March ARB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.5 (45)
63335 0 21 0 18

User reviews

23 reviews with 4 stars

45 reviews

 
(4)
 
(23)
 
(11)
 
(5)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.9  (45)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.5  (45)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.1  (45)
Value 
 
4.0  (45)
Overall Experience 
 
3.3  (45)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
23 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Sept 22-26, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Had a family wedding to attend in Moreno Valley/ Sunnyvale of old timers so thought we would try it. Scoped it out couple years ago. Hook a pull thru site tree blocked direct tv but had plenty of Otha channels. Restrooms were super clean along with laundry room. Electricity was stable, grass green and cut. Price $17 a day. No complaints.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Nov 2015-Mar 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I read about March FamCamp often and most folks give it low marks. It is what it is and if you play by the rules you may appear to be a homesteader. We have been in the same spot on a 2 week renewal since we arrived in November so we could be a " Homesteader". They offer a monthly rate of $16 times number of days in the month but it is limited to 10 rigs and have a waiting list. We just paid for Feb on this schedule but will leave in late March so we will go back to the 2 week schedule soon. Renewal is all a matter of timing. This place is most busy during the summer, on the weekends and during UTA weeks. If you are unhappy about the space you are in you can move to a better one just let the office know your intentions. True it needs work but like any project it takes planning, money and good priority status. Having talked to the higher ups over my times here  I have learned that  this place is low on all the priority lists but the management is always fighting for money. Henry is the normal office person during the week, is quite knowledgeable and very helpful. True the Wi-Fi system needs work like more boosters in the west end of the park but again money and priority prevail. Right now a new PAX terminal is being built across the street plus the old tower building grounds is having some work done.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Jan/Feb 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed over a weekend and then returned a week later for a 2-week visit (just now starting the 2 weeks).  Both times parked on the asphalt back-ins and liked them.  Have space between each site to park a tow vehicle, etc. between rigs.  Full-hookups for theses sites.  Quiet.  Concur with pinonkaty that it appears as though the nice pads are quickly grabbed up and folks here for the long haul.  For us though the asphalt sites work.  Internet is obtained in the office/laundry/TV room, which isn't as convenient as having in the rig but at least it seems to work.  Was easy getting in the main gate with lots of room to maneuver a big rig through.  Commissary is decent but Exchange is on the small size.  We will be making this our home base for exploring the area.  For us this is a good famcamp and we have stayed in many across the US.  Not perfect but good for the price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
January 10-14, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
IMPORTANT INFO - There are a handful of dry camping spaces available if the park is full. The price is excellent for the area. It seems most of the residents are long term campers. The maximum stay is actually only 14 days, not 30 as stated above, but residents can roll over their stay indefinitely if the park is not full and no one is waiting. I was told some of the residents have been here for years!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great park after crossing the desert from Texas in July!! Was a little confusing finding main gate to enter as base has been seperated. Friendly and helpful staff. Commissary off base...good once located! Campsites small but adequate. Good base to explore area. Did go into Riverside for 1st Thursday art show. Old part of town very nice. Would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
2 - 11 May 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The most appealing thing about this campground is the price. The daily rate for many military campgrounds in California exceeds $30. A few miles away, at Seal Beach, the daily rate is $30. Camp Pendleton is $38 unless you want a beach front row – that will cost $50. This campground, at $17, remains affordable even though it is near Los Angeles. Upgrades over the years have resulted in concrete patios and RV pads on two rows. The bathhouses are modern and clean. The sewer connection is at the rear of the sites and I had to use about 25’ of sewer hose. The sewer connection is in a bowl-shaped depression so I could not use my elbow screw-in connector. I had to use my rubber doughnut instead. The campground is next to the runways and taxi areas but there was surprisingly little jet noise. Nice commissary and exchange for a reserve base. If the Riverside gate was open, they would almost be within walking distance. Otherwise, it’s 2 miles via the main gate. Large two-level indoor mall, Walmart Supercenter, Sam’s Club, and Costco less than three miles away. About 1/3 of the campers appear to be homesteaders.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
