Fiddler's Cove RV Park

 
4.3 (70)
191694 1 25 1 92

User reviews

26 reviews with 4 stars

70 reviews

 
(38)
 
(22)
 
(8)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.9  (70)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (70)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (70)
Value 
 
4.3  (70)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (70)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
26 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Nov 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Fabulous location. The sites are modern and in great condition, but this is really just a parking lot. With that being said, at least the sites are wide enough so you aren't camped on top of one another. All of the sites looked to be off level. For motorhomes, the best view is from the middle row, as the row next to the water is all back-in. The view from the middle row is actually quite nice, as the rigs in the front row and offset from the middle row. Very noisy place with lots of kids. I'm a retiree, and had no trouble getting a reservation, including over a weekend, only two days in advance, so maybe they have started policing the homesteading mentioned in the earlier reviews. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
November 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My husband is on orders so we ended up staying at the North Island Navy Gateway Inns & Suites. Since we were in the local area and intend to return with our RV, we decided to check out the park. It is small but wonderfully situated within a short bike ride to the Coronado area. The sites are small and there is no grass. It is definitely a beach and gravel area. They do have spots for retirees however I have to echo the sentiments previously stated. We had an opportunity to speak with one of people working at the area. He said, "I shouldn't be telling you this but...." When people begin with that... Anyhow he said what people do is book for 30 days. On the 28th day they drive out (leaving their items in storage) they cancel the rest of the reservation. They wait 12 hours and make another reservation for 30 days pulling back into their original site on the 30th day of the first reservation. That being said when we were visiting, we saw multiple sites available. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
January 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice concrete level sites that could be a little longer for the bigger rigs. Hook ups were fine, free cable and wi-fi, picnic table at each site. Biggest “con” for us was the smell. Everyday at low tide you couldn’t even sit outside. Not a lot of grassy area to walk pets and the “dog park” was 1/4 mile away outside the park gate. The park is not on a base and is accessible to anyone, so sometimes felt a little unsafe. This is a nice park if you are into boating or fishing as they rent all types of water craft. No swimming is allowed and the water and “beach areas” are pretty nasty. The closest public beach area is just a short drive away. There is terrific bike path that goes by the park. The town of Coronado has a lot of shops and stores. Hotel Coronado is worth a visit as are the seals at La Jolla Cove and a visit to the USS Midway is a must. We did not have any trouble getting a reservation but I called exactly 6 months in advance. We did have to move once during our week stay. Seems like all rules are not enforced. Several sites seem to suggest they have been here a while (one actually had a chest freezer sitting outside) and even though against the rules we saw several sites having a pit fire.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
13-16JAN17
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I would like more than anything in the world to give this facility 5's down the line but there are issues that prevent me from doing so. Mainly the lack of fire pits/rings on the sites. I understand that it's a city ordnance that prevents to use of open fire chimney/pits/rings HOWEVER, spots 47-59 clearly allow them as we were told upon check in. And while I'm on the topic of checking in, let me just say that the process was excellent. We received a call at about 5pm on the day we were scheduled to arrive and were told to give a call when we were there so that the gate would be opened up for us. We were directed to our spot and finished the checking in process the following morning which was good because it was 10pm when we arrived. We have been avid RV'ers for a year now and it's taken us that long to be able to get into Fiddler's Cove. I think it's due to the fact that there are a lot of homesteaders there or not everyone who makes a reservation under active duty IS active duty. Either way after trying to get in to the cove for a year I was underwhelmed. I will say this though, it is infinite times better than the poorly maintained parking lot rv park down the street at Silver Strand but even that dump allows open fires. If you like RV parks where everyone is in their rig by 7 this is the spot for you! Enjoy! ;)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Jan 2 and 3, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We made a reservation, which is recommended. The directions as provided are good but if you have your Google Earth with the voice prompts it will help. Coming off the bridge leads you into residential areas with many turns and roundabouts. We had a space which backed to the Navy residences rather than the water. Acceptable since we were gone most of the time touring San Diego. Kids