Monterey Pines RV Campground

 
3.5 (68)
121706   0   16   1   48

User reviews

22 reviews with 4 stars

68 reviews

 
(15)
 
(21)
 
(22)
 
(6)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
4.4  (68)
 
2.9  (68)
 
3.3  (68)
 
3.4  (68)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10-12 April 2018

Great location and campsite host go hand in hand in a famcamp. Good shade and utilities in all campsites with very clean restrooms. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 Jan - 2 Feb, 2018

Great LOCATION! Access to Monterey area and all it entails. Small quiet campground with great shower and laundry facilities. Nice trees/shade on a beautiful golf course. Once in awhile the errant golf ball finds it's way into the campground. Spaces are fairly tight but most can handle 40' RVs/5th wheels if you're good. Only 30AMP but not a problem since weather is rarely too hot.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13 - 30 May 2017

Information on the campground seems to indicates all the spaces have 50A service. I haven't found any 50A spaces yet, but haven't checked them all. Since my space doesn't have 50A plug I have to run the generator to dry clothes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2017

Location is fantastic! Sites are small and dusty but this is Monterey. Airport is loud but not too busy and the area outside of the Golf Course is a little seedy at times, depending on what is going on at the Monterey Fairgrounds, located next to the golf course. Prices have been increasing but still less than other local parks though amenities are better at other parks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

6 August 2016

We stopped here on short notice on a Saturday evening and went into the golf course club house. The gentleman was cleaning up and was very helpful. He called the camp host and she said she had a couple of open spaces. Lucky. This is nice little park and would be ideal for golfers. You walk to the Navy course and you are on the doorstep for all the Monterey Peninsula golf courses. This park is convenient to all things Monterey has to offer. Quiet for the most part. A few families but this is not a retirement village. We will be back!! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

04 May 2016

One of the most unusual Famcamps We have stayed at. It is owned by the Navy but is on a golf course with public access, you check-in in a small unmarked office in the back of the Pro shop, the office is open 364 days a year. We had a nice site ($33/day) with a picnic table and grill on site, laundry $1.50 wash $1.00 dry. We didn't use the showers but they looked clean. There is a small grill open daily 7:30 to 4:00. The location is close to the wharf and the Aquarium, pricy but there is a veterans discount. The drive down the coast to the Hearst castle is well worth setting a day aside for, the castle is the closest thing to a real castle I have seen in the USA. Also, there is a large elephant seal colony (hundreds of seals) to stop and observe along the way. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-5 April 2016

This place is all about location, location, LOCATION.  It is super convenient to numerous and worthwhile sightseeing venues. This was our first visit to Monterey Pines.  After reading previous reviews, we were a bit apprehensive.  Luckily, our concerns were unfounded.  Reservation and check-in were smooth. We were advised to stop - check for golfers on the 2nd tee before proceeding to the camp ground.  Our back-in site was a bit tight, but worked okay for a 34' 5th wheel.  WiFi was excellent.  We did not use the restrooms, bathhouse or laundry, so I will not rate those facilities. Others have commented about golfers, and we have a story as well.  As I was unhooking/preparing for departure, I heard a loud overhead THUNK from a nearby tree.  Seconds later, a golf ball landed at my feet!  Mind you, we are behind a VERY high net.  I tossed the ball back on the fairway. The golfer later thanked me as we both went about our business. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 10th to 17th, 2012

J.M. left this review using the Directory software: - So during our stay this December, the weeds were all mowed back, the sites were clean and neat; I saw the camp host out raking leaves and helping a couple of RV-ers with water leaks from their rigs; several times a day staff member went through the site picking up the trash; the manager visits the campground every morning personally to check on everything, and she was overseeing a broken dryer in the laundry that was immediately being repaired. Life was good there - very good actually. Have to admit that the sites are not level, I used 4 inches of boards to get my rig level and I saw a 5th wheel struggling for 10 minutes to get into a site without hitting any posts, shrubs or the neighbors. But we got outstanding local information from the manager on attractions, local seafood outlets, restaurants, prime rib dinners on base, driving directions on getting into the Navy Postgraduate school nearby. etc. At $30/night it seems high for Famcamps but not in comparison to the other campgrounds in the area. Very nice place. We will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2012

This camp is in a very special area and location wise could not be better. The staff is exceptional, Carlina really adds something special to the experience. We originally planned to stay two nights but she insured that if we wanted to stay additional time the site she placed us in would be available. She reminded us that there was much to see and do and she was right. I wish we could start a competition for the best staff. I hope this doesn't become one of those golden egg things...even in the off season it is relatively full and at the rates charged it should be a money maker. But maintenance of the grounds is an issue. I would recommend that if you have a choice that you not use site 21. If you do look up and you will see a large dead tree with large branches high above you hanging over the site. Truly widow makers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2011

Very nice, clean campground. The bathrooms were immaculate. The Park Manager, Carlina, found us a week long camping site even though the park was full due to motorcycle races at Laguna Seca. She also holds two free passes to the Monterey Acquarium which is awesome. A very caring staff. Only eyebrow raiser is the cost. There are other state owned campgrounds in the area such as Big Sur but they tend to fill up in summer. Airport noise was not a factor for us. WiFi was OK at the site but excellent in the golf club house. Wish cable tv was available. Overall a great experience and we'll be back. Oh yeah, if you like golf this is the place for you. Just step out your RV door!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 02, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct. 20-23, 2010