$17 per night make the campground a good value for us. We got a good campsite. We will likely go there again, but this campground is not one of our favorites. The place is devoid of any leadership in the management area. The guy at the desk made no attempt to be remotely personable which made us wonder. The fact that the hot water and internet were broken the two weeks we were there were symptomatic of deeper issues at the place. The pot holes in front of the new campsites means they don't care. Glad it didn't rain and we only had to content with the water and mud from the nightly watering. The location for us was the main attraction. With friends in Redlands it makes it a convenient stop. The fact that the base is a Reserve Base and has 1/2 of the buildings cordoned off with chain link fences through housing and streets closed off in neighborhoods makes it a little weird. This campground could be a great one, but not with out someone their who cares or a leader or manager who chooses to get involved. We were disappointed in the experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb 5-11, 2012
(Updated: February 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a pretty good FamCamp. Easy access through the main gate. There is grass and the sites are easy to get into. There is a large commissary and exchange, though it is quite a drive to them. There are a couple points, however that need attention. The internet service is very weak and sometimes only works if you access it from the office building. They took out the dog run to make room for new sites but haven't installed a new one. There is a very good place just behind the office that does't look like it would be good for anything else. It even has a fire hydrant. The park has no designated pet walk area and does not provide doggy bags so a number of disrespectful guests let their dogs go anywhere and don't pick up after them. I was told that there is no trash can in that area for dog refuse because the staff would have to empty it. Gee that would be too bad wouldn't it. Staff seems to do enough to keep their jobs but not much more. The camp hosts are very friendly and helpful but have limited power to make any changes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
17 Nov 2012
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This location is far enough out to be peaceful while close enough to LA to make it practical for doing touristy stuff. The campground still has the homesteaders, one has been here since Feb and another has been here since Jun, what happened to the two week limit??? Another issue is that the base will not accept personal mail, therefore I would recommend removing the mailing address and insert NO MAIL! There also seems to be an ant problem. Would I stay here again, most likely.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 19, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Camp site is clean, lots of grass, some concrete pads, some hard-pack. All good sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 7, 2012
(Updated: May 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
New section is not open yet. Outdoor recreation employee said the new sites "have not been released yet". He hoped that they would be within the next week. I requested a pull through site, and was told that only back-in's were available. Upon arrival at the Famcamp saw that only 2 pull throughs were occupied. The road in front of the pull through sites is in need of repair. The new sites look fine, cement pads appear level. The only thing that I see missing are site numbers and picnic tables.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 16 - 23, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.S. left this review using the Directory software: - The 10 new sites are almost done. Concrete pads are finished, utilities are installed, and it looks like they're just waiting for the sites to be inspected and/or landscaped. The streets have already been paved, too. They have 19 sites available (the pull-through gravel sites are closed) during the construction. There were several sites still open during our stay, but it filled up toward the end of it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
February 27, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stopped by for the day to evaluate the campground. The campground is currently undergoing an upgrade. Only 20 RV sites are currently available, with another 20 being installed. It appeared most of the renovation was complete, with some final details and landscaping to be completed. They hope to have the entire FamCamp open by April 1st, 2012. I did see a couple vacant RV sites. Clean laundry room. Outdoor recreation staff was very helpful and friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 4, 2011