playing in the back yards and dogs barking can be a bit distracting. We used the bike path and the local bus to gain access to Coronado (the city). We did not go on base. The base has all the facilities available such as commissary BX, etc., but they are about four miles to the north of the FamCamp. The FamCamp has a small store for RV supplies. The clerk at the check in desk was helpful and friendly. She turned us over to another employee for some detailed questions. He was very helpful especially with the bus schedule and routes. The bus is $1.10 for seniors and does not require a special card as indicated on their web site. Just look old and tell the driver you are a senior. We would especially recommend the tour of the Midway Aircraft Carrier, even for non-Navy folks. $10 for retirees. Allow at least three hours. Also, stop by the hotel Del Coronado and walk the lobby and grounds. Overall a great couple of days, but you really cannot go wrong in San Diego.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jan. 16-29, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice facility.  Commissaries close at both North Island and Imperial Beach.  Nice views of San Diego Bay.  Feels a lot like base housing with a lot of active duty leaving for work every morning.  I had no problem getting a reservation, so it was not an issue for me.  If it is a problem for people traveling to get a spot, then maybe a conversation needs to be had about the purpose of these Famcamps.  Housing for active duty military or RV parks for all eligible travelers?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 2-6, 2015
(Updated: November 08, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed 4 days, 2 were waterfront (space 47) and 2 were in a back row-back in (space 1). The first 2 days were great and the last 2 not so much. PROS: great views, not actually on base so non-military friends can visit easily. Reasonable rentals for bikes, paddle boards, kayaks, and sail boats, etc. Waterfront spaces have a fire pit and spaces 45-50 are located very near the facilities bathroom, showers, and laundry. Laundry is $1. Small store on site for few basic supplies. 2.5 miles from Coronado downtown. Near city bus line. Security gate and all facilities require use of secure access pin from 10pm -6am. CONS: they strictly enforce their quiet hours policy from 10pm - 6am with roving watches, monitor volumes of conversations on RV porches and outdoor sitting areas. The landscaping is not grass but small rock hard scaping that must be "treated like grass" no walking, parking, tenting allowed. Although they have a strict quiet hours policy they can't control the trading noise from the SEALs training at Coronado which includes helicopters, boats, and automatic machine gun fire and explosions....neat during the day....not so neat when it goes past 8pm and starts at 7am. If you have any degree of anxiety or PTSD please be aware. If we return it will ONLY be because of the great location, price, facility and location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 1
April 27-May 01, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have gone here a number of times since it opened. We almost always have a great time. I like to bike and keep an eye on the ships and activities. This time was a little different. The security forces were having fun playing with their toys. Strange having to tell another retired member what a gattlin gun sound was. The weather was great. I peddled my legs off. I have to certified for the watercraft. They look like fun. If I had to say anything in way of warning there is one older employee up front, I think his name was Bob, he really needs to work on his public courtesy. He seemed to find it necessary to inform that I was riding on HIS sidewalk. (Thought it was ours?) Since he was the employee and I was the customer I can't see where he got his manners. I wasn't even going faster than slow walk. No need for the attitude. It kind of soured me on ever going back and if I ever do I will stay away from HIS building.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
January 29 - February 27, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Let me start by saying that of all of the military RV parks that we have visited (and we have stayed at quite a few), it would be very difficult to find an RV park (military or commercial) in a more beautiful setting. The views of San Diego Bay and the city of San Diego are unparalleled. The park is very nice, but not perfect, however. The concrete pads are nice and level but, if you have a large RV with multiple slides (we have a 43' fifth wheel), the pads are too short to allow you to park your truck in the site with your RV. The hookups are good. There are a lot of minerals in the water, so beware of scale build up in your hot water heater. There are no picnic tables at any of the RV sites. This is not an inexpensive military RV park and the inclusion of simple picnic tables should not be too much to ask. WiFi is terrible. The "free" WiFi (one connection per site allowed) is slower than dial-up and virtually useless. I paid $69 for one month of "enhanced speed" WiFi for two devices. This pay WiFi was mediocre at best. During the month, this system was down at least 25 percent of the time and speed was sporadic when it was up. Once again, for the price paid, decent WiFi should not be too much to ask. There is recycling on site for everything but mixed paper. There is a two-lane paved bicycle path that can be accessed directly in front of Fiddler's Cove. It is 2.5 mile ride north to Hotel del Coronado and a 2.5 mile ride south to Silver Strand State Beach. The beach directly across the road from the RV park is Navy training grounds and strictly off limits. Despite the negatives, we would definitely stay here again. The setting is absolutely gorgeous!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
