a lot to do in the area. Many walking and bicycling paths. Will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
5 October 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Beautiful, well kept campground. Many thanks to camp host J.D. who made checking in and finding a lot very easy and fast. Also thanks to Mike at the Welcome Center for his kindness while driving to Pensacola and then help extending our reservation. The park grounds are well maintained, and the bathroom/laundry facilities are clean. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
July 26-30, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed at Battleship Row from a recommendation from a friend and he was correct that Battleship Row is nice, quiet, relaxing and clean RV park. The showers and laundry were clean. Check-in was easy and the front desk was informative in get us to our spot. They are first come first serve and we were given great directions and wonderful recommendations of spots. Once your get used to the area, the drive to the Navy Shopping Center and other sites are easy to get to. Spent the day at the National Naval Air Museum which is was a great experience. We even witness a change of command/retirement ceremony. A couple of downfalls to this park is no cable or internet. It is a shame that in this day and age that these are not available. This park is highly recommended as a way to detox from technology. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
17 - 21 July 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The camp host for Battleship Row was very helpful and friendly. The view of Perdido Bay was great over looking the WWII seaplane ramps. Although the weather was hot the breeze off the water and the trees sure did help. The park area was clean and well kept.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 3, 2017 - July 8, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The wife and I transferred from Oak Grove to Blue Angel park over the July 4th week. Was very surprised that the campground had a opening. We stayed at spot 9 at Anchor Cove. Camp host - We can't comment because we didn't meet him even though he was directly across from us. We saw him several times but never said anything to us. Mike (at the front gate) was very nice and helpful. He is the one that signs you in and assigns your spot. Location - Great for us. Away from the crowded touristy spots. Was a short 20-30 drive to Pensacola Beach (where the rest of my family was staying in a beach house). The park is off the beaten path but we liked that. Short 5-10 min drive to local grocery store or local restaurants. We were in campsite #9 at Anchor Cove. Cleanliness/Hospitality - The park was very clean. The bath house at Anchor Cove was nice but your typical military bath house. Showers and floors were cleaned daily but the walls and ceilings look like they hadn't been wiped down for months. The campsites and general paths were clean. Larger 40' rigs would have a tough time getting through some of the paths to some campsites. Battleship Row has much more space for larger rigs. Amenities/Facilities - The bath houses at Battleship Row are much nicer and have laundry facilities. The "beach" is at Anchor Cove and is small but rarely crowded. The water is brackish, shallow, and warm. It was perfect for us to relax in with the kids. But we did make several trips to Pensacola Beach to get waves. There is a large concrete pad near Battleship Row for trailer and boat storage. The campsites at Anchor Cove are sandy and dirt but fairly level. No sewer connect at Anchor Cove but that didn't bother us too much. There is a putt putt course but needs a little TLC and a disc golf course (we didn't do either but looked fun, our kids didn't want to play). No Wifi but we were there for vacation so it didn't bother us. There is any abundance of shade and trees through Anchor Cove. Value - Great. $15/nt over a holiday week during the summer. Can't beat that. Overall - We will definitely be back. Our only dilemma is whether we stay at Anchor Cove or try out Battleship Row.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
17-24 April 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed at the Battleship Row section. Making reservations was a bit of a hassle as the online system was uncooperative and the campground wouldn't answer the phone or return my phone calls. Eventually, after a few days of persistence, we were able to speak with the campground staff when transferred from the Navy Getaway 800 number. Once we arrived, registration at the entrance office was painless. We were met by the Camp Hosts when we arrived at the Battleship Row section and given a list of the 8 available sites. They suggested we look at all of them and pick whichever we'd like. We settled at a site near the rear of the campground and was able to receive DISH Satellite and Verizon 4GLTE. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and the surrounding area. Spent two days exploring the National Naval Aviation Museum and viewing the Blue Angels Practice sessions. We will visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great location. Campground was kept clean. Although the weather was very hot and humid, the camping experience was enjoyable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
47 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3