Fiddler's Cove RV Park

 
4.3 (70)
191590 1 25 1 92

User reviews

34 reviews with 5 stars

70 reviews

 
(38)
 
(22)
 
(8)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.9  (70)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (70)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (70)
Value 
 
4.3  (70)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (70)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
34 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
22-29 March 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This continues to be one of the best military sites available. It is also the only full-hookup RV park in the area so it is an even better deal. The commissary and NEX at NASNI are large and offer a very good selection. The price seems a little high now at $40 per day but if you don't like it, don't pay it. Each site now has a picnic table which is a very nice addition. We will stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
April 2nd 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a gem of a park, set on the bay overlooking the City of San Diego. If you want to visit the city it could be a drag as like any city TRAFFIC. A mention on the hospitality Judy/Judith mgr. Is awesome and works hard to please. We stayed a week and spent time visiting family, enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Nov 8 - Dec 1, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I beg to differ with the person who wrote the previous review: we've stayed in all 3 rows and in my opinion, the front row is the best! The other are fine, so I wouldn't be disappointed in any position! We were there over Thanksgiving and having our family able to do s'mores over the fire pit was precious! It's subjective, but that's my opinion. Making reservations over a holiday "is" a challenge, but it can be done. Yes, I'm a retiree, but with Senior Chief attributes!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
March 31 - April 2, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I wanted to update on the RV park from my Feb 2014 review...they now have picnic tables at each campsite and have better Wi-Fi than previously (although still not blazingly fast from what I recall from 4 months ago). A great place to spend some time in!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Mar 30 - Apr 8, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This one of the Crown Jewels in the military RV Park system! We had a medical emergency while here and the night host was a gem! The folks in the neighboring RV jumped into help, too. Can't say "thank you" enough times to everyone. The military is truly "family". Since we have to extend our stay the staff has been very helpful in the rescheduling process. As is typical at most RV parks (civilian & Miliatry) the wifi is iffy at best. I don't see it as a negative, rather as just the way it is. We just plan to use our iPhone "hotspot".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Jan 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One word......WONDERFUL! Highly recommend this to anyone traveling to San Diego.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
December 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We very much enjoyed our week at Fiddlers Cove. The easy access to Coronado and its many shops, ferry to San Diego and many other great attractions makes this one of the best RV parks in the military constellation. What made it really exceptional for us was the courtesy and can do attitude of the staff. We had a truck issue that prevented us from making a timely departure and they worked with us to help get us on the road. May not sound exceptional but it was Christmas eve and we would not have made it to our family without their kind understanding. In my old Navy days we used Bravo Zulu to describe the best efforts and they deserve every bit of it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
19-29 January 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Fiddler's Cove RV Park is a fabulous place to stay. Registration was easy but parking can be limited if several big rigs are trying to register at the same time. We were in space 18 overnight then moved to back in space 51 which is right on the San Diego Bay. Location provides easy access to all the San Diego attractions. We enjoyed access to the North Island Naval Air Station for NEX, Commissary and theater (movies are free!). The US Navy Base is across the Bay and has large facilities. Pay attention when you arrive and don't follow GPS but turn into the Marina/RV Park at the little sailboat sign. Approaching from the north, if you miss that turn, it is difficult to get turned around. Kudos to Jill Corbin who helped us with our IT problem in the coach!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 3
1-8 Jan 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent campground. Price may be high for military campground, but since camping in the area is extremely high priced - $60 water & electric at state beach, this is great price for FHU. Nice double concrete pads. Free WIFI not that great - slow, you can subscribe online to get fast service, but didn't so can't tell you how it was. Did not use the bathhouse, but appeared clean. Lots to do in the area and we enjoyed our stay a lot. Staff was fairly friendly and helpful, nothing exceptional. Well worth a visit and stay if you have never been there. ATT cell service 3 bars.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
1 Nov-1 Dec 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Other than a few days in Sept/Oct this was our first long stay and must say very high on our list of military campgrounds. Wish we could have stayed longer. We were in site #15 middle row with a fairly good view of bay. Think next year we will try for bayside. Staff very helpful and nice, laundry facilities ideal..never a wait,recreational rentals of boats, bikes and kayaks very reasonable and convenient. We found the Naval Air Station beach to our liking as less crowded than public beach on Ocean. Ocean Gate to base open Monday-Friday which is closer to beach. Base Commissary and Exchange very nice. We enjoyed walking Orange Avenue and going for bagels at Bruegger's. Also Village Pizza across the street has great pizza and the stuffed artichoke appetizer delish. If you like hot dogs, stop in at Delux Hot Dogs on Orange. Definitely recommend this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
19 to 21 November 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very clean well maintained. The staff was very friendly. Very disappointed in the WiFi, or lack of, You are allowed one device for free. I was told the service was slow but could and an additional device or upgrade for a fee. Fact is I was never able to get a single devise to work after a number of calls to the "Trouble-desk" at the number provided. This could be one of the best RV camps I've stayed at. (other than the WiFi).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
August 14-22, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A very nice facility. If you come here, ask for a waterfront site (above #45 is better). The extra $5 is worth it. If you drive a Class "A" and have enough power, water, and sewer connection hoses/cables to hook up on the opposite side, park nose in so you can enjoy the view of the bay and city skyline either inside or outside. NAS North Island, nearby, has all the base facilities you might need. Kick back and enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