Read all the other posts also. Our complaint and why we will not return here are the following: The park is at the end of a runway. Right next door is a jet propulsion testing building. There is no area for children to play. We were even warned against walking on the road next to the golf course and venturing off into the trees next to the rv area. There was a constant incoming and outgoing of jets at the airport. On countless occasions they were trying to start an engine at the test facility. Trying to get our 19 mo old granddaughter to sleep or nap through all the noise was terrible. We never were able to hook up to the internet. The pluses: 2 free passes to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our TV worked with the antenna raised. The manager and most other rver’s were extremely friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 31, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

2 July 2009

My Dad and I stayed here for one night while touring California. It is a really great place and convenient to town. Great dinning and shopping in Monterey. Not as expensive as many civilian c/g in the San Fran area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 10 - 24, 2010

The previous comments about Monterey Pines are true. It is a great area. Lots to see and do. The golf course is really nice with a great club house. The park itself could use some updating. Some sites are tight and not level. Not many sites for big rigs, but you can make it work. Great place to collect golf balls. Picked up 25 in the park during our stay. Park backs up to the course. It is a nice park to stay in for seeing all the local sites. It is a beautiful area. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

28-31 May 2010

Monterey is a great location to have a campground like this. There's a ton of stuff to do in the local area and the weather is almost always beautiful. Even when it isn't it's still not that bad. The noise from the airport was barely noticeable after the first few hours. The spots are pretty tight for larger rigs and there aren't many sites that would accommodate a very long trailer (30'+). Overall, it was a nice stay, but I probably won't be going back any time soon. Staying in an area as confined as that is not really our style.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 18 - 23, 2010

The park is conveniently located to many local attractions including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, various beaches for sea life viewing and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Carlina (the RV park Mgr) has two free passes to the Aquarium. That saved a bunch of money. Be sure to ask her about local tourism. The PX is located a few miles up the road at the old Fort Ord military complex. When you come into the park, be aware that you must go through the gate into the gold course. Also, the gate is closed after 7 pm or so or when the golf course closes so you will not be able to get in after hours without a gate code. Wifi is good. No cable TV, but several local channels are available with antenna. Shower and laundry facilities are clean. The airport noise is not really a problem; especially after staying at some places with military jets doing touch and go's. Some spaces are close, others are okay. My spot, site 18, was plenty long; but the sewer connection is uphill making it quite a chore to empty tanks. Other than that one drawback, this is a great place to stay for a week or so. If I am in the area again, I will come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6 March - 15 March, 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful time in this glorious area. Yes, the spaces are a bit tight to back into, but well worth the effort - especially if you are a golfer. The recently updated 18-hole golf course is the best (military) track we've ever played. Well groomed, challenging, yet fair to both the golfer and the budget. Some reviews we read were "not great" (noise) but we put the staff and the area on our top 5 list. Actually the airplanes did not bother us at all. The laundry facility has just been upgraded which is a bonus. The immediate area just beckons one to get out and enjoy nature. There is the magnificent 17 mile drive along the coast (have lunch at Pebble Beach), charming Carmel-by-the-Sea, watching the otters, shopping & dining on Fisherman' Wharf as just a few suggestions. Also, for those interested, the American Legion is a great place for local information as they welcome members. If ever passing through that part of California again, we will be sure to book a week at Monterey Pines.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2-6, 2010

My wife and I are new to the RV camping life. This was our second outing. This campground is pretty easy to find. It is surrounded by a golf course which didn't bother us. I did find 6 golf balls within 50 feet of our assigned space. The regional airport is very close, but as a retired Air Traffic Controller, I enjoyed seeing the planes and found the noise not too disrupting. Mostly small planes with only a couple commercial airliners a day. Not mentioned in the write up, the campground now has wifi internet. We were in space 4 which is about as far from the golf clubhouse as one can get, and even though we got a poor signal is was adequate for our needs. The bathhouse is closed for renovation. I didn't get a date when it would be back open. You might want to ask that before making a reservation. We had a great time. This is a fun area with lots of great scenery. Not a bad stop. I can give it a good recommendation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

28-30 Nov 2009

Although an older RV park with some tight sites, it is in a fantastic location. Upon arrival we were given a map of the park, a copy of the Naval Post Graduate School MWR newsletter and a booklet about the local area. I wish all military RV parks would do the same. We were assigned Site 16 (35 ft, 30 amp service and sewer) which backed up to a fairway on the golf course and the airport. Since they were using runway 19 during part of our stay, we got a fair amount of jet engine noise but nothing that kept us awake at night. The bathrooms and laundry were spotless. Some of the parking sites were small so make sure they know the size of your rig and how many slides you have when making reservations. The roads and parking sites are hard packed gravel so it might get a little muddy during rains. A golfer’s paradise! We did get hit by a ball on the roof from someone’s wayward drive, which I heard is a normal occurrence now since the course was redesigned and reopened. The hosts that were there left and the new ones have a Plexiglas barrier around the front of their rig. The folks nearby us had their car smacked and dented pretty bad.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 1-4, 2009

Fairly tight quarters, but a convenient location for visiting the area. Golf course still not open and road maintenance in campground poor, particularly a problem in the foul weather. Host was very friendly. If you're in the area for a few days, it's a good place to drop stabilizers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2nd - May 9, 2008

R.I. left this review using the Directory software: I rank this park as a 4 star park. It is clean. The laundry facilities and restrooms are very clean. Gas is available at the nearby NPGS. As of this date, it is $3.87 per gallon. The surrounding stations are $4.03 per gallon.

Was this review helpful to you? 
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2