14-23 June 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
What an awesome location with a beautiful view of the San Diego Bay and all of the boating activity! There are an endless number of recreational opportunities in the area. The front office staff could give lessons in efficient and diplomatic customer service. Although the RV park was sold out during our stay, we had a very relaxing experience because the premises are well supervised with two on site night hosts and an over night security guard. The only noted issues are a lack of picnic tables at the RV sites, the recycle bins near the bathrooms are too small and overflowed, and the new asphalt in the access ways is already breaking up with gouges from tire marks. Perhaps they can recall the contractor for a slurry coat before the warranty expires on this construction project.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 10 - 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This recently renovated RV park was done right! It's well laid out and the new facilities are nice and clean. The price is good, considering the prime location. The office staff were friendly, but a bit overwhelmed with the computer reservation system. They stated they were "over-booked" for this weekend and didn't know what to do with the extra people that had reservations. The store is well stocked. We originally made reservations for a couple days, but were able to extend for only 2 more days. This wonderful campground is now a prime RV location and reservations are highly recommended. I was assured the stay-limits are being enforced. I only worry that they will soon get greedy and unfairly raise the rates. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I wish other military RV Parks were like this one.
Our back row site #6. Still had a view of the bay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
FEB 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Drove to park a few days ago and looks nice with double wide pads. Spoke to a worker and they are planning on opening on 7 FEB 2014. New restroom and laundry facility just no plants around the spaces as of yet anyway. Looks nice and he told me they were planning on sticking to the 30 day rule and then must leave for 2 weeks as it should be.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
1 Aug 2012
(Updated: August 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Called today and confirmed they'll close on 12 Aug 2012 for renovations. They're booked through that date. That's the end of the only inexpensive RV camp on the coast that I know of.
W&
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 2012
(Updated: July 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just checked out of the RV Park. Latest on the closing for renovation is August 12. Park is fully booked thru August 6. We could not extend our stay. Employees we spoke with have not seen plans for the upgrades, all being handled out of TN. Will definitely miss camping there. Staff have done a lot to cut down on the homesteaders, two obvious ones are still there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct-Nov 2011
(Updated: July 26, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
As with our previous stays it is a 5 star location, excellent restrooms and showers- but you gotta be tough here for it is a dry camp and the SEALS train here with their choppers and boats..so the noise is there..but it is the "Sound of Freedom" to my ears. As an update to our previous 2 reviews I must add that several longer term guests disobeyed the no-smoking policy which made the Rec room unusable to us and even with signage there is little to no enforcement as a big ashtray is right by the door which gives almost defacto permission to smoke there. One of the staff has become quite rude and surly and I checked with other guests to see if it was just us...but alas she was the same --an equal opportunity rude-person...tread lightly and do not ask for too many details and you will be ok. You will be able to tell who it s...the string is strung tight. All other staff including top management are excellent and perhaps are working the issue. The check in rule is obnoxious..we were made to wait in the parking lot for 4 hours before we could go to our site. THE RUB: 1-Site was empty, 2- it was not being cleaned 3- there was absolutely no work being done on the site and 4- It is a dry camp and there is no reason what so ever to line the rigs up in the parking lot till checkin. Del Mar, San onfore and many others on the west coast let you in if the site it empty...this should be changed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