July 14 to 21, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I've been waiting and watching for this park to open for a couple years. When I made my reservation I had to change my summer plans to get a 7 day block here and then had to accept a move to a non-water front site four days in to it. The place is packed and I'm pretty bugged that they have two sets tenters in full hook up sites and NO tenters in any of the tent sites! I had a conversation with the grumpier of the two women working the front desk on the day I had to move. I asked her if I had a shot at getting in next summer if I called right at the six month day for a reservation and she said "probably not", that active duty is booking like crazy for next summer and they get to book a year out. I really don't like bringing negative stuff on here so I'm hoping I'm wrong and we all have a shot a getting in here. If the retirees are shut out because we can't book a year ahead then I hope they come up with a system that spreads the happiness better. I had a great time here. Visited with friends and family and really enjoyed the area. Navy North Island is really nice. They have a great beach on base and good places to eat and a nice commissary/NEX. If you can get in here you should.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 3
19-21 April 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
S.W. left this review using the Directory software: - Great place, will stay there again. WOW!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
27 May14 - 31 May 14
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This place was fantastic! The pads are big enough to park your car next to your camper! True there are no picnic tables, and the beach is a bit small, but we had our 4 and 6 year old and it was plenty for them. High tide covers the beach and low has enough beach for shell hunting and crab chasing! There is free WIFI but it's pretty spotty....There are fixed firepits for the front row spots number 47 to 59. The new bathroom/shower facilities were clean and outstanding! The little store was great and prices were NEX/Shopette prices not Downtown Coronado prices (it closes at 6 tho...)...Also..There is an NEX on both sides of the Amphib base. They were basically a standalone BX/NEX with tons of stuff...and there's a gas station on the oceanside NEX (they are open later and on weekends for the last gas and go)....My wife wanted to go there several times, maybe it was the super-in-shape navy divers walking around...hmmmmm..It was cheap so I didn't argue! Had a great time! Will come back hopefully soon! Great access to everything, close enough yet just far enough away!! If you get a chance, drive by the RV park on the Silver Strand. It will make you appreciate Fiddlers Cove even more. Too many RVs crammed into half the space... PS!! you are on the approach to the runway, so everyday was an awesome airshow!!! Some folks sleep easier with the noise! It was outstanding!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
2 March-16 March, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This newly remodeled facility will likely soon be in the top 5 of all 260 military RV parks. The grounds, amenities, views, location, staff and sense of community are unparalleled! True that there are no picnic tables or free WiFi, but those issues are minor. The store is well stocked and the bath house/laundry are kept very clean. A walking, jogging, bike path can be accessed from the RV park and take the non-motorized traveler north to Coronado or south to Imperial Beach. In addition, access to a rental sail and power fleet with onsite lessons make this RV park unique and desirable. My only concern is that this facility may get so popular that I might not be able to get in next year when we pass through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Mar 6 - 13, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.W. left this review using the Directory software: - This was a beautiful park. Every one of the RV spots could be handicap accessible. All the pad are concrete, all are asphalt entry ways. They are spread out enough that you don't feel that you are parked on top of each other. The people were great and really informed you of what is happening on all the bases, like the two FREE movie theaters on the navy stations. There are pull throughs too.... We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
17 through 29 March, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have had a very good 12 day stay. The only reason for the slightly less than a "5" for amenities/facilities is the change machine in the laundry was OOC & the woman in the office was REALLY put out when I asked for $3.00 in quarters. When we checked in we were given a flyer telling us that they had had several bikes stolen & to be sure to secure them when not being used. We saw lots of kids with lots of bikes (Spring Break) and they just left them laying around as most kids do, but there was no apparent problems. We also noticed base cops, from NI NAV STA patrolling which may have nipped it in the bud. It is off the highway far enough that it is quiet. We've had a very restful & enjoyable stay. We hope to come back in the Fall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
23 Feb - Mar 2 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We love this park! While the renovation took a lot longer than they anticipated, we feel it was worth the wait and booked as soon as we heard the park was open for business. There were a few bugs worth mentioning - the newest laundry/shower facility had issues with the keypad to the laundry room. It's electronic and failed several times on the weekend and locked out a few people who were doing their laundry. The staff responded, but it happened several more times. Wi-Fi is available but fee driven. It's provided by a commercial company and somewhat expensive. We simply set up our Verizon iPhone as a hot spot and just kept an eye on our data usage. Recommendation - if you get a site on the front row and have a class A coach, point the front towards the bay and make sure you have enough sewer hose to go under the coach to the sewer connection. Also, there is a TV cable connection on the utility tower (same configuration as the shore power towers at the marina) that isn't hooked up yet. We're not TV hounds so the 10 or so non-Spanish HD stations in the San Diego area were quite sufficient. The staff is still working on acquiring a cable provider. Secondly, they advertise fire rings at an extra charge, but have a limited number of them and didn't seem to know which sites have them and which didn't. Thirdly, if you are bringing children, the "beach" is really not an acceptable place to swim, only wade. It is silty with lots of seaweed. There is a nice beach on North Island about 7 miles away and a public beach at Silver Strand State Beach about a mile south of Fiddler's Cove. Lastly, we chose not to go over the Coronado Bridge on the day we arrived to avoid traffic and high winds. Traveling down I-5 and coming up 75 from Imperial Beach was a much better option for us. Overall, this was an excellent stay and value for us and we plan to come back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
February 16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We've been waiting for years for Fiddler's Cove to re-open and wanted to get a test night in on President's weekend. Very nice, clean, modern facilities. Friendly people at the front desk. Nice location along the Strand...bring your bikes to ride along the nice bike path that is separate from the road. The guy at the front desk said that they'll be opening a pizza joint on the site (forgot when it's supposed to open...didn't see it under construction yet though). They are just missing a few things like picnic tables (front desk said they "might" be getting those), vegetation (there are a few tiny shrubs that separate sites right now), and fire rings (only 4 of those when we were there but it sounds like more were going to be installed soon). I couldn't get the cable TV to work and I didn't want to pay for WiFi so we went semi-tech free! All in all, a great place!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
34 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2