(Updated: February 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As of Aug 4,2011, there will be only 9 spaces available according to MWR. And, these will be given priority to personnel on base requiring the space.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 13 – April 31, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Arrived mid day. The guards gave us directions to the FamCamp, some 1.5 miles down the road. Upon arrival in the area there were no signs on the main road as to where or when to turn. After a few zigzag turns we found our way to the grass overflow as no FHU site available. While checking out the only building there and the area we noticed a Welcome to MARB FamCamp sign at the far end of the camp. Another sign directed you to the ITT building to pay (normal duty hours) or to The Inn (after duty hours, holidays and weekends). Building numbers were given but without a map who knows where these buildings are. I had been stationed at MAFB before and knew where the Inn was located. We paid for our one night (Sunday) with instructions to go to the ITT building in the AM if we were to stay longer. We were given maps at this point. There is one building that houses the showers/bathrooms, laundry w/3 washers & dryers, a computer terminal and some reading material. All are in good shape to include a daily cleaning. Monday, with map in hand, we went to the ITT office and found that a FHU was available. When our 14 days were up we were told that our site was available so we renewed. Those folks we met were friendly and helpful which is unlike what we had previously read about. The max stay is 14 days with FHU. If there is no one in overflow wanting a FHU site then you can extend another 14 days. However if your FHU time is up and an overflow person wants a FHU you have to move into overflow or leave. Price for FHU is $15 per day or $196 per 14 days and overflow is $5 per day unlimited which gives you access to the facilities building and the use of the dump and potable water. Not the best but the price is good. They will be expanding but currently you have a choice of sites with pads & grass, gravel & grass or asphalt and no grass. We had an asphalt site located across the street from the Tower and Passenger Terminal. Got to see lots of our troops leave and arrive from destinations unknown. They play Reveille at 0730, Retreat at 1630 and Taps at 2200. Nice to hear and remember our freedoms.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
February 24, 2011
(Updated: April 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
What a nice post this is, historic and pretty. We stayed one night in a large grassy site in the overflow as the campground was full. Check in was easy and staff pleasant. Quiet with not much aircraft noise.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 19 - 24, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Having read the last posts, we extended our stay for 2 more days when the rec. office was open on Friday afternoon. Luckily on Saturday we hadn't gone off to play golf on their beautiful course before a couple knocked on our door at 12:15 saying we were in their space. We showed them both our windshield notices & they went away. Ten minutes later, armed security guards showed up wanting to see our receipts and my military I.D. card. I showed them to him. [Both were taped to our windshield.] A few minutes later two of them came back & wanted to see them again. They looked, saying that the first guard had mis-read the dates. Finally apologized & left saying housing does this to them often. When my wife had gone in to pay she commented that they seem to be over staffed. I think they're understaffed by one competent person. Had we been off or site [we have a motorhome and no toad] I think we would have been S.O.L. trying to get our site back. And Riverside gate is no longer open.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
April 19, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our experience was much like the previous post - Big cement pads, grass & trees, quiet -- not a bad site. We had also been deluged with information at Davis-Monthan, and received no rules, maps, nothing from March. I had been on this website prior to arrival, so I already knew to pay at Lodging since we would arrive after hours. There appeared to be several "Homesteaders" on the sites, but there were several back-in and pull-thru sites available. I picked a site, dropped the car and went to Lodging to pay. The next morning while I was packing things up to leave, I was asked by the camp host if we had checked in yet. "Yes," I said. "At Lodging last night." Apparently, Lodging had no record of us checking in, so I showed him the receipt and then all was well again. Keep your paperwork handy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 9-23, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Big cement pads, grass & trees, quiet -- not a bad site. After being deluged with information at Davis-Monthan, we arrived at March and received no rules, maps, nothing. Certainly not the best trained staff but friendly. It works for us because of proximity to Southern California attractions -- not really close to L.A., Orange County, San Diego, etc., but within couple of hours driving distance. Good value for Southern California. Don't know if changes were made after the earlier reviews, but we had a good experience at March Famcamp in Spring 2010.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
September 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Contrary to other reviewers, we had a terrific experience at March. The bath house/laundry was immaculate. The sites were wide. We called early on the morning we were to arrive and were told we'd be able to get a site. The check-in went smoothly, the gentleman in the MWR Office was polite and professional. The location as terrific for visiting family in Ontario. We will definitely visit March again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
23 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2