11-19 June, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The Navy's Fiddler's Cove on Coronado Island, about a mile South of the Hotel Del Coronado on the Silver Strand headed toward Imperial Beach is the most convenient location in San Diego for military campers in my opinion, and... it's right on the beach on the inner bay. However, due the renovations that have underway for about two years, they only have about 35 DRY CAMP spots available currently, the other 5 being reserved for tent campers. But... they have large and clean showers, a laundry facility, a camp store...fresh water supply (top off when you pull in) and a dump... etc. I was just over there for a week... and... at $12 a night you can not beat it... especially when civilian campers are paying $50 a night for very cramped dry camping at a state park a mile further down the Silver Strand. They only have a 30 day advance reservations policy for retirees, but you can stay 30 days. Jim, the night manager, told me that they had rarely been full this summer, but with the 4th coming up I expect that will change. The week I was there in mid June... the morning marine layer was present until about 10 AM every day followed by beautiful sunshine... expect a steady breeze most of the time which can gust... so be sure and anchor your awning down with straps and buckets of rocks and wet sand as I did if you extend it (the ground is TOO hard for most screw-in and other anchors. Of the 15 rigs in with me... I was the only one brave enough to extend my awning...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 7-16 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As stated earlier,"under (mythical) construction".. nothing happening...but for dry-camping it is great. Rob, Joanne and Robert (assistant night manager) were all very helpful and enlightening about the area. If you do not mind a little dry camping. this is the way to go...just over the bridge from the heart of San Diego and all its joys (as well as Coronado and the NAS base.. u cannot beat it...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Nov 1 - Nov 12 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First of all............Fiddler's Cove is now closed for renovation. The closure was originally scheduled for 1 November but was extended to the 13th. The renovation will be extensive and the beautiful location warrants the upgrades to accomodate the larger rigs that make up a majority of newer RVs. The electrical service will be upgraded (sorely needed during the summer months) and sewer hookup are being added to all of the sites. For all intents and purposes, all of the new sites will be improved hard stand sites when they eventually reopen. We stayed in the "Dry Camp" area for our visit and, for the most part, had a very enjoyable stay. The unimproved sites are much larger and all have a fire pit and ocean frontage. Some of the staff and management were helpful and friendly but many were not. The day before our departure, I received a very curt voicemail on my cell phone informing me that if I didn't vacate tomorrow as scheduled they would would tow me. I called them back and assured them that I was leaving but I really didn't understand the point or the harsh tone of the call. At any rate, Fiddler's Cove is a jewel here in San Diego. I can't wait to see the renovated version next year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
June 4, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Fourth time at Fiddlers Cove. Favorite after Pt Mugu. I bow to the majority, but I do believe it deserves something higher than 3.3. Yes, a badly planned (hey, it's old) layout and sites way too small for most of today's rigs. I assume that issue along with upgrade from 30 amps (maybe no sewage since it's right at sea level) will get fixed in the campground makeover. Of note however, is that I, too, have issues with yet another Navy campground with tenured-thinking employees, surly and bothered by your presence somehow. BUT the last two times, this seems to have turned around; same employees. Overall experience is a sum greater than its parts in this case (Hey, where else do you get a live show of Seagulls, Pelicans, and Terns and fishing and sail boats anchored and underway past your window and SEALs in the BUDS training flop, flopping out of the bay by your rig, reporting to the Master Chief and getting back into the bus and having magnificent Coronado only five minutes away?)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
06-08-07 to 06-10-07
(Updated: June 13, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was the maiden voyage for my family with our new 27 foot travel trailer. We also sponsored a civilian guest rig. I was a little concerned after seeing the ratings by the other members, but once there, we were pleasantly surprised. We only stayed two days, so sewer hook-ups were not an issue for us. We checked-in after hours and the host was extremely helpful and friendly (we stayed right next door to the host). The location can't be beat with unobstructed views of the Coronado Bay Bridge and the San Diego skyline. As mentioned in previous posts, there is also a marina here where you can rent kayaks, small motorboats, and sailboats at a fraction of what you would pay at a civilian business. For those who enjoy a good fire, they do have fire pits along the beach. Maybe we haven't been spoiled yet, but overall, we really enjoyed the campground (especially when other local camgrounds were charging four times as much or more). If you do use google maps for directions and travel over the bridge, you make the left onto Orange Avenue. Google advises to make a u-turn at Leyte, but there is a left turn lane at the entrance to Fiddler's Cove prior to Leyte. A u-turn at Leyte is pretty much impossible and making the left there puts you into the housing area. We had several friendly people point us in the right direction since it seems they get a lot of people making the turn into the residential area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
26 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2